jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)
Cover: Climate Report 2017: South Korea

Climate Report 2017: South Korea

Climate Finance and the Private Sector in the G20 States

By Taedong LeeJuly 6, 2017


Download PDF


Also available in Deutsch

Private climate finance has gained ­momentum in Korea since 2010 when the country joined the competition to host the Green Climate Fund. Korea sees ­itself as a mediator, not only between ­developed and developing parties but also between the public and private ­sectors as ­regards their contributions to the 100 billion US dollars target by 2020. The ­public ­sector in Korea has not only led the ­discussion but also sought out ­initiatives to facilitate private climate finance.

In 2012, The Renewable Portfolio Standard replaced the feed-in tariff system in order to accelerate Korea’s renewable energy deployment in a competitive market environment.© sunhee, AdobeStock
In 2012, The Renewable Portfolio Standard replaced the feed-in tariff system in order to accelerate Korea’s renewable energy deployment in a competitive market environment. Source: © sunhee, AdobeStock

KOREA AS HOST OF THE GREEN CLIMATE FUND

When Korea engaged in the competition to host the Green Climate Fund (GCF) in the Conference of Parties to the UNFCCC (COP), it strongly portrayed itself to the international community as a “middle power party” seeking to build bridges between developed and developing parties to the UNFCCC. As the first country to transform itself from recipient to donor country status in the OECD, Korea emphasised its experience as both a developing and developed country. For Korea, hosting the GCF meant more than just contributing to global cooperation for climate change. It was an opportunity for Korea to amplify its voice in the global climate talks, and especially in climate finance. This “middle power position” was further incorporated into its role of “facilitator” in the GCF to enhance the cooperation between developed and developing countries. Korea asserted that the role of facilitator would be essential for meeting the goal of 100 billion US dollars to be mobilised by 2020 as climate finance for developing countries within the framework of the PA.

After Korea was confirmed as the host of the GCF in 2012, it confronted a stark contradiction. First, it was widely agreed that public sector financial sources, such as governmental agencies, are not enough to meet the 100 billion US dollars target. One of the suggested solutions to this challenge was to invite private sector involvement in climate finance. However, private sector actors were considered more passive than the public sector which has led the discussions on climate finance. Therefore, Korea’s task after hosting the GCF was to act as a mediator, not only between developed and developing parties but also between the public and private sectors as regards their contributions to the 100 billion US dollars target. This task was given further emphasis by the view of the Korean government that the success of the GCF was a prerequisite for fulfiling the expectations of the international community in the global climate talks.

For these reasons, facilitating private climate finance meant not just one approach to climate change response, but instead a national-level strategy for Korea in climate change cooperation. Discussions of private climate finance in Korea are still led by governmental actors such as the Ministry of Strategy and Finance (MOSF) or the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA). Both agencies have a powerful influence in climate change negotiations in that MOSF is an NDA (National Designated Authority) of Korea to the GCF, and MOFA acts as a control tower at the negotiation table. Participation from private actors was not absent. Private consulting firms such as KPMG Korea-Samjung assisted these governmental agencies from the hosting of the GCF to the provision of policy advice for its utilisation. On the whole, governmental agencies still took the lead in discussions of private climate finance, while being supported by consulting firms.

With respect to the Conference of Parties, serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Paris Agreement (CMA), Korea pledged in its NDC (Nationally Determined Contributions) to reduce greenhouse gas emission by 37 percent from the business-as-usual (BAU) level by 2030, 11.3 percent of which will be reduced by using carbon credits from international market mechanisms. While it is not clearly stated what kind of private climate finance will be utilised to meet the reduction target, the Korean government encourages private actors to actively engage in projects abroad which reduce greenhouse gas emission, and to obtain carbon credits that are accredited by UNFCCC.

Source: Bloomberg New Energy Finance
Source: Bloomberg New Energy Finance

KOREA’S EFFORTS FOR PRIVATE CLIMATE FINANCE

Despite the concept of private climate finance, the public sector has hardly lost its prominence in its discussion in Korea. “For a long time, the misconception of a rivalry between public and private finance has inhibited progress in these discussions. Mobilising at-scale private finance requires bold public action, be it of a regulatory, legislative, and/or judicial nature. All public action, in turn, requires public investment and public finance.” (UNEP, 2014)

Therefore, the leadership of public sector actors in the discussion should not be considered a sign of disparity between the two sectors. The public sector in Korea has not only led the discussion but also sought out initiatives to facilitate private climate finance. In 2015, Korea became the first country in Asia to initiate a national-level ETS, with 525 private entities participating. The Korea Emissions Trading Scheme (KETS) is designed to facilitate private climate finance by incentivising projects to reduce greenhouse gas emissions for participating entities. In three periods, KETS aims to gradually increase the ambition of the national reduction target and to minimise the pressure on private actors in the transition to a low-carbon economy.

During the initiation period, private entities, mainly from the heavy industry sector, have however resisted the implementation of KETS, arguing that Korea as a non-Annex I Party bears no responsibility for the reduction of emissions. Industry sector actors also feared that meeting the expectations of the international community by setting a high national reduction target might impute heavy costs to them. Reflecting this resistance, the total trading unit in the first year (2015) was about 4.3 million CO2-equivalents, accounting for less than one percent of the total allowances of that year.

To solve this conflict, the Korean government has come up with two solutions. First, considering the wide range of industrial sectors covered by KETS, its governing agency was changed from the Ministry of Environment (MOE) to the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) in 2016. It was considered that the PMO could more effectively strike a balance between different interests among industry sectors and governmental agencies. Second, KETS will gradually allow new sources to provide emission units to the market. Currently, emission units from international projects and voluntary projects by unaccredited entities (other than 525 entities) are not allowed to be traded in KETS. The Second Framework Plan of KETS plans to lift the ban on foreign units in 2018 and on those from new entities in 2020.

G20 AND PRIVATE CLIMATE FINANCE FROM A KOREAN PERSPECTIVE

Korea views the G20 as a useful platform for performing its “middle-power diplomacy” , which is also the main strategy in climate change negotiations. For Korea, the nexus between climate change and the G20 is its promotion of “green growth” as a new developmental paradigm for developing countries. Korea views this paradigm as a useful concept able to obtain support from both developed and developing countries in that it can meet the needs of developed countries (greenhouse gas emission) and developing countries (economic development) at the same time. It was not until the seventh session in 2012 in Mexico that climate change was one of the main thematic areas within the G20 because of the focus on rehabilitation of the global economy from the 2008 financial crisis and Eurozone crisis. In 2015 and 2016, when the G20 actively embraced climate change as its top priority with respect to COP21, Korea gained its voice to promote green growth in the G20.

In its response to the challenge it faces as the hosting country of the GCF, Korea derives all the more advantage from using the G20 to enhance its role as facilitator in climate finance. In 2012, Korea participated in the G20 Dialogue Platform on Inclusive Green Investment (G20 DPGI), which was tasked by the G20 Development Working Group (DWG). This initiative led to the launch of ‘GreenInvest’ in 2015, within the G20, which aims to facilitate cooperation between the public and private sectors in climate finance. The establishment of GreenInvest was mainly led by the Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI), which was incubated by Korea and is now run as an international organisation. Prioritisation of the green growth agenda in the G20 will continue to provide more scope for Korea to take advantage of the forum and to find valuable connections with its climate change diplomacy.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Dr. Taedong Lee is Director of the Environment, Energy, and Human Resource Development Center at the Yonsei University in Seoul.


FURTHER READING:

Fukahori, Suzuka 2015: Formation and Change of Perception of Korean Bridging Role as a Middle Nation, Peace Studies 23 (1), pp. 155-184.

Kang, T’aekgu et al. 2014: Korea’s Role as a Middle Nation for Strengthening Environmental Cooperation Facing ASEAN, Korea Environment Institute.

KPMG (Samjung Accounting Corporation) 2013: Presenting Solutions to Stimulate Private Investment in Climate Finance, Final Report on Research Projects by the Ministry of Strategy and Finance.

Lee, Chŏngsŏk et al. 2015: Direction and Policy Tasks of Korea’s Environment Diplomacy Considering the Establishment of AIIB and GCF Operation, Korea Environment Institute.

Lee, Yonguk 2016: Korea’s Middle Nation Financial Diplomacy – Exploring Possibilities, Limitations and Its Role through the G20, National Strategy 22 (2), pp. 61-94.

Prime Minister’s Office (Office of State Coordination) 2016: The First Basic Plan for Climate Change Response.

MOSF (Ministry of Strategy and Finance) 2017: The Second Emissions Trading System Basic Plan (Proposal).


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Auch verfügbar in English

Die private Klimafinanzierung hat in Korea an Dynamik gewonnen, seit das Land sich 2010 als Sitz für den Green ­Climate Fund (GCF) beworben hat. ­Korea sieht sich als ­Vermittler, nicht nur ­zwischen Entwicklungs- und Industrie­ländern, ­sondern auch zwischen dem öffent­lichen und dem privaten Sektor, um das ­angestrebte 100-Milliarden-US-Dollar-Ziel bis 2020 zu erreichen. Der öffentliche Sektor in Korea führt nicht nur die nationale Diskussion an, sondern erarbeitet auch Initiativen, um private Klimafinanzierung zu fördern.

2012 wurde das System der Einspeisevergütung durch den Renewable Portfolio Standard ersetzt, um den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien in Korea in einem wettbewerbsgeprägten Marktumfeld zu beschleunigen.© sunhee, AdobeStock
2012 wurde das System der Einspeisevergütung durch den Renewable Portfolio Standard ersetzt, um den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien in Korea in einem wettbewerbsgeprägten Marktumfeld zu beschleunigen. Quelle: © sunhee, AdobeStock

KOREA ALS SITZ DES GREEN CLIMATE FUND

Als Korea sich für die Aufgabe bewarb, als Gastgeber des Green Climate Fund (GCF) zu fungieren, positionierte sich das Land der internationalen Gemeinschaft gegenüber als zwischen den teilnehmenden Industrie- und Entwicklungsländern stehende „mittelstarke Partei” und vermittelnder Akteur. Als erstes Land, das seinen OECD-Status vom Leistungsempfänger zum Beitragszahler ändern konnte, betonte Korea seine Erfahrungen als Entwicklungsland und als Industrieland. Für Korea bedeutete dies mehr als nur zur weltweiten Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Klimawandel beizutragen. Es handelte sich um eine Gelegenheit für Korea, seiner Stimme in den weltweiten Klimagesprächen Gewicht zu verleihen, insbesondere zur Klimafinanzierung. Korea bekräftigte, dass die Rolle des Vermittlers für die Erreichung der angestrebten 100 Milliarden US-Dollar, die bis zum Jahr 2020 zur Klimafinanzierung für Entwicklungsländer mobilisiert werden sollen, von essentieller Bedeutung sei.

Nachdem Korea im Jahr 2012 zum Sitz des GCF ernannt wurde, sah es sich jedoch einem großen Widerspruch gegenüber. Zunächst herrschte weitgehend Konsens darüber, dass Finanzquellen aus dem öffentlichen Sektor wie Regierungsbehörden nicht ausreichen, um das Ziel von 100 Milliarden US-Dollar zu erreichen. Eine der vorgeschlagenen Lösungen für diese Herausforderung bestand darin, den Privatsektor an der Klimafinanzierung zu beteiligen. Akteure im Privatsektor wurden jedoch im Vergleich zum öffentlichen Sektor, der die Gespräche zur Klimafinanzierung leitete, eher als passiv empfunden. Daher bestand die Aufgabe von Korea neben der Wahrnehmung der Rolle des GCF-Sitzes darin, als Vermittler zu handeln, nicht nur zwischen Entwicklungs- und Industrieländern, sondern auch zwischen dem öffentlichen und dem Privatsektor, um zu den angestrebten 100 Milliarden US-Dollar beizutragen. Diese Aufgabe wurde durch die Perspektive der koreanischen Regierung untermauert, wonach der Erfolg des GCF eine Voraussetzung für die Erfüllung der Erwartungen der internationalen Gemeinschaft an die globalen Klimagespräche war.

Aus diesen Gründen bedeutete die Vermittlungsarbeit in Bezug auf private Gelder für den Klimaschutz nicht nur eine Methode zur Reaktion auf den Klimawandel, sondern sie war für Korea auch eine nationale Strategie für die Zusammenarbeit gegen den Klimawandel. Gespräche über private Klimagelder werden in Korea nach wie vor von Regierungsbehörden wie dem Ministerium für Strategie und Finanzen (MOSF) oder dem Ministerium für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (MOFA) geleitet. Beide Behörden verfügen über großen Einfluss bei Verhandlungen zum Klimawandel, bei denen das MOSF eine national benannte Behörde von Korea für den GCF ist, und das MOFA als Kontrollinstanz am Verhandlungstisch agiert. Auch private Akteure nahmen teil: Beratungsunternehmen wie KPMG Korea-Samjung haben die genannten Regierungsbehörden unterstützt, als Gastgeber für den GCF bis hin zur Bereitstellung politischer Ratschläge für den Einsatz des GCF. Insgesamt haben Regierungsagenturen bei den Gesprächen zur privaten Klimafinanzierung nach wie vor die Hauptrolle gespielt.

Im Rahmen des Pariser Klimaschutzabkommens hat Korea als national festgelegten Beitrag (NDC) zugesichert, seine Treibhausgasemissionen im Vergleich zum Business-as-usual-Szenario bis zum Jahr 2030 um 37 Prozent zu reduzieren; davon werden 11,3 Prozent mit Kohlenstoffgutschriften von internationalen Marktmechanismen gesenkt. Zwar steht nicht eindeutig fest, welche Art der privaten Klimafinanzierung eingesetzt wird, um das Reduktionsziel zu erreichen, jedoch ermutigt die koreanische Regierung Akteure aus der Privatwirtschaft dazu, sich aktiv an Projekten im Ausland zu beteiligen, mit denen Treibhausgasemissionen gesenkt werden, und Kohlenstoffgutschriften zu erlangen, die von der UNFCCC akkreditiert sind.

DIE BEMÜHUNGEN KOREAS IN BEZUG AUF DIE PRIVATE KLIMAFINANZIERUNG

Trotz des Konzepts der privaten Klimafinanzierung hat der öffentliche Sektor bei der Diskussion zu diesem Thema in Korea kaum an Bedeutung verloren. „Das Missverständnis, es handele sich um eine Rivalität zwischen der öffentlichen und der privaten Finanzierung, hat den Fortschritt bei diesen Diskussionen lange gehemmt. Die Mobilisierung beträchtlicher privater Geldmittel erfordert mutiges Handeln von öffentlicher Seite, sei es durch Aufsichtsbehörden, die Gesetzgebung und/oder Gerichte. Im Gegenzug erfordern alle öffentlichen Maßnahmen öffentliche Investitionen und öffentliche Gelder.” (UNEP, 2014)

Daher sollte die Tatsache, dass der öffentliche Sektor bei den Diskussionen die Oberhand hat, nicht als Zeichen für Unstimmigkeiten zwischen den zwei Bereichen interpretiert werden. Der öffentliche Sektor in Korea hat nicht nur die Diskussion angeführt, sondern auch Initiativen erarbeitet, um die private Klimafinanzierung zu fördern. Korea ist das erste asiatische Land, das im Jahr 2015 ein nationales ETS eingeführt hat, an dem 525 Privatunternehmen teilnehmen. Das koreanische Emissionshandelssystem (KETS) soll die private Klimafinanzierung fördern, indem teilnehmenden Unternehmen Anreize für Projekte geboten werden, die der Reduzierung von Treibhausgasemissionen dienen. Das KETS beabsichtigt, das nationale Reduktionsziel in drei Phasen stufenweise anzuheben und den Druck auf private Akteure beim Wechsel zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Wirtschaft zu minimieren.

In der Anfangsphase haben sich Unternehmen, hauptsächlich in der Schwerindustrie angesiedelte, jedoch geweigert, das KETS umzusetzen, mit der Begründung, dass Korea als nicht am Anhang I des Kyoto-Protokolls beteiligtes Land keinerlei Verpflichtung habe, seine Emissionen zu senken. Industrieunternehmen hegten zudem die Befürchtung, dass ihnen durch die Erfüllung der Erwartungen der internationalen Gemeinschaft – indem ein ehrgeiziges nationales Reduktionsziel festgelegt wird – hohe Kosten entstehen könnten. Angesichts dieses Widerstands betrug der gesamte Zertifikatshandel im ersten Jahr (2015) etwa 4,3 Millionen Kohlenstoffdioxidäquivalente, was weniger als einem Prozent aller Emissionsrechte für dieses Jahr entspricht.

Um diesen Konflikt zu lösen, hat die koreanische Regierung zwei Lösungen erarbeitet. Angesichts des breiten Spektrums an Industrieunternehmen, die vom KETS abgedeckt werden, wurde im Jahr 2016 die Zuständigkeit geändert, vom Umweltministerium zum Premierminister. Man war der Meinung, der Premierminister könne die unterschiedlichen Interessen der Industriebereiche und der Regierungsbehörden effektiver in Einklang bringen. Zweitens wird das KETS nach und nach neue Quellen für die Ausgabe von Emissionseinheiten zulassen. Derzeit dürfen Emissionseinheiten von internationalen und freiwilligen Projekten von nichtakkreditierten Unternehmen (mit Ausnahme von 525 Unternehmen) nicht im KETS gehandelt werden. Der zweite Rahmenplan des KETS sieht eine Aufhebung des Verbots ausländischer Emissionseinheiten für das Jahr 2018 und der Einheiten, die von neuen Unternehmen stammen, für das Jahr 2020 vor.

Quelle: Bloomberg New Energy Finance
Quelle: Bloomberg New Energy Finance

DIE G20-STAATEN UND PRIVATE KLIMAFINANZIERUNG AUS KOREANISCHER PERSPEKTIVE

Korea betrachtet die G20 als nützliche Plattform, um seine „mittelstarke Diplomatie” zu verfolgen; das ist zudem die Hauptstrategie des Landes bei den Verhandlungen in Bezug auf den Klimawandel. Für Korea ist die Tatsache, dass die G20-Länder sich mit dem Klimawandel auseinandersetzen, eine Chance, sein Konzept des grünen Wachstums als neues Entwicklungsparadigma für Entwicklungsländer zu fördern. Korea betrachtet dieses Paradigma als nützliches Konzept, das sowohl von Industrie- als auch von Entwicklungsländern unterstützt werden kann, da es gleichzeitig die Bedürfnisse der Industrieländer (Treibhausgasemissionen) und der Entwicklungsländer (Wirtschaftswachstum) erfüllen kann. Der Klimawandel war unter den G20-Staaten erst beim siebten Gipfeltreffen in Mexiko im Jahre 2012 eines der Hauptthemen, da zuvor der Schwerpunkt auf der Erholung der Weltwirtschaft von der Finanzkrise 2008 und der Eurokrise gelegen hatte. In den Jahren 2015 und 2016, als die G20 angesichts der Klimakonferenz COP 21 den Klimawandel entschlossen zur obersten Priorität erklärte, hat Korea seine Rolle als Befürworter des grünen Wachstums in den G20-Staaten eingenommen.

Um auf die Herausforderungen zu reagieren, die auf Korea als Gastgeberland des GCF zukommen, entstehen ihm zunehmende Vorteile durch seine Rolle als Vermittler bei der Klimafinanzierung. Im Jahr 2012 hat Korea an der G20 Dialogue Platform on Inclusive Green Investment (G20 DPGI) teilgenommen, die von der G20 Development Working Group (DWG) beauftragt wurde. Diese Initiative führte zur Einrichtung von GreenInvest im Jahr 2015 innerhalb der G20-Staaten, mit dem Ziel, die Zusammenarbeit des öffentlichen und des privaten Sektors in Bezug auf die Klimafinanzierung zu erleichtern. Die Einrichtung von GreenInvest fand hauptsächlich unter der Leitung des Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI) statt, das von Korea geschaffen wurde und nun als internationale Organisation agiert. Die Festlegung des grünen Wachstums als Priorität unter den G20-Staaten wird Korea weitere Möglichkeiten bieten, von dem Forum zu profitieren und durch seine Klimawandeldiplomatie wertvolle Beziehungen aufzubauen.


ÜBER DEN AUTOR

Dr. Taedong Lee ist Direktor des Entwicklungszentrums für Umwelt, Energie und Personalwirtschaft an der Yonsei-Universität in Seoul.


WEITERFÜHRENDE LITERATUR:

Fukahori, Suzuka 2015: Formation and Change of Perception of Korean Bridging Role as a Middle Nation, Peace Studies 23 (1), S. 155–184.

Kang, T’aekgu et al. 2014: Korea’s Role as a Middle Nation for Strengthening Environmental Cooperation Facing ASEAN, Korea Environment Institute.

KPMG (Samjung Accounting Corporation) 2013: Presenting Solutions to Stimulate Private Investment in Climate Finance, Final Report on Research Projects by the Ministry of Strategy and Finance.

Lee, Chŏngsŏk et al. 2015: Direction and Policy Tasks of Korea’s Environment Diplomacy Considering the Establishment of AIIB and GCF Operation, Korea Environment Institute.

Lee, Yonguk 2016: Korea’s Middle Nation Financial Diplomacy – Exploring Possibilities, Limitations and Its Role through the G20, National Strategy 22 (2), S. 61–94.

Prime Minister’s Office (Office of State Coordination) 2016: The First Basic Plan for Climate Change Response.

MOSF (Ministry of Strategy and Finance) 2017: The Second Emissions Trading System Basic Plan (Proposal).


zum Anfang springen