jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Event Reports

"Let us work together for a better Europe"

Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, holds 5th Speech on Europe

Nov. 9, 2014


Also available in Deutsch

Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, appealed to reform asylum and refugee policies during his Speech on Europe in Berlin.

Schulz was speaking to an audience of 500 people at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt. He was talking about “a disgrace to Europe“, as hundreds of people who seek help are drowning, like recently off the coast of Italy. Schulz conceded that such a complex issue will not allow for any “simple solutions“ and that Europe is not able to admit everyone. In order to help those in real need of protection, however, new regulations will be required. Schulz argued: "A drowning hand needs a rescuing hand". Furthermore, the routes to legal immigration have to be expanded and to be harmonized among all European member states.

Schulz, who already held his second Speech on Europe after his speech in 2012, also addressed the topic of so-called free movement. He believes that there is no greater achievement than a person’s right to liberally choose their place of residence and work. It was therefore painful to see how new borders between EU member states have been built. Especially Germany and the German social systems benefit from free movement – not least thanks to people from Romania and Bulgaria.

Yet, Schulz acknowledged certain problems. There seem to be countries that are overwhelmed with immigration. But instead of closing borders, financial and organizational aid must be provided. “If we refuse to help“, Schulz reasoned, “we will create breeding grounds for agitators“. Although there is a range of problems, new borders cannot be the solution. Having new borders in contemplation bears witness to an incredible historical amnesia.

The Speech on Europe – a cooperation project of the foundations Stiftung Zukunft Berlin, Robert Bosch Stiftung, and Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung – is traditionally held on November 9, a date that is steeped in German and European history. Besides his comments on current affairs, Schulz reminded of the peaceful revolution. “November 9, 1989 is a happy day because it is freedom that triumphed“, Schulz said. The fact that the Cold War ended 25 years ago and that partition and incapacitation were overcome was mainly the merit of various citizens’ movements in the former GDR, as well as Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and many other countries. In this context, Schulz also honored former Chancellor Helmut Kohl. The reunification was not Kohl’s merit alone, but it can be considered his historical contribution, as he concurred “in a very specific manner“.

Schulz eventually ended with his closing appeal: „Let us work together for a better Europe; anything else would be a bad alternative. Hence, we will take the heritage of the 1989 revolution seriously “.

Beforehand, Schulz had been welcomed by Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering, Chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, who also dipped into the past. “November 9, 1989 represents the borderless joy about the peaceful revolution and is the most meaningful day in recent European and German history“. (Thanks to Andrea Illi for translation)

About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Editor
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Veranstaltungsberichte

„Europa gemeinsam besser machen“

Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments, Martin Schulz, hält 5. Europa-Rede

9. Nov. 2014


Auch verfügbar in English

Der Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments, Martin Schulz, hat anlässlich der Europa-Rede in Berlin für Reformen in der Asyl- und Flüchtlingspolitik geworben.

Vor 600 Gästen im Haus der Kulturen der Welt sprach er von „einer Schande für Europa“, wenn etwa Hilfesuchende wie jüngst vor Italien zu Hunderten ertrinken. Schulz räumte ein, dass es bei dem komplexen Thema keine „einfachen Lösungen“ geben werde und Europa nicht jeden aufnehmen wird können. Damit denen, die wirklich Schutz brauchen, geholfen werden könne, bedürfe es neuer Regeln. Schulz sagte: "Eine ertrinkende Hand braucht eine rettende Hand". Zudem müssten die Möglichkeiten der legalen Zuwanderung in Europa zwischen den Mitgliedsstaaten ausgebaut und harmonisiert werden.

Schulz, der nach 2012 bereits seine zweite Europa-Rede hielt, ging auch auf die sogenannte Freizügigkeit ein. Für ihn gebe es keine größere Errungenschaft als das Recht einer Person zur freien Wahl des Wohn- und Arbeitsortes. Es schmerze ihn deswegen, zu beobachten, wie neue Grenzen zwischen den EU-Staaten hochgezogen werden. Gerade Deutschland und die deutschen Sozialsysteme profitierten von der Freizügigkeit – auch von Menschen aus Rumänien und Bulgarien.

Dennoch räumte Schulz Probleme ein. Manches Land sei offenbar mit der Zuwanderung überfordert. Doch statt Grenzen zu schließen, müsse hier finanzielle und organisatorische Hilfe geleistet werden. „Wenn wir nicht helfen“, so Schulz, „bereiten wir den Nährboden für Hetzer“. Auch wenn es eine Fülle an Problemen gebe, könne die Lösung niemals im Errichten neuer Grenzen liegen. Schon der Gedanke daran zeuge von einer unglaublichen Geschichtsvergessenheit.

Die Europa-Rede der Stiftung Zukunft Berlin, Robert Bosch Stiftung und Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, wird traditionell am für Deutschland und Europa so geschichtsträchtigen 9. November gehalten. Neben seinen Ausführungen zu aktuellen Themen nutzte Schulz die Rede zur Erinnerung an die friedliche Revolution. „Der 9. November 1989 ist ein Glückstag, weil die Freiheit gesiegt hat“, sagte Schulz. Dass vor 25 Jahren Abschottung und Entmündigung zu Ende waren und der Kalte Krieg überwunden werden konnte, sei ein Verdienst der Bürgerbewegungen in der DDR genauso wie in Polen, Ungarn, Tschechien und vielen anderen Staaten. Schulz würdigte in diesem Zusammenhang auch Helmut Kohl. Die Wiedervereinigung sei „nicht allein aber in ganz besonderer Weise“ das Verdienst des Altkanzlers und dessen historischer Beitrag.

„Verbessern wir gemeinsam Europa, alle Alternativen wären schlechter. Dann nehmen wir das Erbe der Revolution von 1989 Ernst“, so Schulz Schlussappell.

Zuvor war Schulz vom Vorsitzenden der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering, begrüßt worden. Auch er warf den Blick zurück. „Der 9. November 1989 stellt die grenzenlose Freude über die friedliche Revolution dar und ist der bedeutendste Tag in der jüngeren europäischen und deutschen Geschichte“.

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.

Herausgeber
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


zum Anfang springen