Youth 4 Policy (Y4P) – Evening Networking Meeting

Leveraging media for effective policy communication

Also available in Deutsch

On Friday, 27th of July, the Youth 4 Policy (Y4P) fellows met two outstanding experts in their respective fields. With Prof. Dr. Maggie Kigozi, who formerly served as Executive Director of the Uganda Investment Authority (UIA), and Charles Mwangushya, a seasoned journalist with the Nation Media Group (NMG). These two discussed with the Y4P fellows strategies on how to gain public support for their policy proposals and make them relevant.

Image 1 of 2
Particpant

The event began with welcome remarks by Yusuf Kiranda, Director at the Centre for Development Alternatives (CDA) who briefly presented the Y4P program and introduced the guests to the audience.

Prof. Maggie Kigozi highlighted, based on her long-term practice in the private and public sector, the main challenges Uganda is facing in the policy cycle. The distribution and sale of land as well as the provision of infrastructure are according to her still major issues impeding private sector investments in the country. She therefore emphasized that any successful policy in this direction is key. Furthermore, taxation policies and jurisdiction need to improve to achieve strong public service institutions. She then talked about her experience from the UIA where she attracted domestic and foreign investors and grew the latter from $200 million in 2000 to $845 million by 2010.

After her insightful presentation a passionate discussion around the topic of investment promotion took place which continued later during the networking cocktail.

Before reaching the informal networking part of the evening, Charles Mwangushya talked about what possibilities the Y4P fellows have to leverage media attention for their policy communication. He mentioned the difference between traditional and social media, how to balance both and emphasized how important it is to target the message fellows want to send to a specific audience. He noted that many important policy issues never make it to the media because of the lack of balance between what is relevant and the priorities of the powers that be.

The networking continued informally over drinks and bites till later in the night.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, August 2, 2018

Charles
Prof

Youth 4 Policy (Y4P) - Abend Networking-Treffen

Nutzung von Medien für effektive politische Kommunikation

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Fellows der Youth 4 Policy (Y4P) Initiative trafen am Freitag, den 27. Juli, zwei herausragende Experten in ihren jeweiligen Bereichen. Mit Prof. Dr. Maggie Kigozi, ehemalige Direktorin der Uganda Investment Authority (UIA) und Charles Mwangushya, erfahrener Journalist der Nation Media Group (NMG), diskutierten die Y4P-Fellows Möglichkeiten, wie sie öffentliche Unterstützung für ihre politischen Vorschläge erhalten.

Bild 1 von 2
Group

Yusuf Kiranda, Direktor des Zentrums für Entwicklungsalternativen (CDA), präsentierte das Y4P-Programm und stellte die Gäste dem Publikum vor.

Prof. Maggie Kigozi hob, basierend auf ihrer Erfahrung im privaten und öffentlichen Sektor, die größten Herausforderungen für Uganda im Policy Cicle hervor. Die Verteilung und der Verkauf von Land sowie die Bereitstellung von Infrastruktur sind laut ihr immer noch Punkte, die die Investitionen des Privatsektors beeinträchtigen. Weiterhin bieten bisherige Steuerregelung und Rechtssprechungspraktiken Verbesserungsansätze. Anschließend berichtete sie von ihren Erfahrungen bei der UIA, bei der sie in- und ausländische Investoren anlockte und letztere von 200 Millionen Dollar im Jahr 2000 auf 845 Millionen Dollar im Jahr 2010 steigern konnte.

Nach ihrem aufschlussreichen Vortrag fand eine intensive Diskussion zum Thema Investitionsförderung statt, die sich während des Networking-Cocktails fortsetzte.

Bevor aber der informelle Networking-Teil des Abends erreicht wurde, sprach Charles Mwangushya darüber, welche Möglichkeiten die Y4P-Fellows haben, die Aufmerksamkeit der Medien für ihre politische Kommunikation zu nutzen. Er erwähnte den Unterschied zwischen traditionellen und sozialen Medien, wie man die Nutzung der beiden ausbalanciert und wie wichtig es ist, ein bestimmtes Publikum anzusprechen. Er merkte an, dass viele wichtige politische Fragen niemals in den Medien ankommen, weil es an Ausgewogenheit zwischen dem, was relevant ist, und den Prioritäten der zuständigen Stellen mangelt.

Die Vernetzung ging anschließend bei Getränke und Häppchen bis spät in die Nacht.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 2. August 2018

Charles
Prof