jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)
Cover: Climate Report 2017: Australia

Climate Report 2017: Australia

Private Sector and Climate Finance in the G20 Countries

By Luke KempJuly 6, 2017


Download PDF


Also available in Deutsch

Private climate finance is a growing part of Australia’s climate action landscape. In 2015, at the Paris Climate Summit the Australian government announced a ­climate finance pledge of one billion ­Australian dollars (760 million US dollars) over five years. But, due to the absence of clear definitions and central oversight, a patchwork of initiatives has evolved in Australia. The result is a ­growing but fragmented private climate sector.

Solar panels in the middle of Flinders Ranges national park.© Fritz Hiersche, AdobeStock
Solar panels in the middle of Flinders Ranges national park.

FINANCIAL PLEDGES STILL NON-BINDING

A submission by the Australian government under the United Nations Framework on Climate Change (UNFCCC) noted that the one billion Australian dollar pledge seeks to “assist countries in our region, and to leverage additional private sector finance” (DFAT 2016). It is an increase on previous efforts, but still well below what most studies have suggested would be Australia’s “fair share” of financing efforts. The figure below provides a comparison between Australia’s current pledge against estimates of Australia’s “fair share” of international climate finance in 2020.¹ The “fair share” estimate is a non-binding political pledge and neither climate finance generally, nor private finance specifically, are mentioned in Australia’s Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC).

¹ Please note that the “fair share” estimate from ActionAid has been translated from US dollars into Australian dollars based on exchange rates on the 13 June 2017. This estimate is only for adaptation financing. The estimate from Petherick is for Australia’s “fair share” in an ­initial pledging round under the GCF, and not for 2020 specifically. However, both still provide useful indicative benchmarks to ­compare ­current financing efforts against. The depicted “existing pledge” for Australia is the annual average over the five-year period of the ­contribution.

Source: Author’s compilation based on Jotzo et al. 2011, Petherick 2014 and Action Aid 2015
Source: Author’s compilation based on Jotzo et al. 2011, Petherick 2014 and Action Aid 2015

GROWTH AND FRAGMENTATION

Given limited public funds, mobilising private climate finance has become an increasingly important strategy for government and other actors. Private climate finance is understood here to be finance mobilised for the intention of climate mitigation or adaptation by Australian private sector actors for use at the domestic and international levels. In international negotiations, Australia has been an outspoken proponent of using private sector funds to meet multilateral financing goals. This includes Australia’s central role in developing the “Roadmap to 100 Billion US dollars”, a strategy tabled at the 2016 Marrakech climate talks which emphasizes the role of private finance in meeting the Copenhagen finance goal of mobilising 100 billion US dollars of climate finance for developed countries per year by 2020 (Copenhagen Accord 2009). Australian private sector engagement in climate finance has also increased. The Investor Group on Climate Change has released a report on the seven climate change priorities for investors and supported the Australian launch of a new investor action framework for sustainable real estate.

Despite increasing attention, Australian private climate efforts are fragmented and difficult to track. Currently, in Australia and internationally, there is no clear definition of private climate finance. In the absence of clear definitions and central oversight, a patchwork of initiatives has evolved in Australia. The table on the next page shows a broad typology of private climate finance in Australia. The typology and overview of initiatives provide a non-exhaustive snapshot of the Australian private climate finance landscape.

  • Public Catalyst: Australia is using public funding to help catalyse private finance. Several institutions have been created by Australia and receive most of their funding from public coffers. One example is the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC), a ten billion Australian dollar fund for clean energy projects. The Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA), established in 2012, has a 2.5 billion Australian dollar budget until 2022. Its purpose is to invest in projects that hasten the development and commercialization of renewable energy technologies. The Renewable Energy Venture Capital Fund is a 120 million Australian dollar co-investment initiative under ARENA. One half of the funding is provided by ARENA and the other by Softbank China Capital (SBCVC). The fund makes equity investments in early-stage renewable energy projects in the US, Australia and Asia, helping firms to cover start-up capital costs. Australia has also made a four million Australian dollar grant to the United Nations Development Programme’s (UNDP) Low Emissions Capacity Building Programme and mandated for new aid investments to consider innovative ways to engage the private sector.
  • Private Catalyst: Australian actors have been involved in supporting several privately driven climate finance initiatives. For example, the Australian government has provided funding for the Private Financing Advisory Network (PFAN), which matches investors to clean energy projects and provides facilitation, training and networking opportunities for renewable energy entrepreneurs. Similarly, the government has provided consistent support for the Climate Innovation Centre in Vietnam and the Clean Energy Solutions Centre, which operates throughout the world. The latter aids governments in designing and adopting programmes which assist renewable energy deployment, while the former provides financing and business training for entrepreneurs and new ventures. The Australian government also uses the Private Infrastructure Development Group to provide guarantees for clean energy investment in developing countries. Financial instruments such as climate bonds have also been on the rise. From 2014 to 2017, Flexigroup, Monash University, Westpac, ANZ, Treasury Corporation Victoria and the National Australia Bank have all invested in climate bonds, amounting to approximately two billion Australian dollars (1.52 billion US dollars). These bonds were certified through the Climate Bonds Initiative, a UK-based non-profit which is working to develop credible standards in climate bonds.
  • Facilitation and Dialogue: Facilitation and dialogue activities are being used by a range of actors to help spread private climate finance opportunities and create new partnerships and projects. Both the World Wildlife Fund (WWF-Australia) and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) have hosted two roundtables on Australian climate finance. The roundtables have brought together over 40 domestic stakeholders from the public, private and civil society sectors. WWF-Australia has also created a “Climate Cash” podcast series to highlight climate finance measures throughout the Asia Pacific. DFAT will also host a Green Climate Fund (GCF) Private Sector Roundtable on the 5 August 2017. This roundtable aims to raise awareness about opportunities for GCF funding and to encourage companies to partner the fund. Australia is also looking to share expertise from Australia’s Clean Energy Finance Corporation internationally through the International Green Bank Network.
  • Multilateral Engagement: Australia is currently a co-chair and active contributor to the GCF. It has used its position to strongly advocate efforts to leverage private finance. Australia is also involved in a range of other private climate finance initiatives including Mission Innovation, the Business and Investor Engagement Group, and work through the G20 Green Finance Study Group to identify barriers to green finance and options for mobilisation. The former two attempt to support low-carbon energy research and development through private investment, while the latter works to identify barriers and opportunities for green finance.

Image

MANY INITIATIVES, MANY BARRIERS

This suite of activities covers a range of financial instruments including loans, bonds (Climate Certified Bonds), direct public finance (Renewable Energy Venture Capital Fund), grants (GCF funding), equity (ARENA) and de-risking of investments (CEFC). Other approaches are absent or underused. Further work could be done to limit financing for coal and fossil fuel projects, both domestically and through export credit financing. For example, OECD countries have agreed to limit subsidies for the export of inefficient coal-fired power plant technologies, but Australia has resisted this by negotiating exceptions. It is difficult to either estimate the impact of these initiatives or conduct any thorough examination of lessons learned. Since there are no definitions of what constitutes private climate finance, there is little monitoring and reporting of outcomes. The lack of government-certified standards, for instance in the case of climate bonds, makes comparisons and assessments problematic.

Despite the proliferation of private finance initiatives, numerous barriers limit their spread and effectiveness. Domestically, the two largest constraints are a lack of funding and certainty. Australian climate financing has historically been volatile. While international financing has been moderated by peer-pressure, domestic funding has been more unpredictable. Domestic bodies such as the CEFC and ARENA have struggled with repeated cuts to funding and changes to their mandates. Other barriers exist at an international level. For example, some developing countries lack the capacity to make use of private capital. There can also be higher risks, such as sovereign and exchange risks, deterring the more risk-averse private sector. It can also be difficult to mobilise the private sector towards less profitable endeavours. Climate adaptation projects are crucial in the Asia Pacific region but are less favoured by the private sector since they are seen to be generally less profitable.

UNEXPLOITED POTENTIAL

Australia does not currently hold any official national positions on the role of the G20 in mobilising climate finance, but is likely to continue to work through it into the future. The potential of the G20 is limited by its role as a consensus-building and dialogue forum. However, it has indicated some ways forward in a 2011 paper on “mobilising climate finance” commissioned by the G20 finance ministers. Unfortunately, most of the recommended actions, such as the use of carbon pricing instruments, phase-out of fossil fuel subsidies and use of bunker fuel taxes, have not been acted upon by Australia.

For now, Australian private climate finance is characterised by growth and fragmentation. It is by no means a panacea. Certainty, definitions and funding will be needed to maximise the potential of the private sector. If Australia is serious about doing its fair share internationally, then a credible and coherent strategy is needed for using public funds to leverage private climate finance.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Dr. Luke Kemp is a lecturer in climate and environmental policy at both the Fenner School of Environment and Society and Crawford School of Public Policy at the Australian National University. The author would like to thank Jonathan Pickering for his comments on an earlier version of this paper, and Geoff O’Keefe for his invaluable help in providing further information on Australian government initiatives.


FURTHER READING:

Government of Australia, DFAT 2016: Climate Finance Roadmap to US$100 Billion, in: http://bit.ly/2tTOWvN (6 Jul 2017).

Government of Australia, DFAT 2016: Australia’s Submission on Strategies and Approaches for Scaling Up Climate Finance from 2015 to 2020, in: http://bit.ly/2tLrMHF (6 Jul 2017).

Kemp, Luke 2016: 2016 Australian Climate Finance Roundtable: Options Paper, Australian Council for International Development, in: http://bit.ly/2tsleer (6 Jul 2017).

Pickering, Jonathan/Mitchell, Paul 2016: What Drives National Support for Multilateral Climate Finance? International and Domestic Influences on Australia’s Shifting Stance Acknowledgments, International Environmental Agreements: Politics, Law and Economics, Vol. 17, No. 1, pp. 107–125.

Wu, Brandon/Reeves, Jonathan/Anderson, Teresa/Singh, Harjeet 2015: Mind the Adaptation Gap. Why Rich Countries Must Deliver Their Fair Shares of Adaptation Finance in the New Global Climate Deal: Action Aid, Washington D.C., 17 Nov 2015, in: https://shar.es/1BO50M (6 Jul 2017).

WWF-Australia 2016: “Climate Cash” podcast series, in: http://scl.io/8wLUqIZE (4 Jul 2017).


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)
Cover: Klimareport 2017: Australien

Klimareport 2017: Australien

Privatsektor und Klimafinanzierung in den G20-Staaten

Von Luke Kemp6. Juli 2017


Als PDF öffnen


Auch verfügbar in English

Die Finanzierung des Klimaschutzes aus privaten Quellen nimmt bei den Klimaschutzbemühungen Australiens eine wichtiger werdende Rolle ein. Bei der Pariser Klimakonferenz 2015 sagte die australische Regierung ein finanzielles Engagement zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels in Höhe von 1 Mrd. AUD (760 Mio. USD) über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren zu. Doch ohne klare Definitionen und zentrale Steuerung hat sich ein Flickenteppich an Initiativen in Australien entwickelt. Das Ergebnis ist eine wachsende, jedoch fragmentierte Klimafinanzierung des Privatsektors.

Eine Photovoltaikanlage im Flinders Ranges Nationalpark.© Fritz Hiersche, AdobeStock
Eine Photovoltaikanlage im Flinders Ranges Nationalpark.

Finanzierungszusagen noch unverbindlich

Einem Bericht zufolge, den die australische Regierung gemäß der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (United Nations Framework on Climate Change (UNFCCC)) eingereicht hat, sollen mit der Zusage von 1 Mrd. AUD „Länder in unserer Region unterstützt und zusätzliche Gelder aus dem Privatsektor bereitgestellt werden” (DFAT 2016). Zwar handelt es sich dabei um eine Verstärkung bisheriger Bemühungen, jedoch liegt der Betrag nach wie vor deutlich unter dem, was laut den meisten Studien Australiens ein „fairer Anteil“ an Finanzierungsbemühungen wäre. Abbildung 1 stellt einen Vergleich zwischen der aktuellen Zusicherung Australiens und den Schätzungen zu Australiens gerechtem Anteil an der internationalen Finanzierung von Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel im Jahr 2020 dar. Es handelt sich um ein unverbindliches politisches Versprechen und weder die Finanzierung des Klimaschutzes im Allgemeinen noch die Finanzierung aus privaten Quellen im Einzelnen finden im national festgelegten Beitrag (Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC)) Australiens Erwähnung.

Wachstum und Fragmentierung

Da öffentliche Mittel begrenzt sind, ist die Mobilisierung privater Gelder für die Finanzierung des Klimaschutzes zu einer immer wichtigeren Strategie für die Regierung und andere Akteure geworden. Hier werden private Gelder für den Klimaschutz als Finanzmittel, die mit der Absicht mobilisiert werden, die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels abzumildern oder von australischen Akteuren aus dem privaten Sektor im Inland und auf internationaler Ebene verwendet zu werden verstanden. In internationalen Verhandlungen war Australien ein ausgesprochener Verfechter der Nutzung von Geldern aus dem Privatsektor, um multilaterale Finanzierungsziele zu erreichen. Dazu gehört auch Australiens führende Rolle bei der Entwicklung der „Roadmap to US$100 Billion”, einer Strategie, die bei den Klimagesprächen in Marrakesch im Jahre 2016 vorgelegt wurde, und die Rolle privater Gelder bei der Erreichung des Kopenhagener Finanzierungsziels, bis zum Jahre 2020 für Entwicklungsländer jährlich 100 Mrd. USD an Finanzmitteln für die Bekämpfung des Klimawandels zu mobilisieren (Copenhagen Accord 2009), unterstreicht. Die Beteiligung des australischen Privatsektors bei der Klimafinanzierung hat ebenfalls zugenommen. Die Investor Group on Climate Change hat einen Bericht zu den sieben Klimawandelprioritäten für Investoren veröffentlicht und die Einführung eines neuen Handlungsrahmens für Investoren zu nachhaltigen Immobilien in Australien unterstützt.

Trotz zunehmenden Interesses sind die australischen Bemühungen, private Gelder für den Klimaschutz aufzubringen, fragmentiert und schwierig nachzuverfolgen. In Australien und auch international gibt es derzeit keine eindeutige Definition privater Klimafinanzierung. In Ermangelung klarer Definitionen und einer zentralen Übersicht hat sich in Australien ein Flickenteppich an Initiativen entwickelt. In Tabelle 1 unten ist eine breite Typologie privater Finanzierungsmaßnahmen für den Klimaschutz aufgeführt.

Die unten aufgeführte Typologie und Übersicht über die Initiativen stellen eine unvollständige Momentaufnahme der privaten Klimafinanzierungslandschaft in Australien dar.

  • Public Catalyst: Australien nutzt öffentliche Gelder, um zur Förderung der privaten Finanzierung beizutragen. Australien hat mehrere Institutionen gegründet, die den Großteil ihrer Mittel aus öffentlichen Kassen erhalten. Ein Beispiel ist die Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC), ein Fond mit 10 Mrd. AUD zur Förderung von umweltfreundlichen Energieprojekten. Die Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA), im Jahre 2012 gegründet, verfügt bis zum Jahre 2022 über ein Budget von 2,5 Mrd. AUD. Ihr Zweck besteht darin, in Projekte zu investieren, mit denen die Entwicklung und Kommerzialisierung von erneuerbaren Energietechnologien beschleunigt wird. Der Renewable Energy Venture Capital Fund ist eine Co-Investment-Initiative mit Geldern in Höhe von 120 Mio. AUD unter der Schirmherrschaft der ARENA. Die Hälfte des Kapitals wird von ARENA und die andere Hälfte von Softbank China Capital (SBCVC) bereitgestellt. Der Fonds tätigt Eigenkapitalinvestitionen in erneuerbare Energieprojekte in den USA, Australien und Asien, die sich in der Anfangsphase befinden, und hilft Unternehmen, ihre Start-up-Kapitalkosten zu decken. Zudem hat Australien dem Programm für den Aufbau emissionsarmer Kapazitäten (Low Emissions Capacity Building Programme) 4 Mio. AUD gewährt und neue Investitionshilfen angeordnet, um innovative Methoden zur Beteiligung des Privatsektors zu berücksichtigen.
  • Private Catalyst: Australische Akteure waren an der Unterstützung zahlrei-cher privat geleiteter Finanzierungsinitiativen beteiligt. Die australische Re-gierung hat zum Beispiel dem Private Financing Advisory Network (PFAN) Gelder zur Verfügung gestellt, das Investoren mit Projekten für saubere Energie zusammenbringt und Unternehmern in diesem Bereich Förderung, Schulungen und Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten bietet. Auf ähnliche Weise bietet die Regierung dem Climate Innovation Centre in Vietnam und dem Clean Energy Solutions Centre, das auf der ganzen Welt tätig ist, dauerhafte Unterstützung. Letztgenanntes hilft Regierungen bei der Gestaltung und Umsetzung von Programmen, mit denen die Entwicklung erneuerbarer Energien gefördert wird, während das Climate Innovation Centre Unternehmer und neue Unternehmen mit Geldern und kaufmännischen Schulungen unterstützt. Die australische Regierung gewährt zudem über die Private Infrastructure Development Group in Entwicklungsländern Garantien für Investitionen in umweltfreundliche Energien. Finanzinstrumente wie Klimaanleihen nehmen ebenfalls zu. Im Zeitraum zwischen dem Jahr 2014 und dem Jahr 2017 haben die Flexigroup, Monash University, Westpac, ANZ, Treasury Corporation Victoria und die National Australia Bank in Klimaanleihen investiert – der Betrag belief sich insgesamt auf etwa 2 Mrd. AUD (1,52 Mrd. USD). Diese Anleihen wurden durch die „Climate Bonds Initiative” aus dem Vereinigten Königreich zertifiziert, die an der Entwicklung zuverlässiger Standards für Klimaanleihen arbeitet.
  • Facilitation and Dialogue: Aktivitäten im Bereich Förderung und Dialog wer-den von einer Reihe von Akteuren genutzt, um Chancen auf private Klimafinanzierung zu erhöhen und neue Partnerschaften und Projekte zu schaffen. Sowohl der World Wildlife Fund (WWF Australia) und das Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) haben zur Klimafinanzierung in Australien zwei Runde Tische organisiert. Diese Veranstaltungen haben über 40 inländische Stakeholder aus dem öffentlichen und privaten Sektor sowie aus der Zivilgesellschaft zusammengebracht. WWF Australia hat zudem die Podcast-Serie „Climate Cash” geschaffen, um die Klimafinanzierungsmaßnahmen im gesamten Asiatisch-pazifischen Raum hervorzuheben. Das DFAT wird außerdem am 5. August 2017 einen Runden Tisch für den grünen Klimafonds des Privatsektors (Green Climate Fund Private Sector Roundtable) organisieren. Der Runde Tisch verfolgt den Zweck, über Chancen auf GCF-Förderung zu informieren und Unternehmen zu ermutigen, mit dem Fonds zusammenzuarbeiten. Australien beabsichtigt außerdem, über das International Green Bank Network Kompetenzen der Clean Energy Finance Corporation auf internationaler Ebene weiterzugeben.
  • Multilateral Engagement: Australien ist gegenwärtig einer der Vorsitzenden sowie ein aktiver Förderer des Green Climate Fund (GCF). Das Land hat seine Position genutzt, um Bemühungen für den Einsatz privater Gelder aktiv zu fördern. Australien ist zudem an einer Reihe weiterer privater Klimafinanzierungsinitiativen beteiligt, darunter Mission Innovation, die Business and Investor Engagement Group und Aktivitäten im Rahmen der G20 Green Finance Study Group zur Identifikation von Hindernissen, die der umweltfreundlichen Finanzierung im Wege stehen, sowie von Möglichkeiten der Mobilisierung. Die zwei Erstgenannten tragen zur Forschung und Entwicklung im Bereich kohlenstoffarme Energien durch private Investitionen bei, während die Letztgenannte daran arbeitet, Hindernisse und Chancen für umweltfreundliche Finanzierungsmaßnahmen zu erkennen.

Viele Initiativen, viele Hindernisse

Diese Reihe von Aktivitäten deckt ein Spektrum an Finanzinstrumenten ab, darunter Darlehen, Anleihen (zertifizierte Klimaanleihen), direkte öffentliche Finanzierungsmaßnahmen (Renewable Energy Venture Capital Fund), Zuschüsse (GCF-Finanzierung), Eigenkapital (ARENA) und Schutz vor Investitionsrisiken (CEFC). Andere Herangehensweisen fehlen oder finden keine ausreichende Verwendung. Es könnte bei der Begrenzung von Investitionen in Projekte für Kohle und fossile Brennstoffe im Inland und durch die Exportkreditfinanzierung mehr getan werden. OECD-Länder haben sich beispielsweise darauf verständigt, Subventionen für den Export ineffizienter kohlebefeuerter Kraftwerkstechnologien zu begrenzen, jedoch hat sich Australien dem widersetzt, indem Ausnahmen verhandelt wurden. Es ist schwierig, die Auswirkungen dieser Initiativen zu schätzen oder gründliche Prüfungen bisheriger Erkenntnisse durchzuführen. Da es keine Definitionen dazu gibt, was private Klimafinanzierung ist, gibt es kaum Beobachtungen und Berichte zu Ergebnissen. So gestaltet das Fehlen von durch die Regierung zertifizierten Standards, zum Beispiel im Falle von Klimaanleihen, Vergleiche oder Beurteilungen problematisch.

Trotz der Zunahme von privaten Finanzinitiativen beschränken zahlreiche Barrieren ihre weitere Ausbreitung und Effektivität. Fehlende Gelder und eine mangelnde Sicherheit sind die zwei größten inländischen Hindernisse. Die Klimafinanzierung Australiens war bisher volatil. Während internationale Finanzierungsaktivitäten auch durch „internationalen Gruppendruck“ bestimmt wurden, war die Situation im Inland weniger vorhersehbar. Inländische Organe wie CEFC und ARENA hatten mit wiederholten Kürzungen ihrer Mittel und Veränderungen ihrer Mandate zu kämpfen. Andere Hindernisse bestehen auf internationaler Ebene. Einigen Entwicklungsländern fehlt beispielsweise die Möglichkeit, privates Kapital zu nutzen. Es kann zudem höhere Risiken geben, wie zum Beispiel staatliche und Wechselkursrisiken, die den Risiken eher abgeneigten Privatsektor abschrecken. Es kann zudem schwierig sein, den privaten Sektor für weniger profitable Unternehmungen zu mobilisieren. Im Asiatisch-pazifischen Raum sind Klimaprojekte von essentieller Bedeutung; sie sind für den Privatsektor jedoch von geringer Attraktivität, da sie allgemein als weniger gewinnbringend gelten.

Ungenutztes Potenzial

Australien vertritt derzeit keine offizielle nationale Position zur Rolle der G20 bei der Mobilisierung von Finanzmitteln für den Klimaschutz, wird jedoch wahrscheinlich seine Arbeit in diesem Rahmen in Zukunft fortführen. Das Potenzial der G20 ist aufgrund ihrer Rolle als Forum der Konsensbildung und des Dialogs begrenzt. Sie hat jedoch in einem Bericht aus dem Jahr 2011 zur „Mobilisierung der Klimafinanzierung“, das von den Finanzministern der G20 in Auftrag gegeben wurde, einige neue Impulse signalisiert. Leider hat Australien die meisten der empfohlenen Maßnahmen, wie zum Beispiel die Nutzung von Preisfestsetzungssystemen für Kohlenstoff, die allmähliche Einstellung von Subventionen für fossile Brennstoffe und den Einsatz von Bunkertreibstoffsteuern nicht umgesetzt.

Derzeit wird die private Klimafinanzierung Australiens durch Wachstum und Fragmentierung charakterisiert. Es handelt sich keinesfalls um ein Wundermittel. Um das Potenzial des Privatsektors zu maximieren, werden Sicherheit, Definitionen und Gelder benötigt werden. Wenn Australien die Entrichtung ihres fairen Beitrags auf internationaler Ebene mit Ernsthaftigkeit verfolgt, wird eine glaubwürdige und kohärente Strategie benötigt, um öffentliche Gelder für die Förderung der privaten Klimafinanzierung zu nutzen.

Über den Autor: Dr. Luke Kemp ist Dozent für Klima- und Umweltpolitik an der Fenner School of Environment and Society sowie der Crawford School of Public Policy der Australian National University. Der Autor dankt Jonathan Pickering für seine Kommentierung einer früheren Fassung dieses Beitrags und Geoff O’Keefe für seine unschätzbare Hilfe beim Bezug weiterführender Informationen zu Initiativen der australischen Regierung.

Weiterführende Literatur

  • Australia et al., Roadmap to US$100 Billion (2016).
  • Brandon Wu et al., Mind the Adaptation Gap: Why Rich Countries Must Deliver Their Fair Shares of Adaptation Finance in the New Global Climate Deal (Washington D.C., 2015).
  • DFAT, Australia’s Submission on Strategies and Approaches for Scaling up Climate Finance Australia (Canberra, Australia, 2016).
  • Investor Group on Climate Change, Investor Group on Climate Change: 2016 Annual Report (Sydney, Australia, 2016), 04.07.2017.
  • Jonathan Pickering and Paul Mitchell, What Drives National Support for Multilateral Climate Finance ? International and Domestic Influences on Australia’s Shifting Stance Acknowledgments, International Environmental Agreements: Politics, Law and Economics Vol 17, Issue 1 (2016): 107–125.
  • Luke Kemp, Australian Climate Finance Roundtable : Options Paper (Canberra, Australia, 2016).
  • WWF-Australia, ‘Climate Cash’ Podcast Series (2016), 04.07.2017.

zum Anfang springen