Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Scholarships and Cultural Activities

How to apply

There are two ways to apply for our scholarship program:

International selection procedure

Every year, our foundation organizes several international selection conferences in different countries all over the world. In 2017, there will be held selection conferences in Colombia, Korea, Mexico and Tunisia. If you are living in one of these countries or regions, you may send your written application directly to the responsible regional KAS Office. Students living in countries that are not listed cannot apply for the international selection procedure in 2016.

Domestic selection procedure

In case you are already living or studying in Germany, you are welcome to apply for a scholarship via the domestic selection program using our new online procedure (is still being prepared and intended to go online in June). You will be able to fill out the application form online and to upload all required application documents. Please do not send in any written application. The application period for 2016 will be open from June to July 15 (12:00/noon).

Application documents

Please download and fill out the application form and attach the following documents:

  • A meaningful CV in tabular form including details about your previous voluntary work or social commitment
  • Copies of your examination certificates in German translation if the originals are not in English
  • Copies of your studies performance records if you have been studying at a University in Germany
  • Proof of German language skills
  • An informal academic letter of recommendation: This opinion should provide information about your academic qualifications and potential; it should not be older than two month. The author has to be a university professor or teacher holding a doctoral degree.
  • An informal letter of recommendation concerning the applicant’s personality: This opinion should focus on your personality and interests as well as on your understanding of values and your social commitment. The author cannot be the same as that providing the academic letter of recommendation.
  • Certificate of admission or matriculation from your university in Germany
  • Two passport photographs: If applying for a doctoral scholarship, please attach additionally
  • A detailed description of your doctoral thesis: This exposé, written in German or English (4-5 pages), should outline the central research question of your proposed project, its scientific relevance, your theoretical approach and the motives behind your choice of the research subject. It should also contain a work and time schedule and a bibliography.
  • A second academic letter of recommendation: This second opinion should be written by the supervisor of your doctoral thesis, providing you already have one. It replaces the letter of recommendation concerning the applicant’s personality.
Please apply on https://campus.kas.de and upload the requested documents.

About the selection procedure

Pre-selection
There will be a preliminary selection among all completed applications received on time. Based on the above mentioned requirements of our scholarship program, we will take a decision whether to invite you to a selection conference or to reject your application. In specific cases, an application may be deferred if the candidate does not yet meet all requirements but has given the impression that he/she might be able to do so in the foreseeable future.

The selection conference The final decision awarding a scholarship is taken by a committee at a selection conference. During a 30 to 40 minute interview, you have the opportunity to introduce yourself personally to the selection committee. The discussion involves questions about your personal and academic career, your planned studies or research in Germany as well as about your motivation and personal values. In general, the committee consists of one representative of our Sponsorship Program for Foreign Students (Ausländerförderung) and of two auditors with academic expertise in the applicant’s area of study or research. On the international selection conferences held outside of Germany, the head of the regional KAS Office will be a member of the committee.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Begabtenförderung und Kultur

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Ihnen stehen zwei Wege der Bewerbung offen: Sie haben zum einen die Möglichkeit, sich im Ausland bei den jeweiligen Auslandsbüros um ein Stipendium der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zu bewerben. Voraussetzung hierfür ist jedoch, dass in Ihrem Land bzw. in Ihrer Region in der nächsten Zeit eine Auswahltagung geplant ist. Die Mehrheit unserer Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten wird im Ausland ausgewählt. Für 2017 geplante Auswahltagungen: Kolumbien, Korea, Mexiko und Tunesien.

Zum anderen können Sie sich, wenn Sie sich schon in Deutschland aufhalten, für das Auswahlverfahren in der Bundesrepublik direkt bei uns bewerben. Die Bewerbungsfrist für das Auswahlverfahren im Inland endet am 15. Juli (12:00 Uhr) des jeweiligen Jahres.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.
Begabtenförderung und Kultur/Ausländerförderung
Rathausallee 12
53757 Sankt Augustin

Bitte füllen Sie für Ihre Bewerbung den Bewerbungsbogen aus und reichen uns folgende Unterlagen ein:

  • tabellarischen Lebenslauf: Bitte nennen Sie hier auch Ihr bisheriges ehrenamtliches Engagement.
  • Kopien der bisherigen Examenszeugnisse (Bitte auch in deutscher Übersetzung, wenn diese nicht auf Englisch sind.)
  • Kopien Ihrer Leistungsnachweise von deutschen Hochschulen (Falls Sie bereits an einer deutschen Hochschule studiert haben.)
  • Nachweise über Ihre Deutschkenntnisse
  • formloses Hochschullehrergutachten: Persönlichkeit und Begabung unserer Stipendiaten lassen besondere wissenschaftliche Leistungen erwarten. Das Hochschullehrergutachten soll eine erste Auskunft über Potentiale im Bereich der fachlichen Qualifikation geben. Verfasser dieser Gutachten soll ein Hochschullehrer oder ein promovierter Angehöriger des akademischen Mittelbaus sein. Das Gutachten sollte nicht älter als zwei Monate sein.
  • formloses Persönlichkeitsgutachten: Das Persönlichkeitsgutachten sollte sich auf Ihr Werteverständnis und auf Ihre Interessen, auf Ihr Engagement und auf Ihre individuellen Eigenschaften konzentrieren. Dieses Gutachten ist nicht vom Aussteller des Hochschullehrergutachtens auszufüllen und sollte nicht älter als zwei Monate sein.
  • Annahmeerklärung oder Immatrikulationsbescheinigung: Wenn Sie bereits an einer deutschen Hochschule angenommen worden sind bzw. studieren.
  • zwei Lichtbilder

Bewerber um ein Stipendium für eine Promotion reichen bitte zudem noch ein:

  • eine ausführliche Begründung des Dissertationsthemas: Dieses Exposé sollte in deutscher oder englischer Sprache sein und Angaben zum Motiv für die Wahl des Dissertationsthemas, Problemaufriss, Lösungsansatz sowie Angaben zu Methoden und Verfahren, Arbeits- und Zeitplan mit zusätzlichem Literaturverzeichnis enthalten.
  • ein weiteres formloses Hochschullehrergutachten: Dieses sollte vom Betreuer ihres Dissertationsvorhabens ausgestellt sein, falls Sie bereits einen haben. Dieses Gutachten ersetzt das Persönlichkeitsgutachten
Bitte geben Sie Ihre Bewerbung unter https://campus.kas.de ein und laden die erforderlichen Unterlagen hoch.

Wenn Sie sich bewerben möchten, klicken Sie bitte hier.

Zum Auswahlverfahren:

Vorauswahl
Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung nimmt auf der Grundlage der vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen die Vorauswahl unter den eingegangenen Bewerbungen für die Ausländerförderung vor. Aufgrund unserer Anforderungen entscheiden wir über die Einladung zur Auswahltagung oder die Ablehnung. Im Einzelfall können Bewerber zurückgestellt werden, wenn der Bewerber den Anforderungskriterien noch nicht ausreichend entspricht, aber der Eindruck entstanden ist, dass dies in absehbarer Zeit möglich sein wird.

Auswahltagung

Die Entscheidung über die Aufnahme wird auf der Auswahltagung getroffen, in deren Rahmen ein 30-45minütiges Gespräch mit den Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern geführt wird. Hier haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich im Dialog mit den Prüfern vorzustellen. Neben Ihrem bisherigen persönlichen und akademischen Werdegang stehen hier Fragen zu Ihrem Studien- bzw. Dissertationsvorhaben aber auch zu Ihren Wertevorstellungen im Mittelpunkt. Zu den Prüfern gehören in der Regel ein Mitarbeiter der Ausländerförderung sowie zwei Mitglieder, die aufgrund ihrer fachlichen Qualifikation besonders geeignet sind für die Auswahl in der jeweiligen Bewerbergruppe. Im Ausland gehört der Auslandsmitarbeiter des Büros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zur Auswahlkommission.