jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

The Gulf States were opposed to international climate protection agreements for a long time. Their economic and political dependency on oil and gas was simply too great. In recent years, however, a paradigm shift has taken place: Following the lead of other Gulf States, Saudi Arabia is now also arriving at a more progressive climate protection policy.

A field of solar panels at the King Abdulaziz City of Sciences and Technology.© Fahad Shadeed, Reuters
A field of solar panels at the King Abdulaziz City of Sciences and Technology.

The transformation of Saudi climate policy

Second only to Venezuela, Saudi Arabia has the world's second largest proven oil reserves and is also the largest crude oil exporter in the world, accounting for 17 percent of the world market. Revenues from the oil business are the dominant factor in the economic legitimation of the Saudi ruling house, since a large portion of the revenue is used to aliment the population. 80 percent of the workforce are employed in well-paid public service jobs. The Saudi state also provides its citizens with free education and free access to health care. Furthermore, the water, electricity, gasoline and housing prices remain well below world market prices. The strategic importance of fossil resources has therefore always been too great for a Saudi commitment to binding climate protection goals.

In recent years, a rethink has emerged: During the UN Climate Change Conference in Doha in 2012, Qatar, the UAE and Saudi Arabia made a fundamental compromise on binding emission targets for the first time. At the climate conference held in Paris in December 2015, the Gulf Monarchies were unanimously in favour of a follow-up agreement to the Kyoto Protocol. Even though the self-imposed emission targets of Saudi Arabia in particular remain rather vague and even subject to certain minimum incomes from oil and gas exports, their motion gave fresh life to international climate protection negotiations. Saudi Arabia ratified the Paris Agreement at the beginning of November 2016, and publicly spoke in favour of the treaty again two weeks later. Above all, this is an important foreign and domestic policy signal that the largest Gulf State, Saudi Arabia, is now on a progressive course of reform in the field of international climate protection policy.

The reason for this paradigm shift is primarily the foreseeable end of the pure rentier state system in Saudi Arabia. At present, 90% of overall export revenue are generated by the sale of crude oil or oil-based products. In the next few decades, the Kingdom will probably face economic challenges of unprecedented proportions resulting from the progressive extinction of fossil sources of energy, the dependence on the level of the oil price, and domestic political tensions, first and foremost the high youth unemployment rate.

In Saudi Arabia, climate change and its consequences have been particularly noticeable in recent years. Summer temperatures are breaking records just about every year. Precipitation is declining further. Some studies already argue that climate change will soon lead to temperatures that pose an acute health risk even for young and healthy people. Since the fresh water sources are increasingly drying out, water requirements are now nearly entirely met by the energy-intensive desalination of seawater. The decade-long settlement of petrochemical and metal-processing industries with extremely energy-intensive processes continues to drive up consumption. Today, the per capita electricity consumption in Saudi Arabia is already twice as high as in Germany. As a consequence, around a quarter of the total Saudi oil production is diverted for energy production. However, the oil and gas used for domestic electricity production could be profitably sold on the world markets.

The demographic development in Saudi Arabia will probably exacerbate the situation. Recent estimates suggest that the population will grow by about 30% over the next 20 years. According to recent estimates, climate change and population growth will lead to a doubling of electricity consumption in Saudi Arabia within the next ten years.

Saudi Arabia relying on renewable energies

Like the other Gulf States, Saudi Arabia has recognized the signs of the times. Saudi Arabia is increasingly investing in alternative energy sources to ensure energy and supply security over the coming decades. Saudi Arabia has been pursuing the construction of a civilian nuclear program for several years. Several cooperation and research agreements were concluded with leading exporters of nuclear technology. Already in 2010, the Kingdom has created the infrastructure for the intended energy transition with the King Abdullah City for Atomic and Renewable Energy. According to the plan around 15 per cent of the country's total energy needs are to be covered by nuclear power by 2040.

With delay, Saudi Arabia has also begun investing in the development of renewable energies. Vice-Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman Al Saud presented the "Saudi Vision 2030" in April 2016. An important goal of this vision is the ability to cover the majority of the Saudi energy requirement with solar power by the end of the next decade. The expansion of the photovoltaic sector is also intended to stimulate the domestic export economy to escape from dependence on the volatile oil and gas business. In this respect, investment in green technologies and renewable energies is to ensure future energy and supply security, as well as providing important incentives to diversify the economy. The fact that such investments improve the national climate balance as well as international reputation is a welcome side effect. In terms of internal politics, a progressive environmental and climate policy underpins the claim for religious leadership of the Saudi royal house. In the "Saudi Vision 2030" it says: "By respecting our environment and natural resources, we fulfil our Islamic, human and moral duties".

Opportunities for the private sector

In restructuring the domestic economy, the royal house is also relying on the participation of the private sector. According to "Saudi Vision 2030", the contribution of private companies to the gross domestic product is to increase from currently 40% to 65%. For this purpose, predominantly state enterprises are to be privatized. Furthermore, the prerequisites for public-private partnerships and an improved investment climate for foreign investors are to be established. The approx. 700 German companies that are active in Saudi Arabia regard the "Saudi Vision 2030" as an opportunity to open up new business areas. They have recently set up a committee to accompany the planned economic reforms of the Kingdom.

In principle, Saudi Arabia offers good prerequisites for corporate investment in renewable energies. According to a study by the delegation of the German economy in Saudi Arabia, the country constitutes "a highly interesting market" due to attractive climatic and geographic location factors. The report indicates that both the necessary infrastructure and a well-educated workforce are present in the country. However, there is currently no adequate regulatory framework to guarantee the necessary legal certainty for capital-intensive investments in this sector. Furthermore, the overlapping competencies of government agencies provide for non-transparent structures and ambiguous responsibilities. For this reason, investment projects to the value of several billions by private-sector players have not yet gone beyond the pure planning stage. However, the biggest hindrance to investments is probably the state intervention on the energy markets. Given the immense oil and gas subsidies, alternative sources of energy are currently simply not competitive in Saudi Arabia.

The "Saudi Vision 2030" is also to address this aspect. Households and the private sector will have to pay more when it comes to the cost of energy and water supplies in future. The gradual dismantling of the Saudi subventions policy has already been ushered in. In autumn 2015, for instance, the price of gasoline was raised by 8 dollar cents compared to the beginning of the year, which constitutes a price increase of 40 percent. The same applies to electricity, water and gas. Since the production and opportunity costs are now increasingly borne by the actual consumers, the consumer behavior of private households is also expected to adjust in the medium term, according to theory. This would permit alternative and energy-efficient technologies to become more competitive in Saudi Arabia in the next few years.

Conclusion

Climate protection and renewable energies are set to play an increasingly important role in Saudi Arabia over the next few years. The paradigm shift towards a more progressive climate and environmental protection policy has taken place. This raises the question of how Saudi Arabia and the other Gulf States are going to react should there be a further oil price shock in the coming years. In fact, at that time the drop in oil price tore holes of such magnitude into the state budget that they could only be offset using the international currency reserves. Such liquidity issues may mean that large-scale investments in new technologies, which are usually only profitable in the long term, may become unattractive. Particularly since the new reform course, which provides for less state intervention in the various goods and labor markets, is not received enthusiastically by all parts of the population. The comforts of the past few decades were simply too great for a price shock to trigger a journey into the unknown. Saudi Arabia still appears to have sufficient financial resources to stand a further oil price decline. The (partial) privatization of the state oil production company ARAMCO, the world's largest oil company, is expected to flush several billion US dollars into the state coffers. This should suffice to warrant freedom of action, at least in the short term. However, will these ultimately limited buffers suffice to make the ambitious "Saudi Vision 2030" a reality one day?

About the authors:
Dr. Manuel Schubert is head of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Office for Jordan and acting head of the Regional Programme for the Gulf States.
Peter Sendrowicz is research associate at the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Regional Programme for the Gulf States.
Andreas Weinhut was intern at the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Regional Programme for the Gulf States and is currently studying political science at the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Further Reading

Contact

ImageManuel Schubert
Regional Representative to the Gulf States
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
manuel.schubert(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Lange Zeit standen die Golf-Staaten inter­nationalen Klimaschutzabkommen ablehnend gegenüber. Zu groß war ihre wirtschaftliche und politische ­Abhängigkeit von Öl und Gas. In den ­ergangenen ­Jahren fand jedoch ein ­Paradigmenwechsel statt: Nach anderen Golf-Staaten schlägt nun auch Saudi-Arabien progressivere Töne in der Klimapolitik an.

Ein Solarpark am Forschungszentrum der King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology.© Fahad Shadeed, Reuters
Ein Solarpark am Forschungszentrum der King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology.

WANDEL IN DER SAUDISCHEN KLIMAPOLITIK

Saudi-Arabien verfügt nach Venezuela über die weltweit zweitgrößten nachgewiesenen Erdölreserven und ist mit 17 Prozent Weltmarktanteil auch der größte Rohölexporteur der Welt. Die Einnahmen aus dem Ölgeschäft sind der dominierende Faktor für die ökonomische Legitimation des saudischen Herrscherhauses: Ein Großteil der Einnahmen wird zur Alimentierung der Bevölkerung genutzt. 80 Prozent der Berufstätigen arbeiten dort im gut dotierten öffentlichen Dienst. Der saudische Staat stellt seinen Bürgern zudem kostenlos Bildung sowie Gesundheitsversorgung zur Verfügung. Auch die Wasser-, Strom-, Benzin- und Wohnungspreise bleiben weit unterhalb der Weltmarktpreise. Die strategische Bedeutung der fossilen Ressourcen war für Saudi-Arabien somit stets zu groß, um sich auf verbindliche Klimaschutzzusagen einzulassen.

In den vergangenen Jahren zeichnete sich ein Umdenken ab: Erstmals signalisierten Katar, die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate (VAE) und auch Saudi-Arabien während der UN-Klimakonferenz in Doha 2012 grundsätzliche Kompromissbereitschaft hinsichtlich verbindlicher Emissionsziele. Auf der Klimakonferenz in Paris im Dezember 2015 sprachen sich dann die Golf-Monarchien geschlossen für ein Nachfolgeabkommen zum Kyoto-Protokoll aus. Obwohl die selbstgewählten Emissionsziele insbesondere Saudi-Arabiens recht vage bleiben und auch nur vorbehaltlich bestimmter Mindesteinnahmen aus dem Öl- bzw. Gasexport gelten, ist dadurch wieder Bewegung in die internationalen Klimaschutzverhandlungen gekommen. Saudi-Arabien hat das Pariser Abkommen Anfang November 2016 ratifiziert und sich auch zwei Wochen später nochmals öffentlichkeitswirksam hinter das Abkommen gestellt. Es ist vor allem ein wichtiges außen- und innenpolitisches Signal, dass sich der größte Golf-Staat Saudi-Arabien nun auf einem progressiven Reformkurs im Bereich der internationalen Klimaschutzpolitik befindet.

Der Grund für diesen Paradigmenwechsel ist in erster Linie das absehbare Ende des reinen Rentierstaatssystems in Saudi-Arabien. Derzeit werden 90 Prozent aller Exporteinnahmen durch den Verkauf von Rohöl bzw. ölbasierter Produkte erwirtschaftet. In den nächsten Jahrzehnten dürfte das Königreich ökonomische Herausforderungen ungeahnten Ausmaßes erwarten, die sich aus dem fortschreitenden Versiegen der fossilen Energiequellen, der Abhängigkeit vom Niveau des Ölpreises und innenpolitischen Spannungen, allen voran der hohen Jugendarbeitslosigkeit, zusammensetzen.

In Saudi-Arabien wurden der Klimawandel und seine Folgen in den vergangenen Jahren besonders spürbar. Die Sommertemperaturen brechen beinahe jährlich Rekorde. Es fällt immer weniger Niederschlag. Einige Studien argumentieren bereits, dass bei fortschreitendem Klimawandel bald Temperaturen erreicht werden, die selbst für junge und gesunde Menschen zu einer akuten Gesundheitsgefährdung führen. Weil Frischwasserquellen zunehmend versiegen, wird mittlerweile fast der gesamte Wasserbedarf durch die energieintensive Entsalzung von Meerwasser gedeckt. Nach der jahrzehntelangen Ansiedelung von petrochemischen und metallverarbeitenden Industrien, deren Prozesse besonders viel Energie verschlingen, treiben diese den Verbrauch weiter in die Höhe. Schon heute ist der Pro-Kopf-Strombedarf in Saudi-Arabien doppelt so hoch wie in Deutschland. Die Folge ist, dass etwa ein Viertel der gesamten Ölproduktion Saudi-Arabiens direkt zur Energiegewinnung eingesetzt werden muss. Dabei könnte das für die heimische Stromproduktion verwendete Öl und Gas durchaus gewinnbringend auf den Weltmärkten vertrieben werden.

Die demografische Entwicklung in Saudi-Arabien wird die Situation vermutlich noch weiter verschärfen. So gehen neueste Schätzungen davon aus, dass die Bevölkerung in den nächsten 20 Jahren um ca. 30 Prozent wachsen wird. Vertraut man den aktuellen Hochrechnungen, führen Klimawandel und Bevölkerungswachstum innerhalb der nächsten zehn Jahre zu einer Verdoppelung des Stromverbrauchs in Saudi-Arabien.

Quelle: OPEC 2017, IMF 2016
Quelle: OPEC 2017, IMF 2016

SAUDI-ARABIEN SETZT AUF ERNEUERBARE ENERGIEN

Saudi-Arabien hat, wie auch die anderen Golf-Staaten, die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt. Um die Energie- und Versorgungssicherheit auch in den nächsten Jahrzehnten zu gewährleisten, investiert Saudi-Arabien zunehmend in alternative Energiequellen. Saudi-Arabien verfolgt seit einigen Jahren den Aufbau eines zivilen Atomprogrammes. Es wurden mehrere Kooperations- und Forschungsabkommen mit führenden Exporteuren von Nukleartechnologie abgeschlossen. Mit der King Abdullah City for Atomic and Renewable Energy hat das Königreich bereits 2010 die Infrastruktur für die angestrebte Energiewende geschaffen. Bis 2040, so der Plan, sollen etwa 15 Prozent des gesamten Energiebedarfs des Landes durch Atomstrom gedeckt werden.

Mit zeitlicher Verzögerung hat Saudi-Arabien nun auch begonnen, in den Ausbau von erneuerbaren Energien zu investieren. Im April 2016 stellte Vizekronprinz Mohammed bin Salman al-Saud die „Saudi Vision 2030” vor. Ein wichtiges Ziel dieser Vision ist es, bis zum Ende des nächsten Jahrzehnts die Mehrheit des saudischen Energiebedarfs über Solarstrom abdecken zu können. Der Ausbau des Photovoltaiksektors soll dabei auch die heimische Exportwirtschaft ankurbeln, um endlich aus der Abhängigkeit des volatilen Öl- und Gasgeschäfts zu kommen. Insofern sollen Investitionen in grüne Technologien und erneuerbare Energien nicht nur die künftige Energie- und Versorgungssicherheit gewährleisten, sie sollen auch wichtige Anreize zur Diversifizierung der Wirtschaft setzen. Dass solche Investitionen die eigene Klimabilanz und internationale Reputation verbessern, ist dabei ein willkommener Nebeneffekt. Innenpolitisch untermauert eine progressive Umwelt- und Klimapolitik den religiösen Führungsanspruch des saudischen Königshauses. In der „Saudi Vision 2030” heißt es: „Durch die Wahrung unserer Umwelt und natürlichen Ressourcen erfüllen wir unsere islamischen, menschlichen und moralischen Pflichten.”

CHANCEN FÜR DIE PRIVATWIRTSCHAFT

Das Königshaus setzt bei der Umstrukturierung der heimischen Wirtschaft auch auf die Beteiligung des Privatsektors. Der Beitrag privatwirtschaftlicher Unternehmen zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt soll laut „Saudi Vision 2030” von momentan 40 Prozent auf 65 Prozent steigen. Dafür sollen in erster Linie staatliche Betriebe privatisiert werden. Weiterhin sollen Voraussetzungen für öffentlich-private Partnerschaften und ein besseres Investitionsklima für ausländische Investoren geschaffen werden. Die ca. 700 Unternehmen aus Deutschland, die in Saudi-Arabien aktiv sind, begreifen die „Saudi Vision 2030” als Chance, neue Geschäftsfelder zu erschließen. Sie haben jüngst ein Komitee gegründet, um die geplanten Wirtschaftsreformen des Königreichs zu begleiten.

Grundsätzlich bietet Saudi-Arabien gute Voraussetzungen für Unternehmensinvestitionen in erneuerbare Energien. Aufgrund guter klimatischer und geografischer Standortfaktoren sei Saudi-Arabien „prinzipiell ein hochinteressanter Markt”, heißt es in einer Studie der Delegation der Deutschen Wirtschaft in Saudi-Arabien. Demnach ist nicht nur die notwendige Infrastruktur vorhanden, es gibt auch gut ausgebildetes Humankapital im Land. Allerdings fehlt es bislang an geeigneten regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen, die den kapitalintensiven Investitionen in diesem Sektor die notwendige Rechtssicherheit garantieren könnten. Darüber hinaus sorgen überlappende Kompetenzen von Regierungsbehörden für intransparente Strukturen und unklare Zuständigkeiten. Mehrere milliardenschwere Investitionsprojekte privatwirtschaftlicher Akteure sind aus diesem Grund über das reine Planungsstadium noch nicht hinausgekommen. Das größte Investitionshindernis dürften jedoch die staatlichen Eingriffe in die Energiemärkte darstellen. In Anbetracht der immensen Zuschüsse für Öl und Gas sind alternative Energien zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt in Saudi-Arabien nicht wettbewerbsfähig.

Auch dieser Front hat sich die „Saudi Vision 2030” angenommen. Haushalte und privater Sektor werden künftig stärker zur Kasse gebeten, wenn es um die Kosten für Energie- und Wasserversorgung geht. Der sukzessive Abbau der saudischen Subventionspolitik wurde bereits eingeläutet. So wurden im Herbst 2015 die Preise für Benzin im Vergleich zum Jahresanfang um acht US-Cent angehoben, eine Preiserhöhung von 40 Prozent. Ähnliches gilt für Strom, Wasser und Gas. Da die Produktions- bzw. Opportunitätskosten nun graduell von den eigentlichen Verbrauchern getragen werden, sollte sich mittelfristig, so die Theorie, auch das Konsumverhalten der privaten Haushalte anpassen. Damit könnten in den nächsten Jahren auch alternative und energieeffiziente Technologien in Saudi-Arabien konkurrenzfähig werden.


ÜBER DIE AUTOREN

Dr. Manuel Schubert ist Leiter des Auslandsbüros der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung in Jordanien und kommissarischer Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten.

Peter Sendrowicz ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung.

Andreas Weinhut war Praktikant im Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung und studiert aktuell Politikwissenschaft an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.


WEITERFÜHRENDE LITERATUR

Königreich Saudi-Arabien 2016: Saudi Vision 2030, 04/2016, in: http://bit.ly/2uxJdsA (04.07.2017).

Michaelowa, Axel/Luomi, Mari 2012: From Climate Antagonists to Low-Carbon Protagonists? The Changing Role of the Gulf OPEC States in the UNFCCC, FNI Climate Policy Perspectives, N. 6, Fridtjof Nansen Institute, 10/2012, in: http://bit.ly/2sNEdCU (06.07.2017).

Nachmany, Michal et al. 2015: Climate Change Legislation in Saudi Arabia, The London School of Economics and Political Science, The 2015 Global Climate Legislation Study, 11/2015.

Verkuijl, Cleo 2016: After a Great Hill, Many More to Climb, Environmental Policy and Law 46/6, S. 354–358.

Windecker, Gidon/Pfülb, Sebastian 2016: From Opposition to Adaptation – Energy Security and Economic Change as Drivers of a New Climate Policy in the Gulf?, Auslandsinformation 2/2016, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, S. 61–76, in: http://kas.de/wf/en/33.45885 (06.07.2017).

Kontakt

AbbildungDr. Manuel Schubert
Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
manuel.schubert(akas.de


zum Anfang springen