European and International Cooperation

Europe

An increasing meaning is attached to the work of the field offices of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Europe. It is the most important aim to strengthen and deepen European and transatlantic cooperation and to improve the bilateral connections at the same time.

The emphasis in Western Europe is on the co-operation with the parties of the centre and the European People's Party (EPP), including the EPP-ED-parliamentary group in the European parliament, on the European politics, the foreign and security policy as well as the economic, social, energy and environmental policy. The focus is on the promotion of reform approaches as a contribution to shape the future. In addition the emphasis is on tasks, which result from the increasing world-wide responsibility of Germany and Europe.

The emphasis of the KAS work in Central and Eastern Europe is:

Advancing the MOE reform countries to the European and transatlantic structures, continuation of all accompanying measures to support the entry and advancing strategies of these countries

Promotion of the democratization and transformation processes in the Russian Federation and Ukraine, intensification of the political dialogue with the guiding elite, cooperation on security policy

Establishment of the new emphasis South-east Europe (stability pact), connection of existing and new structures to develop regional cooperation, measures for the democracy promotion, for the economic transformation and for the political and socio-political dialogue

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Europa

Der Arbeit der Außenstellen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Europa kommt eine wachsende Bedeutung zu. Zentralanliegen ist es, die europäische und transatlantische Zusammenarbeit zu stärken und zu vertiefen und dabei gleichzeitig die bilateralen Verbindungen weiter zu entwickeln.

Die inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte in Westeuropa liegen auf dem Gebiet der Zusammenarbeit mit den Parteien der Mitte und der Europäischen Volkspartei EVP, einschließlich der EVP-ED-Fraktion im Europäischen Parlament, in der Europapolitik, der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik sowie der Wirtschafts-, Sozial-, Energie- und Umweltpolitik. Der Akzent bei der Behandlung dieser Aufgabenfelder liegt auf der Förderung von Reformansätzen als Beitrag zur Zukunftsgestaltung. Dazu treten verstärkt Aufgaben, die sich aus der zunehmenden weltweiten Verantwortung Deutschlands und Europas ergeben.

Die Schwerpunkte der KAS-Arbeit in Mittel- und Osteuropa sind:

  • Heranführung der MOE-Reformländer an die europäischen und transatlantischen Strukturen, Fortsetzung aller begleitenden Maßnahmen zur Unterstützung der Beitritts- und Heranführungsstrategien dieser Länder
  • Förderung der Demokratisierung und Transformationsprozesse in der Russischen Föderation und der Ukraine, Intensivierung des politischen Dialogs mit den Führungseliten, sicherheitspolitische Zusammenarbeit
  • Aufbau des neuen Aktionsschwerpunktes Südosteuropa (Stabilitätspakt), Verbindung vorhandener und neu aufzubauender Strukturen zur Förderung der regionalen Zusammenarbeit, Maßnahmen in den Bereichen Demokratieförderung, Wirtschaftstransformation, politischer und gesellschaftspolitischer Dialog.