European and International Cooperation

Africa

At the beginning of the 90's Africa was seized of a wave of democratization processes. Since then, in nearly all of the 42 states south of the Sahara elections for presidency or parliament were held under participation of several parties. On the other hand, multiple party systems are not yet effectively established in Africa and still insufficient in many countries. Also the participation of the civil society in political decision-making processes, the possibility for the free expression of opinion and the prospect on legal security are so far not yet sufficiently guaranteed.

According to statements of experts the economy of our neighbour continent grows at the present with over five per cent, which is the best result within the last 30 years. This growth is caused by an increasingly dynamic economy, reforms and a continuous worldwide need for resources. However, based on economical and social indicators the countries south of the Sahara still drop back far behind other world regions. Industrial development took place basically, but most national economies of Africa still depend on the export of agricultural and mineral ressources.

Despite a lowering of the poverty rate from 47 to 41 per cent, Africa has still the highest poverty world-wide. It is doubtful that it can be halved until 2015. In terms of the Millennium Development Goals (MDG), at least the school enrolment rate of children has increased. Nowadays 70 per cent of all children receive a basic education, while 1999 only 57 per cent did.

At present most African countries develop national strategies to fight poverty. Also regional integration efforts can be recognized in the establishment of „New Partnership for Africa’s Development” (NEPAD) and the Pan-African Parliament as well as in the advancement of regional organs like e.g. SADC, SACU and ECOWAS. Very promising are also the resolutions of the Peace and Security Council, which has been created by the African Union in 2004 and wants to be ready to accomplish conflict-preventive and peace-receiving measures until 2010. These progresses however are still contrasted by state crises, wars and armed conflicts (Sudan, Chad, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Somalia etc.) as well as by social disadvantage, inequality and marginalization in the world trade. Africa is still the continent on which the majority of all martial conflicts take place. The African integration efforts and reform initiatives are accompanied by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung with the following emphases:

  • Democracy promotion: Promotion of „Good Governance“ and development-oriented government acting; Establishment of working national and democratic structures and an intact multiple party system; Support of the African party alliance UPADD; Co-operation with African parliaments; Value-bound basic and advanced training of development-oriented elite; Promotion of organizations of the civil society, media, federations and religious communities
  • Promotion and establishment of constitutional structures for the creation of legal security; Promotion of the judiciary as an independent force, constitution consultation, human rights
  • Decentralization / Local autonomy: Support of local structures (after the priciple of subsidiarity))
  • Politico-economic dialogue and regional integration to establish basic conditions for economy which are as well social as oriented on development and the free market; Promotion of supraregional cooperations referring to political questions of economy and security
  • Political dialogue and crisis prevention: Supranational dialogue to questions of development and security; Promotion of the intercultural and interreligious value dialogue

Beside our field offices we operate with three regional programs south of the Sahara: Media, constitutional state and political dialogue.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Afrika

Zu Beginn der neunziger Jahre wurde Afrika von einer Welle von Demokratisierungsprozessen erfasst. In fast allen der 42 Staaten südlich der Sahara wurden in den letzten 16 Jahren Präsidentschafts- oder Parlamentswahlen unter Beteiligung mehrerer Parteien abgehalten. Mehrparteiensysteme sind in Afrika aber noch unzureichend und in vielen Ländern noch nicht nachhaltig etabliert. Auch die Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft an politischen Entscheidungsprozessen, die Möglichkeit zur freien Meinungsäußerung und die Aussicht auf Rechtssicherheit sind bisher noch nicht ausreichend sichergestellt.

Nach Aussagen von Experten wächst die Wirtschaft unseres Nachbarkontinents mit zurzeit über fünf Prozent so stark wie seit 30 Jahren nicht mehr. Dieses Wachstum ist u.a. auf eine zunehmend dynamische Wirtschaft und Reformen zurückzuführen sowie auf den andauernden Rohstoffboom. Gemessen an wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Indikatoren fällt Afrika südlich der Sahara jedoch noch immer weit hinter andere Weltregionen zurück. Industrielle Entwicklung hat ansatzweise stattgefunden, aber die meisten Volkswirtschaften Afrikas hängen noch immer vom Export landwirtschaftlicher und mineralischer Rohstoffe ab.

Trotz einer Senkung der Armutsrate von 47 auf 41 Prozent, ist in Afrika die Armut weltweit noch immer am höchsten und wird bis 2015 wohl nicht halbiert werden können. In Hinblick auf die Millennium-Entwicklungsziele (MDG) hat sich zumindest aber die Einschulungsrate von Kindern erhöht. Hier erhalten inzwischen 70 Prozent aller Kinder eine Grundbildung, während es 1999 nur 57 Prozent waren.

Derzeit entwickeln die meisten afrikanischen Länder nationale Armutsbekämpfungsstrategien. Auch regionale Integrationsbemühungen sind deutlich erkennbar wie in der Gründung der Partnerschaft für Afrikas Entwicklung (NEPAD) und des Panafrikanischen Parlaments sowie in der Weiterentwicklung von Regionalorganen wie z.B. SADC, SACU und ECOWAS. Viel versprechend sind auch die Vorsätze des 2004 gegründeten Friedens- und Sicherheitsrats der AU, der bis 2010 in der Lage sein will, konfliktpräventive und friedenserhaltende Maßnahmen durchzuführen. Diesen Fortschritten stehen aber nach wie vor Staatskrisen, Kriege und bewaffnete Konflikte gegenüber (Sudan, Tschad, DR Kongo, Äthiopien, Somalia etc.) sowie soziale Benachteiligung, Ungleichheit und Marginalisierung im Welthandel. Afrika ist aber immer noch der Kontinent, auf dem die Mehrzahl aller kriegerischen Konflikte stattfindet. Die afrikanischen Integrationsbemühungen und Reforminitiativen begleitet die Stiftung mit folgenden inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten:

  • Demokratieförderung: Förderung von „Good Governance“ und entwicklungsorientiertem Regierungshandeln, Aufbau funktionierender staatlicher und demokratischer Strukturen und eines intakten Mehrparteiensystems; Unterstützung des afrikanischen Parteienbündnis UPADD; Zusammenarbeit mit afrikanischen Parlamenten; Wertegebundene Aus- und Fortbildung entwicklungsorientierter Eliten; Förderung von Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft, Medien, Verbänden und Religionsgemeinschaften
  • Förderung bzw. Aufbau rechtsstaatlicher Strukturen zur Schaffung von Rechtssicherheit; Förderung der Judikative als unabhängige Gewalt, Verfassungsberatung, Menschenrechte
  • Dezentralisierung/ kommunale Selbstverwaltung: Unterstützung kommunaler Strukturen (nach dem Subsidiaritätsprinzip)
  • Wirtschaftspolitischer Dialog und regionale Integration für die Schaffung entwicklungsorientierter, sozial und marktwirtschaftlich orientierten Rahmenbedingungen; Förderung überregionaler Kooperationen in wirtschafts- und sicherheitspolitischen Fragen
  • Politikdialog und Krisenprävention: Länderübergreifender Dialog zu entwicklungs- und sicherheitspolitischen Fragen; Förderung des interkulturellen und interreligiösen Wertedialogs

Neben unseren Länderprogrammen führen wir in Afrika südlich der Sahara auch drei sektorale Programme: Medien, Rechtsstaat und Politischer Dialog (siehe rechte Leiste) durch.