Development, Infrastructure and Regional Cohesion:

The Experiences of the European Union and South America

October16Monday

Date/time

October 16 - 17, 2017, 10:00 - 18:00

Loc.

Auditório do BNDES, Av. República do Chile, 100 - Centro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. To the website ›

Type

Seminar

The seminar is dedicated to analyze the extent to which agreements between the EU and other economic blocs or even individual states increase the level of economic development and promote cooperation in political, social and environmental matters.

The main objective of the International Seminar "Development, Infrastructure and Regional Cohesion: The Experiences of the European Union and South America", organized by the Association of Employees of Brazilian Development Bank (AFBNDES), is to analyze inter-state relations within the framework of globalization and the formation of regional agreements, seeking to examine the extent to which they influence the governance, enabling sustainable development, cooperation and social cohesion.

The strengthening of biregional associations and the formation of mega-blocks represent a current trend that must also be analyzed from the point of view of the conformation of a world order based on human rights. In this sense, Congress intends to discuss how European relations lead to effective actions that influence national public policies.

Over the years South American has come to develop several initiatives aiming to achieve regional integration through economic development, respect for the ecologically balanced environment, popular participation and reduction of asymmetries and inequalities. Among the various initiatives we can highlight the MERCOSUR, with has been trying to implement a agreements with the European Union, the Andean Community of Nations, the Amazon Cooperation Treaty and more recently the Initiative for the Integration of Regional Infrastructure in South America (IIRSA), born in the year 2000, but incorporated to the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) in 2011, as the technical forum of COSIPLAN (Council on Infrastructure and Planning).

In this context, it is clear that South American has in the last two decades sought to succeed in the pursuit of regional integration. For the development of the integration infrastructure, in view of the complexity of the projects and the need for large investment, it is necessary to create a financial framework that includes the participation of a variety of public and private actors, among them the Brazilian Development Bank (BNDES), the European Union, the Chinese government, and many others.

This seminar is dedicated to analyze the advancements and perspectives of regional integration, putting at the center of the debate the issue of social participation envisaged in the documents itself, as well as the role of the development banks as instruments capable of providing technical and financial support for the development of adequate infrastructure, in particular , the role of the BNDES, which is the principal agent for the implementation of the Brazilian Federal Government's investment policy.

For more information, click here.

To register: +55 (21) 97937-2474 or seminariocatedraafbndes@gmail.com

Arrival

View larger map

Logo Programa Regional EKLA KAS inglés

Contact person

Karina Marzano Franco

Project Manager

Karina Marzano Franco
Phone +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Languages: Português,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français

Partners

Associação de Funcionários do BNDES

Entwicklung, Infrastruktur und regionaler Zusammenhalt

Erfahrungen der Europäischen Union und Südamerikas

Oktober16Montag

Datum/Uhrzeit

16. – 17. Oktober 2017, 10:00 - 18:00

Ort

Auditório do BNDES, Av. República do Chile, 100 - Centro, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien. Zur Website ›

Typ

Seminar

Das Ziel des Seminares ist, zu analysieren inwieweit Abkommen zwischen der EU und anderen Staaten oder Wirtschaftsblöcken die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Vertragspartner sowie die politische, soziale und umwelttechnische Kooperation fördern.

Das Hauptziel des Seminars, „Entwicklung, Infrastruktur und regionaler Zusammenhalt: Erfahrungen der Europäischen Union und Südamerikas“ welches von der Arbeitnehmervereinigung der brasilianischen Entwicklungsbank (Association of Employees of Brazilian Development Bank, AFBNDES) organisiert wird, ist herauszufinden, wie zwischenstaatliche Beziehungen im Rahmen der Globalisierung und der Bildung regionaler Abkommen die Regierungsführung beeinflussen und dabei eine nachhaltige Entwicklung, internationale Zusammenarbeit und Solidarität zwischen den Mitgliedsstaaten ermöglichen.

Eine verstärkte regionale Kooperation und die Bildung von „Mega-Blocks“ spiegeln einen aktuellen Trend wider, der nicht nur aus wirtschaftlicher-, sondern auch aus menschenrechtlicher Sicht untersucht werden sollte. In diesem Sinne setzt sich das Seminar mit der Frage, „wie führen europäische Beziehungen zu wirksamen Maßnahmen, welche die nationale Politik der Mitgliedsstaaten beeinflussen?“, auseinander.

In der Vergangenheit haben die Staaten Südamerikas verschiedene Initiativen gegründet mit dem Ziel regionale Integration, wirtschaftliche Entwicklung, Umweltschutz und Bürgerbeteiligung zu fördern sowie Ungleichheiten zu bekämpfen. Wichtige regionale Abkommen sind zum Beispiel der MERCOSUR, der bereits versucht hat einen Vertrag mit der EU auszuhandeln, die Andengemeinschaft, der Amazonaspakt und die Initiative zur regionalen Integration in Südamerika (IIRSA), welche seit 2011 als technisches Forum von COSIPLAN (Infrastruktur- und Planungsrat) Teil der Union Südamerikanischer Nationen (UNASUR) ist.

Angesichts der vielen bereits existierenden regionalen Initiativen ist klar, dass die Länder Südamerikas in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten bestrebt waren die Integration in der Region voranzutreiben. Für die Entwicklung der Infrastruktur und um den Bedarf an notwendigen Investitionen zu decken sowie in Anbetracht der Komplexität der geplanten Initiativen müssen finanzielle Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen werden, welche durch die Teilnahme von verschiedenen Akteuren aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor, darunter z.B. der brasilianischen Entwicklungsbank (BNDES), der EU und der chinesischen Regierung, getragen werden.

Hauptthemen des Seminars sind Fortschritte und Perspektiven der regionalen Integration. Im Zentrum stehen dabei Fragen zur gesellschaftlichen Beteiligung, die in den Verträgen selbst vorgesehen sind, sowie die Rollen der Entwicklungsbanken - insbesondere der BNDES als zentraler Akteur für die Umsetzung der Investitionspolitik der brasilianischen Regierung – für die technische und finanzielle Unterstützung einer adäquaten Infrastruktur.

Für weitere Informationen bitte hier klicken.

Anmeldungen: +55 (21) 97937-2474 oder seminariocatedraafbndes@gmail.com

Anfahrt

Größere Kartenansicht

Logo Programa Regional EKLA KAS alemán

Ansprechpartner

Karina Marzano Franco

Projektkoordinatorin

Karina Marzano Franco
Tel. +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Sprachen: Português,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français

Partner

Associação de Funcionários do BNDES