Strengthening Local Governance for Local Economic Growth in Vietnamese Cities (LoGoViC)

EU co-funded grant project

Also available in tiếng Việt, Deutsch

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V. (KAS) in Vietnam is implementing partner of the Association of Cities of Vietnam (ACVN) in a project on “Strengthening Local Governance for Local Economic Growth in Vietnamese Cities”. The project has started on July 1, 2013 and has a running time of 2 years.

Background information:

Since Vietnam has turned towards developing a market-oriented economic system, small and medium sized enterprises, family business and cooperatives have been continuously developed, mostly in urban areas, in terms of quantity and capital registration. By 2011, they occupied 90% of national economy and contributed 60% to GDP. These forces have been acknowledged to play an important role in sustaining economic growth, poverty reduction, creating employment and improving people’s life.

At this time of rapid economic development the country faces many problems, which go along with economic changes, such as social unrest, environmental damage, pollution and bad state management. Efforts have been made to improve relations between local authorities and the population through stronger involvement of the citizens in local socio-economic planning and decision-making. New policies in local governance are developed systematically, which aim at modernizing the public sector by strengthening the public sector’s responsibilities in implementation of policies and ensuring a more active monitoring role for non-State actors in the evaluation of public administration performance. The praxis of participation of the people, the quality of public services and communication between local authorities and citizens are not yet satisfying.

As a consequence the framework for private economic and social activities is far from being optimal, and the commitment of the population in public programmes on socio-economic development is poor. Some social sectors still lack capacity to integrate the most disadvantaged groups of the population. Local small businesses face a lot of challenges including the lack of available and relevant business operation training, lack of competent technical advisors and limited access to capital, information and technology. Communication barriers between local governments and the business sector and the lack of supportive policy mechanisms and incentives related to taxation impose further challenges on these enterprises.

The project is a response to these challenges. It aims at strengthening the local governance system and creating an enabling environment for local economic growth.

The Objectives:

The immediate aim of the project is to promote better economic and social conditions for the population of three cities in Vietnam. The project serves three specific objectives:

  1. ACVN contributes to better local governance and local economic growth and is able to influence the national agenda for local development;
  2. To improve the enabling environment for local economic growth in three pilot cities through enhanced local governance;
  3. Municipal staff and family businesses contribute to local development more efficiently.

The beneficiaries of the project are the population of the participating cities, small and family enterprises in Vietnam and local governments in various cities of Vietnam.

Project Activities:

  1. A baseline assessment of local governance and of development of local small enterprises and family businesses in three pilot cities.
  2. Training of future coaches and ACVN key staff on promoting local governance and the development of small enterprises and family businesses.
  3. Capacity building activities for local stakeholders in three cities (access of small enterprises and family businesses to operating funds, skills, technology, information, legal rights and markets). The capacity building measures will be implemented with active participation of local governments, small and family businesses, academia, media and policy makers at central and local levels.
  4. The organization of a nationally televised competition between three pilot cities for the title of City of good local economic development and liveability.
  5. Research and publication of best practices on “local governance and the development of small enterprises and family businesses” (demonstrated measures, incentives and administrative best practices for creating jobs, income generating opportunities and improving the livelihoods of disadvantaged groups) and policy recommendations to central government level and relevant stakeholders.
  6. Media outreach of project and selected best practices from the competition. Creation of a dedicated section for the Good-Governance Competition in the ACVN website.
  7. Capacity building on policy advocacy and lobbying for ACVN staff.
  8. Drafting policy recommendations of each pilot city and the organization of policy dialogues. At the end of the action, reports on the competition experience on improved local governance and promotion of local small enterprises will be distributed for nation-wide adaptation.
  9. The organization of policy dialogues with relevant central government level and stakeholders.

Results of the Action:

  • Increased capacity of ACVN to promote local governance and conduct policy dialogue at national level and to provide services to its members;
  • Increased capacity of municipal staff and family businesses to contribute to local development in three pilot cities;
  • Best practices from the three pilot cities are endorsed for replication at national level. The ACVN will lead the exchange of best practices, draw conclusions and develop national policy recommendations to contribute to the improvement of the legislative framework related to small local and family businesses.

EU-Projekt: "Stärkung der Kommunalverwaltung zur lokalen Wirtschaftsentwicklung in vietnamesischen Städten" (LoGoViC)

Auch verfügbar in tiếng Việt, English

Das Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer- Stiftung e.V. (KAS) in Vietnam unterstützt den Städteverband Vietnam (ACVN) bei der Implementierung des Projektes "Stärkung der Kommunalverwaltung zur lokalen Wirtschaftsentwicklung
in vietnamesischen Städten". Projektstart war der 1.Juli 2013. Das Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von 2 Jahren.

Hintergrundinformationen:

Seitdem Vietnam eine marktwirtschaftliche Orientierung eingeschlagen hat, entwickelte sich eine große Anzahl,kleiner sowie mittelständischer Unternehmen, Genossenschaften und Familienbetriebe mit wachsender Kapitalausstattung, insbesondere in städtischen Ballungszentren. Im Jahr 2011 machten diese bereits 90% der Gesamtwirtschaft aus und erwirtschafteten 60% des nationalen BIP. So tragen diese Unternehmen zu nachhaltigem Wirtschaftswachstum, Armutsbekämpfung, Aufbau von Arbeitsplätzen und einer Verbesserung des Lebensstandards bei.

Durch das rasante Wirtschaftswachstum sieht sich Vietnam aber auch zunehmend Problemen wie sozialen Unruhen, Umweltverschmutzung und schlechtem Regierungsmanagement gegenübergestellt, die mit den wirtschaftlichen Veränderungen einhergehen. Durch die Einführung von mehr Mitspracherecht für die Bürger bei sozioökonomischen Planungen und Entscheidungen wurde bereits versucht die Beziehung zwischen der Bevölkerung und den kommunalen Regierungen zu stärken. Systematisch werden neue Strategien in der örtlichen Verwaltung eingeführt, die auf die Modernisierung des öffentlichen Sektors zielen, indem dessen Verantwortung für die Umsetzung der Politik und für die Sicherung einer aktiven Rolle von Nichtregierungsorganisationen bei der kritischen Bewertung der Leistung der öffentlichen Verwaltung erhöht wird. Bisher können die Qualität der öffentlichen Dienstleistungen sowie die Kommunikation zwischen lokalen Behörden und Bürgern noch nicht zufriedenstellen.

Folglich ist der Rahmen für privatwirtschaftliche und soziale Tätigkeiten bei weitem nicht perfekt und auch die Teilnahme der Bevölkerung an öffentlichen Programmen zur sozioökonomischen Entwicklung ist gering. Manche Bereiche des sozialen Sektors sind nach wie vor nicht genügend auf die Einbindung der am stärksten benachteiligten Gesellschaftsgruppen ausgerichtet. Örtiche Kleinunternehmer haben viele Schwierigkeiten. So leiden sie unter fehlenden Angeboten für Geschäfts- und Managementtrainings, einem Mangel an kompetenten technischen Beratern, eingeschränktem Zugang zu Kapital, Informationen und Technologie. Zu den weiteren Herausforderungen für diese Unternehmen gehören Kommunikationsschwierigkeiten zwischen den Lokalregierungen und dem Wirtschaftssektor, sowie fehlende politische Unterstützungsmechanismen und Anreize im Bereich der Steuerpolitik.

Das Projekt ist eine Antwort auf eben diese Herausforderungen. Es zielt darauf ab, die lokalen Regierungssysteme zu stärken und ein Umfeld zu schaffen, in dem lokales Wirtschaftswachstum möglich ist.

Die Projektziele:

Das direkte Ziel des Projektes ist es, bessere ökonomische und soziale Konditionen für die Einwohner von drei vietnamesischen Städten zu schaffen. Das Projekt dient drei spezifischen Zielen:

  1. Der ACVN trägt zu einer Verbesserung der örtlichen Verwaltung und einer Beschleunigung des lokalen Wirtschaftswachstum bei und ist in der Lage die nationale Agenda für die lokale Entwicklung zu beeinflussen;
  2. Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen des lokalen Wirtschaftswachstums in drei Pilotstädten durch effektivere Kommunalverwaltung;
  3. Städtische Beamte und Familienbetriebe tragen effizienter zur lokalen Entwicklung bei.

Die Begünstigten dieses Projektes sind die Bewohner der teilnehmenden Städte, Kleinunternehmen sowie Familienbetriebe in Vietnam und zahlreiche Kommunalverwaltungen.

Maßnahmen des Projektes:

  1. Ausgangsanalyse der lokalen Regierungspraxis und der Entwicklung von örtlichen Klein- und Familienbetrieben in den drei Pilotstädten.
  2. Ausbildung von zukünftigen Beratern und Kompetenzträgern des ACVN im Bereich Kommunalverwaltung und Entwicklung von Klein- und Familienbetrieben.
  3. Kompetenzsteigernde Maßnahmen für lokale Akteure in den drei Städten (Zugang von Kleinunternehmen und Familienbetrieben zu Betriebsfonds, zu Qualifikationen, zur Technologie, zu Informationen, zu gesetzlichen Rechten und zu Märkten). Diese Maßnahmen werden unter aktiver Beteiligung von Lokalregierungen, Klein- und Familienbetrieben, akademischem Personal, Medien und Entscheidungsträgern auf zentraler und lokaler Ebene durchgeführt.
  4. Die Organisation eines im nationalen Fernsehen übertragenen Wettbewerbs zwischen den drei Pilotstädten um die Auszeichnung 'Stadt mit guter lokaler Wirtschaftsentwicklung und Lebensqualität'.
  5. Recherche und Publikation zu den 'best practices' im Bereich Kommunalverwaltung und Entwicklung von Klein- und Familienbetrieben (Modellmaßnahmen, Anreize, administrative "best practices" bezüglich des Aufbaus von Arbeitsplätzen, Generierung von Einkommensmöglichkeiten, Verbesserung der Lebensgrundlage benachteiligter Gruppen etc.) sowie Empfehlungen and die nationale Regierung und betroffenen Akteure.
  6. Medienkampagne und ausgewählte 'best practices' des Wettbewerbs. Erstellen eines Abschnitts zum Wettbewerb um die beste Regierungsführung' auf der ACVN Homepage.
  7. Aufbau institutioneller und personeller Kapazitäten der ACVN Mitarbeiter für die politische Lobbyarbeit und Interessenvertretung.
  8. Entwurf politischer Empfehlungen jeder der drei Pilotstädte und die Organisation von Politikdialogen. Am Ende des Projekts werden Berichte über die Erfahrungen des Wettbewerbs zur Verbesserung der Lokalregierungen und zur Förderung der Kleinunternehmer zusammengestellt und zur nationalen Replikation zur Verfügung gestellt.
  9. Organisation von politischen Foren mit der Zentralregierung und relevanten Akteuren.

Ergebnisse der Maßnahmen:

  • Verbesserte Kapazität des ACVN zur Förderung der Kommunalverwaltungen, zum politischen Dialog auf nationaler Ebene, sowie zur Bereitstellung von Dienstleistungen an seine Mitglieder.
  • Verbesserung der Kapazitäten von Mitarbeitern der örtlichen Verwaltungen sowie von Familienbetrieben in den drei Pilotstädten.
  • Unterstützung für die Replikation der in den drei Pilotstädten erarbeiteten 'best practices' auf auf nationaler Ebene gebilligt. Der ACVN leitet den Austausch der 'best practices'- Modelle, zieht Schlussfolgerungen und entwickelt politische Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung des legislativen Rahmens bezüglich der Kleinunternehmen und Familienbetriebe.