History

A brief chronicle of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

1952 A group of CDU politicians including, among others, the Chairman of the Protestant Working Group of the CDU, Hermann Ehlers, who died in 1954, his later successor, Robert Tillmanns, and the Chairman of the CDU/CSU parliamentary party, Heinrich Krone, considers the establishment of a systematic civic-education programme inspired by Christian Democratic values.

1953-1955 Federal Chancellor Konrad Adenauer and the CDU Federal Executive debate the creation of a training and education centre to promote young politicians.

December 20, 1955 The Society for Christian Democratic Education Work is established in Bonn as the precursor of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

December 22, 1955 Immediately after its foundation, the organisation acquires Eichholz Manor near Wesseling from August Karl von Joest.

1956 Eichholz Manor is converted into an education institute. Seminars begin in December.

April 12, 1957 Eichholz Manor is ceremonially opened by Federal Chancellor Konrad Adenauer. The inaugural address is given by the Minister President of Schleswig-Holstein, Kai-Uwe von Hassel. Bruno Heck is elected first Chairman of the Society for Christian Democratic Education Work, with Konrad Kraske and Heinrich Krone being elected Deputy Chairman and Secretary, respectively.

April 26, 1958 The Society for Christian Democratic Education Work is converted into the Eichholz Political Academy, with Arnold Bergstraesser and Konrad Kraske its first and second chairmen.

June 1, 1958 Rüdiger Altmann, a journalist and social scientist, assumes the two offices of Chief Executive and Director of the Political Academy of Eichholz Manor.

April 1, 1960 Rüdiger Altmann having left the Academy, Peter Molt becomes its Director. Educational activities are carried out in close cooperation with the CDU's federal headquarters while preserving a maximum of independence for the Academy. Education events dealing with the unification of Europe are stepped up.

1961 A political seminar is set up at Eichholz Manor. Extending over seven weeks and comprising an entry-level, a main, and a finishing course, it forms the basis of an education scheme that has survived to this day in modified form.

January 1962 Having established contacts with Christian Democratic politicians in Venezuela, the Belgian trade-union leader, Auguste Vanistendael, proposes establishing a collaborative relationship with the Eichholz Political Academy, paving the way for political education to emerge as the foundation of the Institute for International Solidarity soon afterwards.

July 1, 1962 Establishment of the Institute for International Solidarity (IIS) of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Summer 1962 The first of a series of international college seminars is held at Eichholz Manor. Attended by young scientists, students, and international experts, the series will be continued until 1968.

October 4, 1963 Federal Chancellor Konrad Adenauer ceremonially opens the extension of the Eichholz Political Academy, with buildings containing modern conference rooms and accommodation for guests.

October 13, 1964 The organisation supporting the Eichholz Political Academy changes its name to Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung for Political Education and Student Promotion. Alfred Müller-Armack and Franz Thedieck are elected to the Board as Joint Chairmen, while Konrad Kraske and Alphons Horten are elected Executive Chairman and Treasurer, respectively.

December 1964 Through its Institute for International Solidarity, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is represented in eight countries located in South and Central America as well as in Africa: Venezuela, Chile, Brazil, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Tanzania, and Cameroon. In the years to come, partnerships would be established with Christian Democratic parties, education institutions, trade unions, and cooperatives in many countries.

January 15, 1965 Establishment of the student promotion scheme of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, to be renamed Scholarship Institute in 1971.

February 1, 1966 Having held the office of Director of Studies at Eichholz Manor since 1961, Bernhard Gebauer succeeds Peter Molt as Director of the Academy (until 1981), continuing to follow the concept of functional political education.

July 19, 1966 The Federal Constitutional Court forbids the use of public funds to finance education in party politics, causing the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung to enhance its independence.

October 1, 1966 Adolf Herkenrath assumes the post of Director of the Institute for International Solidarity.

October 1, 1967 Establishment of the Scientific Institute (WIKAS), to be renamed Social Science Research Institute (SFK) in 1970, to conduct basic research in political education. Educational activities at Eichholz Manor are enhanced by the Institute for Local Policy Education and Research (IKBF), to be renamed Institute for Local Government Studies (IFK) in 1971.

June 27, 1968 Bruno Heck is elected Chairman of the Stiftung's Executive Board, Manfred Wörner is elected Executive Chairman, and Alphons Horten, Treasurer. Further Executive Board members include Federal Minister Kai-Uwe von Hassel, Helmut Kohl, Konrad Kraske, and Lord Mayor Günter Rinsche.

1970 Second extension of the education centre at Eichholz Manor: Auditoriums, conference rooms, offices, and guest rooms are added, enhancing its capacity by thirty percent.

1971 Creation of the Institute for Local Government Studies to continue the existing, already systematically structured local-government education programme at Eichholz Manor (Director: Franz Schuster).

June 14, 1972 Elections to the Executive Board. Chairman, Bruno Heck; Executive Chairman, Manfred Wörner; Treasurer, Walther Leisler Kiep. Further Board members: Kai-Uwe von Hassel, Speaker of the Federal Diet; Minister President Helmut Kohl; Secretary General Konrad Kraske; Lord Mayor Günter Rinsche.

1973 Günter Rinsche is appointed Chairman of the Planning Committee charged with developing new research and coordination tools for the further development of the Foundation in consultation with competent personages. In the years to come, the Committee was to present forward-looking concepts for the Stiftung's international education activities.

1974 Philipp Ludwig is appointed Executive Chairman (until 1977).

February 1, 1974 Lothar Kraft is appointed Director of the Institute for International Solidarity, with Paul B. Wink as his deputy.

July 1, 1975 Establishment of the Education Institute (BWK) of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, with regional branches to be created in the years to come. Günther Rüther is appointed Director of the Institute.

January 1, 1976 Establishment of the Archive for Christian Democratic Policy (ACDP) of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung under the direction of Klaus Gotto. Günter Buchstab is appointed Deputy Director.

June 21, 1976 The Stiftung becomes a registered society.

December 1976 The Stiftung moves to its new headquarters at Sankt Augustin which houses all its institutes under one roof.

1977 The Stiftung acquires Villa La Collina at Cadenabbia on Lake Como and creates an international meeting centre on the spot where Konrad Adenauer used to spend his holidays from 1959 onwards. Branch offices are established in Rome and Washington.

1978 Karl-Heinz Bilke becomes the Stiftung's Chief Executive Officer (until 1983).

January 1, 1978 Establishment of the Office for International Cooperation (BIZ) directed by Josef Thesing.

February 1, 1978 Paul B. Wink is appointed Administrative Director of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (until 1998). The Brussels office is opened. The scheme for promoting young journalists is created as a special branch of the scholarship agency to counteract the ideological infiltration of the media by promoting the qualification of young journalists. From 2002: Journalist Academy.

1980 Branch offices open in Paris and London. First contest for the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung's prize for local journalism. Since 1980, the prize has been awarded annually to qualified journalists writing for the local daily press.

September 1, 1981 Establishment of the 'Political Academy' under the direction of Klaus Weigelt. Educational activities are being continued at the same time by the Institute for Political Education (IPP). Remaining the hub of education, Eichholz Manor conducts educational programmes nationwide and synchronises cooperation with the Stiftung's liaison office in Berlin.

June 1, 1982 The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung opens its Jerusalem office.

1984 The Office for International Cooperation merges with the Institute for International Solidarity to form the Institute for International Cooperation. Lothar Kraft is made Chief Executive Officer of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Succeeding him as Director of the Institute for International Cooperation, Josef Thesing continues in office until July 2000.

September 20, 1984 The General Assembly votes to change the statutes to enlarge the Executive Board, which now includes Elisabeth Noelle-Neumann, Paul Mikat, Hans-Peter Schwarz, and Michael Stürmer.

July 14, 1986 Dismissing an action by the Green parliamentary party to stop the allocation of public funds to support the Stiftung' political-education activities, the Federal Constitutional Court endorses the allocation of unspecific subsidies to the foundations which, though close to the political parties, remain independent in legal, personal, and organisational terms.

January 12, 1989 With Bruno Heck deciding not to stand for election again, Bernhard Vogel is made Chairman of the Executive Board of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Mr Heck had been serving in this function without interruption since 1968. Manfred Wörner is succeeded as Deputy Chairman by Minister Anton Pfeifer, while Wolfgang Jahn is elected Treasurer. Further members of the incoming board include Kai-Uwe von Hassel, Federal Chancellor Helmut Kohl, Konrad Kraske, Paul Mikat, Elisabeth Noelle-Neumann, Günter Rinsche, Hans-Peter Schwarz, and Manfred Wörner.

November 10, 1989 On the day after the fall of the wall, the Stiftung opens its first branch office in Central and Eastern Europe in the Palace of Warsaw.

February 2, 1990 A working group convened by the Chairman, Bernhard Vogel, takes steps to promote political education in the territory of the GDR in close cooperation with the Stiftung's education institutes. In the course of the year, education centres are established at Leipzig, Rostock, Erfurt, and Berlin.

May 7, 1990 The Executive Board adopts a master plan for political education in the GDR, which pays particular attention to training and consultation in the fields of local policy, university and school education, and talent promotion. The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung opens branch offices in Budapest and Moscow, followed by St. Petersburg in 1995.

1991 The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung acquires Wendgräben Manor in Saxony-Anhalt. Education activities begin in 1993. Converted in 1997, the house reopens as an education centre.

1992 The Stiftung's branch office in Brussels is converted into a European office dedicated to promoting the unification of Europe. Chairman Bernhard Vogel launches the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung's literature prize, which is awarded once a year in Weimar. The first author to win the prize is Sarah Kirsch in 1993. The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung undergoes a structural reform involving a reorganisation of its institutes into departments and branches. Moving its headquarters from Eichholz Manor to Sankt Augustin, the Political Academy becomes part of the Research and Consultation branch until 2000. In February, the management of the Stiftung's business is taken over pro tempore by Dorothee Wilms, Bernhard Vogel having been elected Minister President of Thuringia.

January 20, 1993 Although confirmed unanimously by the General Assembly as Chairman of the Stiftung, Bernhard Vogel decides to allow his appointment to rest so as to fulfil his duties as Chairman of the CDU in the Free State of Thuringia. Gerd Langguth is appointed Acting Chairman. The Foundation opens branch offices in Vietnam, Cambodia, Mongolia, the Baltic States, and Bratislava/Slovakia.

1994 Further branch offices open in Tashkent/Uzbekistan, Sofia/Bulgaria, and Kiev/Ukraine.

March 22, 1995 Günter Rinsche succeeds Bernhard Vogel as Chairman of the Stiftung, with Anton Pfeifer and Gerhard Stoltenberg as Deputy Chairmen. Wolfgang Peiner is elected Treasurer. Succeeding Günter Rinsche, the retired under-secretary Volkmar Köhler assumes the chair of the Planning Committee. The Stiftung begins to cooperate with the Harry S. Truman Institute for the Advancement of Peace at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, focussing particularly on issues relating to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

1996 The Stiftung opens its office in Beijing/Peoples' Republic of China. Another office is opened in Ramallah to promote constitutional structures and local government in the territory of the Palestinian Authority.

May 6, 1997 After the resignation of Gerd Langguth, Ottfried Hennig is appointed Acting Chairman, holding the newly-created office of Secretary General of the Stiftung.

June 23, 1998 Under the motto 'Giving Democracy a Future', the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung holds a civil-rights congress at the Leipzig Gewandhaus that is attended by Federal President Roman Herzog and about 2,000 delegates.

July 25, 1998 Federal Chancellor Helmut Kohl opens the house of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in the Tiergarten district of Berlin, which is designed as a forum for the capital. The Political Academy moves from Sankt Augustin to Berlin.

August 1, 1999 After Ottfried Hennig's resignation from the office of Secretary General for medical reasons, Wilhelm Staudacher assumes that function. Ottfried Hennig dies on October 19.

November 4, 1999 The Circle of Friends of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is established to promote the Foundation's activities and intensify the interest in Christian Democratic education in Germany.

February 8, 2000 To advise and support the Stiftung, the Executive Board convenes a Board of Trustees under the presidency of the former Federal President, Roman Herzog. The Board is composed of 22 personages from politics, science, and the economy. Within the framework of a structural reshuffle, the Domestic Policy and Social Market Economy branch is established.

September 27/28, 2000 A meeting entitled 'Europe and the Unity of Germany' is held at the Berlin 'Palace of Tears' to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the reunification. Following the resignation of Lothar Kraft, Josef Thesing is made Deputy Secretary General. The Stiftung's international activities are now conducted by Peter R. Weilemann and Winfried Jung.

March 30, 2001 Succeeding Günter Rinsche, Bernhard Vogel is elected Chairman once again by the General Assembly. Anton Pfeifer, Norbert Lammert, and Beate Neuss are elected Deputy Chairmen. Wilhelm Staudacher remains in office as Secretary General. Succeeding Wolfgang Peiner, the post of Treasurer is taken over by Franz Schoser. The Jerusalem Foundation opens the Konrad Adenauer Conference Centre in Jerusalem.

December 2002 Having reached the statutory age limit, Josef Thesing resigns as Deputy Secretary General of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. He is succeeded by Johannes von Thadden.

March 2003 Once again, Bernhard Vogel is unanimously confirmed by the General Assembly as Chairman of the Stiftung. Succeeding the Domestic Policy and Social Market Economy branch, the Politics and Consultation branch is set up in Berlin.

February 2004 The Politics and Consultation and the International Cooperation branches complete their move from Sankt Augustin to Berlin.

May 10, 2004 Succeeding Johannes von Thadden, who transferred to the CDU as its Federal Chief Executive on January 1, 2004, Christoph Kannengießer assumes the office of Deputy Secretary General.

March 18, 2005 Once again, the General Assembly confirms Bernhard Vogel for yet another term of office as Chairman of the Stiftung. The three Deputy Chairmen and the Secretary General are confirmed in office as well. On the same day, the foundation stone is laid for the Stiftung's administrative building in Berlin.

November 17, 2008 The new Secretary General Michael Thielen begins his work. Thielen, who was nominated by the Chairman of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, was elected unanimously by the General Assembly in June. Thielen is successor to former Secretary of State Wilhelm Staudacher.

December 4, 2009 The General Assembly of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung votes former President of the European Parliament, Hans-Gert Pöttering, as the Stiftung’s new Chairman. Pöttering starts in his function at January 1st 2010.

June 11, 2010 The Konrad Adenauer foundation is the first political foundation in Germany to be awarded with the “berufundfamilie” (‘work and family’) certificate for its measures to improve the compatibility of family and work.

June 14, 2013 Re-election of Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering as Chairman of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung.

from 'Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung', a book by Günter Beaugrand, with additional updates

Geschichte

1952 Erste Vorüberlegungen von CDU-Politikern für eine systematische staatsbürgerliche Bildungsarbeit im Geist christlich-demokratischer Werteordnung u.a. unter Beteiligung des 1954 verstorbenen Vorsitzenden des Evangelischen Arbeitskreises der CDU Hermann Ehlers, seines späteren Nachfolgers Robert Tillmanns und des Vorsitzenden der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion Heinrich Krone.

1953-1955 Diskussionen im CDU-Bundesvorstand unter Beteiligung von Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer über die Errichtung einer Ausbildungs- und Schulungsstätte zur Förderung des politischen Nachwuchses.

20.12.1955 Gründung der Gesellschaft für christlich-demokratische Bildungsarbeit e.V. in Bonn als Vorläufer der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

22.12.1955 Kauf von Schloss Eichholz bei Wesseling von August Karl von Joest durch den neu gegründeten Verein.

1956 Umbau von Schloss Eichholz zur Bildungsstätte. Erste Seminare im Dezember.

12.4.1957 Eröffnung von Schloss Eichholz durch Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer mit einem Festvortrag des Ministerpräsidenten von Schleswig-Holstein, Kai-Uwe von Hassel. Zum ersten Vorsitzenden der Gesellschaft für christlich-demokratische Bildungsarbeit wird Bruno Heck gewählt, als stellvertretender Vorsitzender Konrad Kraske und als Schriftführer Heinrich Krone.

26.4.1958 Umwandlung der Gesellschaft für christlich-demokratische Bildungsarbeit e. V. in "Politische Akademie Eichholz e. V." Arnold Bergstraesser wird erster Vorsitzender, zweiter Vorsitzender Konrad Kraske.

1.6.1958 Der Soziologe und Publizist Rüdiger Altmann übernimmt in Personalunion die Aufgaben des Geschäftsführers und Leiters der Politischen Akademie Schloss Eichholz.

1.4.1960 Peter Molt wird nach dem Ausscheiden von Rüdiger Altmann Akademieleiter. Die Bildungsarbeit erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der CDU-Bundesgeschäftsstelle unter Wahrung größtmöglicher Selbstständigkeit der Akademie. Intensivierung der Bildungsveranstaltungen zur europäischen Einigungspolitik.

1961 Einrichtung des Politischen Seminars in Schloss Eichholz mit einem sieben Wochen umfassenden Aufbau-, Haupt- und Oberseminar als Ausgangspunkt der bis in die Gegenwart in veränderter Form weitergeführten Bildungsarbeit.

Januar 1962 Der belgische Gewerkschaftsführer Auguste Vanistendael knüpft in Venezuela Kontakte mit christlich-demokratischen Politikern und regt eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Politischen Akademie Eichholz an, so dass schon bald mit der politischen Bildungsarbeit als Grundstein des "Instituts für Internationale Solidarität" begonnen werden kann.

1.7.1962 Gründung des Instituts für Internationale Solidarität der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (IIS).

Sommer 1962 Beginn der bis 1968 veranstalteten Internationalen Hochschulseminare in Schloss Eichholz für Nachwuchswissenschaftler und Studenten unter Mitwirkung internationaler Experten.

4.10.1963 Eröffnung des Erweiterungsbaus der Politischen Akademie Eichholz mit modernen Tagungsräumen und Gästezimmern durch Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer.

13.10.1964 Namensänderung des Trägervereins der Politischen Akademie Eichholz in "Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für politische Bildung und Studienförderung e.V." Vorstandswahl: gleichberechtigte Vorsitzende Alfred Müller-Armack und Franz Thedieck, geschäftsführender Vorsitzender Konrad Kraske, Schatzmeister Alphons Horten.

Dezember 1964 Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist mit ihrem Institut für Internationale Solidarität bereits in acht süd- und mittelamerikanischen Staaten sowie in Afrika vertreten: Venezuela, Chile, Brasilien, Kolumbien, Dominikanische Republik, Guatemala, Tansania und Kamerun. In den folgenden Jahren Partnerschaft mit christlich-demokratischen Parteien, Bildungsinstitutionen, Gewerkschaften und Genossenschaften in vielen Ländern.

15.1.1965 Gründung der Studienförderung der "Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung", ab 1971 Institut für Begabtenförderung (IBK).

1.2.1966 Bernhard Gebauer, seit 1961 bereits Studienleiter in Schloss Eichholz, führt nach dem Ausscheiden von Peter Molt die Leitung der Akademie weiter (bis 1981) und setzt das Konzept funktionsbezogener politischer Bildungsarbeit fort.

19.7.1966 Das Bundesverfassungsgericht verbietet die Finanzierung parteipolitischer Bildungsmaßnahmen aus öffentlichen Mitteln. Das Urteil führt zu einer weiteren Verselbstständigung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

1.10.1966 Adolf Herkenrath übernimmt die Leitung des Instituts für Internationale Solidarität.

1.10.1967 Gründung des Wissenschaftlichen Instituts (WIKAS), ab 1970 Sozialwissenschaftliches Forschungsinstitut (SFK) für die Grundlagenforschung der politischen Bildung. Erweiterung der Bildungsarbeit in Schloss Eichholz durch das Institut für kommunalpolitische Bildung und Forschung (lkBF), ab 1971 Institut für Kommunalwissenschaften (IFK).

27.6.1968 Bruno Heck wird zum Vorstandsvorsitzenden der Stiftung gewählt, zum geschäftsführenden Vorsitzenden Manfred Wörner, zum Schatzmeister Alphons Horten. Weitere Vorstandsmitglieder: Bundesminister Kai-Uwe von Hassel, Helmut Kohl, Konrad Kraske und Oberbürgermeister Günter Rinsche.

1970 Zweite Erweiterung der Bildungsstätte Schloss Eichholz durch Hörsäle, Konferenzräume, Büros und Gästezimmer. Erhöhung der Kapazität um dreißig Prozent.

1971 Errichtung des Instituts für Kommunalwissenschaften in Fortführung der bisherigen, bereits systematisch aufgebauten kommunalpolitischen Bildungsveranstaltungen in Schloss Eichholz (Leiter: Franz Schuster).

14.6.1972 Vorstandswahl: 1. Vorsitzender Bruno Heck, geschäftsführender Vorsitzender Manfred Wörner, Schatzmeister Walther Leisler Kiep. Weitere Vorstandsmitglieder: Bundestagspräsident Kai-Uwe von Hassel, Ministerpräsident Helmut Kohl, Generalsekretär Konrad Kraske, Oberbürgermeister Günter Rinsche.

1973 Günter Rinsche wird zum Vorsitzenden des Planungsausschusses berufen, der neue Forschungs- und Koordinierungsinstrumente für die weitere Entwicklung der Stiftung unter Mitwirkung kompetenter Persönlichkeiten erarbeitet und in den folgenden Jahren richtungsweisende Konzepte für die internationale Bildungsarbeit vorlegt.

1974 Philipp Ludwig wird Hauptgeschäftsführer (bis 1977).

1.2.1974 Lothar Kraft wird Leiter des Instituts für Internationale Solidarität, Paul B. Wink sein Stellvertreter.

1.7.1975 Gründung des Bildungswerks (BWK) der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mit der Errichtung von regionalen Außenstellen in den folgenden Jahren. Günther Rüther wird Leiter des Bildungswerks.

1976 Eröffnung des ersten europäischen Auslandsbüros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Madrid.

1.1.1976 Gründung des Archivs für Christlich-Demokratische Politik (ACDP) der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung unter Leitung von Klaus Gotto. Sein Stellvertreter wird Günter Buchstab.

21.6.1976 Umänderung des Stiftungsnamens in Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.

Dezember 1976 Einzug in den Stiftungsneubau Sankt Augustin, der die Stiftungsinstitute unter einem Dach zusammenfasst.

1977 Die Stiftung erwirbt die Villa La Collina in Cadenabbia am Comer See, in der Konrad Adenauer seit 1959 seinen Urlaub verbrachte, und errichtet hier eine internationale Begegnungsstätte. Gründung der Außenstellen Rom und Washington.

1978 Karl-Heinz Bilke wird Hauptgeschäftsführer (bis 1983).

1.1.1978 Gründung des Büros für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (BIZ), Leiter: Josef Thesing.

1.2.1978 Paul B. Wink wird Verwaltungsdirektor der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (bis 1998). Eröffnung der Außenstelle Brüssel. Gründung der Journalistischen Nachwuchsförderung als Sonderbereich der Begabtenförderung, um damit der Ideologisierung der Medien durch eine Qualifizierung von angehenden Journalisten entgegenzuwirken. Ab 2002 Journalisten-Akademie.

1980 Eröffnung der Außenstellen Paris und London. Erste Ausschreibung des Lokaljournalistenpreises der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Mit dem Preis werden seitdem jedes Jahr qualifizierte Journalisten der Tagespresse vor Ort ausgezeichnet.

1.9.1981 Gründung der "Politischen Akademie" unter der Leitung von Klaus Weigelt, daneben Fortführung des Bildungswerkes als Institut für Politische Bildung (IPB). Schloss Eichholz bleibt Zentrale des Bildungswerks, führt bundesweite Bildungsmaßnahmen durch und synchronisiert die Zusammenarbeit mit der Verbindungsstelle der Stiftung in Berlin.

1.6.1982 Eröffnung des Büros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Jerusalem.

1984 Zusammenlegung des Büros für Internationale Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Internationale Solidarität zum Institut für Internationale Zusammenarbeit. Lothar Kraft wird Hauptgeschäftsführer der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Sein Nachfolger als Leiter des Instituts für Internationale Zusammenarbeit wird bis Juli 2000 Josef Thesing.

20.9.1984 Mit Satzungsänderung durch die Mitgliederversammlung wird die Zahl der Vorstandsmitglieder erweitert. Neu in den Vorstand aufgenommen werden Elisabeth Noelle-Neumann, Paul Mikat, Hans-Peter Schwarz und Michael Stürmer.

14.7.1986 Das Bundesverfassungsgericht lehnt eine Organklage der Bundestagsfraktion der Grünen, an die Stiftungen in Zukunft keine öffentliche Mittel zur Förderung ihrer politischen Bildungsarbeit zu vergeben, ab und bestätigt die Zuweisung von Globalzuschüssen an die parteinahen, aber von den Parteien rechtlich, personell und organisatorisch unabhängigen Stiftungen.

12.1.1989 Weil Bruno Heck nicht mehr kandidiert, wird Bernhard Vogel Vorstandsvorsitzender der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Heck hatte diese Aufgabe ununterbrochen seit 1968 wahrgenommen. Dem stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden Manfred Wörner folgt Staatsminister Anton Pfeifer. Schatzmeister wird Wolfgang Jahn. Dem neuen Vorstand gehören weiter an: Kai-Uwe von Hassel, Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl, Konrad Kraske. Paul Mikat, Elisabeth Noelle-Neumann, Günter"Rinsche, Hans-Peter Schwarz und Manfred Wörner.

10.11.1989 Am Tag nach dem Mauerfall wird die Außenstelle der Stiftung im Warschauer Schloss als erste Außenstelle in Mittel- und Osteuropa eröffnet.

2.2.1990 Eine vom Vorsitzenden Bernhard Vogel berufene Arbeitsgruppe leitet auf dem Gebiet der DDR in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Bildungswerken der Stiftung Maßnahmen zur Förderung politischer Bildungsarbeit ein. Im Laufe des Jahres Gründung und Aufbau der Bildungswerke in Leipzig, Rostock, Erfurt und Berlin.

7.5.1990 Gesamtkonzept für die politische Bildung in der DDR vom Vorstand beschlossen unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Ausbildung und Beratung im Bereich der Kommunalpolitik, der Schulen und Hochschulen sowie der Begabtenförderung. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung eröffnet Außenstellen in Budapest und Moskau, ab 1995 auch in St. Petersburg.

1991 Ankauf von Schloss Wendgräben in Sachsen-Anhalt durch die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Ab 1993 Beginn der Bildungsarbeit. Nach Umbau 1997 Eröffnung des Hauses als Bildungszentrum.

1992 Die Außenstelle Brüssel der Stiftung wird zum Europa-Büro, das sich besonders der Förderung der europäischen Einigung zuwenden soll. Der Stiftungsvorsitzende Bernhard Vogel ruft den Literaturpreis der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ins Leben. Er wird jährlich in Weimar verliehen. Erste Preisträgerin ist 1993 Sarah Kirsch. Strukturreform der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mit einer Neugliederung der verschiedenen Institute in Arbeitsbereiche und Hauptabteilungen. Die Politische Akademie verlegt ihren Sitz von Schloss Eichholz nach Sankt Augustin und gehörte bis 2000 als Hauptabteilung zum Bereich Forschung und Beratung. Im Februar übernimmt Dorothee Wilms kommissarisch die Geschäfte der Stiftung, nachdem Bernhard Vogel zum Ministerpräsidenten von Thüringen gewählt worden ist.

20.1.1993 Bernhard Vogel wird von der Mitgliederversammlung einstimmig als Vorsitzender der Stiftung bestätigt, lässt aber wegen seiner Funktion als CDU-Vorsitzender des Freistaates Thüringen sein Amt ruhen. Gerd Langguth wird zum geschäftsführenden Vorsitzenden ernannt. Errichtung von Außenstellen der Stiftung in Vietnam, Kambodscha, in der Mongolei, in den Baltischen Staaten und in Bratislava/Slowakei.

1994 Eröffnung weiterer Büros in Taschkent/Usbekistan, Sofia/Bulgarien und Kiew/Ukraine.

22.3.1995 Günter Rinsche wird als Nachfolger von Bernhard Vogel Vorsitzender der Stiftung. Stellvertreter sind Anton Pfeifer und Gerhard Stoltenberg. Schatzmeister wird Wolfgang Peiner. Nach der Wahl Günter Rinsches zum Stiftungsvorsitzenden übernimmt Staatssekretär a. D. Volkmar Köhler den Vorsitz des Planungsausschusses. Kooperation der Stiftung mit dem Harry S. Truman Institute for the Advancement of Peace der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem insbesondere zu Fragen des israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikts.

1996 Eröffnung des Stiftungsbüros in Bejing/Volksrepublik China. Neues Büro der Stiftung in Ramallah zur Förderung der rechtsstaatlichen Strukturen und der Kommunalverwaltung in den autonomen Gebieten Palästinas.

6.5.1997 Ottfried Hennig wird nach dem Ausscheiden von Gerd Langguth als geschäftsführender Vorsitzender in das neugeschaffene Amt des Generalsekretärs der Stiftung berufen.

23.6.1998 Bürgerrechtlerkongress der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung im Gewandhaus Leipzig mit ca. 2000 Teilnehmern unter dem Motto "Der Demokratie Zukunft geben" mit Bundespräsident Roman Herzog.

25.7.1998 Eröffnung des Hauses der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung als Hauptstadt-Forum im Berliner Tiergarten durch Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl. Die Politische Akademie wird von Sankt Augustin nach Berlin verlegt.

1.8.1999 Nach dem krankheitsbedingten Ausscheiden von Ottfried Hennig aus dem Amt des Generalsekretärs übernimmt Wilhelm Staudacher diese Funktion. Ottfried Hennig stirbt am 19. Oktober.

4.11.1999 Der Freundeskreis der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung wird gegründet, um die Aktivitäten der Stiftung zu fördern und das Interesse für die christlich-demokratische Bildungsarbeit in Deutschland zu intensivieren.

8.2.2000 Zur Beratung und Unterstützung der Stiftung beruft der Vorstand ein Kuratorium, dessen Vorsitz Bundespräsident a.D. Roman Herzog übernimmt. Dem Kuratorium gehören 22 Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft an. Neugegründet wird im Rahmen einer Strukturveränderung die Hauptabteilung "Innenpolitik und Soziale Marktwirtschaft".

27./28.9.2000 Festveranstaltung zum zehnjährigen Jahrestag der Wiedervereinigung im Berliner "Tränenpalast" zum Thema "Europa und die deutsche Einheit". Josef Thesing wird nach dem Ausscheiden von Lothar Kraft stellvertretender Generalsekretär der Stiftung. Die Leitung der internationalen Arbeit übernehmen Peter R. Weilemann und Winfried Jung.

30.3.2001 Als Nachfolger von Günter Rinsche wird Bernhard Vogel erneut von der Mitgliederversammlung zum Vorsitzenden gewählt. Seine Stellvertreter sind Anton Pfeifer, Norbert Lammert und Beate Neuss. Wilhelm Staudacher bleibt Generalsekretär. Die Aufgabe des Schatzmeisters übernimmt Franz Schoser als Nachfolger von Wolfgang Peiner. Die Jerusalem-Foundation eröffnet das Konrad-Adenauer-Konferenzzentrum in Jerusalem.

Dezember 2002 Josef Thesing scheidet altersbedingt als stellvertretender Generalsekretär der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung aus. Sein Nachfolger wird Johannes von Thadden.

März 2003 Bernhard Vogel wird von der Mitgliederversammlung erneut einstimmig zum Vorsitzenden der Stiftung gewählt. In Nachfolge der Hauptabteilung "Innenpolitik und Soziale Marktwirtschaft" Gründung der Hauptabteilung "Politik und Beratung" in Berlin.

Februar 2004 Die zwei Hauptabteilungen „Politik und Beratung“ und „Internationale Zusammenarbeit“ schließen ihren Umzug von Sankt Augustin nach Berlin ab.

10.5.2004 Christoph Kannengießer übernimmt die Nachfolge des stellvertretenden Generalsekretärs Johannes von Thadden, der zum 1. Januar 2004 als Bundesgeschäftsführer zur CDU gewechselt ist.

18.3.2005 Bernhard Vogel wird von der Mitgliederversammlung für eine weitere Amtsperiode als Vorsitzender der Stiftung einstimmig bestätigt. Die drei stellvertretenden Vorsitzenden und der Generalsekretär werden ebenfalls in ihren Ämtern bestätigt. Am gleichen Tag erfolgt die Grundsteinlegung für den Neubau eines Verwaltungsgebäudes der Stiftung in Berlin.

Januar 2007 Die Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“ unter Schirmherrschaft von Bundespräsident Horst Köhler zeichnet die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung als „ausgewählten Ort“ aus.

Juli 2007 Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel wird einstimmig in seinem Amt als ehrenamtlicher Vorsitzender bestätigt.

1.10.2007 Der stellvertretende Generalsekretär Christoph Kannengießer wechselt zum Markenverband als Hauptgeschäftsführer. Sein Nachfolger wird Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, der diese Aufgabe zusätzlich zu seiner Leitung der Hauptabteilung Internationale Zusammenarbeit übernimmt.

17.11.2008 Der neue Generalsekretär Michael Thielen nimmt seine Arbeit auf. Thielen war im Juni auf Vorschlag des Vorsitzenden der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Ministerpräsident a.D. Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, von der Mitgliederversammlung einstimmig gewählt worden. Thielen wird Nachfolger des Staatssekretär a.D. Wilhelm Staudacher.

4.12.2009 Die Mitgliederversammlung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung wählt den ehemaligen Präsidenten des Europäischen Parlaments, Hans-Gert Pöttering, zum neuen Vorsitzenden der Stiftung. Pöttering tritt sein Amt am 1. Januar 2010 an.

11.6.2010 Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung wird als erste politische Stiftung Deutschlands mit dem Zertifikat „berufundfamilie“ für ihre Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf ausgezeichnet.

14.6.2013 Wiederwahl Dr. Hans-Gert Pötterings zum Vorsitzenden der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.