jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Also available in Deutsch

On August 16, 2018, the Statesman Print Journalism School (SPJS) saw its new batch of budding journalists for its one-year journalism program. The SPJS, which was founded in 2008 and is supported by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), aims at training young journalists to become competent, well-informed, liberal-minded journalists who would become ambassadors of India's democratic institutions and free press.

The Director of the SPJS, Subrata Nag Choudhury, introduced the work of KAS and emphasized its focus on the promotion of democratic values and ethics. He further underlined that SPJS and KAS meet in several events throughout the year, of which one is going to be the JSDP partner network meeting in October 2018.

He elaborated on the fact that the SPJS sees its mission in the promotion of English-language newspapers and print media in contemporary India, which faces a shortage of qualified journalists. The deficit is overtly apparent in West Bengal. Mr. Choudhury attributed this to the late introduction of the English language in schools and called for a rethinking in the education sector.

In an interaction with Romina Elbracht (KAS India), the students were asked about their motivations to become journalists. Narendra Marik underlined his passion for English literature and was really impressed by the way journalism helped common people in various ways. Sakshat Chandok said that he loved the process of writing and saw himself as an investigative journalist in the future. Nakshaira Pain said that he dreamt of becoming a sports journalist and would like his passion for writing to help him become a Sky Sports journalist. Diksha Rupasa saw the journalism program as a way to break out of her own naivety and felt the need of reporting on global warming and climate change while Neena Biswas believed that being a journalist was also a way to become a better citizen.

In her remarks, Ms. Elbracht referred to media as the fourth pillar of democracy and answered questions on current topics that the German media dealt with, such as the case of Özil that had been also highlighted in the Indian newspapers. She cited Konrad Adenauer who once said “We all live under the same sky but we don't all have the same horizons” and wished for the aspiring journalists to be able to experience as many horizons as possible and expand them through their work as journalists.

Finally, Mr. Choudhury thanked KAS for a fruitful exchange and a successful partnership that is celebrating its 10th year anniversary in 2018.

Contact

ImagePeter Rimmele
Resident Representative India
Phone +91 11 26113520
Peter.Rimmele(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 16. August 2018 wurde der neue Jahrgang angehender Journalisten an der Statesman Print Journalism School (SPJS) begrüßt. Die SPJS, die 2008 gegründet wurde und von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) unterstützt wird, zielt darauf ab, gut informierte Journalisten auszubilden, die als Botschafter einer freien indischen Presse fungieren sollen.

Der Direktor der SPJS, Subrata Nag Choudhury, stellte die Arbeit der KAS vor und verwies auf verschiedene Veranstaltungen im laufenden Jahr, bei denen KAS und SPJS zusammenkommen. Eine davon ist das durch die KAS organisierte JSDP-Netzwerktreffen, das im Oktober 2018 stattfinden wird.

Herr Choudhury erklärte, dass die SPJS ihre Mission in der Förderung englischsprachiger Printmedien sehe. Das heutige Indien werde mit einem Mangel an qualifizierten Journalisten konfrontiert. Das Defizit sei im Bundesstaat Westbengalen besonders ausgeprägt. Den Ursprung des Problems mache er dabei an der späten Einführung der englischen Sprache in den Schulen fest und forderte in diesem Zusammenhang ein Umdenken des indischen Bildungssektors.

In einem anschließenden Austausch mit Romina Elbracht (KAS Indien) wurden die Studenten zu ihrer Motivation befragt. Narendra Marik unterstrich seine Leidenschaft für die englische Literatur und das Potenzial von guter journalistischer Arbeit, andere aufzuklären. Sakshat Chandok liebt den Prozess des Schreibens und sieht seine Zukunft im Bereich des investigativen Journalismus. Nakshaira Pain träumt davon, Sportjournalist zu werden und möchte seine Leidenschaft für das Schreiben nutzen, um seinen Traum, eines Tages als Sky Sports Journalist zu arbeiten, zu verwirklichen. Diksha Rupasa sieht das Journalistenprogramm als einen entscheidenden Weg, um aus ihrer eigenen Naivität auszubrechen und beschrieb die Dringlichkeit, in der heutigen Zeit über den Klimawandel zu berichten. Neena Biswas erklärte, dass sie ihr zukünftiger Beruf als Journalistin zu einem besseren Bürger machen werde.

Frau Elbracht beschrieb in ihren Ausführungen die Medien als vierte Säule der Demokratie und beantwortete Fragen zu aktuellen Themen, die in den deutschen Medien behandelt werden, so wie der Fall Özil, der auch in unterschiedlichen indischen Zeitungen hervorgehoben wurde. Sie zitierte Konrad Adenauer, der einst sagte: "Wir leben alle unter dem gleichen Himmel, aber wir haben nicht alle den gleichen Horizont" und wünschte dem neuen Jahrgang, dass er durch seine journalistische Arbeit möglichst viele Horizonte erleben könne.

Abschließend bedankte sich Herr Choudhury bei der KAS für einen bereichernden Austausch und eine erfolgreiche Partnerschaft, die 2018 ihr zehnjähriges Jubiläum feiert.

Kontakt

AbbildungPeter Rimmele
Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Peter.Rimmele(akas.de


zum Anfang springen