jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Also available in Deutsch

The development in terms of ­climate policy in Turkey follows in ­various ­respects the international trends. Further­more, the ­private sector makes a ­special ­contribution. Currently, it is still ­significantly supported by international financial resources. However, Turkey's public institutions have also started to intensify the development of climate-friendly legislation and stimulation ­systems in close cooperation with private actors in order to create financial bases for the change to a low-carbon economy.

In Turkey, the support for renewable energies is provided to a large extent by multilateral funds and development banks.© 1001slide, iStockPhoto
In Turkey, the support for renewable energies is provided to a large extent by multilateral funds and development banks.

PROBLEMS OF CLIMATE FINANCING

The Paris Agreement globally points to a rapid transition in the direction of low-carbon national economies. In order to ensure this fast and structural transformation, urgent political measures, programmes or projects for lowering the greenhouse gas emissions and the adaption to negative effects of the climate changes are required. These measures and actions that are financially supported from international, national, local, public and private sources can be summarized under the term Climate Finance. By looking at the details, it seems that the resources of the climate protection financings are far beyond actual need. The Global Economy Forum, for example, found out that investments in infrastructure, which are to be used in the developing countries, must be financed with 5.7 trillion US dollars yearly till 2020, so that these countries are “green” and are able to withstand the climate change.

INTERNATIONAL CLIMATE FINANCING AND PRIVATE SECTOR INITIATIVES

What is the status quo now in Turkey with regard to a new climate regime, and what status has been achieved in the financing of the private sector in Turkey? With its twelve years of belated partnership both at the UNFCCC (2004) and at Kyoto Protocol (2009), and up to the admission of the Paris Agreement, we may say that Turkey has practised follow-up politics and, due to its special conditions, has avoided taking on responsibility. Turkey as a founding member of the OECD, official candidate of the European Union and of the G20 economy, became on 24 May 2017 an official contract partner of the Paris Agreement, which represents the framework of the global battle against climate change. Due to its present position, Turkey is not able to benefit from the Green Climate Fund, which is the most important distribution mechanism of the climate financing structure. Its application for receiving climate financing is negotiated as open-ended. Despite its unclear position, we may say that the development of the climate policy at national and local level in Turkey shows parallels to international trends. Recent works have shown that the development of climate protection legislation throughout the world has made rapid developments, especially after 2005. Based on these dynamics, which are the result of international negotiations, legislative efforts for harmonisation in the process of becoming a member of the European Union and the activities carried out by non-governmental actors, Turkey is forming its relevant politics and measures – although with relative delay, but at a steady tempo – and evaluates different options for the development of capacities for the realisation of these measures.

In the course of the climate strategy and measures, Turkey already benefits from its own public resources and many different sources of climate finance. Turkey is a country which has access to a vast range of financing resources, especially to EU structural funds, bilateral and multilateral funds of development banks, the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and the Climate Investment Funds (CIF). The trade with CO2 emissions certificates permits Turkey to join the optional carbon markets to a significant proportion, which can be seen as a financing of the private sector. It is estimated that in 2015 alone, an income of more than four million US dollars had been achieved in the voluntary market of the private sector in Turkey. The development of finance in terms of climate policy for Turkey for the year 2014 seems to have exceeded 2.4 billion US dollars. Turkey has received a funding of 301 million US dollars for 55 projects over GEF and has created co-financings of around 1.2 billion US dollars. The sum of support received in the frame of CIF was about 449 million US dollars, to which about 4.5 billion US dollars of co-finances have been created. The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) supports 230 projects in Turkey with around 9.5 billion euros, with 97 percent of the projects being private enterprises. To a high degree, this support has been invested in renewable energies, energy and resource efficiency, infrastructure and sustainability of the infrastructure as well as in the reform of the energy sector. Mechanisms, such as the Turkish Sustainable Energy Financing Facility (TurSEFF) and the Turkish Mid-size Sustainable Energy Financing Facility (MidSEFF), have created important financial resources to support the climate protection of the private sector. Offering this support through Turkish banks has increased stimulation for private actors and at the same time increased the capacity of the funding institutions.

Source: Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, National Renewable Energy Action Plan
Source: Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, National Renewable Energy Action Plan

GREEN BONDS

A fast development of various financial instruments for climate protection can be observed in Turkey parallel to the international development. The interest in green bonds, which are securities and used on international bond markets as a means of financing the transition to a low-carbon economy, has increased and the first green bond of Turkey with 300 million US dollars has been issued. Some critical steps have been undertaken to create a basis for the transfer of private sector financing to the climate protection measures. Public institutions evaluate the options for various market-based mechanisms, such as the carbon trade in cooperation with the private sector, and are preparing the necessary legal requirements. In 2014, the Istanbul Stock Exchange (BIST) started to calculate and publish the ISE sustainability index. In order to identify the financial need for the transformation into a low-carbon economy, the private sector and the investors have received an important infrastructure indicator.

An examination of the intended national contribution of Turkey within the frame of the Paris Agreement at the climate negotiations shows that the basic perception regarding climate financing is confined to public funds, the Green Climate Fund and market-based mechanisms. Nevertheless, the perception of the private sector in Turkey is not limited with regard to its perspective. It has been found that specifically credit and insurance companies perceive the climate financing in a larger frame which, with regard to the realised activities and agenda discussions, cannot be wrong. Substantial deficits in climate protection financing in the realised projects and programmes are the lack of financial resources, uncertainties and insufficiencies of the legislature, limited capacities of the actors and problems finding financing project pipelines. Financing actors have repeatedly found in many parts of the world, and in Turkey too, that financial resources alone are rarely sufficient presuppositions.

OUTLOOK

It is true that there is no consensus on the definition of private-sector climate financing in Turkey. Nevertheless, the necessary funding for the required measures for the transition to a low-carbon economy and a sustainable development are partially provided or will be available in near future through various channels such as carbon pricing policy, carbon trading systems, support of renewable energies, green bonds, investment funds, bank loans and grants. In the face of these developments, it can be assumed that the climate regime rearranged by the Paris Agreement will send out strong signals to international investors and credit companies, and the possibilities for financing of the private sector in Turkey will increase and also become more widely distributed. The role of public actors in Turkey in this process is to develop climate-friendly legal requirements and stimulate systems in cooperation with non-governmental actors in order to create transient signals that go beyond carbon issues. The private sector and financing institutions should diversify the climate-protection instruments, develop capacities for their efficient use and make scientifically consolidated steps by using transparent evaluations of climate risks in investments and portfolios.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Arif Cem Gündoğan is a Researcher at the Middle East Technical University in Ankara.


FURTHER READING:

Climate Bonds Initiative 2016: Bonds and Climate Change: The State of the Market in 2016, in: http://bit.ly/2tm7von (12 Jul 2017).

Climate Policy Initiative 2015: Global Landscape of Climate Finance 2015, in: http://bit.ly/2tMY150 (12 Jul 2017).

Hamrick, Kelley/Goldstein, Allie 2016: Raising Ambition. State of the Voluntary Carbon Markets 2016, Forest Trends’ Ecosystem Marketplace, in: http://bit.ly/2uPrVKZ (12 Jul 2017).

Nachmany, Michal/Fankhauser, Sam/Setzer, Joana/Averchenkova, Alina 2017: Global Trends in Climate Change Legislation and Litigation: 2017 Update, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, in: http://bit.ly/2uPXrs9 (21 Jul 2017).

Turhan, Ethemcan/Cerit Mazlum, Semra/Şahin, Ümit/Şorman, Alevgül H./Gündoğan, Arif Cem 2016: Beyond Special Circumstances: Climate Change Policy in Turkey 1992–2015, Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change, Vol. 7, No. 3, DOI 10.1002/wcc.390, in: http://bit.ly/2tN4kp7 (12 Jul 2017).

UN 2015: Trends in Private Sector Climate Finance, United Nations, in: http://bit.ly/2uPtU1T (12 Jul 2017).

World Economic Forum 2013: The Green Investment Report: The Ways and Means to Unlock Private Finance for Green Growth, in: http://bit.ly/2twsGZb (12 Jul 2017).


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Die klimapolitische Entwicklung in der Türkei folgt in vielerlei Hinsicht internationalen Trends. Besonderen ­Anteil daran hat der Privatsektor. Dieser wird zwar gegenwärtig noch maßgeblich durch internationale Finanzierungs­quellen gestützt. Doch auch öffentliche Institutionen in der Türkei haben in Zusam­men­arbeit mit ­privaten Akteuren damit begonnen, verstärkt klimafreundliche Gesetzgebungen und Anreiz-systeme zu erarbeiten, um Finanzierungsgrundlagen für die Umwandlung in eine CO2-arme Wirtschaft zu schaffen.

Die Förderung erneuerbarer Energien erfolgt in der Türkei in großem Umfang durch multilaterale Fonds und Entwicklungsbanken.© 1001slide, iStockPhoto
Die Förderung erneuerbarer Energien erfolgt in der Türkei in großem Umfang durch multilaterale Fonds und Entwicklungsbanken. Quelle: © 1001slide, iStockPhoto

PROBLEME DER KLIMAFINANZIERUNG

Das Pariser Abkommen deutet global auf einen schnellen Übergang in Richtung CO2-arme Volkswirtschaften hin. Um diese schnelle und strukturelle Transformation zu gewährleisten, erfordert es dringende politische Maßnahmen, Programme oder Projekte zur Verringerung der Treibhausgasemissionen und der Anpassung an die negativen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels. Diese aus internationalen, nationalen, lokalen, öffentlichen und privaten Quellen finanzierten Maßnahmen und Aktionen kann man unter dem Begriff der Klimafinanzierung zusammenfassen. Im Detail betrachtet, scheint es, dass die Ressourcen der Klimaschutzfinanzierung von ihrem eigentlichen Bedarf weit entfernt sind. Zum Beispiel stellt das Weltwirtschaftsforum fest, dass Infrastrukturinvestitionen, die in den Entwicklungsländern umgesetzt werden sollen, bis 2020 mit 5,7 Billionen US-Dollar jährlich finanziert werden müssten, damit sie „grün” sind und dem Klimawandel standhalten können.

INTERNATIONALE KLIMAFINANZIERUNG UND PRIVATWIRTSCHAFTLICHE INITIATIVEN

Wie sieht es nun in der Türkei hinsichtlich des neuen Klimaregimes aus und welchen Stand hat die Finanzierung des Privatsektors in der Türkei erreicht? Man kann sagen, dass die Türkei mit ihrer jeweils zwölf Jahre verspäteten Beteiligung sowohl an der UNFCCC (2004) als auch am Kyoto-Protokoll (2009) bis zur Zulassung des Pariser Abkommens eine Follow-up-Politik betrieben hat und es vermied – ausgehend von ihren Sonderbedingungen –, Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Die Türkei als OECD-Gründungsmitglied, EU-Beitrittskandidat und G20-Wirtschaftsmacht wurde am 24. Mai 2017 offiziell Vertragspartner des Pariser Abkommens, das als Rahmenwerk des globalen Kampfes gegen den Klimawandel dient. Der Antrag für den Erhalt von Klimafinanzierungen der Türkei, die wegen ihrer gegenwärtigen Position nicht in der Lage ist, vom Green Climate Fund als wichtigstem Verteilungsmechanismus der Klimafinanzarchitektur zu profitieren, wird mit offenem Ende weiterverhandelt. Trotz dieser unklaren Position kann man sagen, dass die Entwicklung der Klimapolitik auf nationaler und lokaler Ebene in der Türkei Parallelen zu den internationalen Trends aufweist. Die jüngsten Arbeiten haben gezeigt, dass die Entwicklung der Klimaschutzgesetzgebung in der ganzen Welt rasant vorangegangen ist, vor allem nach 2005. Infolge der in internationalen Verhandlungen entstandenen Dynamik, der legislativen Harmonisierungsbemühungen im EU-Beitrittsprozess und der von nichtstaatlichen Akteuren durchgeführten Aktivitäten gestaltet die Türkei ihre entsprechende Politik und ergreift ‒wenn auch mit etwas Verzögerung ‒ Maßnahmen und bewertet verschiedene Optionen für die Entwicklung der Kapazitäten zur Umsetzung dieser Maßnahmen.

Die Türkei profitiert bereits im Zuge der Klimastrategie und -maßnahmen von ihren eigenen öffentlichen Mitteln sowie vielen verschiedenen Quellen der Klimafinanzierung. Das Land hat Zugang zu einer breiten Palette an Finanzierungsquellen, vor allem zu EU-Strukturfonds, bilateralen und multilateralen Fonds von Entwicklungsbanken, zur Globalen Umweltfazilität (GEF) und zum Klimainvestitionsfonds (CIF). Auch der Handel mit CO2-Emissionszertifikaten kann für die Türkei, die sich in erheblichem Maß an den freiwilligen CO2-Märkten beteiligt, als Klimafinanzierung des Privatsektors betrachtet werden. Es wird geschätzt, dass auf freiwilligen CO2-Märkten des Privatsektors in der Türkei allein im Jahr 2015 mehr als vier Millionen US-Dollar Einkommen erzielt wurde. Für 2014 dürfte die klimapolitische Entwicklungsfinanzierung für die Türkei 2,4 Milliarden US-Dollar überschritten haben. Die Türkei hat 301 Millionen US-Dollar an Finanzierungen für 55 Projekte über die GEF erhalten und rund 1,2 Milliarden US-Dollar an dazugehörigen Kofinanzierungen geschaffen. Die Summe der im Rahmen des CIF erhaltenen Unterstützung betrug etwa 449 Millionen US-Dollar und etwa 4,5 Milliarden US-Dollar wurden kofinanziert. Die Europäische Bank für Wiederaufbau und Entwicklung (EBRD) förderte in der Türkei 230 Projekte mit rund 9,5 Milliarden Euro, davon 97 Prozent Privatunternehmen. Diese Förderung wurde in hohem Maß in erneuerbare Energien, Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz, nachhaltige Infrastruktur sowie die Reform des Energiesektors investiert. Mechanismen wie das „türkische Finanzierungsprogramm für nachhaltige Energiewirtschaft” (TurSEFF) und das „Finanzierungsprogramm für mittelständische nachhaltige Energiewirtschaft„ (MidSEFF) haben erhebliche Finanzierungsquellen zur Unterstützung des Klimaschutzes durch den Privatsektor geschaffen. Dadurch wurden Anreize für private Akteure sowie die Kapazitäten der geldgebenden Institutionen erhöht.

Quelle: Ministerium für Energie und natürliche Ressourcen, Nationaler Aktionsplan für erneuerbare Energien
Quelle: Ministerium für Energie und natürliche Ressourcen, Nationaler Aktionsplan für erneuerbare Energien

GRÜNE ANLEIHEN

Parallel zu den internationalen Entwicklungen wird auch in der Türkei die schnelle Entwicklung unterschiedlicher Klimaschutzfinanzierungsinstrumente beobachtet. Das Interesse an Green Bonds, bei denen es sich um Wertpapiere handelt, die auf internationalen Anleihemärkten zur Verwendung bei der Finanzierung des Übergangs zur CO2-armen Wirtschaft eingesetzt werden, hat zugenommen und die erste grüne Anleihe der Türkei mit 300 Millionen US-Dollar wurde herausgegeben. Es wurden einige umstrittene Schritte unternommen, um die Grundlage für die Übertragung der Privatsektorfinanzierung von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen zu schaffen. Öffentliche Institutionen evaluieren Optionen für unterschiedliche marktbasierte Mechanismen wie den CO2-Handel in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor und arbeiten die notwendigen Rechtsvorschriften aus. Die Istanbuler Börse (BIST) begann ab 2014 den Nachhaltigkeitsindex (ISE) zu berechnen und zu veröffentlichen; um den Finanzierungsbedarf für die Umwandlung in eine CO2-arme Wirtschaft zu bestimmen, wurde Privatsektor und Investoren eine wichtige Indikatorinfrastruktur zur Verfügung gestellt.

Die Untersuchung des beabsichtigten nationalen Beitrags der Türkei im Rahmen des Pariser Abkommens in den Klimaverhandlungen zeigt, dass die Grundwahrnehmung bezüglich der Klimafinanzierung auf öffentliche Mittel sowie auf den Green Climate Fund und auf marktbasierte Mechanismen beschränkt ist. Die Wahrnehmung des Privatsektors in der Türkei geht jedoch über diese Perspektive hinaus. Die Feststellung, dass insbesondere Finanzierungs- und Versicherungsinstitute die Klimafinanzierung in einem größeren Rahmen wahrnehmen, erscheint angesichts der verwirklichten Aktivitäten und Debatten als zutreffend. Wesentliche Defizite bei der Klimafinanzierung in den umgesetzten Projekten und Programmen sind der Mangel an Finanzierungsquellen sowie Unsicherheiten und Unzulänglichkeiten in der Gesetzgebung, begrenzte Kapazitäten der Akteure und die Probleme bei der Findung von finanzierenden Projektpipelines. Es ist eine wiederholte Feststellung der Finanzierungsakteure in vielen Teilen der Welt wie auch in der Türkei, dass Finanzmittel allein selten eine ausreichende Voraussetzung sind.

AUSBLICK

Zwar gibt es keinen Konsens über die Definition der Klimafinanzierung des Privatsektors in der Türkei, doch wird die benötigte Finanzierung der erforderlichen Maßnahmen für den Übergang zu einer CO2-armen Wirtschaft und nachhaltigen Entwicklung über verschiedene Kanäle wie CO2-Preisgestaltung, -Handelssysteme, Förderung der erneuerbaren Energien, grüne Anleihen, Investmentfonds, Bankdarlehen und Zuschüsse teilweise bereitgestellt oder in naher Zukunft bereitstellbar sein. Angesichts dieser Entwicklungen kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass das durch das Pariser Abkommen neu gestaltete Klimaregime starke Signale an internationale Investoren und Finanzierungsinstitute senden wird und sich die Möglichkeiten für die Finanzierung des Privatsektors in der Türkei erhöhen, vermehren und weit verbreiten werden. Die Rolle der öffentlichen Akteure in der Türkei in diesem Prozess besteht in der Entwicklung klimafreundlicher Rechtsvorschriften und Anreizsysteme in Zusammenarbeit mit nichtstaatlichen Akteuren. Der Privatsektor, speziell die Finanzinstitutionen, sollten die Klimaschutzinstrumente diversifizieren, Kapazitäten für ihre effektive Nutzung entwickeln und durch eine transparente Bewertung von Klimarisiken in Investitionen und Portfolios wissenschaftlich fundierte Schritte unternehmen.


ÜBER DEN AUTOR

Arif Cem Gündoğan ist Wissenschaftler an der Middle East Technical University in Ankara.


WEITERFÜHRENDE LITERATUR:

Climate Bonds Initiative 2016: Bonds and Climate Change: The State of the Market in 2016, in: http://bit.ly/2tm7von (12.07.2017).

Climate Policy Initiative 2015: Global Landscape of Climate Finance 2015, in: http://bit.ly/2tMY150 (12.07.2017).

Hamrick, Kelley/Goldstein, Allie 2016: Raising Ambition. State of the Voluntary Carbon Markets 2016, Forest Trends’ Ecosystem Marketplace, in: http://bit.ly/2uPrVKZ (12.07.2017).

Nachmany, Michal/Fankhauser, Sam/Setzer, Joana/Averchenkova, Alina 2017: Global Trends in Climate Change Legislation and Litigation: 2017 Update, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, in: http://bit.ly/2uPXrs9 (21.07.2017).

Turhan, Ethemcan/Cerit Mazlum, Semra/Şahin, Ümit/Şorman, Alevgül H./Gündoğan, Arif Cem 2016: Beyond Special Circumstances: Climate Change Policy in Turkey 1992–2015, Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change, Bd. 7, Nr. 3, DOI 10.1002/wcc.390, in: http://bit.ly/2tN4kp7 (12.07.2017).

UN 2015: Trends in Private Sector Climate Finance, United Nations, in: http://bit.ly/2uPtU1T (12.07.2017).

Weltwirtschaftsforum 2013: The Green Investment Report: The Ways and Means to Unlock Private Finance for Green Growth, in: http://bit.ly/2twsGZb (12.07.2017).


zum Anfang springen