Funding

1 – Sources and Forms of Financing

Germany's political foundations are very largely financed by federal and Land government funds. 96.8% of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung's funds come from public remittances, while 2.7% are derived from admission charges and miscellaneous revenues. In addition, private revenues (income from funds and donations) account for another 0.5% (status: budget of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung for 2010).

Most public remittances are project-related funds. Thus, project-related remittances account for 75.6% of the entire revenue of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Specifically, the following activities are financed on a project-related basis:

  • Measures to promote international cooperation;
  • Scholarship programmes for German undergraduate and postgraduate students;
  • Scholarship programmes for foreign students; and
  • Editing important archive material.

Next to project-related funds, political foundations also receive institutional subsidies, which account for 24.41% of the budget of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Institutional subsidies form the basis on which the financing of political foundations rests; without them, it would be impossible to plan human resources and financial requirements with any degree of consistency. The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, for instance, uses these 'global funds' to finance

  • Congresses, meetings, and seminars on political education;
  • Research, consultation, and documentation relating particularly to the Christian Democratic movement and the fundamental rules of political activity;
  • Publications and exhibitions; and
  • Payroll costs, expenditures on goods and services, and investments.

In these times of shrinking public finances, the importance of supplementary funds from private sources increases correspondingly. The Stiftung has three funds originally financed by bequests. Money from the Else Heiliger Fund is used to finance cultural events and artists within the framework laid down in her will. The yield of the Theodor and Elisa Weimar Fund is used by the Stiftung to finance support for students within the framework of its scholarship programme. Revenues from the Werner Hintzler Fund are employed in regional political education.

2 – Legal Framework Conditions of Public Financing

The sums to be paid by federal ministries in annual remittances to political foundations are fixed by the Budget Committee of the German Federal Diet. When the act establishing the federal budget is passed in parliament, it includes both global subsidies and project-related funds. The total amount is distributed among foundations in conformance with a matrix in which all enduring political movements of any weight in the Federal Republic of Germany are given due consideration. Currently, the Friedrich Ebert Foundation receives 31.9%, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung receives 28.0%, while the Friedrich Naumann Stiftung and the Heinrich Böll Stiftung receive 10.425% each and the Hanns Seidel Stiftung 9.75%. The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung receives a baseline global subsidy of 9.5% of the total estimate in the federal budget. This matrix, which is submitted by the political foundations to the Budget Committee by consent, applies to global subsidies as well as to project-related remittances, with a few exceptions applying in the latter case.

Once the Budget Act has been passed, government ministries assume responsibility for granting remittances to the political foundations. The procedure by which remittances are granted to political foundations is governed by Sect. 23 and 44 of the Federal and Land Budget Codes as well as numerous supplementary administrative regulations, the General Supplementary Provisions for Institutional Subsidisation Remittances, and the General Supplementary Provisions for Project Subsidisation Remittances. Global subsidies handled by the Federal Ministry of the Interior and the Federal Office of Administration are subject to the principles governing the management of federal subsidies for socio-political and democratic education.

There are no fundamental reservations about the constitutionality of the funding of political foundations by the government. In its judgement of July 14, 1986 (2 BVE 5/83), the Federal Constitutional Court ruled that institutional subsidies for political foundations paid under the federal budget (global subsidies) are constitutional, provided that the political foundations act in conformance with the model provided by the constitution, and that they are indeed institutions which are legally and materially independent and address themselves to their task autonomously, responsibly, and in a spirit of intellectual receptiveness. Moreover, they need to maintain a proper distance between themselves and their respective political parties in their practical work (guiding principle formulated by the Federal Constitutional Court).

Following a decision by the Federal Constitutional Court on the funding of political parties in 1992, Federal President Richard von Weizsäcker set up a commission of independent experts on party financing. In addition to this issue, the commission investigated the public financing of political foundations in some detail. In its opinion of February 17, 1993, the commission affirmed that political foundations constitute an essential element in the political culture of the Federal Republic of Germany, and that their work is useful to the polity as a whole.

Without waiting for any legal regulations regarding these matters, the political foundations implemented some of the commission's recommendations, formulating their perception of themselves and their position in society. This was done in a Joint Declaration, which is in fact a pledge that serves to inform the general public. In November 1998, this Joint Declaration was signed by the executives of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, the Friedrich Ebert Stiftung, the Friedrich Naumann Stiftung, the Hanns Seidel Stiftung, and the Heinrich Böll Stiftung.

3 – Reviews and Public Accountability

There is hardly another organisation that is so intensely scrutinised by external auditing bodies as a political foundation. Reviews are carried out by remittors, the Federal Court of Audit, the Land courts of audit, the Internal Revenue Office, and chartered accountants.

Compliance with the legal regulations that govern remittances as well as the proper use of funds are monitored directly and on an ongoing basis by the remitting agencies as well as by the federal and Land courts of audit. In addition, parallel efficiency checks are carried out. Some of the remitting agencies, including particularly the Federal Ministry of the Interior and the Federal Office of Administration (global subsidies) as well as the Federal Court of Audit, have been intensifying their reviews in recent years.

Lastly, the Internal Revenue Office conducts audits to investigate whether public as well as private funds have been employed by the political foundations in conformance with the non-profit requirements laid down in the Fiscal Code. The standard used in this context is the extent to which foundations use their funds to comply with their statutory duties as outlined in the above-mentioned foundation ruling of the Federal Constitutional Court of July 14, 1986. In particular, the tax law regulation that defines the nature of a commonweal organisation prohibits political foundations from using their funds to finance other organisations that cannot or have not been recognised as non-profit organisations (e.g. political parties or party groups). Any infringement would entail the retroactive forfeiture of charity privileges which, in turn, would have far-reaching consequences with regard to taxation. The Konrad Adenauer Foundation has been recognised under tax law as working pro bono publico ever since its establishment.

Similar audits are conducted by public accountants, the question being in this case whether public funds have been used by a foundation properly and economically. This demand is laid down in the terms and conditions of the two biggest remittors, the Federal Ministry of the Interior/Federal Office of Administration and the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development. Chartered accountants issue their own reports and certificates covering these additional reviews, which are passed on by the foundations to the remitting agencies together with a report covering the facts of the matter.

Furthermore, the foundations' statutes contain provisions requiring their annual reports to be reviewed by a chartered accountant. These reviews are identical in type and scope with those that are obligatory under commercial law but contain additional information on manpower plans and the staffing of governing bodies (Joint Declaration, Sect. 6, Sub-par. 2).

In addition to all this, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung has been checking the efficiency of its development-policy projects and measures for many years, following generally-recognised procedures established in consultation with its remitting agencies.

It is the most important concern of all political foundations to inform the public regularly and comprehensively about their work, and to ensure that the way in which they use their funds is transparent to the public (Joint Declaration, ibid.). Even in the absence of any legal obligation to disclose their results, the foundations have been following the practice of publishing the purposes for which their funds were used for some years. Having been audited by a chartered accountant, their annual reports, consisting of a balance sheet and a financial statement in conformance with Sect. 264 of the Commercial Code, are regularly published together with some supplementary data in the Federal Gazette as well as in their respective directors' reports. Following the recommendations made by the expert commission, supplementary information on the number of jobs compared to the preceding year as well as on the staffing of the foundations' governing bodies is included with these publications. The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung's annual reports also include its economic plans for the following year in the form of a general overview.

4 – Legitimation of Public Funding

Political foundations are an important element in the political culture of the Federal Republic of Germany. As their work is useful to the polity as a whole (according to the opinion of the commission), their subsidisation with government funds is in the public interest (FCC 2 BVE 5/83).

The legitimacy of the political foundations' claims becomes clearer if we draw a dividing line between their functions, the functions of the political parties, and the educational duties of the state.

a) Political foundations are private-law organisations which independently, responsibly, and in a spirit of intellectual receptiveness provide services which are in the public interest but cannot be supplied by the state. The activities of the political foundations are constitutionally legitimised by Art. 9 Par. 1 of the Basic Law with regard to their organisation as associations, and by Art. 12 Par. 1 of the Basic Law with regard to their function, which is to provide professional and sustainable education in the fields of social policy and democracy.

Art. 21 of the Basic Law, on the other hand, furnishes no constitutional legitimisation for the work of the political foundations. The political parties which the article refers to participate in forming the political will of the people, mainly through and with a view to contesting general elections. They pool interests, opinions, and ambitions that aim at attaining and exercising political power, harmonise them internally, and form them into alternatives for the citizens to choose from. They influence the will of the state by extending their reach into the system of governmental institutions and offices, particularly by influencing the decisions and activities of parliament and government (FCC 2 BVE 5/83; FCC 52, 63 – 82ff.).

There is a marked difference between the activities of the political parties, which aim to achieve and exercise political power, and those of the political foundations. Through their political-education activities, they aim to motivate citizens to concern themselves with political matters and provide a platform for the discussion of political issues that is accessible to all citizens (FCC 2 BVE 5/83).

b) While the socio-political education activities conducted by the political foundations at home and abroad are in the public interest, they are not a public function. This becomes clear if we look at the principle of subsidiarity, which is of particular importance with regard to the duty to provide education in a liberal polity:

Based on the freedom of its citizens and the plurality of societal forces, a constitutional polity depends on freedom rights being exercised to the benefit of the community. Exactly what is beneficial to the community is not defined ab initio, apart from a few ethical and constitutional rules. Rather, these issues are negotiable on the political plane, forming the object of democratic debate. Political discussions and political decisions, in turn, are predicated on information and an ethical political orientation. Freedom can be asserted responsible only by persons educated along these lines. Consequently, political education is a necessary counterpart of political freedom.

From this, we may conclude that political education is one of the constitutional mandates of a liberal state. However, its jurisdiction in this field is neither exclusive nor comprehensive. A liberal state is no educational dictatorship, and its competence in matters educational is subsidiary to that of any holders of fundamental rights that may form in a spirit of free self-determination and open communication. The state must respect the autonomy of its citizens and societal forces that is protected by the constitution. It is not allowed to marginalise private education by measures of its own (cf. FCC 44, 125 – 138ff.). Governmental institutions are not permitted to arrogate to themselves any functions that can be and are being fulfilled just as well by other holders of fundamental rights (FCC 38, 281 – 302). Thus, the remit of political education work is limited in constitutional law by the principle of subsidiarity.

This being so, the state is restricted in its educational mission to general matters, the fundamental consensus of society, the core of which is formed by the fundamental values laid down in the constitution. At the same time, it draws nourishment from the political culture whose societal and political roots lie beyond its reach. Political education safeguards the existence of any liberal and pluralist polity. Financially supporting the educational work of other holders of fundamental rights does not constitute an infringement of the state's obligation to remain neutral. The state is perfectly free to lend its financial support to any activities from which it is prohibited, and to suggest others that it never could compel by force.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)

Finanzierung

1. Quellen und Arten der Finanzierung

Die Politischen Stiftungen finanzieren sich ganz überwiegend aus Mitteln des Bundes und der Länder. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung finanziert sich zu 98,3 % aus öffentlichen Zuwendungen, zu 0,95 % aus Teilnehmergebühren und anderen Einnahmen. Hinzu kommen private Einnahmen (Fondserträge und Spenden) in Höhe von 0,15 % (Stand: Haushalt 2010 der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung).

Der größte Teil der öffentlichen Zuwendungen sind Projektfinanzierungen. In der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung machen projektbezogene Zuwendungen 78 % der gesamten Einnahmen aus. Projektfinanziert sind insbesondere:

  • Maßnahmen der internationalen Zusammenarbeit;
  • Förderung deutscher Studenten und Graduierter;
  • Förderung ausländischer Studenten;
  • Aufbereitung wichtiger Archivalien.

Neben der Projektfinanzierung erhalten die Politischen Stiftungen eine institutionelle Förderung. Im Haushalt der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung macht dies 22 % aus. Die institutionelle Förderung bildet den Grundstock der Finanzierung Politischer Stiftungen, ohne den eine kontinuierliche personelle und finanzielle Planung nicht möglich wäre. In der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung werden aus „Globalmitteln“ z.B. finanziert:

  • Kongresse, Tagungen und Seminare der politischen Bildung;
  • Forschung, Beratung und Dokumentation, insbesondere der christlich-demokratischen Bewegung sowie der Grundlagen politischen Wirkens;
  • Veröffentlichungen und Ausstellungen;
  • Personalausgaben, sächliche Verwaltungsausgaben, investive Ausgaben.

In Zeiten abnehmender öffentlicher Finanzierung gewinnt die ergänzende private Finanzierung zunehmend an Bedeutung. Die Stiftung verfügt über drei aus Erbschaften finanzierte Fonds. Aus dem Else-Heiliger-Fonds kann im testamentarisch beschriebenen Rahmen Kultur- und Künstlerförderung finanziert werden. Aus den Erträgen des Theodor- und Elisa-Weimar-Fonds finanziert die Stiftung studienbegleitende Maßnahmen der Begabtenförderung. Die Erträge des Werner-Hintzler-Fonds werden für die regionale politische Bildungsarbeit eingesetzt.

2. Rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen öffentlicher Finanzierung

Die jährlichen Zuwendungen an die Politischen Stiftungen aus den Bundesressorts legt der Haushaltsausschuss des Deutschen Bundestags fest. Sowohl die Globalzuschüsse als auch die Projektförderung werden daraufhin mit dem Gesetz zur Feststellung des Bundeshaushalts verabschiedet. Die Verteilung der Gesamtmittel auf die Stiftungen richtet sich nach einem Schlüssel, der die dauerhaften, ins Gewicht fallenden politischen Grundströmungen in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland angemessen berücksichtigt. Derzeit erhalten die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung 30,29%, die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung 29,57%, die Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung 10,21% und die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung jeweils 10,51%, die Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung 9,71%. Die Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung erhält 9,71% des Bundeshaushaltsansatzes aus Globalzuschüssen. Dieser Schlüssel, der im Konsens unter den Politischen Stiftungen dem Haushaltsausschuss vorgeschlagen wird, gilt sowohl für die Globalzuschüsse als auch mit wenigen Ausnahmen für die projektbezogenen Zuwendungen.

Mit der Feststellung des Haushaltsgesetzes werden die Förderungstitel den Ressorts zur Gewährung der Zuwendung an die Politischen Stiftungen zugewiesen. Die Zuwendungen werden den Politischen Stiftungen auf der Grundlage der §§ 23 und 44 Bundes- bzw. Landeshaushaltsordnung und zahlreicher ergänzender Verwaltungsvorschriften, den Allgemeinen Nebenbestimmungen für Zuwendungen zur institutionellen Förderung und den Allgemeinen Nebenbestimmungen für Zuwendungen zur Projektförderung sowie für den Bereich des Bundesministerium des Innern/Bundesverwaltungsamt (Globalzuschüsse) den Bewirtschaftungsgrundsätzen für Zuschüsse des Bundes zur gesellschaftspolitischen und demokratischen Bildungsarbeit gewährt.

Die Verfassungsmäßigkeit der staatlichen Finanzierung Politischer Stiftungen begegnet keinen prinzipiellen Bedenken. Für die institutionelle Förderung der Politischen Stiftungen aus dem Bundeshaushalt (Globalzuschüsse) hat das Bundesverfassungsgericht dies in seinem Urteil vom 14. Juli 1986 (2 BVE 5/83) entschieden. Voraussetzung ist, dass die Politischen Stiftungen dem verfassungsrechtlichen Leitbild entsprechen und rechtlich und tatsächlich unabhängige Institutionen sind, die sich selbständig, eigenverantwortlich und in geistiger Offenheit ihrer Aufgabe annehmen. Diese müssen auch in der Praxis die gebotene Distanz zu den jeweiligen Parteien wahren (BVerfG, Leitsatz).

Nach einer Entscheidung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts zur Parteienfinanzierung im Jahr 1992 hatte Bundespräsident Richard von Weizsäcker eine Kommission unabhängiger Sachverständiger zur Parteienfinanzierung eingesetzt. Neben Fragen der Parteienfinanzierung hat sich die Kommission auch ausführlich mit der öffentlichen Finanzierung Politischer Stiftungen befasst. Im Kommissionsgutachten vom 17. Februar 1993 wird bestätigt, dass die Politischen Stiftungen ein wichtiger Teil der politischen Kultur der Bundesrepublik Deutschland sind und für das Gemeinwesen nützliche Arbeit leisten.

Die Politischen Stiftungen haben, ohne insoweit auf eine etwaige gesetzliche Regelung zu warten, Empfehlungen des Kommissionsgutachtens aufgegriffen, ihr Selbstverständnis formuliert und ihren Standort bestimmt. Dies ist in der Gemeinsamen Erklärung erfolgt, die eine Selbstverpflichtung darstellt und der Information der Öffentlichkeit dient. Die Gemeinsame Erklärung ist im November 1998 von den Vorständen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, der Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung, der Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung und der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung unterzeichnet worden.

3. Kontrolle und öffentliche Rechenschaftslegung

Die Politischen Stiftungen unterliegen wie kaum eine andere Organisation intensiven Kontrollen externer Prüfinstanzen. Es finden Prüfungen durch die Zuwendungsgeber, den Bundesrechnungshof, die Landesrechnungshöfe, das Finanzamt und durch Wirtschaftsprüfer statt.

Die Zuwendungsgeber, der Bundesrechnungshof und die Landesrechnungshöfe überwachen laufend und aktuell die Einhaltung der zuwendungsrechtlichen Bestimmungen und die zweckentsprechende Verwendung der Zuwendungen. Daneben wird eine begleitende Erfolgskontrolle durchgeführt. Die Zuwendungsgeber, insbesondere das Bundesministerium des Innern/Bundesverwaltungsamt (Globalzuschüsse) wie auch der Bundesrechnungshof haben ihre Prüfungen in den letzten Jahren intensiviert.

Überdies finden Prüfungen des Finanzamts statt. Das Finanzamt prüft, ob die Politischen Stiftungen sowohl ihre öffentlichen als auch privaten Mittel entsprechend den Gemeinnützigkeitsvorschriften der Abgabenordnung verwendet haben. Maßstab ist, ob die Stiftungen ihre Mittel für die Erfüllung ihrer satzungsmäßigen Aufgaben auf der Grundlage des zuvor erwähnten Stiftungsurteils des Bundesverfassungsgerichts vom 14. Juli 1986 eingesetzt haben. Das steuerliche Gemeinnützigkeitsrecht schließt dabei insbesondere aus, dass Politische Stiftungen ihre Mittel zur Finanzierung anderer Organisationen, die steuerlich nicht als gemeinnützig anerkannt werden können (z.B. Parteien, Fraktionen) oder nicht anerkannt sind, einsetzen. Folge eines Verstoßes wäre die rückwirkende Aberkennung der Gemeinnützigkeit mit weitreichenden steuerlichen Folgen. Die Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist seit ihrer Gründung steuerlich als gemeinnützig anerkannt.

Ferner finden Prüfungen durch Wirtschaftsprüfer statt. Der Wirtschaftsprüfer prüft, ob die Stiftungen die öffentlichen Mittel ordnungsgemäß, wirtschaftlich und sparsam verwendet haben. Dies fordern die Zuwendungsbedingungen der beiden größten Zuwendungsgeber, des Bundesministerium des Innern/Bundesverwaltungsamt und des Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung. Über diese zusätzlichen Prüfungen erstellt der Wirtschaftsprüfer gesonderte Prüfberichte und Testate, die die Stiftungen mit einem Sachbericht an den jeweiligen Zuwendungsgeber weiterleiten.

Überdies sehen die Satzungen der Stiftungen vor, dass ein Wirtschaftsprüfer den Jahresabschluss der Stiftungen prüft. Die Prüfungen entsprechen nach Art und Umfang einer handelsrechtlichen Pflichtprüfung mit ergänzenden Angaben zur Zahl der Personalstellen und der personellen Besetzung der gesetzlichen Organe (Gemeinsame Erklärung 6. Absch. Ziff. 2).

Ergänzend prüft die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung seit vielen Jahren die Wirksamkeit z.B. ihrer entwicklungspolitischen Projekte und Maßnahmen nach allgemein anerkannten und mit dem Zuwendungsgeber abgestimmten Verfahren.

Vorrangiges Anliegen der Politischen Stiftungen ist es, die Öffentlichkeit regelmäßig und umfassend über ihre Arbeit zu informieren und die Verwendung ihrer Mittel transparent zu machen (Gemeinsame Erklärung a.a.O.). Sie haben deshalb bereits seit Jahren auch ohne eine gesetzliche Publizitätspflicht ihre Mittelverwendung offengelegt. Der vom Wirtschaftsprüfer geprüfte Jahresabschluss entsprechend § 264 Handelsgesetzbuch in Form einer Bilanz und einer Einnahmen-/Ausgabenrechnung wird mit ergänzenden Angaben im Bundesanzeiger sowie im jährlichen Geschäftsbericht der Politischen Stiftungen veröffentlicht. Die Veröffentlichung enthält zusätzlich entsprechend der Empfehlungen im Kommissionsgutachten ergänzende Angaben zur Zahl der Personalstellen im Vergleich zum Vorjahr und zur personellen Besetzung der gesetzlichen Organe. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung veröffentlicht zusätzlich und im voraus ihre Wirtschaftsplanung als Gesamtübersicht in den Jahresberichten.

4. Die Legitimation zur öffentlichen Finanzierung

Die Politischen Stiftungen sind ein wichtiger Teil der politischen Kultur der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Sie leisten für das Gemeinwesen nützliche Arbeit (Kommissionsgutachten), so dass deren staatliche Förderung im öffentlichen Interesse liegt (BVerfG 2 BvE 5/83). Die Legitimation Politischer Stiftungen wird deutlich, wenn man ihre Aufgaben von den Funktionen politischer Parteien und dem Bildungsauftrag des Staates abgrenzt.

a) Die Politischen Stiftungen sind privatrechtlich konstituierte Organisationen, die unabhängig, eigenverantwortlich und in geistiger Offenheit Leistungen erbringen, die im öffentlichen Interesse liegen, aber vom Staat selbst nicht wahrgenommen werden können. Die Tätigkeit der Politischen Stiftungen hat ihre verfassungsrechtliche Grundlage in Art. 9 Abs. 1 GG, soweit es ihre vereinsrechtliche Organisation betrifft, und in Art. 12 Abs. 1 GG bezogen auf ihre Funktion, die professionelle, auf Dauer angelegte gesellschaftspolitische und demokratische Bildungsarbeit.

Die Tätigkeit der Politischen Stiftungen hat ihre verfassungsrechtliche Grundlage nicht in Art. 21 GG. Die dort genannten politischen Parteien nehmen an der politischen Willensbildung, vornehmlich durch und im Hinblick auf die Beteiligung an den Wahlen teil. Sie sammeln die auf die politische Macht und ihre Ausübung gerichteten Meinungen, Interessen und Bestrebungen, gleichen sie in sich aus und formen sie zu Alternativen, unter denen die Bürger wählen können. Sie beeinflussen die Bildung des Staatswillens, indem sie in das System der staatlichen Institutionen und Ämter hineinwirken, und zwar insbesondere durch Einflussnahme auf die Beschlüsse und Maßnahmen von Parlament und Regierung (BVerfG 2 BvE 5/83; BVerfGE 52, 63 – 82 ff).

Von diesem auf Erringung politischer Macht und deren Ausübung gerichteten Wettbewerb der Parteien heben sich Zielsetzung und Tätigkeiten der Politischen Stiftungen deutlich ab. Ihre politische Bildungsarbeit soll die Beschäftigung der Bürger mit politischen Sachverhalten anregen und den Rahmen bieten für eine – allen Bürgern – zugängliche Diskussion politischer Fragen (BVerfG 2 BvE 5/83).

b) Die gesellschaftspolitische Bildungsarbeit der Politischen Stiftungen im In- und Ausland steht zwar im öffentlichen Interesse, ist aber keine öffentliche Aufgabe. Dies ergibt sich aus dem Subsidiaritätsprinzip, das den Bildungsauftrag im freiheitlichen Gemeinwesen und in besonderer Weise prägt: Das grundgesetzliche Gemeinwesen, das auf der Freiheit des Bürgers und dem Pluralismus der gesellschaftlichen Kräfte gründet, lebt davon, dass die Freiheit gemeinwohlgerecht ausgeübt wird. Was aber gemeinwohlgerecht ist, steht – abgesehen von wenigen ethischen und verfassungsrechtlichen Spielregeln – nicht von vorneherein fest, sondern steht zur politischen Disposition und ist Gegenstand demokratischer Auseinandersetzung. Politische Diskussionen und politische Entscheidungen setzen Information und ethisch-politische Orientierung voraus. Die verantwortliche Wahrnehmung der Freiheit ist nicht möglich ohne Erziehung zur Freiheit. Politische Bildung ist folglich das notwendige Pendant zur politischen Freiheit.

Daraus folgt, dass der freiheitliche Staat durch die Verfassung einen politischen Bildungsauftrag hat. Seine Zuständigkeit ist aber weder ausschließlich noch umfassend. Der freiheitliche Staat ist nicht Erziehungsdiktatur; er hat nur eine subsidiäre Bildungskompetenz gegenüber den Grundrechtsträgern, die sich in freier Selbstbestimmung und offener Kommunikation miteinander bilden. Der Staat hat die grundrechtlich geschützte Autonomie der Bürger und der gesellschaftlichen Kräfte zu respektieren. Er darf nicht die private Bildungsarbeit durch eigene Maßnahmen verdrängen (vgl. BVerGE 44, 125 – 138 ff). Staatliche Einrichtungen dürfen nicht Aufgaben an sich ziehen, die von Grundrechtsträgern eben so gut erfüllt werden können und erfüllt werden (BVerGE 38, 281 – 302). Die politische Bildungsarbeit wird also verfassungsrechtlich durch das Subsidiaritätsprinzip begrenzt.

Der Bildungsauftrag, den der Staat selbst wahrnehmen kann, beschränkt sich deshalb auf das Allgemeine, den gesellschaftlichen Grundkonsens, dessen Kern die Grundwerte der Verfassung ausmachen. Gleichwohl lebt er aus der politischen Kultur, deren gesellschaftliche und politische Wurzeln sich seiner Gewalt entziehen. Politische Bildungsarbeit sichert den Fortbestand des freiheitlichen, pluralistischen Gemeinwesens. Der Staat verstößt nicht gegen seine Neutralitätspflicht, wenn er die Bildungsarbeit von Grundrechtsträgern finanziell unterstützt. Der Staat darf finanziell unterstützen, was er nicht selbst leisten darf, und anregen, was er nicht erzwingen könnte.

Kontakt

Abbildung
Leiter DLZ/Bereichsleiter Personal/Justitiar
Rolf Halfmann
Tel. +49 2241 246-2540 / +49 30 26996 3366
Fax +49 2241 246-2878
Rolf.Halfmann(akas.de