Merkel visiting Trump: “much better to talk to one another”

Consequences for the European Union

Also available in Deutsch

After the German Federal Chancellor's first encounter with president Donald Trump, the need for an intensive trans-atlantic dialogue between the EU and the USA appears greater than ever.

“Today we have a smart, level-headed and decisive leader in Washington, D.C.. Too bad she has to go back to Germany.” This is a tweet with which a young American woman commented on the German Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel’s encounter with Donald Trump in Washington last week. It expressed a typical stance as Angela Merkel appears to be more popular right now than ever before in many political circles in Washington, with the think tanks, and among international political experts. While that may be gratifying and the first personal meeting was important for Germany and for Europe, the summit also illustrated very publicly the controversial issues straining the transatlantic relationship, on which both sides will have to work particularly hard over the coming months.

Merkel included Trump’s family and business representatives

The Chancellor invested significant efforts into the visit to prepare the ground for a personal relationship despite all the critical discussions about Donald Trump. After all, she had not found it so easy to connect with George W. Bush and Barack Obama in the beginning either. The German proposal to involve Ivanka Trump and Jared Kushner as well as the BMW and Siemens CEOs in talks about vocational training was a concession to Trump’s idiosyncratic government style, where family members and businesspeople appear to play key roles.

Merkel’s initiative was definitely successful where the content was concerned. It is remarkable to now see Donald Trump himself as well as many US media and the highly respected Brookings Institution think tank discussing vocational training. This is all the more relevant as the focus on further vocational training was clearly meant to promote the idea that the digital transformation that has just gone underway should be seen as a joint transatlantic challenge.

For the time being, however, Trump rebuffed the Chancellor’s offer to develop a personal relationship linked to the visit’s topic and format. That was not only illustrated by his body language and his obvious wish to keep his distance, particularly by comparison with the preceding visits by Theresa May, Shinzo Abe, and Justin Trudeau. It was above all a tweet he posted just twelve hours after the joint press conference that confirmed that unfortunately they were nowhere near “talking to one another” in a trusting manner, as Merkel had publicly called for.

Trump accepts Europe’s leading role in Ukraine and stands by NATO

This does not, however, take away from the concrete achievements of this first visit. Besides the decision to embark on a joint vocational training project, Trump assured Merkel of his agreement with Europe taking the leading role in the Ukraine conflict. During the joint press conference, Trump also declared his commitment to NATO in even clearer terms than in his speech to Congress two weeks earlier.

So there were definitely some entries on the plus side. However, on the minus side there are still three major issues that will now need a high level of attention and intensive engagement on the part of the EU politicians in the dialogue with the USA.

The EU must get through to Trump through action

Firstly, it is unfortunate that with just one week to go before the 60th anniversary of the Treaties of Rome Donald Trump has not been heard uttering the term “the European Union” once. Until recently, the general opinion in Washington was that a united and strong Europe was in the interest of the United States. That no longer appears to be taken for granted under Trump. Against this backdrop, one may be justly annoyed about the openly anti-EU rhetoric of Trump advisor Stephen Bannon. However, the way Europe is perceived in Washington depends not first and foremost on Trump’s or Bannon’s ideas, but on how the EU and its member states conduct themselves. During her visit to Washington, the Chancellor consistently mentioned Germany and the European Union in the same breath. The Irish head of state Enda Kenny also did so emphatically that same morning.

It will now be up to the representatives of the EU states to consistently “bring the EU into the conversation” in their talks with the Trump administration. The European Union must get through to people in Washington through action and conduct itself as a true “union” in the transatlantic dialogue. Trump and Bannon are by no means the only ones in Washington who have doubts in the EU and put forward ideas about the supposed advantages of exclusively engaging in bilateral relationships and about the battle against multilateralism. But merely complaining that the Americans are ignorant about the EU will not do any good. It will take engagement and dialogue to make progress. It is a good thing that government representatives and parliamentarians from EU member states, civil society representatives, and MEPs are currently travelling to Washington every week. A constant stream of visitors seeking to establish a dialogue with the new administration and its entourage of advisors and intent on promoting the EU at the same time can help to shape the positions of the US administration, which are still unclear in many areas. It would also make sense for some representatives from EU states to make a point of appearing in Washington together.

The discussion about higher defense payments by the European NATO partners goes on

Secondly, Trump took advantage of Merkel’s visit to once again highlight the disagreement about the Europeans’ defense spending for NATO. Trump’s follow-up tweet was stylistically unacceptable and the alleged debt does not exist. But fundamentally, all those involved know that the call for European countries to make higher contributions towards the cost of their own continent’s defense represents a justified demand. Of course, this issue predates Donald Trump’s taking office. There has been a broad consensus on this matter in Washington for a long time – and not just there.

It is unlikely that the US partners will be appeased by references to the fact that the Europeans have already agreed to increase defense spending to two per cent of GDP by 2024. This agreement was made back in 2002, when the security situation in Europe was totally different. Since then, Russia has annexed Crimea and intervened in Eastern Ukraine, and hybrid warfare, maneuvers close to EU borders, and cyberwar have become reality. These arguments will have to be taken into account for the timing. These developments have also made it necessary to widen the discussions with the Trump administration from purely talking about expenditure to including capabilities, technologies, and the development of the defense industry, entirely in line with Merkel’s call for “talking to one another, not about one another”. Donald Trump is scheduled to come to Europe in the not too distant future, to the NATO summit in June, when he will no doubt revisit this topic.

The two sides are far apart where their ideas on trade and global competition are concerned

Thirdly, Merkel and Trump were obviously worlds apart in terms of their ideas on trade and economic cooperation. Merkel argued from the perspective of the philosophy underlying the EU Common Market: open markets with common rules, competitive products, trade as a win-win situation for all those involved. Trump remained in his world of “good” and “bad” deals, the zero numbers game, winners and losers. While the chancellor attempted to point out that every deal also requires democratic acceptance by the respective other party and that thinking in terms of winners and losers can ultimately not be helpful, Trump appeared to purposefully fail to take her point. There is an urgent need for engagement here as well.

While it is true that Donald Trump is not doing himself any favors, the Europeans should not allow themselves to be drawn into a vicious circle of talking about one another and shaking one’s head about one another or even give in to anti-American reflexes.

The transatlantic partnership remains important for freedom and prosperity in Europe

Even 60 years on from the founding of the EU and after Donald Trump’s taking office, it remains the case that the transatlantic partnership is essential to security in Europe, a prerequisite for our European life in freedom and prosperity. The challenge to the EU arising from the positions taken by Trump is clear: stand firmly together in a community established for the long term rather than short-term deals, take on greater joint European responsibility for security and defense. At the same time, there is a need for greater engagement by the transatlantic partners on both sides, making efforts not to let opposing positions simply confront one another or even toughening them to win domestic approval. Intelligent and strong leaders will shape the common topics in a continuous dialogue across the Atlantic.

*

An abbreviated version of this article appeared in the daily newspaper “Die Presse” on March 23, 2017.

Author

Nico Lange

Publication series

Country Reports

published

United States, March 22, 2017

Am Dienstag besucht Angela Merkel Donald Trump zum ersten Mal persönlich. | © Reuters / Kevin Lamarque

After Angela Merkel's first encounter with president Donald Trump, the need for an intensive transatlantic dialogue between the EU and the USA appears greater than ever.

Contact

Nico Lange

Head of the KAS office in the USA

Nico Lange
Phone +1 202 464 5840
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ русский,‎ Українська

Merkel bei Trump: Transatlantisch „miteinander reden“

Was aus dem Spitzengespräch zwischen Merkel und Trump für die EU folgt

Auch verfügbar in English

Nach dem ersten Besuch der deutschen Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel beim neuen US-Präsidenten Donald Trump scheint intensiver transatlantischer Dialog zwischen der EU und den USA notwendiger denn je.

„Wir haben einen klugen und starken Leader in Washington … nur schade, dass sie heute noch nach Berlin zurückfliegt.“ Mit diesem Tweet kommentierte eine junge Amerikanerin den zuvor mit Spannung erwarteten Besuch der deutschen Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel bei Donald Trump in Washington in der vergangenen Woche. Diese Haltung war durchaus typisch, gerade jetzt scheint Angela Merkel in vielen politischen Zirkeln Washingtons, bei den Denkfabriken und den internationalen Politikprofis populärer als je zuvor. Man kann sich einerseits darüber freuen und die erste persönliche Begegnung war für Deutschland und Europa wichtig. Andererseits ist durch das Spitzentreffen aber auch aller Welt vor Augen geführt worden, wo die Baustellen im transatlantischen Verhältnis liegen, an denen es in den kommenden Monaten besonders hart zu arbeiten gilt.

Merkel bezog Trumps Familie und Wirtschaftsvertreter ein

Die Bundeskanzlerin investierte einiges in den Besuch, um trotz aller kritischen Diskussionen um Donald Trump die Tür zu einem persönlichen Verhältnis zu öffnen. Schließlich war das auch bei George W. Bush und Barack Obama anfänglich nicht leicht. Die deutsche Initiative, unter Einbindung von Ivanka Trump und Jared Kushner sowie der Chefs von BMW und Siemens über berufliche Bildung zu sprechen, war ein Zugeständnis an Trumps eigenwilligen Regierungsstil, in dem Familienmitglieder und Geschäftsleute eine zentrale Rolle zu spielen scheinen.

Merkels Initiative war inhaltlich durchaus ein Erfolg. Es ist bemerkenswert, dass Donald Trump selbst, aber auch viele amerikanische Medien oder die renommierte Denkfabrik Brookings Institution jetzt über Berufsausbildung diskutieren. Das gilt insbesondere, weil der Fokus auf berufliche Weiterqualifizierung den deutlichen Hinweis darauf enthält, dass die einsetzende digitale Transformation der Industrie als gemeinsame transatlantische Herausforderung begriffen werden sollte.

Das mit Thema und Format verbundene Angebot der Kanzlerin, ein persönliches Verhältnis aufzubauen, lehnte Trump aber vorerst ab. Davon zeugten nicht nur seine Körpersprache und betonte Distanz, ganz besonders im Vergleich mit vorherigen Besuchen von Theresa May, Shinzo Abe oder Justin Trudeau. Vor allem machte er mit einem morgendlichen Tweet nur zwölf Stunden nach der gemeinsamen Pressekonferenz klar, dass man bei dem von Merkel öffentlich angemahnten, vertrauensvollen „miteinander reden“ leider noch nicht angelangt ist.

Trump akzeptiert europäische Führungsrolle in der Ukraine und steht zur Nato

Das mildert jedoch nicht die greifbaren Ergebnisse dieses ersten Besuchs: Neben dem Einstieg in ein gemeinsames Projekt zur beruflichen Bildung erhielt Merkel von Trump die Bestätigung für eine europäische Führungsrolle im Konflikt um die Ukraine. Trump bekannte sich außerdem während der gemeinsamen Pressekonferenz noch klarer zur Nato als bei seiner Rede im Kongress zwei Wochen zuvor.

Es lässt sich also durchaus etwas auf die Haben-Seite buchen. Im Soll müssen aber dagegen drei ganz entscheidende Themen verzeichnet werden, die jetzt hohe Aufmerksamkeit und intensives Engagement der EU-Politiker im Dialog mit den USA verlangen.

Die EU muss sich Trump durch Fakten aufdrängen

Zum Ersten muss man leider konstatieren, dass nur eine Woche vor dem 60. Jahrestag der Römischen Verträge Donald Trump das Wort „Europäische Union“ nicht ein einziges Mal ausgesprochen hat. Noch bis vor kurzem galt in Washington: Ein einiges und starkes Europa ist im Interesse der Vereinigten Staaten. Das scheint unter Trump nicht mehr selbstverständlich zu sein. Man mag sich vor diesem Hintergrund auch über die offen EU-feindliche Rhetorik des Trump-Beraters Stephen Bannon echauffieren. Die Wahrnehmung Europas in Washington hängt aber nicht in erster Linie von Trump oder Bannons Ideen, sondern vom Auftreten der EU und ihrer Mitgliedstaaten ab. Die Bundeskanzlerin hat in Washington Deutschland und die Europäische Union konsequent in einem Atemzug erwähnt. Auch der irische Regierungschef Enda Kenny tat das am Morgen des gleichen Tages mit Nachdruck.

Es kommt jetzt weiter darauf an, dass die Vertreter der EU-Staaten in ihre Gespräche mit der Trump-Administration immer die EU „mitbringen“. Die Europäische Union muss sich in Washington durch Fakten aufdrängen, sie muss im transatlantischen Dialog tatsächlich eine „Union“ sein. Trump und Bannon sind aktuell bei weitem nicht die einzigen in Washington, die an der EU zweifeln und über die vermeintlichen Vorteile von ausschließlich bilateralen Beziehungen und die Bekämpfung von Multilateralität räsonieren. Aber es bringt nur wenig, sich darüber zu beklagen, dass die Amerikaner Europa nicht verstünden. Engagement und Dialog sind gefragt. Es ist gut, dass derzeit jede Woche Regierungsvertreter und Parlamentarier aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten, Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft und Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlaments nach Washington reisen. Ein ständiger Strom von Besuchern, die den Dialog mit der neuen Administration und ihrem Beratungsumfeld suchen und dabei immer auch den Punkt für die EU machen, kann dazu beitragen, die in vielen Aspekten noch unklaren Positionen der US-Administration zu formen. Dabei wäre es auch sinnvoll, wenn künftig einige Vertreter von EU-Staaten in Washington bewusst gemeinsam auftreten würden

Die Diskussion um höhere Verteidigungsbeiträge der europäischen Nato-Partner geht weiter

Zum Zweiten nutzte Trump Merkels Besuch für die erneute Betonung des Konflikts um die Verteidigungsausgaben der Europäer im Rahmen der Nato. Trumps nachträglicher Tweet war stilistisch inakzeptabel und die behaupteten Schulden gibt es nicht. Im Kern weiß aber dennoch jeder der Beteiligten, dass die Anmahnung höherer europäischer Beiträge zur Verteidigung des eigenen Kontinents eine berechtigte Forderung ist. Das Thema ist nicht erst mit Donald Trump entstanden. In Washington – und nicht nur dort – herrscht dazu seit langem ein breiter Konsens

Es ist fraglich, ob die amerikanischen Partner sich mit dem Hinweis auf die von den Europäern bereits beschlossene Erhöhung der Verteidigungsausgaben auf zwei Prozent des Bruttoinlandsprodukts bis zum Jahr 2024 beruhigen lassen. Diese Vereinbarung wurde im Jahr 2002 getroffen, als die Sicherheitslage in Europa eine völlig andere war als heute. Seitdem hat Russland die Krim annektiert und in der Ostukraine interveniert, hybride Kriegsführung, grenznahe Manöver und Cyberkrieg sind Realität. Diese Argumente wird man beim Zeitplan berücksichtigen müssen. Außerdem ist es jetzt nötig, die Diskussion mit der Trump-Administration zu erweitern, um nicht über bloße Ausgaben, sondern über Fähigkeiten, Technologien und die Entwicklung der Verteidigungsindustrie zu sprechen, ganz im Sinne des Merkel’schen Diktums des „miteinander reden, nicht übereinander“. Schon im Mai kommt Donald Trump zum Nato-Gipfel nach Europa und wird auf das Thema zurückkommen.

Beim Verständnis von Handel und globalem Wettbewerb zeigen sich große Unterschiede

Zum Dritten lagen im Verständnis von Handel und wirtschaftlicher Kooperation zwischen Merkel und Trump erkennbar Welten. Merkel argumentierte ganz im Sinne der Philosophie des gemeinsamen Marktes der Europäischen Union: offene Märkte mit gemeinsamen Regeln, konkurrenzfähige Produkte, Handel als Gewinn für alle Beteiligte. Trump verblieb in seiner Welt der „guten“ und „schlechten“ Deals, der Nullsummenspiele, der Gewinner und Verlierer. Die Kanzlerin versuchte zwar, darauf hinzuweisen, dass jeder „Deal“ auch auf der jeweils anderen Seite der demokratischen Akzeptanz bedürfe und dass daher das Denken in Gewinnern und Verlieren letztlich nicht zielführend sei. Trump verstand sie offenbar absichtlich nicht. Auch hier ist also ganz dringend Engagement geboten.

Selbst wenn Donald Trump es nicht gerade einfach macht: Die Europäer sollten sich vis-a-vis den Vereinigten Staaten nicht in eine Spirale des übereinander Redens und übereinander den Kopf Schüttelns hineinziehen lassen oder gar in antiamerikanische Reflexe verfallen.

Die transatlantische Partnerschaft bleibt wichtig für Freiheit und Wohlstand in Europa

Auch 60 Jahre nach Gründung der EU und auch nach dem Amtsantritt Donald Trumps bleibt doch richtig: die transatlantische Partnerschaft ist konstituierend für die Sicherheit in Europa, die Voraussetzung für unser europäisches Leben in Freiheit und Wohlstand. Die durch Trumps Positionen an Europa gestellte Aufgabe ist klar: Fest zusammenstehen in einer auf Dauer angelegten Gemeinschaft statt kurzfristiger Deals, mehr gemeinsame europäische Verantwortung für Sicherheit und Verteidigung übernehmen. Gleichzeitig braucht es jetzt viel Engagement der Transatlantiker auf beiden Seiten, die Positionen nicht einfach gegeneinanderstehen lassen oder sie sogar noch um innenpolitischen Applaus heischend verschärfen. Die die klugen und starken Leader formen die gemeinsamen Themen im ständigen Dialog über den Atlantik hinweg.

*

Eine gekürzte Version dieses Artikels erschien am 23.03.2017 in der Tageszeitung „Die Presse“.

Autor

Nico Lange

Serie

Länderberichte

erschienen

USA, 22. März 2017

Am Dienstag besucht Angela Merkel Donald Trump zum ersten Mal persönlich. | © Reuters / Kevin Lamarque

Am 16.03.207 besuchte Angela Merkel Donald Trump zum ersten Mal persönlich.

Kontakt

Nico Lange

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Washington

Nico Lange
Tel. +1 202 464 5840
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ русский,‎ Українська