jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Also available in Deutsch

7th E-lection Bridge in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

How do we keep our messages short in election campaigns? How do we deal with fake news and smear campaigns? These were some of the questions and issues discussed at the three-day E-lection Bridge of KAS Media Africa, the Programme for Political Communication and Media of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Participants from ten countries, as diverse as South Africa, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Tanzania discussed principles of campaigning for centre-right parties.

Dr. Klaus Schüler, general manager of the CDU in Germany, who has managed three succesfull election campaigns for Chancellor Angela Merkel, was the guest of honour. In his central message, Dr. Schüler emphasized the importance of conveying constructive and positive message to voters in election campaigns.

Other participants attending the conference in Dar es Salaam included Kenyan media expert, Mark Kaigwa, who lectured about the chances of campaigning with Social Media. Kaigwa pointed out the dangers of the massive number of Fake News on Social Media that tried to influence the outcome of the recently ended general elections in his country Kenya.

Peter MacManu of the ruling NPP in Ghana explained the challenges that come about once a party has scored victory: how to keep voters in a good mood and how to convey unpopular decisions.

Looking into the future of campaigning, MacManu and many other participants agreed, that the methods will change with the fast development of technologies, but „the human factor remains the most important one, door-to-door campaigning and personal interaction with the voters“ as MacManu put it.

The more than 30 participants from different centre-right parties in Africa, agreed, that this E-lection Bridge delivered a lot of practical suggestions for their work on the ground. Christoph Plate, director of KAS Media Africa in Johannesburg, which hosted the conference in Dar es Salaam, underlined the diversity of campaign processes in Africa: „No country is similar to the other on this continent and KAS honours the diversity of the continent with its many offices in Africa“.

Contact

ImageChristoph Plate
Director Media Programme Subsahara Africa
Phone +27 11 214 29 00
christoph.plate(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Auch verfügbar in English

Wie hält man seine Botschaften knapp und präzise während Wahlkämpfen? Wie geht man mit Fake News und Verleumdungskampagnen um? Diese und andere Fragen wurden während der dreitägigen E-lection Bridge von KAS Media Africa, dem Programm für Politische Kommunikation und Medien der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung diskutiert. Teilnehmer aus zehn Ländern, von Südafrika über die Demokratische Republik Kongo bis Tansania erörterten Richtlinien und Strategien bei Wahlkampagnen von Mitte-Rechts Parteien.

Dr. Klaus Schüler, Bundesgeschäftsführer der CDU und erfolgreicher Manager von drei Wahlkämpfen für Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel, war Ehrengast der Konferenz. In seiner Hauptrede betonte Dr. Schüler wie wesentlich es ist, Wählern konstruktive und positive Nachrichten während des Wahlkampfes zu vermitteln.

Weitere Teilnehmer der Konferenz in Dar es Salaam waren etwa der kenianische Medien-Experte Mark Kaigwa. Er hielt einen Vortrag über die Möglichkeiten mit Social Media Wahlkämpfe zu führen. Kaigwa unterstrich die Gefahr von Fake News in den Sozialen Netzwerken, mit denen vor kurzem in Kenia versucht worden war die Wahlergebnisse zu beeinflussen.

Peter MacManu von der regierenden NPP in Ghana, erläuterte die Herausforderungen denen eine Partei begegnen wird, nachdem sie einen Wahlerfolg erzielt hat: Wie lassen sich die Wähler bei Laune halten und wie setzt man unpopuläre Maßnahmen um?

Bei der Frage um die Zukunft von Wahlkämpfen waren sich MacManu und viele andere einig, dass die Mittel und Methoden sich mit der schnellen Entwicklung von Technologien verändern werden, aber dass „der menschliche Faktor der wichtigste bleibt, der Wahlkampf von Tür zu Tür und die persönliche Interaktion mit den Wählern“, so MacManu.

Die mehr als 30 Teilnehmer aus verschiedenen Mitte-Rechts Parteien in Afrika erklärten, dass die 7. E-lection Bridge ihnen viele praktische Empfehlungen für ihre Arbeit vor Ort anbieten konnte. Christoph Plate, Direktor von KAS Media Africa in Johannesburg, dem gastgebenden Programm in Dar es Salaam, unterstrich die Vielfalt von Wahlkämpfen in Afrika: „Kein Land auf diesem Kontinent ist dem anderen gleich und die KAS würdigt diese Vielfalt durch seine zahlreichen Büros in Afrika“.

Kontakt

AbbildungChristoph Plate
Leiter des Medienprogramms Subsahara-Afrika
Tel. +27 11 214 29 00
christoph.plate(akas.de


zum Anfang springen