Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Civic Education

About the Civic Education

Civic education was indispensable in building a liberal democracy in the Federal Republic after 1945 and in reunited Germany after 1989. While there was an immediate link to the experience of totalitarian rule in the early days, civic education today is confronted by new challenges: Freedom and peace are taken for granted, and people fortunately have no experience of life without them.

At the same time, public approval of the foundations of our political and economic order is dwindling, the established political parties are losing their attraction, and political extremism is on the rise. This being so, it is all the more important – and all the more difficult – to get the message across that our democratic order cannot work without civic involvement. 'Democracies need democrats' – this is the perennial precept of civic education.

Addressing the destruction of the Weimar Republic by the combined efforts of extremists from the Right and Left as well as analyzing the crimes of National Socialism and the experience of communist dictatorship in the GDR will always remain core elements in civic education and its efforts to promote liberal democracy.

Rather than take the foundations of our democratic order for granted, civic education must promote them again and again. Endorsing this point, the 2013 agreement between the coalition partners CDU, CSU, and SPD states: ”Nevertheless, each generation needs civic education and governmental support for the active involvement of people in societal life. We will strengthen civic education for this reason”.

It is a valid concept that civic education at school should be supplemented by extramural offers, and that the state, implementing the principle of subsidiarity, should rely on a plurality of programs offered by private providers.
The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung forms an important part of the vivacious and plural scene of agencies providing civic education in Germany.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung considers civic education a vital part of its core business. This holds true both at home and abroad, with the proviso that we need to strengthen and improve transnational and international networking in this field.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung aims to empower citizens to promote our liberal democracy and to assume an active role in politics and society. Towards this end, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung provides background knowledge in politics and economics and promotes the emergence of active citizens in our democracy. But civic education is more than teaching knowledge about formal institutions and procedures or providing a forum for current debates: It also instills the values underlying our democratic order.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung shares this general mission to support democracy with many other providers of civic education. However, the important difference is the 'Christian Democratic basis' of its work as its statutes put it.

For this reason, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung addresses questions not only about how, but also about what and why things are happening in democracy and politics. More than just distributing facts, it communicates the conditions and objectives of political action based on fundamental values. Acting on the basis of Christian Democratic core values, it distinguishes itself from other providers.
In Germany, 18 civic education offices offer a wide range of conferences, seminars, and workshops which are attended by more than 120,000 citizens every year.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Politische Bildung

Bedeutung und Profil der Politischen Bildung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Politische Bildung war für den Aufbau der freiheitlichen Demokratie in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland nach 1945 und in ganz Deutschland nach 1989 unverzichtbar. Konnte sie damals noch unmittelbar an die Erfahrungen der Diktatur anknüpfen, so steht sie heute vor neuen Herausforderungen: Freiheit und Frieden gelten als selbstverständlich, und die Erfahrung ihres Verlustes fehlt glücklicherweise.

Zugleich sinkt die Zustimmung zu den Grundlagen unserer politischen und wirtschaftlichen Ordnung, die großen Volksparteien verlieren an Bindungskraft und politische Extremisten verzeichnen Erfolge. Umso wichtiger, aber zugleich schwieriger ist es zu vermitteln, dass unsere demokratische Ordnung nicht ohne das Mittun ihrer Bürger funktionieren kann. „Eine Demokratie braucht Demokraten“ ist und bleibt Leitsatz für die politische Bildung.

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Untergang der Weimarer Republik durch das Zusammenwirken von Links- und Rechtsextremismus, die Aufarbeitung der Verbrechen des Nationalsozialismus und der Erfahrungen der kommunistischen Diktatur in der DDR bleiben für die Politische Bildung Kernelemente in ihrem Werben für die freiheitliche Demokratie.

Politische Bildung darf die Grundlagen unserer demokratischen Ordnung nicht als selbstverständlich voraussetzen, sondern muss immer neu für sie werben. Dies unterstreicht auch die Koalitionsvereinbarung zwischen CDU, CSU und SPD, in der es heißt: „Gleichwohl bedarf es in jeder Generation der Politischen Bildung und der staatlichen Unterstützung für eine aktive Beteiligung der Menschen am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Wir werden deshalb die Politische Bildung stärken“.

Es hat sich bewährt, dass Politische Bildung an der Schule durch ein außerschulisches Angebot ergänzt wird und der Staat in Umsetzung des Subsidiaritätsprinzips auf ein plurales Angebot freier Träger setzt.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist Teil der lebendigen und pluralen Trägerlandschaft Deutschlands in der Politischen Bildung.

Für die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist Politische Bildung eines ihrer Kerngeschäfte. Das gilt im Inland wie im Ausland, wobei die Vernetzung dieser Tätigkeitsfelder weiter vorangetrieben werden muss.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung will Bürgerinnen und Bürger befähigen, als mündige Bürger für unsere freiheitliche Demokratie zu werben und zugleich eine aktive Rolle in Politik und Gesellschaft zu übernehmen. Dazu vermittelt die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung politisches und wirtschaftliches Grundlagenwissen und fördert die Befähigung zum aktiven Bürger in der Demokratie. Dabei ist Politische Bildung mehr als Institutionenkunde oder Aktualitätsforum, sie vermittelt die wertbezogenen Grundlagen unserer demokratischen Ordnung.

Über diesen allgemeinen Auftrag zur Demokratieförderung hinaus, in dem sich viele Träger Politischer Bildung einig wissen, unterscheidet sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung von anderen Anbietern durch die „christlich-demokratische Grundlage“ ihrer Arbeit, wie es in der Stiftungssatzung heißt.

Deshalb befasst sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung nicht nur mit dem „WIE“ von Demokratie und Politik, sondern auch mit dem „WAS“ und „WARUM“. Sie will nicht nur Wissen vermitteln, sondern auch Voraussetzungen und Zielrichtungen für grundwerteorientiertes politisches Handeln. Weil sie das aus christlich-demokratischer Verantwortung tut, unterscheidet sie sich von anderen Trägern.

Im geeinten Deutschland bieten 18 Politische Bildungsforen Gespräche, Seminare und Workshops an. Jährlich nehmen über 120.000 Bürger an den Veranstaltungen teil.