jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Event Reports

"Act quickly and vigorously"

Germany's former foreign minister Joschka Fischer on the refugee disaster

Apr. 22, 2015


Also available in Deutsch

The former German foreign minister Joschka Fischer sees Europe in view of the recent refugee disaster in the Mediterranean morally obligated. He calls for more commitment and support for those who are affected. In Berlin, he said: "The minimum, namely that people don't drown like rats in the ocean, is what Europe should at least provide". Instead of pointing fingers and fighting over whom is responsible, Europe's member states must act now quickly and vigorously. Otherwise, more victims are at risk.

According to Fischer the events of the last days and weeks are an expression of a multilayered illusion. Terror, wars and humanitarian catastrophes in the Middle East and northern Africa, and thus close to European borders, constitute a severe crisis of security that Europe is not sufficiently prepared for. The same goes for the altercation with Russia and the dispute with Greece.

Fischer hopes that these latest crises, may bring those politically responsible into action and that they may strengthen the collective European institutions in order to advance in Europe’s integration progress. That requires that the national states are willing to cede some of their sovereignty. Right now, Europe is stuck between a rock and a hard place, because it does not fully draw the conclusions of its unification process. “The hour has come to speak about Europe and to not leave the field to populists.” Such a historic project cannot be successfully accomplished “through the back door” and not without the readiness to fight for it. Europe needs more bravery and visionary powers. “To whom that is afraid of that, is in the wrong place.”

After his speech, titled “Europe and its life lies”, Fischer, who accepted an invitation of the Norbert Lammert and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, discussed his views with Peter Altmaier, chief of the Office of the Federal Chancellor, Elmar Brok, chairman of the European Parliament’s Foreign Affairs Committee, and retired general Wolfgang Schneiderhan, former Inspector General of the German Federal Armed Forces.

In his closing note, President of the German Bundestag Prof. Norbert Lammert pointed out, that, when discussing further steps of European integration, it should not be forgotten that the EU is not a state and according to its 28 member states shall not become one. Lammert expressed sympathy for Fischers recommendations whilst also recalling the difficult ratification process of the Treaty of Lisbon. Europe’s dilemma being, that it comes by more and more responsibilities whilst lacking in statehood. “We must not swerve from this debate”, Lammert said – even if the finality of the European Project would remain unanswered.

About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Editor
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Veranstaltungsberichte

"Schnell und energisch handeln"

Bundesaußenminister a.D. Fischer zur Flüchtlingskatastrophe

22. Apr. 2015


Auch verfügbar in English

Der frühere Bundesaußenminister Joschka Fischer sieht angesichts der jüngsten Flüchtlingskatastrophe im Mittelmeer Europa moralisch in der Pflicht. Er fordert mehr Engagement und Unterstützung für die Betroffenen. In Berlin sagte er: „Das Minimum, nämlich dass die Leute nicht ersaufen wie die Ratten, das muss Europa schon leisten“. Statt auf andere zu zeigen und um Verantwortlichkeiten zu streiten, müssten die Mitgliedsstaaten jetzt schnell und energisch handeln. Andernfalls drohten weitere Opfer.

Die Ereignisse der letzten Tage und Wochen sind für Fischer Ausdruck einer vielschichtigen europäischen Illusion. Terror, Kriege und humanitäre Katastrophen im Nahen und mittleren Osten sowie an Afrikas Küste, also in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft, stellten eine schwere Sicherheitskrise dar, auf die Europa unzureichend vorbereitet sei. Gleiches gelte in der Auseinandersetzung mit Russland und der Situation in Griechenland.

Diese aktuellen Umstände sprechen für Fischer für massive Integrationsfortschritte. Er hofft, die Krisen zwingen die politisch Verantwortlichen dazu, sich zu bewegen und die europäischen Gemeinschaftsinstitutionen zu stärken. Voraussetzung dafür sei, dass die Nationalstaaten bereit sind, Souveränitätsrechte abzugeben. Derzeit hänge Europa zwischen Baum und Borke, weil es die weiteren Konsequenzen des Einigungsprozesses nicht ziehe. „Jetzt ist die Stunde gekommen, um über Europa zu sprechen und das Thema nicht den Populisten zu überlassen.“ Ein solches historisches Projekt „gehe nicht durch die Hintertür“ und ohne Bereitschaft dafür zu kämpfen. Europa brauche mehr Mut und visionäre Kraft. „Wer Angst davor hat, ist auf dem falschen Platz.“

Fischer, der einer Einladung der Norbert-Lammert- und Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gefolgt war, diskutierte im Anschluss an seine n Vortrag unter dem Titel „Europa und seine Lebenslügen“ mit Kanzleramtschef Peter Altmaier, dem Vorsitzenden des Ausschusses für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten des Europäischen Parlaments Elmar Brok sowie General a.D. Wolfgang Schneiderhan, dem Generalinspekteur der Bundeswehr a.D..

In einem Schlusswort sagte Bundestagspräsident Professor Norbert Lammert man dürfe bei der Diskussion über weitere sicherlich notwendige Integrationsschritte nicht aus den Augen verlieren, dass die EU kein Staat sei und nach dem erklärten Willen ihrer 28 Mitgliedstaaten auch keiner werden solle. Er äußerte Sympathie für Fischers Vorstoß, erinnerte aber an den schwierigen Ratifizierungsprozess des Vertrags von Lissabon. Das Dilemma Europas sei, dass es mehr und mehr Zuständigkeiten übertragen bekomme, es aber gleichzeitig an eigener Staatlichkeit mangele. „Dieser Auseinandersetzung dürfen wir nicht ausweichen“, sagte Lammert, wenn auch die Finalität des europäischen Projekts dabei unbeantwortet bleiben müsse.

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.

Herausgeber
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


zum Anfang springen