European and International Cooperation

Middle East/North Africa

A peace process between Israel and its neighbours started in 1993 in the Middle East, and since Israel’s right to exist is accepted by the Palestinian liberation movement, the relations between the different countries of the region received a new quality. However, the establishment of a stable peace order is still far away and in particular in Palestine the installation of a democratic and constitutional order and the establishment of new civilian institutions are still connected with large difficulties.

In the southern Mediterranean area economic and also political liberalisation are endangered by the demographic development and social problems. A closer association with the European Union can support the stabilization and strengthening of reforms. The Euro-Mediterranean dialogue is an important and useful instrument in order to bring Europe and North Africa closer to each other. It offers the platform for as important topics as migration processes, Security questions and regional co-operation.

In the Mediterranean and the Middle East, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung pledges for:

  • Promotion of peaceful coexistence within the region;
  • Promotion of development oriented at democracy, rule of law and social free-market economy;
  • Promotion of persons, institutions and processes that initiate political and social liberalisation and modernization;
  • Promotion of regional co-operation and integration;
  • Promotion of decentralization and local autonomy structures.

Emphasis countries are Israel, the Palestinian Territories and Turkey. Egypt has high importance in the regional context of peace process. Morocco and Jordan are important for the effectiveness of the dialogue programs, especially because of the change of power in both royal houses, which could initialize a progressive democratization.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Nahost/Nordafrika

Im Nahen Osten ist seit 1993 ein Friedensprozess zwischen Israel und seinen Nachbarn in Gang gekommen und nach der Anerkennung des Existenzrechts des Staates Israel durch die Palästinensische Befreiungsbewegung haben die Beziehungen zwischen den verschiedenen Ländern der Region eine neue Qualität erhalten. Allerdings ist es bis zur Errichtung einer stabilen Friedensordnung noch ein weiter Weg, und insbesondere in Palästina sind der Aufbau einer demokratischen und rechtsstaatlichen Ordnung und die Etablierung neuer ziviler Institutionen noch mit großen Schwierigkeiten verbunden.

Im südlichen Mittelmeerraum sind wirtschaftliche und auch politische Liberalisierung durch die Bevölkerungsentwicklung und die sozialen Probleme gefährdet. Eine engere Assoziierung mit der Europäischen Union kann hier zur Stabilisierung und Stärkung der Reformen beitragen. Der Euro-Mediterrane Dialog ist vor diesem Hintergrund ein wichtiges und nützliches Instrument, um Europa und Nordafrika einander näher zu bringen. Er bietet die Plattform für so wichtige Themen wie Migrationsprozesse, Sicherheitsfragen und regionale Zusammenarbeit.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung setzt sich in den Regionen Mittelmeer und Nahost ein für die

  • Förderung des friedlichen Zusammenlebens innerhalb der Region;
  • Förderung einer an Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Sozialer Marktwirtschaft orientierten Entwicklung;
  • Förderung von Personen, Institutionen und Prozessen, die politische und gesellschaftliche Liberalisierung und Modernisierung anregen;
  • Förderung der regionalen Kooperation und Integration;
  • Förderung von Dezentralisierung und von kommunalen Selbstverwaltungsstrukturen.

Schwerpunktländer sind Israel, die Gebiete Palästinas und die Türkei. Ägypten kommt im Regionalkontext des Friedensprozesses eine anhaltend hohe Bedeutung zu. Marokko und Jordanien bleiben für die Wirksamkeit der Dialogprogramme wichtig, besonders auch vor dem Hintergrund der Machtwechsel in beiden Königshäusern, welche einer fortschreitenden Demokratisierung Anschub geben könnten.