jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Facts & Findings

Also available in Deutsch

The image of the United States as one of the world's leading countries in science rests primarily on its higher education system. The latter is characterized by a particular interplay between autonomy and dependence and has seen significant changes over the past few years. It is worthwhile taking a closer look at higher education institutions in the U.S. - especially against the backdrop of the challenges the German higher education system currently faces.

Key Points

  • The higher education system in the U.S. is more diverse in its structure than in Germany: Alongside doctorate-​​granting universities, there are Master’s and Baccalaureate Colleges, Associate’s Colleges, Special Focus Institutions and Tribal Colleges. There are over 4,000 higher education institutions with a collective enrolment of over 20 million students.
  • In both the German and the U.S. federal higher education systems, the main responsibility for higher education lies within the federal states. Unlike in Germany, public universities in the U.S. rely heavily on private sources of income, such as tuition fees and donations.
  • In the U.S., higher education university management gained more power over time. This shift weakened faculty senates. The Boards of Trustees in the U.S., representing social and economic interests, have more power than German university councils.

Contact

ImageElisabeth Enders
editor
Phone +49 2241 246-2264
Elisabeth.Enders(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Analysen und Argumente

Auch verfügbar in English

Das amerikanische Hochschulsystem bildet eine wichtige Grundlage für das gute Image der USA als weltweit führendes Wissenschaftsland. Es zeichnet sich durch ein besonderes Wechselspiel zwischen Autonomie und Abhängigkeit aus – mit deutlichen Veränderungen in den letzten Jahren. Ein Blick auf die Hochschulen in den USA lohnt sich – vor allem vor dem Hintergrund aktueller Herausforderungen in der deutschen Hochschullandschaft. ++++ ERSCHEINT AUSSCHLIESSLICH ONLINE

Zum Mitnehmen

  • Die Hochschullandschaft in den USA ist vielfältiger als in Deutschland: Neben promotionsberechtigten Universitäten gibt es Hochschulen, die einen Bachelor oder Master verleihen können, an denen man den associate’s degree erwirbt sowie Einrichtungen mit besonderem Schwerpunkt und Hochschulen für indianische Ureinwohner (tribal colleges). Insgesamt gibt es über 4.000 Hochschulen mit fast 20 Millionen Studierenden.
  • Wie in Deutschland gibt es auch in den USA eine föderale Zuständigkeit im akademischen Bildungsbereich. Zuständig sind vor allem die Bundesstaaten. Öffentliche Hochschulen in den USA sind wesentlich stärker von privater Finanzierung abhängig als in Deutschland.
  • In den USA haben die Hochschulleitungen im Laufe der Zeit zunehmend an Einfluss gewonnen. Dadurch wurden die Hochschulsenate geschwächt. Die Aufsichtsgremien in den USA (boards of trustees), die gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Interessen vertreten, haben mehr Einfluss als deutsche Hochschulräte.

Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit!
Fördern Sie die christlich-demokratische Idee in Gesellschaft und Politik.

Jetzt spenden!

Kontakt

AbbildungElisabeth Enders
Redakteurin
Tel. +49 2241 246-2264
Elisabeth.Enders(akas.de


zum Anfang springen