A home away from home?

Exploring the situation of South Sudan refugees in Uganda

Also available in Deutsch

This special synthesis report explores the situation of South Sudan refugees and asylum seekers in Uganda as well the impact of a burgeoning refugee crisis towards Uganda’s ability to cope. The report furthermore highlights critical issues that need to be addressed regarding refugee protection and management including the support Uganda urgently needs. It suggests the need to address pervasive violence by focussing on state building within the great lakes region as the longterm solution to a refuge situation that is potentially exploding beyond existing capacities for response.

Image 1 of 9
Round-Table Discussion

Foreword

Getting around in South Sudan could not have been more difficult. Politically and ethnically motivated conflicts underline sustained violence in the world’s newest country. The state in South Sudan is barely existent and can hardly provide basic public goods and services, including security. Climate change has hindered food production resulting in famine on a large scale.

As new rebel factions continue to emerge and ethnic tensions deepen, neither the African leaders under the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) nor the international community has managed to successfully press for an end to the violence in South Sudan. Consequently, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) reports that more that 4.7 million South Sudanese have fled their homes. That makes 38 percent of the country’s population estimated at around 12.2 million.

The level of human suffering resulting from the South Sudan conflict demands immediate action towards achieving an end to the war. Most urgently however is the need to support those fleeing from the violence to find a safe place to settle and live in dignity as they wait to return home when peace is finally achieved.

Uganda has been forthright in welcoming and accommodating those fleeing violence and other forms of suffering, such as famine. It is home to more than 1.2 million refugees, about 900,000 of whom are from South Sudan. Uganda has also won international praise for guaranteeing the rights of refugees by providing land for settlement and agriculture, ensuring freedom of movement, and providing an environment where the refugees can run businesses and take up job placements just like Ugandan citizens would.

In line with our commitment to solidarity and social justice, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), joins the world in recognising Uganda’s exemplary commitment to refugee protection and management, and in calling upon the rest of the world to emulate and support the country in fulfilling this obligation.

Mathias Kamp Country Representative Uganda and South Sudan, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Author

Donnas Ojok

published

Uganda, August 26, 2017

Contact

Mathias Kamp

Head of the KAS office Uganda

Mathias Kamp
Phone +256 312 26 20 11/2

EINE HEIMAT WEIT WEG VON ZUHAUSE?

EINE UNTERSUCHUNG DER SITUATION VON SÜDSUDANESISCHEN FLÜCHTLINGEN IN UGANDA

Auch verfügbar in English

Dieser spezielle Synthesenbericht untersucht die Situation von südsudanesischen Flüchtlingen und Asylbewerbern in Uganda, die Auswirkungen der Flüchtlingskrise und Ugandas Fähigkeit, damit umzugehen. Darüber hinaus betont er die kritischen Aspekte, bezüglich dem Schutz und Management von Flüchtlingen, ebenso wie die dringende Unterstützung Ugandas. Er legt die Notwendigkeit nahe, die weit verbreitete Gewalt zu bekämpfen, indem man sich auf den Staatsaufbau in der Region der „Great Lakes“ als langfristige Lösung für die Flüchtlingssituation konzentriert, die möglicherweise ausarten könnte.

Bild 1 von 9
Diskussionsrunde

Vorwort

Der Umgang mit dem Südsudan könnte nicht schwieriger sein. Politisch und ethnisch motivierte Konflikte unterstreichen die anhaltende Gewalt im jüngsten Land der Welt. Der Staat Südsudan ist kaum existent und kann daher kaum für grundständiges öffentliches Gemeinwohl und Service sorgen, ebenso wie Sicherheit. Der Klimawandel hat die Nahrungsmittelproduktion eingeschränkt, was zu einer großen Hungersnot geführt hat.

Immer neue Gruppierungen von Rebellen entstehen, ethnische Spannungen verschärfen sich und weder die afrikanischen Staatsführer der Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), noch die internationale Gemeinschaft haben es erfolgreich geschafft, die Gewalt im Südsudan zu beenden. Somit berichtete die United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR), dass bereits mehr als 4,7 Millionen Südsudanesen aus ihrer Heimat geflohen sind. Das sind 38 Prozent der Gesamtbevölkerung, die auf insgesamt 12,2 Millionen geschätzt wird.

Das Leidenslevel der Menschen durch den südsudanesischen Konflikt verlangt nach sofortigem Handeln, um ein Ende des Krieges zu erreichen. Am dringendsten und notwendigsten ist es jedoch die Menschen zu unterstützen, die vor der Gewalt fliehen mussten und einen sicheren Ort suchen, um sich niederzulassen und in Würde weiterzuleben, um nach Ende des Krieges wieder nach Hause zurückzukehren.

Uganda ist im Umgang mit südsudanesischen Flüchtlingen sehr offen, hilft bei der Unterbringung und heißt vor allem die willkommen, die vor Gewalt und Hungersnot fliehen. Mehr als 1,2 Millionen Flüchtlinge leben hier, etwa 900.000 davon sind Südsudanesen. Uganda hat viel internationale Anerkennungen erhalten, da sie durch das Bereitstellen von Land und Landwirtschaft zur Niederlassung, der Sicherstellung von Bewegungsfreiheit und einer Umgebung, in der sie die Möglichkeit haben, Geschäfte zu eröffnen und Jobs anzunehmen, für die Rechte der Flüchtlinge garantieren.

Im Einklang mit unserer Verpflichtung zu Solidarität und sozialer Gerechtigkeit schließt sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) der Welt an, indem auch wir Ugandas vorbildhaftes Engagement für Flüchtlingsschutz und –management anerkennen und den Rest der Welt dazu auffordern, dieses Engagement nachzuahmen und das Land in ihrer Pflicht unterstützen.

Mathias Kamp, Leiter des Auslandsbüros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Uganda und Südsudan

Autor

Donnas Ojok

erschienen

Uganda, 26. August 2017

Kontakt

Mathias Kamp

Leiter des Auslandsbüros in Uganda

Mathias Kamp
Tel. +256 312 26 20 11/2