Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Politics and Consulting

"Boundless love - binational couples"

a photography project by Maria NIFI Xerisoti

Australian and German-Japanese

Australian and German-Japanese

...

Honduran and German

Honduran and German

...

Taiwanese and German

Taiwanese and German

...

Iranian-German and Colombian

Iranian-German and Colombian

...

British and German

British and German

...

German and Tanzanian

German and Tanzanian

...

Maria NIFI Xerisoti says: “I have two homes and I grew into two cultures. I was born in Germany and grew up in the Ruhr area. Now I live in Hamburg. I lived three years in Greece when I was a child. I appreciate this enrichment a lot although it also makes life more difficult as it is not possible to be here and there at the same time. There’s a kind of nostalgia you can never get rid of… I try to spend all my holidays in Greece.”

Xerisoti, a photo journalist, researched for her photographical art project "Grenzenlose Liebe - Boundless Love“ in 2008 and portrayed 30 multicultural couples from Hamburg with various backgrounds, e.g. Iranian-German and Colombian or German-Japanese and Australian. It was very important for Xerisoti that the couples presented themselves in their private environment. She also considered different age structures, education levels and social statuses when choosing the couples.

“I wish to contribute to international good will with this intercultural project. I want to raise public awareness for more openness and tolerance, and to promote diversity”, says the artist.

In 2008 the analog photographs were presented for the first time in the kunst|nah gallery on the occasion of Hamburg’s intercultural festival called ”eigenarten“.

Xerisoti, who is in a binational relationship herself and has a German husband, says: “I think that a binational relationship is a huge challenge for a couple. You have to be responsive to your partner and his/her culture, which you have to accept and to try to understand. But this also makes a relationship more fascinating. You learn a lot - not only about a person but about a whole culture! I love that.”

...

All Photos on this site: © Maria NIFI Xerisoti
Maria NIFI Xerisoti is still working on this long term photography project “Grenzenlose Liebe – Boundless Love”. If you live in Germany and are interested in participating as a binational couple or if you’d like to sponsor the project, you may contact the artist directly at: nifis@gmx.de.
Maria NIFI Xerisoti works as a free-lance photo journalist, public relations/culture manager and languages teacher in Hamburg. She studied German, English, Modern Greek and Byzantine philology in Bochum and Salonika (Greece), and also Public Relations/Cultural Management in Dortmund and Cologne. Stays abroad: Liverpool (Great Britain) as German-language assistant; internship at the Solomon R. Guggenheim museum in New York. Editorial work for the NRW-cultural part of Süddeutsche Zeitung, for the magazines “Photographie” and “Fotoheft” as well as for online services. Project and contract work, exhibitions and publications.
www.xerisoti.de und www.grenzenlose-liebe.de

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Migration & Integration

„Grenzenlose Liebe - Binationale Paare“

ein Fotoprojekt der Bildjournalistin Maria NIFI Xerisoti

Australisch und Deutsch-Japanisch

Australisch und Deutsch-Japanisch

...

Honduranisch und Deutsch

Honduranisch und Deutsch

...

Taiwanesisch und Deutsch

Taiwanesisch und Deutsch

...

Iranisch-Deutsch und Kolumbianisch

Iranisch-Deutsch und Kolumbianisch

...

Britisch und Deutsch

Britisch und Deutsch

...

Deutsch und Tansanisch

Deutsch und Tansanisch

...

Maria NIFI Xerisoti erzählt: „Ich habe zwei Heimaten und bin in zwei Kulturen aufgewachsen! Ich bin in Deutschland geboren und im Ruhrgebiet aufgewachsen. Nun lebe ich in Hamburg. Als Kind habe ich auch drei Jahre in Griechenland verbracht. Ich schätze diese Bereicherung sehr, obwohl es das Leben auch schwierig macht, weil man nicht gleichzeitig hier und dort sein kann. Die Sehnsucht ist nicht weg zu kriegen. Ich mache viel Urlaub in Griechenland.“

Die Bildjournalistin hat im Jahr 2008 für ihr fotografisches Kunstprojekt „Grenzenlose Liebe“ recherchiert und porträtierte dabei 30 multikulturelle Paare aus der Hansestadt in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen, beispielsweise Iranisch-Deutsch und Kolumbianisch oder Deutsch-Japanisch und Australisch. Besonders wichtig war der Bildjournalistin, dass sich die Paare in ihrer gewohnten privaten Umgebung darstellen. Zudem berücksichtigte sie eine gute Mischung aus unterschiedlichen Alters-, Bildungs- und sozialen Strukturen.

„Mit diesem interkulturellen Kunstprojekt möchte ich einen Beitrag zur Völkerverständigung leisten, die Gesellschaft für mehr Offenheit und Toleranz sensibilisieren sowie die kulturelle Vielfalt stärken“, sagt die Künstlerin.

Die Ergebnisse der analog erzeugten Momentaufnahmen wurden dann auch 2008 erstmalig in der Galerie kunst|nah anlässlich des interkulturellen Festivals „eigenarten“ in Hamburg präsentiert.

Xerisoti ist mit ihrem deutschen Mann selber in einer binationalen Beziehung und sagt darüber: „Ich denke, dass eine binationale Beziehung eine viel größere Herausforderung für ein Paar ist. Man muss doch viel mehr auf den anderen und seine Kultur eingehen, sie akzeptieren und versuchen zu verstehen. Das macht eine Beziehung aber auch spannender. Man lernt so viel! Nicht nur von einer Person, sondern von einer ganzen Kultur. Das liebe ich.“

...

Alle Fotos auf dieser Seite: © Maria NIFI Xerisoti

Ihr Langzeit-Foto-Projekt „Grenzenlose Liebe“ verfolgt Maria NIFI Xerisoti mit dem Ziel einer bundesweiten Fortsetzung. Wer Interesse hat das ambitionierte Projekt als Förderer zu unterstützen oder als binationales Paar daran teil zu nehmen, kann mit der Künstlerin Kontakt aufnehmen unter: nifis@gmx.de.
Maria NIFI Xerisoti arbeitet freiberuflich als Bildjournalistin, PR/Kulturmanagerin und Sprachdozentin in Hamburg. Sie studierte Amerikanistik, Anglistik sowie Neugriechische und Byzantinische Philologie in Bochum und Thessaloniki (GR) sowie PR /Kulturmanagement in Dortmund und Köln. Auslandsaufenthalte in Liverpool (GB) als Deutsch-Assistentin und New York (USA) als Praktikantin am Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. Redaktionelle Arbeiten für NRW-Kulturteil der Süddeutschen Zeitung, für die Magazine "Photographie" und "Fotoheft" sowie für Online-Dienste. Projekt- und Auftragsarbeiten, Ausstellungen und Veröffentlichungen.
www.xerisoti.de und www.grenzenlose-liebe.de