jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Event Reports

Working together to expand women’s rights

Foreign ministers Guido Westerwelle and Zalmai Rassoul at the Afghanistan conference about Afghanistan's future

Dec. 6, 2011


Also available in Deutsch

At the second day of the Civil Society Forum Afghanistan in Bonn, representatives of Afghan civil society met German Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle and his Afghan counterpart Salmai Rassoul. Both ministers talked with the Afghan delegates about the policy proposals that they have developed for the future development of Afghanistan. Primarily the discussion was about the rights of women and their role in Afghan society.

In opening remarks on Saturday of the conference, Westerwelle said the topic of women’s rights in Afghanistan is of “special concern” to him concerning Afghanistan’s transformation process. „A country can’t afford to ignore the creativity and energy of half of its population”, he said in front of 250 listeners. Therefore it is a good sign that almost half of the 34 participating delegates of Afghanistan’s civil society are women and that most of them also represent a women’s right organisation.

Not only Westerwelle but also Afghanistan's foreign minister Rassoul talked about the „duty to give women the rights they deserve.” But to reach this he said, it will need time, education and a full commitment from both, the government as well as the civil society. In which direction this should go, was put in more concrete terms by Gudrun Kopp, Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, who also joined the conversation. „Especially in primary schools it is needed that the educational opportunities for girls will be expanded. Educated women can take care of their own incomes, and thus participate in society.” At this point already, one third of all children in Afghan schools are girls and the women’s quota in parliament is 28 percent. This shows that Afghanistan is on the right track, said Kopp.

Spokesman of the Afghan delegates, Barry Salaam, pointed out however, that his country started from scratch ten years ago, and that therefore every step forward is in most of the times immediately seen as a big step. „But concerning women’s rights, this step is not big enough yet. We have a lot to do to further improve women’s conditions. Women are still harassed on the streets and discriminated against in the Afghan legal system.” said Salaam. He asked the international community to support capacity building activities as educating judges for example.

Other prior topics that were being discussed concerned the ongoing fight against terrorism and the future perspectives for Afghanistan after 2014 when the International Security Assistance Force won’t be in the country any longer. Foreign minister Westerwelle assured the delegates: „We guarantee that we will not leave you alone after 2014. We will show our solidarity in the long term with a special focus towards civil society.” This promise also meant an extensive financial commitment, especially in rural areas to support the society’s stability. But, continued Westerwelle, this promise is part of a bigger deal. In return, Afghanistan must commit themselves to nonviolence and it should respect its constitution by recognizing civil rights and human rights.

Barry Salaam is optimistic that the Afghan government and its civil society are able to, collaboratively, cope with this upcoming task. „Our wishes aren’t that different from each other, but we have different perspectives on what we think is needed and different ways of how to approach these needs.” Therefore it is important that civil society forums can work freely without the government interfering. Foreign minister Rassoul assured that: „The Afghan government accepted the independence of civil society and is doing its best, to get them involved in the transformation process.”

These topics were atop the agenda on Saturday at the Afghan civil society forum that lead into Monday’s conference where speakers as Selay Ghaffar and Barry Salaam, together with the 34 representative of Afghanistan’s civil society discussed on what international support in Afghanistan will look like after 2014, when most NATO combat forces are scheduled to complete their withdrawal.

Contact

ImageMarc Frings
Head of the KAS office Palestinian Territories
Marc.Frings(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Veranstaltungsberichte

Mit vereinten Kräften Frauenrechte ausbauen

Die Außenminister Guido Westerwelle und Salmai Rassoul beim Afghanistan-Forum

6. Dez. 2011


Auch verfügbar in English

Die Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der afghanischen Zivilgesellschaft haben am zweiten Tag des Afghanistan-Forums in Bonn den deutschen Außenminister Guido Westerwelle und seinen afghanischen Amtskollegen Salmai Rassoul getroffen. Beide diskutierten mit den Sprechern der Delegierten über die Politikvorschläge, die diese für die zukünftige Entwicklung Afghanistans entwickelt haben. In dem Gespräch ging es vor allem um die Rechte und Rolle der Frauen in Afghanistan.

Westerwelle bezeichnete dies als das Thema, das ihm im afghanischen Transformationsprozess besonders am Herzen liegt. „Kein Land kann es sich leisten, auf die Hälfte seiner Bevölkerung im öffentlichen Leben verzichten“, sagte er vor rund 250 Zuhörern. Es sei daher ein gutes Zeichen, dass fast die Hälfte der 34 Delegierten der afghanischen Zivilgesellschaft weiblich ist und vielfach auch Frauenrechtsorganisationen vertritt.

Auch der afghanische Außenminister Rassoul sprach von der „Pflicht, den Frauen die Rechte zu geben, die ihnen zustehen.“ Dafür benötige es Zeit, Bildung und den vollen Einsatz von Regierung und Gesellschaft. In welcher Richtung dieser Einsatz gehen muss, konkretisierte Gudrun Kopp, Parlamentarische Staatssekretärin beim Entwicklungsministerium, die ebenfalls am Gespräch teilnahm: „Das Bildungsangebot für Schülerinnen muss vor allem an Grundschulen ausgebaut werden. Ausgebildete Frauen können selbst für ihr Einkommen sorgen, und damit am gesellschaftlichen Leben teilnehmen.“ Bereits jetzt sind ein Drittel aller Kinder an den Schulen Mädchen, die Frauenquote im Parlament beträgt 28 Prozent. Dies zeige, das Afghanistan auf einem guten Weg ist, sagte Kopp.

Barry Salaam, Sprecher der Delegierten, gab allerdings zu bedenken, dass das Land vor zehn Jahren bei null begonnen hat und daher jeder Fortschritt groß wirkt. „Im Bereich der Frauenrechte ist er aber nicht groß genug. Frauen in Afghanistan werden weiterhin auf der Straße angegangen und von der Justiz diskriminiert“, sagte Salaam. Er bat die internationale Gemeinschaft um Unterstützung beim Aufbau von Kapazitäten in diesem Bereich, beispielsweise durch Schulungen für Richter.

Weitere Schwerpunkte des Gesprächs waren der andauernde Kampf gegen den Terrorismus und die Perspektive Afghanistans nach 2014, wenn die internationale Schutztruppe ISAF nicht mehr im Land ist. Außenminister Westerwelle versicherte den Delegierten: „Wir garantieren Ihnen, dass wir Sie auch nach 2014 nicht alleine lassen werden, sondern dass wir unsere Solidarität langfristig zeigen werden, mit besonderem Fokus auf die Zivilgesellschaft.“ Diese Zusage bedeute auch ein umfangreiches finanzielles Engagement, gerade im ländlichen Gebiet, um die Stabilität der Gesellschaft zu stützen. Dieses Versprechen sei aber Teil eines Deals, so Westerwelle weiter. Im Gegenzug müsse sich Afghanistan zu Gewaltverzicht, Einhaltung der Verfassung sowie Anerkennung der zivilen Rechte und Menschenrechte verpflichten.

Barry Salaam zeigte sich optimistisch, dass die afghanische Regierung und Zivilgesellschaft dieses Unterfangen in einem gemeinsamen Prozess bewältigen können. „Unsere Wunschlisten unterscheiden sich nicht besonders, aber es gibt unterschiedliche Blickwinkel auf die Wünsche und unterschiedliche Ansätze.“ Es sei daher sehr wichtig, dass zivilgesellschaftliche Foren ohne Beeinflussung durch die Regierung arbeiten könnten. Außenminister Rassoul sicherte dies zu: „Die afghanische Regierung akzeptiert die Unabhängigkeit der Zivilgesellschaft und tut ihr Bestes, um sie in den Transformationsprozess einzubinden.“

An der am Montag beginnenden Außenministerkonferenz für Afghanistan in Bonn werden die 34 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der afghanischen Zivilgesellschaft als Beobachter teilnehmen. Ihre beiden Sprecher Selay Ghaffar und Barry Salaam werden die im Vorfeld in Afghanistan entwickelten Politikempfehlungen im Plenum der Konferenz vorstellen. Mehr Informationen über die Empfehlungen und die Delegierten finden Sie in den weiteren Berichten über das Afghanistan-Forum, die in der rechten Navigation verlinkt sind.

Kontakt

AbbildungMarc Frings ›
Leiter des Auslandsbüros in Ramallah
Marc.Frings(akas.de


zum Anfang springen