Donald Trump’s New Strategy for Afghanistan

Reactions and Recommendations from Leading US Think Tanks

Also available in Deutsch

His original instinct was, in fact, to pull out of Afghanistan, explained Donald Trump on August 21, 2017 in the introductory remarks of his speech in Fort Myer. The US president then went on to present the objectives and measures of his “path forward in Afghanistan and South Asia”. The community of experts in Washington welcomes some of his decisions, but is generally skeptical and subsequently recommends further possible courses of action to the administration.

ONE STRATEGY FOR THE ENTIRE REGION

Donald Trump’s “new strategy” is founded on five main pillars.

At the very top of the agenda based on his change of course is the idea that the timing of the withdrawal of US soldiers will not be determined by a fixed date set by politicians, but exclusively by the conditions on the ground. Trump prefers not to talk about troop numbers nor the details of his military strategy. The enemies must never know US plans, he said, so that they could not use that knowledge to their advantage.

In addition, the US president aims at reaching a political solution in Afghanistan by integrating diplomatic, economic, and military power instruments and does not rule out potential involvement of the Taliban. But he stressed that the role played by the US would be clearly limited: ”We are not nation-building again. We are killing terrorists.”

A further part of the strategy addresses Pakistan, which neighbors Afghanistan. Trump stated that the United States could no longer be silent about Pakistan providing safe havens for terrorist organizations and called upon Pakistan to change its course.

With regard to South Asia, he said that it was important to further develop the strategic partnership with India and strengthen its role in Afghanistan, especially in the area of economic assistance and development.

To the US soldiers, President Trump promised better equipment and relaxed rules of engagement. To this end, Washington should grant greater decision-making authority to military personnel who are closer to the front line.

HONEST ANALYSIS WITH GOOD IDEAS

Generally speaking, the conservative think tanks are showing greater enthusiasm for the president’s new strategy than the left-leaning ones. But in view of the difficulties of the longest war the US has ever been engaged in, the latter have also welcomed some of Donald Trump’s decisions.

“Conditions” instead of “Time”

An overwhelming majority across all think tanks agree that the US engagement should continue in principle because it is against the US’ own interests to leave the conflict to local forces or private contractors in the belief that doing so could increase the chances of success. This is the position put forward by Max Boot from the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), for example, who warns that the use of private contractors would add fresh hazards due to the lack of clarity about the relationship between them and regular forces, such as in the event of illegal conduct or emergency situations.

Calls by think tank experts for more US troops or, conversely, for a complete American withdrawal from Afghanistan are few and far between.

“The best part of Trump’s speech was what he did not say,” comments Shuja Nawaz from the Atlantic Council, meaning that, unlike his predecessor, Donald Trump had not declared a date for the withdrawal of US troops from Afghanistan. On behalf of the American Enterprise Institute (AEI), Michael Rubin writes that Trump is absolutely correct in his conditions-based approach, although he still needs to define those conditions in detail.

Killing Terrorists instead of Nation-Building

With Trump having repeatedly emphasized a new focus on the fight against terror while distancing himself from the aim of nation-building, many think tank representatives consider the revision of US interests a done deal. Conservative think tanks, in particular, are very pleased about this. James Jay Carafano from the Heritage Foundation gives one of his commentaries the title “Trump Puts America First in Afghanistan”.

Michael Kugelman of the Wilson Center argues that to be effective, a strategy needs clearly defined objectives. He believes that Trump has now fulfilled this condition by focusing on the fight against terror. In this context, Roger L. Simon calls attention to the lessons learned from the attacks of September 11, 2001. Afghanistan must not once again become a staging area for international terrorism, stresses the expert from the Hoover Institution in justification of his support for a continued US engagement. But Simon goes on to say that this does not mean that the US should waste one minute trying to “turn places like Afghanistan or Iraq into Denmark”.

It is predominantly conservative experts who approve this rejection of nation-building as a goal. “So the endgame is not to rebuild the Afghan nation,” emphasizes James Carafano (Heritage), for example. “The chief result of nation-building programs under Bush and Obama has been to spark corruption, which corrodes security”, thinks Michael Rubin (AEI). But for Anthony Cordesman from the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS): “It is one thing to give up the futile US efforts to use aid to transform the political, legal, and economic system of a nation from the outside and do so regardless of its cultural values and the views and needs of its deeply divided peoples. It is quite another not to help and push them into shaping and executing their own reform programs when these are vital to their survival, progress, unity, and stability.” Laurel Miller from the RAND Corporation, however, emphasizes that Trump’s strategy would require the US to continue with its engagement in nation-building. In her eyes it is not, as many maintain, a matter of re-making the country “in our own image”. Instead, nation-building is part of the US counter-insurgency strategy – the idea being that the Afghan government must have the political and institutional wherewithal to win and maintain the population's support.

Pakistan is Part of the Picture

There is a greater consensus among the expert community on the idea that there is a need for a regional strategy to solve the conflict in Afghanistan and that Pakistan plays a crucial role. Daniel L. Byman from the Brookings Institution writes that even though a change of course in Islamabad’s dealing with terrorists would be difficult to achieve, Trump has at least taken a step forward, namely by making some US aid to Pakistan conditional on ending support for the Taliban. In an interview with his colleague Ashish Kumar Sen, James B. Cun-ningham (from the Atlantic Council) states that Trump’s policy has created an opportunity to offer Pakistan incentives as well as deterrence to change its behavior. Luke Coffey (Heritage Foundation) sees Trump’s firmness in his stance towards Pakistan as crucial to his regional approach and succeeding where his predecessors’ endeavors failed.

MUCH MILITARY AND LITTLE GOVERNANCE

Despite a certain amount of positive feedback, the picture overall is dominated by criticism – criticism that relates not only to the content of the new strategy but also to Washington’s so-called “swamp”.

Trump Repeats Predecessors’ Mistakes

Alyssa Ayres from the CFR titles her analysis “The Not-So-New ‘New’ South Asia Strategy”, reflecting the sentiment of some of her colleagues, who do not accept the word “new” in this context. In terms of content, their criticism is aimed at stationing “new” US troops in Afghanistan, and this applies across the board, whatever their political orientation.

“If we couldn’t win with 100,000 troops under President Obama, how will just one-fifth as many prevail?”, asks Rich Barlow from the Hoover Institution, for instance. His opinion is shared by experts at the Cato Institute, among others. Doug Bandow also makes reference to the substantially higher numbers of troops in the pre-Trump era and adds that the increase in troop levels that seems to be envisaged would not help the Afghan forces. On the contrary: more foreign troops fighting in more areas would probably enhance Taliban recruiting.

“Unfortunately, Trump’s way forward focuses almost exclusively on increasing military pressure,” complain Michael Fuchs, Hardin Lang, and Vikram Singh from the Center for American Progress (CAP). They believe that this explicit focus on the military to the detriment of all other parts of an integrated strategy (including a diplomatic dimension and development aid) is “a recipe for disaster”.

Differentiated Image of the Adversaries

According to many experts, the US government should bring its anti-terrorist strategy up to date. After all, a great deal has changed since September 11, 2001, says Rolf Mowatt-Larssen from the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Harvard). The mere existence of safe havens for terrorists hardly represents a genuine threat to US national security anymore. John Mueller from the Cato Institute even talks of a “safe haven myth” and calls for a distinction to be made between the Taliban in Afghanistan and ISIS with its international outlook. He consequently warns against applying the strategy used in Iraq and Syria to Afghanistan as well.

Quite apart from that, the US should be careful in its dealings with Pakistan. As already explained, most experts consider Afghanistan’s neighbor to be in a key position and therefore both part of the problem and part of the solution. Daniel L. Byman (Brookings) is not convinced that Trump can be successful in making Islamabad change course – and he is not alone in his skepticism. “There is no new US policy towards Pakistan – and there won't be one soon”, writes Jonah Blank from RAND; as a first proof of this, he cites the fact that no significant actions towards Pakistan have been made public in the first two months since Trump’s announcement of the strategy. Lawrence J. Korb (CAP), for his part, argues that Trump’s attempt to assign India a more important role in this conflict will not stop Pakistan from providing assistance to the Taliban. He is also critical of curtailing aid to Pakistan. That would make it even more difficult to move material for US troops in Afghanistan through Pakistan. Jonah Blank (RAND) shares this opinion. Gautam Adhikari (CAP) adds that closer cooperation between the US and India may alarm Islamabad and drive it deeper into the arms of China, particularly since Beijing has already declared its readiness to assist Pakistan if Pakistan begins to lose US backing.

War for War’s Sake?

Some experts still do not feel sufficiently well informed even after Donald Trump’s speech. Bruce Riedel from Brookings, among others, complains that Trump has left open important details of his strategy. “He failed to say how many additional troops he would send or what they would do,” adds Stephen Tankel from the Center for a New American Security (CNAS). What he – and some of his colleagues – believe is lacking is a definition of the overarching goal. Tankel writes that Trump has never specified the conditions necessary to bring the US troops home.

Occasionally, individual experts attack the Washington political establishment as a whole and accuse Trump of having succumbed to it. Lee Smith from the Hudson Institute has expressed this idea most harshly. Afghanistan is regarded as something of a “boon”, he maintains, making reference to the many military jobs and promotions, profitable business deals in the military-industrial complex as well as the chance for aid organizations to “benefit” from such a war.

HELP TO PROMOTE SELF-HELP

The experts from the different think tanks by no means limit themselves to assigning praise and blame. They also put forward ideas of their own and indicate further possible courses of action. In this context, a broad coalition of all political camps is coming together under the principle of helping the Afghan state to gain new strength of its own.

Reforms in Afghanistan Should Be Prioritized

John R. Allen – a former four-star general with Afghanistan experience and now president of the Brookings Institution – and Michael E. O’Hanlon (Brookings) have presented an entire catalogue of measures with which the US could help Afghanistan to “reverse the momentum of the war”. The two experts would like to see the added US troops used to mentor and advise Afghan units. In addition, the US government should help its Afghan counterpart to fight corruption. According to S. Rebecca Zimmerman from the RAND Corporation, the US should also, in any role possible, exert its influence to ensure that the parliamentary elections can take place in 2018. She believes that electoral law will subsequently need to be reformed – preferably before the presidential election one year later.

Anthony Cordesman (CSIS) also insists on an economic component. He believes that domestic economic reforms are what the country needs above all, combined with a reduction in the barriers to private enterprise and development. But the United States should not be seen to be the only outside force driving this process. Cordesman proposes a World Bank field team as a partner. In the search for partners, India once again comes into play. Alyssa Ayres (CFR) writes: “We should be doing more with India to support Afghanistan, including helping to shore up its challenged government.”

Some experts from the conservative camp can identify with the above proposals. Peter Brookes from the Heritage Foundation, for one, provides the following summary: “As Afghanistan’s friend, the United States and other partners (India and Europe, for example) will work with Kabul to assist the country politically, economically, and socially in support of our common interests.”

Proper Stewardship with Pakistan and the Taliban

Trying to find the appropriate approach to dealing with Pakistan, experts come to different conclusions, not necessarily dividing along conventional lines. If the Trump administration is serious about taking on Pakistan, it should consider a substantial escalation, according to Daniel L. Byman (Brookings); the key measures here would entail drones, covert operations, and commando raids, because confrontation is the only way to defeat the Taliban leadership. The alternative is to go with the stick-and-carrot approach. In an interview with Ashish Kumar Sen, James B. Cunningham (Atlantic Council) has this to say on the matter: “The Trump administration must launch a multilateral effort to get Pakistan into a better place in terms of its actions, not just its rhetoric, and then find a way to push the Taliban into negotiations”.

Laurel E. Miller (RAND) among others also believes that one of the best solutions for Afghanistan would be to negotiate a settlement with the Taliban thereby giving them a place at the political table while at the same time engaging key regional players to support this initiative.

Finally, some experts believe that it is also important to think about the roles Iran and Russia play in Afghanistan.

CONCLUSION

Most experts believe that it would be a good thing for the United States to maintain its engagement in Afghanistan and follow a regional strategy involving Pakistan and India. This strategy should, however, be pursued with caution, making constructive efforts to reduce tensions in the region. Some experts think that resolving the conflict in Afghanistan will in the long term require the political involvement of the Taliban.

Even though comprehensive nation-building is generally no longer viewed as a realistic aim, many Afghanistan experts advocate continued US engagement to strengthen the domestic political system, provide training for the Afghan army, fight corruption, and promote private enterprise and development work.

As regards to the military aspect of Trump’s strategy, there is still a great deal of uncertainty among the think tanks because of the lack of information. To many experts, the announcement of the intention to combat terror is not enough. They demand further details about planned troop numbers and the overarching objectives of the operations. Most do not believe a military mission alone can bring about success. Years of previous military engagement did not produce a convincing result, so why should it work this time – with even fewer boots on the ground? That is the main question experts pose to the US government.

In conclusion, even after 16 years of US engagement in Afghanistan, the debate has not quieted down. The dispute is conducted by a large number of Asia and security experts who are spread across the entire political spectrum. One remarkable aspect of the current discussion about US strategy in the region is the fact that its transatlantic partners which have stationed troops in Afghanistan, such as Germany, are largely ignored. The contributions the Europeans are making in Afghanistan and their cooperation with the US is either not mentioned at all or only in passing. Nor do the interests or strategic objectives of the transatlantic partners form any part of the debate in Washington. One almost gets the impression that the US is the only external force present in Afghanistan. This raises many questions about future cooperation between the Americans and Europeans in matters of global security, including the fight against terrorism.


FURTHER READING

Brookings Institution
“The case for/against continued US involvement in Afghanistan”
(Two-Part Series)
Daniel L. Byman, September 5, 2017
https://www.brookings.edu/blog/order-from-chaos/2017/09/05/the-case-for-continued-u-s-involvement-in-afghanistan/

CSIS
“Afghanistan, Iraq, Somalia, and Yemen: Once Again, Is Half a Strategy Better than None?”
Anthony Cordesman, September 11, 2017
https://www.csis.org/analysis/afghanistan-iraq-somalia-and-yemen-once-again-half-strategy-better-none

Heritage Foundation
“New Afghan Strategy Hits the Mark”
Peter Brookes, August 24, 2017
http://www.heritage.org/middle-east/commentary/new-afghan-strategy-hits-the-mark


ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Dr. Céline-Agathe Caro is Senior Policy Analyst at the Washington D.C. office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.
celine.caro@kas.de / @CelineACaro
www.kas.de/wf/de/37.3769/

Markus Hehn is studying Political Sciences and History at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen.


Cover Photo Credits:
Location: CAMP LEATHERNECK, AF
December 13, 2010
Lance Cpl. Glen Santy/ Glen Santy Co-pyright/ Flickr/ CC BY 2.0
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/


References/Footnotes: see Pdf document.

Author

Céline-Agathe Caro

Publication series

Country Reports

published

United States, November 15, 2017

Contact

Nico Lange

Head of the KAS office in the USA

Nico Lange
Phone +1 202 464 5840
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ русский,‎ Українська

Donald Trumps neue Strategie für Afghanistan

Reaktionen und Vorschläge aus führenden US-Think Tanks

Auch verfügbar in English

Sein ursprünglicher Instinkt sei eigentlich der Rückzug aus Afghanistan gewesen, erklärte Donald Trump am 21. August 2017 zu Beginn seiner Rede in Fort Myer. Dann legte der US-Präsident allerdings die Ziele und Maßnahmen seines „Zukunftsplans in Afghanistan und Südasien“ vor. Die Experten-Gemeinschaft in Washington begrüßt einige Entscheidungen, zeigt sich aber in vieler Hinsicht eher skeptisch und weist die Administration auf weitere Handlungsmöglichkeiten hin.

EINE STRATEGIE FÜR DIE GANZE REGION

Donald Trumps „neue Strategie“ besteht überwiegend aus fünf Vorhaben.

An die Spitze seiner Kursänderung stellt der US-Präsident, dass künftig kein politisch festgelegtes Datum über den Rückzug der US-Soldaten entscheiden soll, sondern einzig die tatsächlichen Bedingungen vor Ort. Zudem möchte Trump weder über Truppenzahlen noch über Details seiner militärischen Strategie sprechen. Die Feinde dürften diese nicht erfahren, sagte er, damit sie sich nicht darauf einstellen können.

Darüber hinaus strebt der US-Präsident mit den vereinten Kräften von Diplomatie, Wirtschaft und Militär eine politische Lösung in Afghanistan an und schließt eine Beteiligung der Taliban nicht aus. Die amerikanische Rolle sei dabei aber klar begrenzt: „Wir werden kein Nation-Building mehr betreiben. Wir töten Terroristen.“

Ein weiterer Teil der Strategie adressiert Pakistan, das Nachbarland Afghanistans. Die Vereinigten Staaten könnten nicht länger über Pakistans Rolle als sicherer Hafen für Terroristen in der Region schweigen, sagt Trump und ruft Pakistan zur Umkehr auf.

In Bezug auf Indien gelte es, die strategische Partnerschaft weiterzuentwickeln und Indiens Rolle in Afghanistan besonders in wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht zu stärken.

Den amerikanischen Soldaten verspricht Präsident Trump eine bessere Ausstattung und größere Handlungsspielräume für deren Einsatz. Dafür solle Washington Teile der Befehlsgewalt an Stellen abgeben, die näher am echten Kampf-Geschehen sind.

EHRLICHE ANALYSE MIT GUTEN ANSÄTZEN

Generell gesprochen findet sich unter den konservativen Think Tanks eine größere Anhängerschaft für die neue Strategie des Präsidenten als unter den links-gerichteten Denkfabriken. Letztere finden angesichts der Schwierigkeit des historisch längsten Krieges der USA aber auch anerkennende Worte für manche Entscheidungen von Donald Trump.

„Conditions“ anstelle von „time“

Eine überwältigende Mehrheit quer durch alle Think Tanks ist sich einig, dass der US-Einsatz grundsätzlich weitergehen sollte. Denn es sei wider die eigenen Interessen, den Kampf den Kräften vor Ort, bzw. privaten Auftragnehmern, zu überlassen und zu glauben, dadurch die Erfolgschancen erhöhen zu können. So erläutert zum Beispiel Max Boot vom Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) seine Position und warnt in Bezug auf private Auftragnehmer, dass dies wegen des unklaren Verhältnisses zwischen jenen und regulären Truppen etwa im Falle von Verstößen oder einer Notsituation neue Risiken hinzufügen würde.

Rufe der Think Tank-Experten nach mehr US-Truppen oder umgekehrt nach einem kompletten Rückzug der Amerikaner aus Afghanistan gibt es nur vereinzelt.

„Das Beste an Trumps Rede war, was er nicht gesagt hat“, bemerkt Shuja Nawaz vom Atlantic Council und meint damit, dass der Präsident im Unterschied zu seinem Vorgänger kein konkretes Datum für den Rückzug der US-Truppen verkündet hat. Für das American Enterprise Institute (AEI) schreibt etwa Michael Rubin, dass Trump mit seinem zustandsbezogenen (conditions-based) Ansatz den Nagle auf den Kopf treffe, wenn der Präsident auch eine exakte Definition der Bedingungen noch schuldig geblieben sei.

Terroristen töten statt Nation-Building

Mit dem vom Trump mehrmals beschworenen neuen Schwerpunkt auf Terrorbekämpfung und seiner zusätzlichen Distanzierung vom Nation-Building sehen viele Vertreter aus den Think Tanks eine Neubestimmung des US-Interesses als vollzogen an. Dies goutieren vor allem konservative Think Tanks. James Jay Carafano von der Heritage Foundation überschreibt einen Kommentar mit den Worten „Trump Puts America First in Afghanistan“.

Eine Strategie, die funktionieren soll, brauche ein klares Ziel, argumentiert Michael Kugelman vom Wilson Center. Diese Bedingung habe Trump nun erfüllt, indem er die Terrorbekämpfung in den Mittelpunkt gestellt habe. Roger L. Simon verweist an dieser Stelle auf die Lehren aus den Anschlägen vom 11. September 2001. Afghanistan dürfe nicht wieder zu einem Sammelpunkt des internationalen Terrorismus werden, betont der Experte der Hoover Institution und begründet damit seine Unterstützung für ein fortdauerndes Engagement der Amerikaner. Das bedeute aber nicht, so Simon weiter, dass die USA auch nur eine Minute an den Versuch verschwenden sollten, „Länder wie Afghanistan oder Irak in Dänemark zu verwandeln“.

Dieser Absage an Nation-Building stimmen vor allem konservative Experten zu. „Das Endspiel besteht nicht darin, die afghanische Nation wieder aufzubauen“, betont zum Beispiel James Carafano (Heritage). „Das hauptsächliche Ergebnis der Nation-Building-Programme von Bush und Obama war das Entfachen von Korruption zulasten von Sicherheit “, meint Michael Rubin (AEI). Für Anthony Cordesman vom Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) allerdings: „Es ist die eine Sache, das aussichtslose Bemühen der Vereinigten Staaten aufzugeben, durch Unterstützung von außen das politische, juristische und wirtschaftliche System einer Nation verändern zu wollen und dies ohne Rücksicht auf deren kulturellen Werte und die Ansichten und Nöte ihres tief gespaltenen Volkes zu tun. Es ist aber eine ganz andere Sache, gar nicht zu helfen und sie dazu zu drängen, ihre Reformprogramme selbst zu gestalten und umzusetzen, wenn diese unentbehrlich für deren Überleben, ihren Fortschritt, ihre Einheit und ihre Stabilität sind.“ Laurel Miller vom RAND Corporation unterstreicht ihrerseits, dass Trumps Strategie die USA weiterhin dazu verpflichten werde, Nation-Building zu betreiben. Es gehe dabei nicht darum, wie viele es behaupten, das Land nach unserem Ebenbild aufzubauen, so Miller. Nation-Building sei eher Teil der US-Aufstandsbekämpfungsstrategie, um der afghanischen Regierung die erforderlichen Mittel zu geben, damit sie die Unterstützung der Bevölkerung gewinnen kann.

Pakistan gehört mit in den Fokus

Größerer Konsens herrscht in der Experten-Gemeinschaft, dass eine regionale Strategie nötig ist, um den Konflikt in Afghanistan zu lösen, und dass Pakistan in dieser Hinsicht eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Auch wenn ein Wandel Islamabads in seinem Umgang mit Terroristen nur schwierig möglich sei, so sei Trump immerhin einen Schritt vorangegangen. Und zwar, indem er US-Hilfen für Pakistan an die Bedingung geknüpft habe, deren Unterstützung für die Taliban einzustellen, schreibt Daniel L. Byman von der Brookings Institution. Trumps Politik habe damit die Möglichkeit geschaffen, Pakistans Verhalten durch Mittel des Anreizes wie auch der Abschreckung zu verändern, stellt James B. Cunningham im Interview mit Ashish Kumar Sen (beide vom Atlantic Council) fest. Auch Luke Coffey (Heritage Foundation) sieht Trumps Ernsthaftigkeit gegenüber Pakistan als entscheidend dafür an, ob sein regionaler Ansatz – im Gegensatz zu den Versuchen seiner Vorgänger – Erfolg haben kann.

ZU VIEL MILITÄR, ZU WENIG GOVERNANCE

Ungeachtet mancher positiver Resonanz überwiegt im Gesamtbild doch die Kritik – Kritik, die sich nicht nur am Inhalt der neuen Strategie abarbeitet, sondern auch Washingtons „Sumpf“ ins Auge fasst.

Trump wiederholt Fehler seiner Vorgänger

Alyssa Ayres vom CFR gibt ihrer Analyse die Überschrift „Die nicht allzu neue ‚neue‘ Südasien-Strategie“ und spricht damit einigen ihrer Kollegen aus der Seele, die das Wort „neu“ nicht gelten lassen wollen. Inhaltlich richtet sich deren Kritik – die unabhängig der eigenen politischen Ausrichtung geäußert wird – gegen die Stationierung neuer US-Truppen in Afghanistan.

„Wenn wir nicht mit 100.000 Mann unter Präsident Obama gewinnen konnten, wie wird sich dann gerade einmal ein Fünftel davon durchsetzen?“, fragt zum Beispiel Rich Barlow von der Hoover Institution. Zustimmung erhält er unter anderem aus dem Cato Institute. Doug Bandow verweist ebenfalls auf die wesentliche höhere Truppenstärke aus der Zeit vor Trump und fügt an, dass die nun offenbar angedachte erneute Erhöhung den afghanischen Kräften kaum helfen würde. Im Gegenteil: Weitere ausländische Soldaten, die in weiteren Regionen kämpfen, würden es den Taliban wahrscheinlich leichter machen, Menschen für sich zu gewinnen.

„Leider fokussiert sich Trumps ‚Weg nach vorn‘ fast ausschließlich darauf, den militärischen Druck zu erhöhen“, beklagen auch Michael Fuchs, Hardin Lang und Vikram Singh vom Center for American Progress (CAP). Dieser explizite Vorzug vor allen anderen Teilen einer integrierten Strategie (u.a. mit einer diplomatischen Dimension und Entwicklungshilfe) sei „der sichere Weg in die Katastrophe“.

Gegner differenziert betrachten

Laut vielen Experten sollte die US-Regierung ihre Strategie gegenüber Terroristen auf den aktuellen Stand der Dinge bringen. Denn: Seit dem 11. September 2001 habe sich Vieles geändert, stellt Rolf Mowatt-Larssen vom Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Harvard) fest. Die schlichte Existenz von so genannten „sicheren Häfen“ (safe havens), also Rückzugsorten für Terroristen, stelle kaum mehr eine wirkliche Bedrohung für die nationale Sicherheit der USA dar. John Mueller vom Cato Institute spricht sogar von einem „Safe-Haven-Mythos“ und verlangt eine Unterscheidung zwischen den Taliban in Afghanistan und dem ISIS mit seiner internationalen Ausrichtung. Folglich warnt er davor, dieselbe Strategie wie in Irak und Syrien auch in Afghanistan anwenden zu wollen.

Darüber hinaus sollten die USA mit Pakistan vorsichtig sein: Wie bereits dargelegt, sehen die meisten Experten den Nachbarstaat Afghanistans an einer Schlüsselposition und damit sowohl als Teil des Problems wie auch Teil der Lösung. Dass Trump hier erfolgreich sein und den Kurs Islamabads ändern kann, glaubt Daniel L. Byman (Brookings) kaum – und ist mit seiner Skepsis nicht allein. „Es gibt keine neue US-Politik gegenüber Pakistan und es wird auch keine bald geben“, schreibt Jonah Blank vom RAND. Ein erster Beweis dafür sei, dass in den zwei ersten Monaten nach Trumps Ankündigungen keine signifikante Initiative bekannt gemacht worden sei. Lawrence J. Korb (CAP) argumentiert seinerseits, dass Trumps Vorstoß, Indien eine gewichtigere Rolle in diesem Konflikt zukommen zu lassen, Pakistans Hilfe für die Taliban nicht beenden wird. Auch den Stopp der Hilfsleistungen an Pakistan sieht er kritisch. So würde es noch schwerer, Material für die US-Truppen durch Pakistan nach Afghanistan zu bringen. Eine Meinung, die Jonah Blank (RAND) auch teilt. Gautam Adhikari (CAP) ergänzt: Eine engere Zusammenarbeit zwischen den USA und Indien könnte Islamabad alarmieren und weiter in die Hände Chinas treiben, zumal Peking sich bereit erklärt habe, Pakistan zur Seite zu stehen, wenn die USA zukünftig das Land weniger unterstützen.

Krieg um des Krieges willen?

Einige Experten fühlen sich auch nach der Rede nicht ausreichend informiert. Unter anderem Bruce Riedel von Brookings bemängelt, dass Trump wichtige Einzelheiten seiner Strategie offen gelassen habe. „Er hat es verpasst klarzustellen, wie viele zusätzliche Truppen er senden würde und was diese zu tun hätten“, ergänzt Stephen Tankel vom Center for a New American Security (CNAS). Ihm fehlt – wie auch einigen seiner Kollegen – eine Definition des übergeordneten Ziels. Tankel schreibt, Trump habe nie die Bedingungen näher erläutert, unter welchen die US-Soldaten wieder heimkehren könnten.

Bisweilen greifen einzelne Experten auch das politische Washington als Ganzes an und werfen Trump vor, sich dem nun angepasst zu haben. Lee Smith vom Hudson Institute formuliert dies am schärfsten. Man sehe Afghanistan in der US-Hauptstadt als einen „Segen“, behauptet er und verweist auf viele Jobs und militärische Aufstiegschancen sowie florierende Geschäfte im militärischen Bereich und vom Krieg „profitierende“ Hilfsorganisationen.

HILFE ZUR SELBSTHILFE

Die Experten aus den verschiedenen Think Tanks beschränken sich nicht etwa auf Lob und Tadel. Sie bringen auch eigene Ideen vor und weisen auf weitere Handlungsmöglichkeiten hin. Dabei vereint sich ein breites Bündnis aus allen politischen Lagern hinter der Devise: Verhelfen wir dem afghanischen Staat zu neuer, eigener Stärke.

Reformen in Afghanistan haben Priorität

John R. Allen – ein ehemaliger Vier-Sterne-General mit Afghanistanerfahrung und neuer Präsident der Brookings Institution – und Michael E. O’Hanlon (Brookings) legen einen ganzen Katalog vor, mit dem die USA Afghanistan helfen könnten, „das Momentum des Krieges umzukehren“. Die beiden Experten möchten die zusätzlichen amerikanischen Truppen als Ausbilder und Berater der afghanischen Einheiten eingesetzt wissen. Außerdem möge die US-Regierung ihrem afghanischen Pendant bei der Korruptionsbekämpfung helfen. Darüber hinaus sollten die USA, ergänzt S. Rebecca Zimmerman von der RAND Corporation, in welcher Rolle auch immer dazu beitragen, dass die Parlamentswahlen 2018 stattfinden können. Danach bräuchte es ihr zufolge eine Wahlrechtsreform – am besten noch vor der Präsidentenwahl ein Jahr später.

Anthony Cordesman (CSIS) pocht zudem auf eine ökonomische Komponente. Interne wirtschaftliche Reformen seien jetzt das vorrangige Bedürfnis, gepaart mit einem Abbau der Hürden für Unternehmertum und Entwicklung. Dies sollten die Vereinigten Staaten aber besser nicht alleine vorantreiben, so Cordesman. Er schlägt ein „Field Team“ der Weltbank als Partner vor. Auf der Suche nach Partnern kommt hier einmal mehr Indien ins Spiel. Alyssa Ayres (CFR) schreibt: „Wir sollten mehr zusammen mit Indien tun, um Afghanistan zu helfen“. Dies beinhalte auch, eine Stütze für die herausgeforderte Regierung des Landes zu sein.

Manche Experten aus dem konservativen Lager können sich mit den aufgeführten Vorschlägen identifizieren. Beispielhaft hierfür liefert Peter Brookes von der Heritage Foundation folgende Zusammenfassung: „Als Freunde Afghanistans werden die USA und andere Partner (etwa Indien oder Europa) mit Kabul zusammenarbeiten, um dem Land zugunsten unserer gemeinsamer Interessen politisch, ökonomisch und auch sozial zur Seite zu stehen.“

Richtiger Umgang mit Pakistan und Taliban

Auf der Suche nach einem angemessenen Umgang mit Pakistan kommen die Experten zu verschiedenen Ergebnissen und lassen sich dabei nicht in klassische Lager einordnen. Wenn Trump sich wirklich ernsthaft Pakistans annehmen wolle, so rät Daniel L. Byman (Brookings) zu einer substantiellen Eskalation. Drohnenschläge, Geheimoperationen und Überfallkommandos lauten hier die Stichpunkte, denn nur mit Konfrontation könne man den Taliban-Führern tatsächlich beikommen. Die Alternative hierzu folgt der Lehre von Zuckerbrot und Peitsche. James B. Cunningham (Atlantic Council) sagt im Interview mit Ashish Kumar Sen diesbezüglich: „Die Trump-Administration muss eine multilaterale Anstrengung unternehmen, um Pakistan in eine bessere Position zu bringen – nicht nur in Bezug auf deren Rhetorik, sondern auch deren Taten – und danach einen Weg finden, die Taliban an den Verhandlungstisch zu bringen.

Unter anderem Laurel E. Miller (RAND) ist auch der Meinung, dass eine der besten Lösungen für Afghanistan darin bestehen würde, mit den Taliban zu verhandeln, ihnen einen Platz im politischen System zu geben und die Schlüsselpartner in der Region dazu zu gewinnen, dieses Ziel zu unterstützen.

Schließlich wäre es für einige Experten auch wichtig, über die Rolle des Irans und Russlands in Afghanistan nachzudenken.

FAZIT

Die meisten Experten heißen es prinzipiell gut, wenn die USA in Afghanistan bleiben und einer regionalen Strategie folgen, die Pakistan und Indien miteinbezieht. Diese sollte aber vorsichtig entwickelt werden, um konstruktiv dazu beizutragen, die Spannungen in der Region zu reduzieren. Für manche wird die Lösung des Konflikts in Afghanistan langfristig auch nur unter der politischen Einbeziehung der Taliban möglich sein.

Auch wenn umfangreiches Nation-Building in der Regel nicht mehr als realistisches Ziel betrachtet wird, so plädieren dennoch viele Afghanistan-Kenner für ein weiteres Engagement der USA, um das dortige politische System zu stärken, die afghanische Armee auszubilden, Korruption zu bekämpfen und die Wirtschaft wie auch die Entwicklungsarbeit zu fördern.

Was den militärischen Aspekt von Trumps Strategie anbelangt, herrscht in den Think Tanks wegen mangelnder Information noch viel Unsicherheit. Terrorbekämpfung anzukündigen reicht für viele Experten nicht aus. Sie verlangen weitere Details über die Anzahl der geplanten Truppen und das übergeordnete Ziel der Operationen. Die Erfolgschancen einer reinen militärischen Mission werden von den meisten als sehr gering eingeschätzt. Wenn jahrelanges militärisches Engagement zu keinem überzeugenden Ergebnis geführt habe, warum sollte es dieses Mal – mit weniger Soldaten vor Ort – anders sein?, so lautet die Hauptfrage der Experten an die US-Regierung.

Abschließend lässt sich festhalten, dass auch nach 16 Jahren US-Engagement in Afghanistan die Debatte darüber nicht abgeebbt ist. Ganz im Gegenteil: Sie wird kontrovers von zahlreichen Asien- und Sicherheitsexperten geführt, die sich über das gesamte politische Spektrum verteilen. Bemerkenswert bei dieser US-Diskussion über die neue amerikanische Strategie in der Region ist auch, dass die transatlantischen Partner der USA, die ebenfalls Soldaten in Afghanistan stationiert haben (beispielsweise Deutschland), kaum eine Rolle zu spielen scheinen. Der Beitrag der Europäer in Afghanistan und die Zusammenarbeit mit den USA werden von den Experten entweder gar nicht oder nur recht beiläufig erwähnt. Die Interessen und strategischen Ziele der transatlantischen Partner sind ebenfalls nicht Teil der Debatte in Washington. Es entsteht regelrecht der Eindruck, als seien die USA allein in Afghanistan. Dies wirft viele Fragen über die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Amerikanern und den Europäern in Bezug auf globale Sicherheitsfragen – unter anderem im Bereich der Terrorismusbekämpfung – auf.


LESE-EMPFEHLUNGEN

Brookings Institution
“The case for/against continued US involvement in Afghanistan”
(Two-Part Series)
Daniel L. Byman, 5. September 2017
https://www.brookings.edu/blog/order-from-chaos/2017/09/05/the-case-for-continued-u-s-involvement-in-afghanistan/

CSIS
“Afghanistan, Iraq, Somalia, and Yemen: Once Again, Is Half a Strategy Better than None?”
Anthony Cordesman, 11. September 2017
https://www.csis.org/analysis/afghanistan-iraq-somalia-and-yemen-once-again-half-strategy-better-none

Heritage Foundation
“New Afghan Strategy Hits the Mark”
Peter Brookes, 24. August 2017
http://www.heritage.org/middle-east/commentary/new-afghan-strategy-hits-the-mark


ZU DEN AUTOREN

Dr. Céline-Agathe Caro ist Senior Policy Analyst im Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Washington D.C.
celine.caro@kas.de / @CelineACaro
www.kas.de/wf/de/37.3769/

Markus Hehn studiert an der Eberhard Karls Universität in Tübingen Politikwissenschaft und Geschichtswissenschaften.


Für die Fußnoten, siehe Pdf-Datei.


BILDVERMERK TITELSEITE
Location: CAMP LEATHERNECK, AF
13. Dezember 2010
Lance Cpl. Glen Santy/ Glen Santy Copyright/ Flickr/ CC BY 2.0
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/


Autor

Dr. Céline-Agathe Caro

Serie

Länderberichte

erschienen

USA, 15. November 2017

Kontakt

Nico Lange