jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)International Reports

Also available in Deutsch

Regarding the global state of democracy, there is indeed cause for concern. Nevertheless, one should not overlook the many positive developments made in advancing democracy and the rule of law that have taken place throughout the world since World War II.

“Moving with the times”: super heroes, Santa Claus and Ronald McDonald at a Soviet Army monument in Sofia 2011.© Stoyan Nenov, Reuters

In this issue of International Reports, which focuses on the pressures placed on democracy and the rule of law around the world, Christopher Walker writes for good reason against the backdrop of many relevant current events about a proliferating “authoritarian virus”. There is truly a great deal to be concerned about. The issues begin in our neighbourhood and extend to the furthest corners of the world – seen from our perspective. Positive developments can easily fade into the background, but they do exist as well. And when one takes the long view, not everything looks quite as bleak as it may appear at first blush: in 1963, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung began its international work in Venezuela, Chile and Brazil – but it would take until 1989 for the first office to be opened in Central/Eastern Europe; and it was not until the middle of the nineteen-nineties that the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung was able to begin working in former communist countries such as Vietnam and Cambodia, as well as the People’s Republic of China. Even in a country like Mexico, it took until 2000 for an opposition party to win for the first time at national level. Sometimes it takes enormous perseverance – and there can be setbacks along the way.

Care should also be taken to differentiate and not pigeonhole all manifestations of authoritarian conduct. After all, it does make a difference whether we are dealing with a totalitarian system that operates with extreme brutality – “authoritarian” would almost be a euphemism here – or with a fundamentally democratic country from which alarming signals emanate indicating that civil liberties are being curtailed. Current developments fall at various points between these two poles.

It is also worthwhile to take a look at the reasons, justifications and motives for various forms of conduct. We tend to consider the status the debate on values has reached in Germany to be the norm and pillory for the democratic deficits or lack of human rights of countries that may not – yet – have come as far. Not all states around the world will, for instance, want to accept the statements of the current red-red-green Berlin coalition agreement on gender issues as the norm. You don’t need to be of advanced age to remember a time when homosexuality was criminalised in our country as well, a situation that now elicits talk of compensation. Discussions on family politics were also based on a completely different understanding of people’s roles not so very long ago, and a message from the church pulpit still carried some weight. Not everywhere does the balance between individual and community interests lean as clearly towards the individual’s right to self-development as in our country. And it is most definitely not true that everything that seems conservative and not much in tune with today’s zeitgeist is somehow undemocratic. It is no wonder that new complexities are making many people feel insecure because they long for clear structures, feel some nostalgia for the past and find refuge among those who promise them “peace and order” – here in Germany and particularly in countries where things don’t develop at as frenetic a pace as in modern industrialised and service societies.

We are also finding out once again that in turbulent times the national state, which had mistakenly been considered a thing of the past in Western Europe, is seen as a protector and a lifeline, and that national pride is not frowned upon everywhere as it is in “progressive circles” in our country. The statement that dealing with migration in a manner we view as a humane obligation invokes the notion of “moral imperialism” elsewhere may be a mere side note, but it illustrates how not everyone will automatically follow us on our path to what we consider to be the realisation of Western liberal values. That said, it is practically a tradition for most Germans not to mind almost everyone else having a different opinion from their own.

All the more important, then, to bring our values into the debate – the speeches people give on our behalf at prominent forums do not, in fact, always spell these out. The right approach requires people to have a clearly coordinated system for their own values; even the oft-cited dialogue of cultures can only be conducted by those who know at least their own culture. The ease with which value systems based on religion are dismissed as outdated makes Europe an exception among world regions – some would say pioneers – but who knows: maybe there will be something of a religious renaissance here as people search for orientation and certainties, at the latest via the burgeoning immigrant communities. That does not obviate advocating for a clear separation of Church and state, different versions of which developed in Europe over the centuries. Religious freedom is a great good that must be defended vigorously throughout the world. It is shocking to see religious fanaticism gaining ground, suppression and even manslaughter being justified in the name of God. It is crucial to build a worldwide coalition for tolerance in this regard: there are perpetrators and victims in all religions, although the picture is currently dominated particularly by Islamist terror.

The most difficult states to deal with are of course those that invoke ultimate religious truths to justify their actions, leave the last word to religious authorities, punish “deviants” rigorously and make concerted efforts to also enforce their norms in other countries. In most cases they too have signed the UN Human Rights Charter and regularly sit on the United Nations Human Rights Council – sufficient cause not to refrain from issuing robust reminders of their obligations under the charter.

Courageous people in such systems deserve special solidarity from us; efforts should be made to strengthen the usually poorly developed civil society and especially young people as the drivers of change; many of them still pin their hopes on “the West”, although they have experienced many disappointments, not least the tendency of the West to treat undemocratic regimes they regard as allies with considerably greater indulgence than those they see more as enemies, undermining its credibility. This conduct may be referred to as “realpolitik”, but it is ultimately not fruitful. Stability and democracy are not opposites – and the former is not furthered by brutal repression, the most likely outcome of which will be to breed the terrorists of the next generation. Simply abandoning efforts to promote democracy, participation and transparency in the short term for the sake of superficial stability is not an acceptable approach, particularly for a democratic political foundation.

There remains, however, the question as to the means available to achieve change and make a difference – measures differ greatly in their effectiveness. In many cases, it is not the vociferous public declaration that brings about a change in behaviour, although it is mostly not very helpful either to beat about the bush with respect to one’s differences. However, speaking one’s mind requires trust and open channels of communication. Authoritarian regimes tend to interpret an exceedingly kid glove approach as weakness. Being too deferential will not gain any respect – and therefore ultimately prevent achieving one’s goal of making an impact. As is well-known, it is not just “Western” democracies that have interests: Europe, the USA, Japan and several others are still the largest donors of public development aid, provide great proportions of the funding for international organisations, form part of the most interesting markets, invest worldwide, offer technology transfer, and, thanks to the openness of their universities and scientific communities, are essential to innovation, which in turn can only flourish in the long term in free societies. One should also add that their financial system is a refuge for flight capital from all over the world and that their property markets attract those who do not yet trust the “rule of law” in their home country, although this can only be considered a positive thing with reservations. But surely it can be used to an advantage!

Of course it would be helpful if there was a degree of unity in the approach taken by democratic countries instead of opportunistically seeking short-term benefits from bilateral deals as is seen all too frequently, particularly when dealing with economically attractive “partners”. And, naturally, one has to practice what one preaches, for example as a member of the “Community of Values” that the EU represents. The EU in particular cannot afford to fail meeting its own standards and must keep a keen eye on problematic tendencies among its own members. It does have the tools to do so in principle, as, by the way, does the Council of Europe with its Venice Commission. It could prove fatal to create the impression that once the criteria for accession were fulfilled, a country would then be free to ignore the common values and dismiss any admonitions as external interference – in some cases combined with the sort of EU-bashing that is more likely to undermine the community than foster it. However, the relevant actors should also avoid applying double standards, widening gulfs unnecessarily and treating friends roughly or condescendingly, sometimes more roughly than those who would clearly be more deserving of such treatment.

“Western values”, the Western lifestyle, Western culture still exert an enormous attraction, as is illustrated impressively in the destination countries of the current migration. The over five hundred experts responding to the Global Future Survey of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung even expect the Western-liberal idea to gain ground in almost all parts of the world in thecoming years. These expectations provide some hope particularly for Africa and Latin America, and positive voices are also in the majority in Asia. The fact that Europe is the only region the experts view with scepticism provides food for thought: Is this very continent, on which many people around the world are pinning their hopes, in trouble? Is there a certain fatigue affecting its aging societies? Are policies once again driven by a sense of panic resulting from lengthy economic crises in the continent’s south, are Central and Eastern European countries suffering identity issues, are there concerns regarding the ability to master the current challenges that have arisen due to the migration? No doubt it is worth looking into these questions in greater detail, but there also needs to be a certain level of self-confidence: Europe is stronger than it maybe believes itself – as long as it combines forces, strengthens its institutions and intensifies cooperation particularly in areas where it matters. The continent will need to project an image of a successful and attractive region not least economically if it wants to be heard in the debate on values. Attractive countries attract imitators, good examples make an impact!

And that is precisely what authoritarian systems of all types view as a threat, especially as new information channels and social networks make isolationism and censorship considerably more difficult, if not impossible. Descriptions of “colour revolutions” as being controlled from outside or denouncements of the “Arab Spring” revolutions as Western conspiracies are defensive declarations, intended to politicise the situation. The pressure for change comes from within: the affected systems are simply not attractive for their citizens, least of all for young people who still have their lives ahead of them and wish to shape their own destinies. The failure of these states to offer their citizens prospects of economic development is exacerbated by the stifling atmosphere created by excessive state control in all areas. At some point in time, the pressure in the pressure cooker becomes too high, particularly when there are no safety valves such as those available in Western democracies.

In this situation, it is a sign of weakness when a state attempts to restrict the activities of civil society with ever more NGO laws and regulations. One of the measures these states use is to restrict international aid and tar it with the brush of “foreign agency” – the opportunities of domestic funding are usually already blocked, and there is hardly any public support for a living, pluralistic range of NGOs – or at least brand such activities as inadmissible external interference in the domestic affairs of a sovereign state. It is amazing to see such arguments being accepted here in Germany as well and serious politicians occasionally comparing political foundations to Islamist sects. There is most definitely a need to enlighten people on the role of civil societies! Of course it is legitimate for environmental movements to network globally, for anti-corruption networks to collaborate across borders, and for likeminded political parties to jointly promote their values.

In line with its partner principle, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, for instance, picks up on local concerns, seeks out a community of values, takes local interests seriously, and does not simply attempt to export German models all over the world. It wishes to act as a dialogue partner, offer its services, and in turn learn from its experiences in other countries and take these experiences back into the German debate, an approach that is pursued by many organisations of German International Cooperation. Without this exchange systems are at risk of suffocating.

This is no argument in favour of doing away with rules; there are laws here as well, of course. But it is often not helpful to equate our experiences and terminology with those formally similar in other countries. To give a current example: a presidential system of government is not necessarily worse than a parliamentary system, and there are, of course, plenty of democratic presidential systems. Therefore, the matter requires closer examination: if a presidential system concentrates all the power in one person, fails to implement the separation of powers, undermines the independence of the judiciary, then the situation gets dangerous. Authoritarian regimes invoke the latter in particular, but the fundamental requirements are frequently not met. There is no truly independent jurisdiction – and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung has experienced this itself in Egypt.

It is not for nothing that the five regional rule of law programs of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung form a key component of its efforts to promote democracy and good governance. Authoritarian states tend to put on a show of upholding the rule of law – and regularly succeed in duping foreign observers – as is currently in evidence in the unedifying conflict in Venezuela between the democratically legitimised parliament and the regime-controlled Supreme Court. Laws with partly identical wording can have totally different consequences depending on the circumstances. In some countries, anti-terror laws are interpreted in such a way that the voicing of any opinion deviating from the regime line can be criminalised – it can be a very short path from being a journalist doing investigative reporting to being a spy or even a supporter of terrorism. There are also laws in almost all countries intended to protect individuals’ honour. But the way they are interpreted arbitrarily in some countries, they become an instrument for suppressing press freedom completely, at the latest by the time the imposed – totally disproportionate – financial penalties have ruined people’s livelihoods. And when all that does not silence a person, there is always the option of having a compliant tax authority carry out a tax fraud investigation. Then, someone will disappear in a penal camp for alleged tax offences, and the naïve foreigner may think: Well, you should be honest in your tax affairs, the case probably has nothing to do with politics.

Freedom of the press and journalists being allowed to carry out their work are generally good indicators of the level of democratic development in a country – and things look decidedly bleak based on the statistics of “Reporters Without Borders” or Freedom House. Whenever press freedom is curtailed, so is the right of mature citizens to freely obtain information from pluralistic sources and to form their own opinions, a prerequisite of a functioning democracy. This is where the regional media programmes of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung come in, since investigative journalism and data-driven journalism are important means to ensure transparency and to make democracy possible and better today. Once again: closer examination is needed to detect manipulations in state-controlled “journalism”, to identify campaigns, and to denounce attempts at interference. In many cases, states that restrict freedom of information severely at home are all too eager to take advantage of all the opportunities to engage in unhindered “public relations” abroad.

Self-assured states would be able to deal with criticism confidently; autocrats who feel threatened try to buy time by resorting to repression where efforts to co-opt and manipulate are no longer effective. But even this is not deterring many people, especially younger ones, from once again taking to the streets to demand their rights, denounce injustices and insist on change. The desire for freedom is innate to humans – and it cannot be suppressed forever.


Frank Priess is Deputy Head of the Department for European and International Cooperation at the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Contact

ImageSebastian Enskat M.A.
Editor-in-chief International Reports
Phone +49 (0)30-26996-3383
sebastian.enskat(akas.de

Dr. Anja Schnabel
Managing Editor International Reports
Phone +49 (0)30-26996-3740
anja.schnabel(akas.de

Order information

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung publishes four issues of International Reports per year. Single issues: 10 €. Cheaper subscription rates. There is a special discount for students. For more information and orders, please contact:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Newsletter
If you wish to receive an email notification whenever a new issue is available online, please contact:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Auslandsinformationen

Auch verfügbar in English

Betrachtet man das globale Standing der Demokratie, gibt es derzeit einigen Anlass zur Sorge. Trotzdem wäre es falsch, deswegen die vielen positiven Entwicklungen zu vernachlässigen, die es seit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in Richtung mehr Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit überall auf der Welt gegeben hat.

„Mit der Zeit gehen“: Superhelden, Santa Claus und Ronald McDonald am sowjetischen Ehrenmal in Sofia 2011.© Stoyan Nenov, Reuters

Von einem sich ausbreitenden „autoritären Virus“ spricht Christopher Walker in dieser Ausgabe der Auslandsinformationen (Ai), die sich aus gutem Grund und vielen aktuellen Anlässen mit dem weltweiten Druck auf Demokratie und Rechtsstaat beschäftigt. Und Anlass zur Sorge gibt es wahrlich genug. Es beginnt in unserer Nachbarschaft und reicht bis in die hintersten Winkel der Welt – von hier aus gesehen. Positive Entwicklungen geraten dabei leicht ins Hintertreffen, aber auch sie gibt es. Zudem sieht auf einer längeren Zeitachse nicht alles so negativ aus, wie es momentan vielleicht erscheint: 1963 begann die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ihre internationale Arbeit in Venezuela, Chile und Brasilien – bis 1989 allerdings dauerte es, bis mit Warschau das erste Büro in Mittel-/Osteuropa eröffnet werden konnte, erst Mitte der neunziger Jahre des vorigen Jahrhunderts folgten ehemals kommunistische Staaten wie Vietnam, Kambodscha oder die Volksrepublik China. Selbst in einem Land wie Mexiko siegte erst im Jahr 2000 auf nationaler Ebene erstmals eine Oppositionspartei. Manchmal braucht es einen langen Atem – und manchmal gibt es auch Rückschläge.

Wir sollten uns zudem hüten, auf Differenzierungen zu verzichten und leichtfertig alle Erscheinungsformen autoritären Gebarens in die gleiche Box zu tun: Es ist schon noch ein Unterschied, ob wir es mit brutalstmöglich vorgehenden totalitären Systemen zu tun haben – „autoritär“ wäre hier als Bezeichnung eine Verharmlosung – oder ob es in demokratischen Ländern Alarmsignale gibt, die eine Einschränkung bürgerlicher Freiheiten andeuten. Zwischen diesen beiden Polen gibt es viel Platz, die augenblicklichen Entwicklungen einzuordnen.

Auch ein Blick auf Gründe, Begründungen und Motive entsprechenden Verhaltens schadet nicht. Wir neigen dazu, den gerade erreichten Stand der Wertediskussion in Deutschland zu verabsolutieren und alle, die – vielleicht noch – nicht so weit sind, für ihre Demokratiedefizite oder mangelnden Respekt vor den Menschenrechten an den Pranger zu stellen. Nicht alle werden etwa weltweit die Einlassungen des aktuellen rot-rot-grünen Berliner Koalitionsvertrages zu Genderfragen als allgemeinen Maßstab gelten lassen wollen. Man muss nicht steinalt sein, um sich auch bei uns noch an strafrechtliche Normen in Sachen Homosexualität zu erinnern, für die heute Entschädigungen erwogen werden. Auch die familienpolitischen Diskussionen basierten noch vor gar nicht langer Zeit auf ganz anderen Rollenverständnissen, ein Kanzelwort in den Kirchen hatte Gewicht. Nicht überall geht die Abwägung von Individual- und Gemeinschaftsinteressen so eindeutig zugunsten persönlicher Selbstentfaltung aus wie bei uns. Und schon gar nicht ist alles, was konservativ und zu wenig zeitgeistig daherkommt, damit schon irgendwie antidemokratisch. Dass gerade die neue Unübersichtlichkeit viele Menschen verunsichert, die nach klaren Strukturen suchen, auch einmal die Vergangenheit verklären, sie Zuflucht bei denen finden lässt, die „Ruhe und Ordnung“ versprechen, all das verwundert nicht – nicht bei uns und schon gar nicht in Ländern, deren Entwicklung sich nicht in so rasender Geschwindigkeit vollzieht wie in modernen Industrie- und Dienstleistungsgesellschaften.

Dass der in Westeuropa überholt geglaubte Nationalstaat in turbulenten Zeiten als Beschützer und Rettungsanker gesehen wird, dass Nationalstolz nicht überall so verpönt ist wie bei uns in „fortschrittlichen Kreisen“, das lernen wir ebenfalls gerade neu. Dass der uns human geboten erscheinende Umgang mit Migration anderswo den Begriff des „moralischen Imperialismus“ provoziert, ist dabei schon fast eine Randnotiz – eine aber, die deutlich macht: Nicht automatisch folgen uns alle auf unserem Weg zu dem, was wir als die Verwirklichung westlich liberaler Werte ansehen! Allerdings irritiert es ja traditionell in Deutschland so gut wie niemanden, wenn fast alle anderen anders denken als wir.

Die Wertediskussion muss man umso intensiver führen – nicht immer, wenn jemand bei vielbeachteten Foren „unsere“ Rede hält, sind letztlich auch unsere Inhalte drin. Das setzt voraus, dass man für die eigenen Werte ein klares Koordinatensystem hat – schon den vielzitierten Dialog der Kulturen kann man nur führen, wenn man mindestens die eigene kennt. Die Leichtigkeit zum Beispiel, mit der religiöse Wertorientierungen als gestrig abgetan werden, macht Europa weltweit zur Ausnahme – Vorreiter würden wohl manche sagen –, aber wer weiß: vielleicht gibt es auch hier spätestens über die stärker werdenden Einwandergemeinschaften eine religiöse Renaissance bei der Suche nach Orientierung und Sicherheiten. Das macht es nicht obsolet, für eine klare Trennung von Kirche und Staat einzutreten, wie sie sich in Europa über Jahrhunderte und in unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen entwickelt hat. Religionsfreiheit ist ein hohes Gut, das weltweit energisch verteidigt werden muss. Es ist erschreckend, wie religiöser Fanatismus an Boden gewinnt, wie im Namen Gottes Unterdrückung, ja Mord und Totschlag gerechtfertigt werden. Hier muss es gelingen, eine weltweite Koalition für Toleranz zusammenzubringen: Täter und Opfer finden sich in allen Religionen, auch wenn der aktuelle Blick durch die Dominanz speziell des islamistischen Terrors beeinflusst ist.

Besonders schwer ist dabei natürlich der Umgang mit Staaten, die sich bei ihrem Handeln auf letzte religiöse Wahrheiten berufen, religiösen Autoritäten das letzte Wort überlassen, „Abweichler“ rigoros bestrafen und militant versuchen, ihre Normen auch im Ausland verbindlich zu machen. Auch sie haben in der Regel die Menschenrechtscharta der Vereinten Nationen unterschrieben und sitzen in regelmäßigen Abständen im Menschenrechtsrat der Weltorganisation – Anlass genug, auf robuste Erinnerungen an die entsprechenden Verpflichtungen nicht zu verzichten.

Mutige Menschen in solchen Systemen verdienen unsere besondere Solidarität, die meist schwach entwickelte Zivilgesellschaft und nicht zuletzt junge Menschen als Treiber von Veränderungen sollten gestärkt werden – viele von ihnen setzen nach wie vor auf „den Westen“, auch wenn sie viele Enttäuschungen erlebt haben. Nicht zuletzt die Tendenz, undemokratische Regime, mit denen man verbündet ist, deutlich milder zu behandeln als solche, die man eher als Gegner wahrnimmt, erschüttert die Glaubwürdigkeit. Das mag man „Realpolitik“ nennen, langfristig zielführend ist es nicht. Stabilität und Demokratie sind keine Gegensätze – und erstere fördert man nicht durch brutale Repression, die im Zweifelsfall langfristig nur die Terroristen der nächsten Generation ausbrütet. Für eine vordergründige Stabilität dann eben kurzfristig mal auf Demokratieförderung, Partizipation und Transparenz zu verzichten, ist gerade für eine demokratische politische Stiftung kein akzeptabler Weg.

Eine Frage ist aber, mit welchen Mitteln Veränderungen erreichbar sind und Einfluss genommen werden kann – die Hebel sind da schon sehr unterschiedlich lang. Nicht immer ist es die fulminante öffentliche Erklärung, die zu Verhaltensänderungen führt, auch wenn es meist wenig hilft, Differenzen nicht auch klar als solche zu benennen. Dazu allerdings braucht es Vertrauen und offene Gesprächskanäle. Autoritäre Regime tendieren dazu, ein allzu samtpfötiges Auftreten als Schwäche zu interpretieren. Mit einem zu devoten Ton wird man nirgendwo Respekt erreichen – und damit letztlich auch das Ziel der Einflussnahme verfehlen. Nicht nur „westliche“ Demokratien haben bekanntlich Interessen: Europa, Amerika, Japan und einige andere sind nach wie vor die größten Geber öffentlicher Entwicklungshilfe, finanzieren in erheblichem Umfang internationale Organisationen, gehören zu den interessantesten Märkten, investieren weltweit, bieten Technologietransfer und sind mit der Offenheit ihrer Hochschulen und Wissenschaft unerlässlich für Innovation, die ihrerseits dauerhaft nur in freien Gesellschaften funktionieren kann. Dass ihr Finanzsystem auch sicherer Rückzugsort für Fluchtgelder aus aller Welt ist und ihre Immobilienmärkte auch die anziehen, die dem „Rechtsstaat“ zu Hause doch nicht vertrauen, sei ebenfalls erwähnt, auch wenn es in diesem Zusammenhang nur begrenzt auf die Habenseite gehört. Daraus lässt sich doch etwas machen!

Nötig wäre natürlich eine gewisse Einigkeit demokratischer Länder im Auftreten, statt opportunistisch kurzfristige bilaterale Vorteile anzustreben, wie das viel zu oft zu beobachten ist – gerade wenn es um wirtschaftlich attraktive „Partner“ geht. Und natürlich muss man nach innen leben, was man nach außen propagiert, und sei es als Mitglied der „Wertegemeinschaft EU“: Gerade sie kann es sich nicht erlauben, hinter eigene Maßstäbe zurückzufallen, und muss problematische Tendenzen im Mitgliederkreis ganz besonders im Auge behalten. Instrumente hat sie dazu eigentlich – wie übrigens auch der Europarat mit seiner Venedig-Kommission. Es wäre fatal, setzte sich der Eindruck durch, als sei die einmalige Erfüllung der Beitrittskriterien der Freifahrtschein dafür, sich anschließend um die gemeinsamen Werte nicht mehr kümmern und entsprechende Hinweise als Einmischung von außen abtun zu können – verbunden teils mit einem EU-bashing, das die Gemeinschaft eher unterhöhlt als fördert. Allerdings sollten die einschlägigen Akteure auch vermeiden, doppelte Standards anzulegen, Gräben unnötig zu verbreitern und Freunde ruppig oder oberlehrerhaft zu behandeln – ruppiger zudem manchmal als solche, die es vielleicht deutlich mehr verdient hätten.

Nach wie vor haben „westliche Werte“, der westliche Lebensstil, die westliche Kultur eine enorme Anziehungskraft – die Zielländer der aktuellen Migration legen davon eindrucksvoll Zeugnis ab. Im Global Future Survey der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (s. auch S. 6-7 in diesem Heft) erwarten die über fünfhundert weltweit befragten Experten sogar, dass die westlich-liberale Idee in den kommenden Jahren in fast allen Erdteilen an Boden gewinnen wird. Besonders hoffnungsfroh stimmen diese Einschätzungen für Afrika und Lateinamerika, auch in Asien überwiegen positive Stimmen. Dass einzig Europa von den Experten skeptisch gesehen wird, stimmt nachdenklich: Schwächelt gerade der Kontinent, auf den sich weltweit viele Hoffnungen konzentrieren? Ist es eine gewisse Ermüdung in eher alternden Gesellschaften? Ist es mal wieder „Vorsprung durch Panik“, getrieben von langwierigen wirtschaftlichen Krisen im Süden des Kontinents, Identitätsfragen in der Mitte und im Osten, Sorge mit Blick auf die Bewältigung aktueller Herausforderungen bei der Migration? Hier lohnt sicher ein genauerer Blick, aber auch ein gewisses Selbstbewusstsein: Europa ist stärker, als es vielleicht selbst glaubt – wenn es seine Kräfte bündelt, seine Institutionen stärkt, seine Zusammenarbeit gerade auf den wichtigen Feldern intensiviert. Der Kontinent muss nicht zuletzt wirtschaftlich strahlen und attraktiv sein, will er in den Wertedebatten gehört werden. Attraktive Länder finden Nachahmer, gute Beispiele wirken!

Gerade das wird in autoritären Systemen aller Couleur als Bedrohung gesehen, zumal neue Informationskanäle und soziale Netzwerke Abschottung und Zensur erheblich erschweren oder sogar unmöglich machen. Es ist eine Schutzbehauptung und politische Instrumentalisierung, „Farbenrevolutionen“ als von außen gesteuert und „Arabellionen“ als westliche Verschwörungen darzustellen. Der Veränderungsdruck kommt von innen: Die betroffenen Systeme sind eben für ihre Bürger nicht attraktiv, schon gar nicht für junge Menschen, die ihre Zukunft vor sich haben und diese frei gestalten möchten. Zur Unfähigkeit dieser Staaten, ihren Bürgern wirtschaftliche Entwicklungsperspektiven zu eröffnen, kommt die Käfigatmosphäre staatlicher Gängelung in allen Bereichen. Irgendwann wird der Druck im Kessel zu hoch, gerade wenn es an Ventilen mangelt, wie sie westliche Demokratien vorweisen.

Da ist es ein Zeichen der Schwäche, wenn mit immer neuen NGO-Gesetzen und Reglementierungen versucht wird, das Wirken der Zivilgesellschaft einzuschränken. Ein Hebel ist dabei, internationale Unterstützung zu limitieren und in den Geruch „ausländischen Agententums“ zu rücken – die Wege zu einheimischer Finanzierung sind meist schon verbaut, die öffentliche Förderung eines lebendigen, pluralistischen Spektrums gemeinnütziger Organisationen gibt es ohnehin kaum –, mindestens aber solche Aktivitäten als unerlaubte Einmischung von außen in die inneren Angelegenheiten souveräner Staaten zu brandmarken. Erstaunlich, wenn solche Argumente auch in Deutschland verfangen und eigentlich ernst zu nehmende Politiker dann schon einmal politische Stiftungen mit islamistischen Sekten vergleichen. Es besteht ganz augenscheinlich Aufklärungsbedarf über die Rolle von Zivilgesellschaften! Natürlich ist es legitim, wenn sich Umweltbewegungen weltweit vernetzen, wenn Antikorruptionsnetzwerke über Grenzen hinweg zusammenarbeiten, wenn Parteienfamilien gemeinsam für ihre Werte werben.

Das Partnerprinzip der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung etwa nimmt Anliegen vor Ort auf, sucht Wertegemeinschaft, nimmt einheimische Interessen ernst, exportiert nicht einfach deutsche Modelle in alle Welt. Sie will Dialogpartnerin sein, Angebote machen und ihrerseits von Erfahrungen in anderen Ländern lernen und diese Erfahrungen in die deutsche Debatte zurückbringen. Und einen solchen Ansatz verfolgen viele Organisationen der deutschen internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Ohne solchen Austausch drohen Systeme zu ersticken.

Dies ist kein Plädoyer für Regellosigkeit, Gesetze gibt es bekanntlich auch hier. Nur hilft oft eine formale Gleichsetzung unserer Erfahrungen und Begrifflichkeiten mit denen in anderen Ländern nicht weiter: Natürlich ist, um ein aktuelles Beispiel aufzugreifen, ein Präsidialsystem nicht unbedingt schlechter als ein parlamentarisches System, natürlich gibt es jede Menge demokratischer Präsidialsysteme. Deshalb muss man genau hinschauen: Wenn ein Präsidialsystem alle Macht bei einer Person konzentriert, die Gewaltenteilung aushebelt, die Unabhängigkeit der Justiz gefährdet, dann wird es gefährlich. Gerade auf Letztere berufen sich autoritäre Systeme gern: nur stimmt eben die Grundvoraussetzung oft nicht. Es wird nicht unabhängig Recht gesprochen – die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hat da etwa in Ägypten ganz eigene Erfahrungen.

Nicht umsonst sind ihre fünf regionalen Rechtsstaatsprogramme ein zentraler Baustein bei der Förderung von Demokratie und good governance. Gern geben sich autoritäre Staaten den Anschein rechtsstaatlicher Ordnung – und leider fallen Beobachter im Ausland immer wieder auf solchen Etikettenschwindel herein – zuletzt wieder unschön zu beobachten beim Konflikt des demokratisch legitimierten Parlaments Venezuelas mit dem regimegesteuerten obersten Gericht. Gesetze mit zum Teil gleichem Wortlaut entfalten unter unterschiedlichen Rahmenbedingungen völlig unterschiedliche Wirkungen: Aktuell etwa werden Anti-Terrorgesetze mancherorts so weit ausgelegt, dass damit auch gleich jede von der Regimelinie abweichende Meinungsäußerung kriminalisiert werden kann – vom investigativ berichtenden Journalisten zum Spion oder Terrorunterstützer ist es so manchmal ein sehr kurzer Weg. Auch Gesetze, die dem Schutz der persönlichen Ehre dienen, gibt es in fast allen Ländern. In manchen aber sind sie bei willkürlicher Auslegung das Instrument, Pressefreiheit komplett zu unterdrücken, spätestens dann, wenn ausgesprochene Geldstrafen Medien um ihre Existenz bringen und jede Verhältnismäßigkeit vermissen lassen. Und wenn alles nicht hilft, hat man oft noch eine willfährige Steuerfahndung bei der Hand. Dann verschwindet jemand wegen vorgeblicher Steuervergehen im Straflager und der unbedarfte Ausländer denkt vielleicht: Na ja, steuerehrlich sollte man schon sein, mit Politik hat das ja diesmal wohl nichts zu tun.

Pressefreiheit und die Arbeitsmöglichkeiten von Journalistinnen und Journalisten sind insgesamt ein guter Gradmesser für den Stand der demokratischen Entwicklung in einem Land – und da sieht es in der Tat trübe aus, blickt man in die Statistiken von „Reporter ohne Grenzen“ oder Freedom House. Wenn die Pressefreiheit eingeschränkt wird, wird immer auch das Recht des mündigen Bürgers beschnitten, sich aus pluralistischen Quellen frei zu informieren und sich ein selbstständiges Urteil zu bilden, die Grundvoraussetzung für eine funktionierende Demokratie. Hier setzen die kontinentalen Medienprogramme der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung an, nicht zuletzt investigativer Journalismus und Datenjournalismus sind heutzutage Mittel, für Transparenz zu sorgen, Demokratie möglich und besser zu machen. Auch hier aber gilt: Man muss genau hinschauen, um Manipulationen eines staatlich gelenkten „Journalismus“ zu erkennen, Kampagnen zu identifizieren, Einflussversuche zu benennen. Nicht selten nämlich nehmen Staaten, die Informationsfreiheit zu Hause massiv behindern, alle Möglichkeiten ungehinderter „Öffentlichkeitsarbeit“ im Ausland gerne wahr.

Selbstbewusste Staaten könnten souverän mit Kritik umgehen, bedrohte Autokraten kaufen sich Zeit, indem sie da auf Repression setzen, wo Kooptation und Manipulation nicht mehr wirken. Selbst das aber hindert viele Menschen, gerade jüngere, auch aktuell wieder nicht daran, für ihre Rechte auf die Straße zu gehen, Ungerechtigkeiten anzuprangern, auf Veränderungen zu pochen. Der Freiheitswunsch ist dem Menschen immanent – auf Dauer lässt er sich nicht unterdrücken.


Frank Priess ist stellvertretender Leiter der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit!
Fördern Sie die christlich-demokratische Idee in Gesellschaft und Politik.

Jetzt spenden!

Kontakt

AbbildungSebastian Enskat M.A. ›
Chefredakteur Auslandsinformationen (Ai)
Tel. +49 (0)30-26996-3383
sebastian.enskat(akas.de

Dr. Anja Schnabel
Redakteurin Auslandsinformationen (Ai)
Tel. +49 (0)30-26996-3740
anja.schnabel(akas.de

Bestellinformationen

Die Auslandsinformationen (Ai) erscheinen viermal im Jahr. Der Einzelheftpreis beträgt 10,- € zzgl. Porto. Im Abonnement günstiger. Für Schüler und Studenten wird ein Sonderrabatt gewährt. Für weitere Informationen und Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte an:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de

Newsletter
Wenn Sie kostenlos per E-Mail über das Erscheinen neuer Ausgaben und Beiträge informiert werden möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an:
auslandsinformationen@kas.de


zum Anfang springen