jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Also available in Deutsch

From 17-19 May 2017, the ‘Regional Programme Political Dialogue Asia' of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS), in cooperation with the International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research (ICPVTR) at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS) and the Department for European and International Cooperation of KAS, organized this year's Asia-Europe Counter-Terrorism Dialogue in Berlin.

This year's Dialogue "The Decentralization of Daesh" was opened by Dr. Ole Diehl, Vice-President of the Bundesnachrichtendienst. His remarks immediately emphasized that transnational terrorism demands for cooperative efforts by all states. Particularly Asia and Europe have a great potential for such collaboration. Another highlight of the conference was the keynote speech by Parliamentary State Secretary of the Federal Ministry of the Interior of Germany Dr. Günter Krings MdB. His remarks showed that the threat landscape and modus operandi of the terrorists in both regions have many similarities. It was already the second time that Dr. Krings spoke at the "Asia-Europe Counter-Terrorism Dialogue", which again underlines the great appreciation of and political support for this initiative.

The closed-door dialogue under Chatham House Rule was attended by diplomatic corps and the chief counter-terrorism experts of Germany, Singapore, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Europol, Indonesia, Malaysia, OSCE, Pakistan, Philippines, the United Kingdom, European Union and UN Security Council.

In light of the recent spread of Daesh-inspired and –directed terrorist activities in Europe as well as Asia, it is necessary to enhance international cooperation and dialogue among all stakeholders involved in countering terrorism and violent extremism. Even a military defeat of Daesh in Syria and Iraq will not set an end to the very existence of the organization, but it may result in an exodus of fighters to Europe and Asia and a decentralization of the group. It is therefore imperative to enhance the dialogue and exchange between the two regions and develop effective de-radicalization programmes.

Already in 2015, KAS and ICPVTR have started a cooperation to foster such exchanges between Asian and European countries. The result of this has been the establishment of the annual Asia-Europe Counter Terrorism Dialogue which takes place in Asia and Europe in alternating years. The Dialogue offers a unique opportunity for policy makers, representatives of ministries as well as law enforcement units and experts from the academia to have an exchange on current developments and collaborative activities. In addition, the discussion is supported by regular publications.

About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Editor
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Auch verfügbar in English

Das Regionalprogramm "Politikdialog Asien" der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Singapur veranstaltete vom 17. bis 19. Mai 2017 in Kooperation mit dem International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research (ICPVTR) an der S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS) und der Abteilung für Europäische und Internationale Kooperation der KAS den diesjährigen „Asia-Europe Counter-Terrorism Dialogue“ in Berlin.

Der diesjährige Dialog "The Decentralization of Daesh" wurde von Dr. Ole Diehl, Vize-Präsidenten des Bundesnachrichtendienstes, eröffnet. Bereits in seiner Rede wurde deutlich, dass der transnationale Terrorismus ein kooperatives Vorgehen aller Staaten verlangt und gerade Europa sowie Asien für eine derartige Zusammenarbeit viel Potenzial haben. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt der Veranstaltung war die Begrüßungsrede des Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärs im Bundesministerium des Innern der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Dr. Günter Krings MdB. Seine Ausführungen zeigten, dass die Bedrohungslage und das Vorgehen der Terroristen in beiden Regionen eine Vielzahl an Parallelen aufweist. Dr. Krings nahm bereits zum zweiten Mal am "Asia-Europe Counter-Terrorism Dialog" teil, was wiederum die große Wertschätzung und politische Unterstützung für dieses Initiative unterstreicht.

An dem geschlossenen Dialog unter Chatham House Rule nahmen das diplomatische Corps sowie die zentralen Terrorismusexperten aus Deutschland, Singapur, Afghanistan, Bangladesch, Belgien, Großbritannien, Indonesien, Malaysia, Pakistan, der Philippinen, OSZE, Europol, Europäischen Union und des UN-Sicherheitsrats teil.

Angesichts der in den letzten Monaten verstärkten von Daesh-inspirierten und -gelenkten terroristischen Aktivitäten in Europa sowie Asien ist es notwendig, die internationale Kooperation und den Dialog zwischen allen Akteuren der Terrorismusbekämpfung auszubauen. Selbst wenn Daesh in Syrien und im Irak militärisch geschwächt oder sogar geschlagen werden sollte, bedeutet dies kein Ende der Organisation. Stattdessen kann dies in einer geographischen Verteilung der Kämpfer und verstärkten Dezentralisierung der Gruppe in Europa und Asien resultieren. Es ist deshalb unabdingbar, dass Länder in beiden Regionen effektive De-Radikalisierungsprogramme entwickeln.

Die KAS und das ICPVTR begannen bereits 2015 eine Zusammenarbeit, um den Austausch zwischen den Ländern zu fördern. Das Resultat dieser gemeinsamen Initiative ist der "Asia-Europe Counter-Terrorism Dialog", welcher jährlich alternierend in Asien und Europa stattfindet. Die Konferenz bietet politischen Entscheidungsträgern, Vertretern von Ministerien und dem operativen Bereich der Terrorismusbekämpfung sowie Experten aus der Wissenschaft eine Plattform für Dialog und Austausch über gemeinsame Aktivitäten. Zudem werden diese Diskussionen regelmäßig durch vielbeachtete Buchpublikationen flankiert.

Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.

Herausgeber
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.


zum Anfang springen