Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Scholarships and Cultural Activities

Benefits of our scholarship program

Our scholarship program consists of financial assistance as well as ideational support. Even after the successful completion of studies, we remain in contact with our former scholars and offer them the unique opportunity to become a part of our international network.

Financial assistance

Duration and level of funding vary for different types of studies. Graduates (master or postgraduate students) receive a monthly scholarship of € 750. The standard funding period is two years. After having obtained unconditional admission to doctoral studies at a German university, PhD-students receive a monthly scholarship of € 920. The standard funding period for PhD scholars is three years. We also fund research stays in Germany with duration of at least 6 months by the same amount (€ 920) under the condition that the applicant holds a university degree comparable to the German Master’s degree and provides evidence of at least two years of work experience in the academic field.

Beside the monthly scholarship payments, we offer multiple subsidies for our scholars. On request, we subsidise health care insurance of up to the amount of € 120 per month. Also, we pay a family supplement provided that you and your spouse live together in one place in Germany for at least three months and that his/her income does not exceed the amount of € 450 per month. We grant a supplement of € 184 per month for children living with you in Germany. Prerequisites are the submission of an official German translation of the child’s birth certificate and the official rejection of your demand for public child allowance. PhD-scholars can apply for financial assistance for foreign research stays, although we do not fund participation in congresses or symposia.

Fees resulting from courses at the university in Germany that are directly related to your studies can be refunded up to the amount of € 500 per semester. In contrast, we do not refund regular semester fees resulting from matriculation or annual re-registration.

Ideational support

Being a scholar of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung means much more than just receiving financial assistance. Our scholars benefit from a broad program of ideational support. They become part of an active and living network. The program of ideational support consists of three elements: 1. Personal contact to and mentoring by the referees of our Sponsorship Program for Foreign Students and by the KAS representatives at the universities. 2. An internal seminar program for all our scholars. 3. The diverse activities of the regional scholar groups at the universities.

1. Mentoring by our referees and representatives at the universities
Our program referees and representatives at the universities supervise and consult our scholars personally. They follow the progress of your studies as well as your participation in the seminar program and the activities of your regional scholar group. Our foundation attaches great importance to continued development of your social commitment. The overall objective is to support you in identifying and in improving your individual strengths.

2. A varied and sophisticated seminar program
The seminars, which are held exclusively for our scholars, are to expand the general education of our scholars and to qualify them in their areas of studies. The seminars give opportunity for an interdisciplinary exchange of ideas and information with other scholars and acknowledged experts. The range of topics includes historical, political, economic and social issues. Vocational preparation seminars help our scholars to strengthen their soft skills and to facilitate the transition from studying to professional life.

3. Being part of a regional scholar group and of our Buddy-Program
The regional scholar groups at the universities are being managed independently by our scholars. Each semester, they create for themselves a program of diverse activities. Your scholar partners in your regional group will help you to settle in and to get used to your new surroundings. In this context, we invite our foreign scholars to take part in our Buddy-Program. On request, we identify an experienced German scholar to support you during the settling in period at your university in Germany and to facilitate your connection with the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and your regional scholar group.

Our network of former scholars

It is a matter of particular interest to the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung to encourage networking between our current and former scholars. Over 13.000 alumni form a living and global network of former KAS scholars who play active roles in politics, economics, science and society all over the world, who remain at the same time committed to our foundation and its current scholars. More than 50 regional alumni groups worldwide and several specialized sub-networks give great opportunities to our former scholars and allow them to remain connected to our foundation. This alumni network also provides practical assistance: its members finance a Social Fund which provides help to current and former scholars in cases of need. Moreover, the network promotes scientific and social projects.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Begabtenförderung und Kultur

Was bringt Ihnen das Stipendium?

Wir fördern unsere Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten finanziell und ideell und halten auch nach dem Abschluss des Studiums bzw. der Promotion durch das internationale Netzwerk unserer Altstipendiaten Kontakt mit den ehemaligen Geförderten.

Finanzielle Förderung

Die Höhe und Dauer der finanziellen Förderung ist abhängig vom Studienziel. Graduierte, d.h. Studierende im Master- oder Aufbaustudium, erhalten monatlich ein Stipendium in Höhe von € 750,-. Hier beträgt die Regelförderdauer zwei Jahre. Promovierende, sofern sie die Voraussetzungen zum Zugang zur Promotion an einer Hochschule der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ohne Auflagen erfüllt haben, sowie Stipendiaten mit einem dem deutschen Masterabschluss vergleichbaren Hochschulabschluss, die zu Forschungszwecken nach Deutschland kommen und die bei Beginn der Stipendienlaufzeit eine mindestens zweijährige wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit nachweisen können, erhalten monatlich ein Stipendium in Höhe von € 920,-. Die Regelförderdauer für Promovierende beträgt drei Jahre.

Wir zahlen zudem eine Reihe von Zuschüssen und Beihilfen: Bis zu einem Betrag von € 120,- bezuschussen wir auf Antrag die Kosten für die Kranken- und Pflegeversicherung. Es kann auch ein Familienzuschlag in Höhe von € 276,- gezahlt werden, sofern sich der Ehepartner länger als drei Monate in Deutschland aufhält, seine monatlichen Einkünfte nicht den Betrag von € 450,- überschreiten und Sie gemeinsam in einer Wohnung leben. Für mitgereiste Kinder kann nach Vorlage einer deutschen Übersetzung der Geburtsurkunde und eines Ablehnungsbescheides auf staatliches Kindergeld der Familienkasse ein monatliches Kindergeld in Höhe von € 184,- gezahlt werden. Wir bezuschussen auch Forschungsreisen von Promovierenden ins Ausland, jedoch nicht für den Besuch von wissenschaftlichen Kongressen und Symposien.

An der Hochschule anfallende Studiengebühren können bis zu € 500,- pro Semester erstattet werden. Es werden allerdings nur Kosten für Kurse anerkannt, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Studien- bzw. Promotionsvorhaben stehen. Kosten, die im Zusammenhang mit der Immatrikulation bzw. Rückmeldung (Sozialbeitrag des Studentenwerks, Semesterticket etc.) oder der Exmatrikulation entstehen, können jedoch nicht erstattet werden.

Ideelle Förderung

Stipendiat der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zu sein heißt nicht nur, finanzielle Unterstützung entgegenzunehmen, sondern Teil eines aktiven, lebendigen Netzwerkes zu sein. In unserer ideellen Förderung setzen wir auf drei Säulen: auf die persönliche Betreuung durch die Referenten der Ausländerförderung und unsere Vertrauensdozenten an den Hochschulen, auf unser studienbegleitendes Seminarprogramm sowie auf die von den Stipendiaten selbst getragenen Hochschulgruppen.

Vielfältiges Seminarprogramm

Unsere Seminare verfolgen eine fachliche und allgemeinbildende Qualifizierung. Wir ermöglichen einen interdisziplinären Austausch, der im akademischen Lehrbetrieb oft zu kurz kommt. Die Themenpalette umfasst historische, politische, wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen. Durch berufsvorbereitende Seminare im Bereich der Soft Skills helfen wir unseren Stipendiaten auch beim Übergang von der Hochschule in die Berufswelt.

Betreuung durch Referenten und Vertrauensdozenten

Unsere Referenten und Vertrauensdozenten betreuen und beraten Sie persönlich. Im Dialog begleiten wir den Fortschritt unserer Stipendiaten im Studium bzw. in der Promotion, ihre Teilhabe und Mitwirkung in der Hochschulgruppe sowie ihre Teilnahme an unseren Seminaren. Wichtig ist uns zudem auch die Weiterentwicklung Ihres gesellschaftlichen Engagements. Hier geht es darum, Ihre individuellen Stärken zu erkennen und zu fördern.

Betreuung durch Hochschulgruppe und Buddy-Programm

In den Hochschulgruppen setzen unsere Stipendiaten eigene Impulse und organisieren in Eigenregie ein Semesterprogramm mit unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungsformaten. Ihre Konstipendiaten helfen Ihnen in den ersten Wochen und Monaten auch bei der Eingewöhnung am neuen Hochschulort. Im Rahmen eines Buddy-Programms kann Ihnen – auf Wunsch – ein älterer deutscher Stipendiat bzw. ältere Stipendiatin zu Seite gestellt werden. Ihr Buddy zeigt Ihnen dann den Hochschulcampus und die Bibliothek, begleitet sie zu Behördengängen und steht Ihnen bei Fragen zur Seite. Er macht Sie auch mit dem Leben in der Stipendiatengruppe bekannt.

Altstipendiaten-Netzwerk

Bereits während der Förderung beginnt die Vernetzung mit den Altstipendiaten, die über die Stipendiatenzeit hinaus fortwirkt und den Zusammenhalt – auch über Grenzen hinweg – stärkt. Die Altstipendiaten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung bilden ein aktives Netzwerk aus über 13.000 ehemaligen Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten im In- und Ausland. Sie sind in allen Bereichen von Politik, Staat, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Gesellschaft tätig und fühlen sich den Zielen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und den aktuellen Stipendiaten verbunden. Über fünfzig Regionalgruppen im In- und Ausland sowie zahlreiche thematische Netzwerke bilden auch nach dem Ende des Studiums für unsere Alumni eine Anlaufstelle und fördern den Kontakt mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Das Netzwerk leistet zudem konkrete Hilfe: Aus Mitteln des Hilfs- und Sozialfonds der Altstipendiaten werden Stipendiaten und Alumni in persönlichen Notlagen unterstützt. Darüber hinaus werden Aktivitäten im wissenschaftlichen und sozialen Bereich gefördert.