jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

In order to mitigate the consequences of climate change, the Japanese government plans undertaking ­comprehensive measures with respect to climate finance. The central idea of the Japanese climate policy is the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions by means of technical innovations. Part of the Japanese strategy is to promote financing from the private sector. The finance industry is making efforts to stimulate ­investment in sustainable projects. An action plan that has also been under discussion for quite some time is the establishment of a national emissions trading system.

Japan is considered pioneer and the most advanced market in the field of e-mobility.© aozora1, iStockPhoto
Japan is considered pioneer and the most advanced market in the field of e-mobility. Source: © aozora1, iStockPhoto

JAPAN’S CLIMATE POLICY OBJECTIVES UNDER CRITICISM

Shortly before the Paris Climate Change conference (COP21), the Japanese government announced the future targets it set for climate protection. The public response to the communication of Japan’s Intended Nationally Determined Contribution (INDC) by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) was muted. The Japanese government set the goal of achieving a 26 percent reduction of its global greenhouse gas emissions by fiscal year 2030, and an 80 percent reduction by 2050. The year 2013 serves as the base year. Japan had very high CO2 emissions in 2013. The numbers get relativized accordingly when one correlates them with the international reference year 1990. Even then this would correspond to only a reduction by approximately 16 percent by the year 2030, and by 2050, it is only around 25 percent.

Some members of the international community criticised Japan’s INDC as being disappointing. It represents a setback in the Japanese climate policy and is not in accordance with the Copenhagen Climate Change Conference (COP15). On account of the low INDC, the Climate Action Network Europe and Germanwatch have placed Japan for the year of 2017 at 60 in a list of 61 in their annual publication “Climate Change Performance Index”. Only Saudi Arabia has been valued lower than Japan.

ENERGY SECURITY AS THE DOMINANT FACTOR

Even six years after Fukushima the Japanese climate policy is still influenced by the consequences of the triple-disaster that struck the land. An energy deficit of 30 percent arose as a result of shutting down the nuclear power plants. In order to fill this gap the Japanese government had to switch to managing its energy requirements by importing fossil fuel. The dependence on gas, coal and oil which covered approximately 90 percent of Japan’s energy consumption in 2013 lowered its self-sufficiency rate to 6.1 percent, which was around 20 percent in 2010.

The deciding factor of the Japanese climate policy is security. Japan’s energy strategy consists of three mainstays. First, energy security is to be achieved via a self-sufficiency rate of 25 percent, secondly, financial resources should be invested in the expansion of the power network as efficiently as possible. Both these steps would lead to more intensive utilisation of coal and atomic power, the two most cost-effective energy sources on the Japanese market. Furthermore, the Japanese energy deficit after the Tōhoku earthquake can be closed by reactivating the atomic plants. The expansion of the coal power plants as already announced by Shinzō Abe is a result of cost-benefit analysis. Thirdly, in order to reduce the CO2 emissions, both renewable and atomic energy shall be used. In addition, technical innovations must make the use of gas and coal energy more environment-friendly. Altogether, the Japanese government expects economical, ecological and energy security.

Source: METI 2015
Source: METI 2015

A SLOW SHIFT IN CLIMATE FINANCE

In order to mitigate the consequences of climate change, the Japanese government plans undertaking comprehensive measures with respect to climate finance. Part of the Japanese strategy is to promote financing from the private sector (PCF). Under the heading “Cool Earth 2.0” (ACE2.0), the Japanese government intends to spend at least 1.3 trillion yen yearly from 2020 onwards as part of the global climate finance. The funds for the aid shall be composed of both, public funds and private investments. It is planned to attract private sponsors in future for the greater part of the climate finance. The past shows a large state-coordinated climate financing. A stronger involvement of the private sector is intended. Official Development Assistance (ODA) forms the central pillar of Japan’s climate policy. Independent private sector climate finance is not the norm.

In Japan, there is a very broad understanding of climate finance. Climate finance encompasses the sum total of all funds which have the objective of reducing greenhouse gas emissions. This includes not only the promotion of renewable energy resources or providing support for measures connected to raising awareness for climate protection but also investments in technological innovations of fossil energy resources (e. g. Carbon Capture and Storage, CCS). Technological innovations are an integral part of the debate on climate protection and are promoted in accordance with it. In the recent past, there has been criticism by NGOs against Japan’s handling of the debate on climate change.

Japan’s climate finance is composed of the publicly financed ODA, OOF (Other Official Flows) and the private investments. Besides these, Public Private Partnerships (PPP) are assuming an ever greater importance. Public institutions like JBIC Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC) and Nippon Export and Investment Insurance (NEXI) provide support to Japanese companies in their investments, thus promoting PCF. In this sense, PPP-projects are key components in the promotion of PCF. The ODA-programmes are coordinated by the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA).

TECHNICAL INNOVATIONS FORM THE CORE

On 18 April 2016, the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) put forth an energy strategy under the heading NESTI 2050 as a reaction to the Paris Agreement. At a first glance, it is difficult to distinguish it from the previous strategy. The three mainstays of the climate policy are still energy reduction, energy storage and the development of renewable energy resources. However, in detail it can be seen that the renewable energy resources are assigned a more central role in comparison to the previous plans, in particular geothermal energy and photovoltaic plants. The central idea of the Japanese climate policy is however still the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions by means of technical innovations. A reason for the strong focus of the Japanese government on the expansion of climate-friendly technologies and better energy storage is that the targeted energy mix for 2030 was fixed even before the INDC. The energy mix has to be met on all accounts.

For the purpose of promoting technical innovations, the Japanese government initiated various programmes. Japan organises important forums like “Innovation for Cool Earth Forum” (ICEF) and “Clean Energy Ministerial” (CEM) to promote technical innovations. Traditionally, a high level of importance is attached to RD&D (Research, Development and Demonstration) in Japan. With respect to RD&D investments, Japan held third place behind the USA and China in 2014. The highest share was invested in nuclear energy (2014: 47 percent), renewable energy resources received only 21 percent, fossil energy resources approximately twelve percent. 15 percent of the funds was invested in the development of energy efficiency.

PRIVATE CLIMATE FINANCE THROUGH NEW INSTRUMENTS?

An action plan that has been under discussion for a long time is the establishment of a national emissions trading system. The one that is already in use in the metropolitan region of Tokyo could serve as a model. Tokyo has provided a model since 2010 as to how an effective strategy regarding climate change may look like in Japan. Intelligent and realistic goals were set with respect to the CO2 emissions which give the industry stimulation to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. With this, Japan’s first emissions trading system was introduced.

Formulations for “green finance” are not uncommon in Japan even when they take place within a manageable context. The finance industry is making efforts to stimulate investment in sustainable projects. This is to be achieved by means of financing plans from banks for the borrower. Investments in renewable energy resources were limited on account of poor tariffs but could become more attractive in the near future through government measures. It is a medium-term objective of the Japanese government to make regional investments in sustainable projects more attractive for the local industry.

JAPAN’S CLIMATE FINANCE WORLDWIDE

At the G20 summit of 2014, Japan announced contributions to the Green Climate Fund (GCF). With 1.5 billion US dollars, Japan is one of the largest donors. The fund is the most important category for Japan’s climate finance. The largest share of the Japanese climate finance flows into the GCF. In 2013, the Ministry of the Environment (MOE) started the Green Finance Organization, an institution which was to promote private climate finance. 78 million US dollars has been mobilised through this path since the fiscal year 2013.

The latest ODA projects are located in Africa. At the Sixth Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD VI), support for a photovoltaic plant in Egypt and a geothermal plant in Kenya were approved, as was an additional 1.8 billion US dollars towards activities for climate protection projects. The projects which have been announced are to be financed largely as PPP projects. The main objective is however to encourage Japanese private investments in Africa and thus forming a basis for future climate programmes, e. g. through human resource development. At least 1,000 persons are to be specially trained and sensitized to bring about a sustainable development on the African continent.

In addition, Japan announced at the COP22 that it would be participating intensively in the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDC) partnerships because they are absolutely necessary for it to achieve the targets of the Paris Agreement. The cooperation with international organisations is to be continuously intensified over the next few years.

JAPAN WAVERS

In conclusion, it may be said that Japan has provided many ideas regarding promoting PCF. Most of it however was concluded after the COP15; on the other hand, COP21 could not exercise an equivalent stimulus on the Japanese climate policy.

Non-transparent communication on part of the ministries did not allow for an in-depth assessment of the actual extent of PCF. Characteristic is also the strong state control over the PCF. The private investments flow almost exclusively into projects which are at least partly supported by the Japanese government. The competence distribution in the Japanese climate policy between METI, MOE and Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) is responsible for it. It is also noticeable that significantly more projects for offsetting the consequences of climate change (mitigations) are supported, but almost none for adaptation to the consequences of climate change (adaption).

In the past, Japan had used the platforms of the G20 and G7 summits to present its climate goals to the global community. In 2014, at the G20 Summit in Brisbane, Prime Minister Abe announced Japan’s investments in the GCF. Since then, Japan has become suspiciously silent at the summits when dealing with matters concerning formulating definitive climate goals. The Japanese government just nods in acquiescence to the outcome of the negotiations without however taking the initiative to present new measures against climate change. It remains to be seen what measures the Japanese government still wants to keep open for itself after the G20 Summit in Hamburg.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hannes Bublitz is Associate Researcher and Project Coordinator at the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Office in Tokyo.


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Zur Abmilderung der Klimawandelfolgen plant die japanische Regierung ­umfassende Maßnahmen der Klimafinanzierung. ­Zentraler Gedanke der japanischen Klimapolitik ist weiterhin die Treibhausgasemissions­reduktion mittels technischer Innovationen. Teil der japanischen Strategie ist die Förderung der Privatsektor-Klimafinanzierung. Die Finanz­industrie ist bemüht, im nationalen Markt Anreize für Investitionen in nachhaltige ­Projekte zu schaffen. Seit längerer Zeit wird auch die Einrichtung eines nationalen Emissionshandelssystems diskutiert.

Japan gilt als Pionier und als weltweit fortschrittlichster Markt für Elektromobilität.© aozora1, iStockPhoto
Japan gilt als Pionier und als weltweit fortschrittlichster Markt für Elektromobilität. Quelle: © aozora1, iStockPhoto

KRITIK AN JAPANS KLIMAZIELEN

Kurz vor der Pariser Klimakonferenz (COP 21) verkündete die japanische Regierung ihre zukünftig festgelegten Ziele für den Klimaschutz. Nach der Bekanntgabe von Japans Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDC) durch das UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) fiel die Resonanz in der Öffentlichkeit sehr ernüchternd aus. Die japanische Regierung legte das Ziel fest, bis zum Fiskaljahr 2030 eine Reduzierung der Treibhausgasemission um 26, bis zum Jahr 2050 um 80 Prozent zu erreichen. Als Basisjahr fungiert 2013. In 2013 hatte Japan einen sehr hohen CO2-Ausstoß. Dementsprechend relativiert werden die Zahlen, wenn man sie zu dem internationalen Vergleichsjahr 1990 in Beziehung setzt. Bis zum Jahr 2030 entspräche es nur einer Reduzierung um ca. 16 Prozent. Zum Jahr 2050 sind es 25 Prozent.

Einige Mitglieder der internationalen Gemeinschaft kritisierten Japans INDC als enttäuschend. Sie stellen einen Rückschritt in der japanischen Klimapolitik dar und sind nicht mit den vereinbarten Zielen der Kopenhagener Klimakonferenz (COP 15) vereinbar. Angesichts des geringen Erfolgs des INDC haben das Climate Action Network Europe und Germanwatch in ihrem jährlich erscheinenden „Climate Change Performance Index” Japan für das Jahr 2017 auf Platz 60 von 61 gelistet. Lediglich Saudi-Arabien wird noch schlechter bewertet als Japan.

ENERGIESICHERHEIT ALS DOMINIERENDER FAKTOR

Auch sechs Jahre nach Fukushima ist die japanische Klimapolitik geprägt von den Auswirkungen, die die Dreifach-Katastrophe nach sich zog. Mit der Abschaltung der Atomkraftwerke entstand ein Energiedefizit von 30 Prozent. Um dieses Loch zu stopfen, musste die japanische Regierung den Energiehaushalt auf den Import fossiler Energieträger umstellen. Die Abhängigkeit von Gas, Kohle und Öl, die ca. 90 Prozent des Energiebedarfs 2013 deckten, ließ Japans Selbstversorgungsquote auf 6,1 Prozent im Jahr 2013 sinken. Im Jahr 2010 waren es noch ca. 20 Prozent.

Entscheidender Faktor der japanischen Klimapolitik ist Sicherheit. Der Energieplan Japans besteht aus drei Säulen. Erstens soll Energiesicherheit durch eine Selbstversorgungsrate von 25 Prozent erreicht werden. Zweitens sollen finanzielle Ressourcen möglichst effizient in den Ausbau des Energienetzes investiert werden. Beide Schritte führen zu einer intensiveren Nutzung von Kohle- sowie Atomkraft, den beiden kostengünstigsten Energieträgern auf dem japanischen Markt. Durch die Reaktivierung der japanischen Atomanlagen kann zusätzlich das japanische Energiedefizit nach dem Tōhoku-Beben geschlossen werden. Der von Shinzō Abe bereits angekündigte Ausbau von Kohlekraftwerken erfolgt aus Kosten-Nutzen-Kalkül. Drittens sollen, um den CO2-Ausstoß zu reduzieren, sowohl erneuerbare als auch Atomenergie genutzt werden. Zusätzlich sollen technische Innovationen den Gebrauch von Gas- und Kohleenergie umweltschonender gestalten. Zusammen verspricht sich die japanische Regierung ökonomische, ökologische und Energiesicherheit.

Quelle: METI 2015
Quelle: METI 2015

LANGSAMER WANDEL DER KLIMAFINANZIERUNG

Zur Abmilderung der Folgen des Klimawandels plant die japanische Regierung umfassende Maßnahmen der Klimafinanzierung. Teil der japanischen Strategie ist die Förderung der Privatsektor-Klimafinanzierung (PKF). Unter dem Titel „Cool Earth 2.0” (ACE2.0) möchte die japanische Regierung ab dem Jahr 2020 mindestens 1,3 Billionen Yen jährlich als Teil der weltweiten Klimafinanzierung aufwenden. Die Hilfsgelder sollen sich sowohl aus öffentlichen Geldern als auch aus privaten Investitionen zusammensetzen. Es ist geplant, private Geldgeber für den Großteil der zukünftigen Klimafinanzierung zu gewinnen. Die Vergangenheit hat eine zu großen Teilen staatlich koordinierte Klimafinanzierung gezeigt. Eine stärkere Einbindung des Privatsektors wird angestrebt. Official Development Assistance (ODA) ist zentraler Bestandteil japanischer Klimapolitik. Unabhängige PKF ist in Japan nicht die Regel.

In Japan herrscht ein sehr breit gefächertes Verständnis von Klimafinanzierung. Unter Klimafinanzierung wird die Summe sämtlicher Mittel verstanden, die das Ziel besitzen, Treibhausgasemissionen zu reduzieren. Dazu zählen nicht nur die Förderung erneuerbarer Energien oder die Unterstützung von Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen für den Klimaschutz, sondern auch Investitionen in technologische Innovationen fossiler Energieträger (z. B. Carbon Capture and Storage, CCS). Technologische Innovationen sind für Japan ein fester Bestandteil der Klimaschutzdebatte und entsprechend werden sie auch gefördert. In der jüngeren Vergangenheit gab es einige Kritik von Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGOs) an Japans Umgang mit der Klimawandeldebatte.

Japans Klimafinanzierung setzt sich aus den öffentlich finanzierten ODA, Other Official Flows (OOF) und den privaten Investitionen zusammen. Neben diesen gewinnen auch Public Private Partnerships (PPP) zunehmend an Bedeutung. Öffentliche Institutionen wie die Japan Bank for International Cooperation (JBIC) und Nippon Export and Investment Insurance (NEXI) unterstützen japanische Firmen bei Klimaschutzinvestitionen In dem Sinne sind PPP-Projekte entscheidender Bestandteil der Förderung von PKF. Die ODA-Programme werden von der Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) koordiniert.

TECHNISCHE INNOVATIONEN BLEIBEN ZENTRAL

Am 18. April 2016 legte das Wirtschaftsministerium als Reaktion auf das Pariser Klimaabkommen einen Energiefahrplan unter dem Titel NESTI 2050 vor. Auf den ersten Blick sind Unterschiede zu den vorigen Zielen nur schwer zu entdecken. Die drei Säulen der Klimapolitik sind immer noch Energiereduktion, -speicherung und der Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien. Im Detail zeigt sich jedoch, dass den erneuerbaren Energien im Vergleich zu früheren Plänen eine zentralere Rolle zukommt, vor allem Geothermie und Photovoltaik. Zentraler Gedanke der japanischen Klimapolitik ist aber immer noch die Treibhausgasemissionsreduktion durch technische Innovationen. Ein Grund für die starke Fokussierung der japanischen Regierung auf den Ausbau klimaverträglicher Technologien und eine bessere Energiespeicherung ist, dass der anvisierte Energiemix für 2030 schon vor dem INDC festgelegt wurde. Der Energiemix soll auf jeden Fall eingehalten werden.

Um technische Innovationen zu fördern, hat die japanische Regierung unterschiedliche Programme ins Leben gerufen. Mit dem Innovation for Cool Earth Forum (ICEF) oder dem Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) stellt Japan wichtige internationale Foren, um technische Innovationen zu fördern. RD&D (Research, Development and Demonstration) hat in Japan traditionell einen hohen Stellenwert. In 2014 belegte Japan hinter den USA und der Volksrepublik China den dritten Platz, was die RD&D-Investitionen betraf. Der höchste Anteil wird in Nuklearenergien investiert (2014: 47 Prozent), erneuerbare Energien erhalten nur 21, fossile Energieträger ca. zwölf Prozent. 15 Prozent der Gelder werden in den Ausbau der Energieeffizienz investiert.

PRIVATE KLIMAFINANZIERUNG DURCH NEUE INSTRUMENTE?

Eine Maßnahme, die schon seit längerer Zeit diskutiert wird, ist die Einsetzung eines nationalen Emissionshandelssystems. Als Vorbild könnte ein System dienen, wie es bereits in der Metropolregion Tokio zum Einsatz kommt. Seit 2010 stellt Tokio ein Beispiel dar, wie eine effektive Strategie bezüglich Klimawandel in Japan aussehen kann. Bezüglich der CO2-Emissionen wurden kluge und realistische Ziele gesetzt, die der Industrie Anreize zur Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen geben. Dabei wurde das erste Emissionshandelssystem Japans eingeführt.

Ansätze für Green Finance sind in Japan nicht unüblich, auch wenn sie nur in einem überschaubaren Rahmen stattfinden. Die Finanzindustrie ist bemüht, im nationalen Markt Anreize für Investitionen in nachhaltige Projekte zu schaffen. Das soll durch Finanzierungspläne der Banken für die Kreditnehmer erreicht werden. Investitionen in erneuerbare Energien halten sich bisher durch schlechte Tarife in Grenzen, könnten aber in näherer Zukunft durch staatliche Maßnahmen attraktiver werden. Regionale Investitionen in nachhaltige Projekte für die hiesige Industrie attraktiver zu gestalten, ist ein mittelfristiges Ziel der japanischen Regierung.

JAPANS KLIMAFINANZIERUNG WELTWEIT

Auf dem G20-Treffen 2014 kündigte Japan Zahlungen in den Green Climate Fund (GCF) an. Mit 1,5 Milliarden US-Dollar ist Japan einer der größten Geldgeber. Für die Klimafinanzierung Japans ist der Fonds die bedeutendste Kategorie. Der größte Teil der japanischen Klimafinanzierung fließt in den GCF. Schon im Jahr 2013 hat das Umweltministerium mit der Green Finance Organisation eine Institution gegründet, die private Klimafinanzierung fördern sollte. Seit dem Fiskaljahr 2013 konnten auf diesem Weg 78 Millionen US-Dollar mobilisiert werden.

Die jüngsten ODA-Projekte sind in Afrika lokalisiert. Auf der sechsten Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD VI) wurden die Unterstützung einer Photovoltaikanlage in Ägypten und einer Geothermalanlage in Kenia sowie zusätzlich 1,8 Milliarden US-Dollar an Maßnahmen für Klimaschutzprojekte zugesagt. Größtenteils sollen die angekündigten Projekte als PPP-Projekte finanziert werden. Hauptziel ist es aber, private japanische Investitionen in Afrika zu fördern und damit die Grundlage für zukünftige Klimaprogramme zu liefern, z. B. durch Human Resource Development (HRD). Mindestens 1.000 Personen sollen dazu trainiert und sensibilisiert werden, den Klimaschutz und vor allem die nachhaltige Entwicklung auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent zu fördern.

Auf der COP 22 kündigte Japan zudem an, dass es sich an Partnerschaften im Rahmen der Nationally Determined Contributions (NDC) intensiv beteiligen werde, da sie für das Erreichen der Ziele des Pariser Klimaabkommens absolut notwendig sind. Die Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Organisationen soll in den nächsten Jahren kontinuierlich intensiviert werden.

JAPAN ZÖGERT

Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass Japan viele Ansätze zur Förderung der PKF vorzuweisen hat. Der Großteil davon wurde jedoch nach der COP 15 beschlossen, die COP 21 dagegen konnte keine äquivalenten Anreize auf die japanische Klimapolitik ausüben.

Intransparente Kommunikation durch die Ministerien lassen eine fundierte Beurteilung des tatsächlichen Umfangs der PKF nicht zu. Charakteristisch ist auch die starke staatliche Regulierung der PKF. Die privaten Investitionen fließen fast ausschließlich in Projekte, die mindestens zum Teil von der japanischen Regierung mitgetragen werden. Verantwortlich dafür ist die Kompetenzverteilung in der japanischen Klimapolitik zwischen dem Wirtschafts-, dem Umwelt- und dem Außenministerium. Auffallend ist auch, dass deutlich mehr Projekte zur Abmilderung der Folgen des Klimawandels (Mitigation) unterstützt werden, jedoch fast keine zur Anpassung an die Folgen des Klimawandels (Adaption).

In der Vergangenheit hat Japan die Bühne der G20- und G7-Gipfel genutzt, um seine Klimaziele der Weltöffentlichkeit zu präsentieren. Im Jahr 2014 verkündete Premierminister Abe auf dem G20-Gipfel in Brisbane die japanischen Investitionen in den GCF. Seitdem ist es bei den Gipfeln allerdings verdächtig still um Japan geworden, sobald es darum ging, konkrete Klimaziele zu formulieren. Die japanische Regierung nickte die Verhandlungsergebnisse zuletzt stumm ab, ergriff jedoch nicht selbst die Initiative, neue Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel zu präsentieren. Es bleibt abzuwarten, welche Schritte sich die japanische Regierung nach dem G20-Gipfel in Hamburg offenhält.


ÜBER DEN AUTOR

Hannes Bublitz ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Projektkoordinator im Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Tokio.


zum Anfang springen