Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Civic Education

Economy

Introcution

Image


The economic restart was thrice as difficult in the Soviet-occupied zone. Adding to the destruction was the tremendous dismantlement started by the Soviet Union already before the end of the war as well as later reparations and a lack of support comparable to the Marshall Plan.

The fact that the GDR broke down especially due to the economic collapse in the 1980's, is closely related to the idea of the ‘social market economy’. This economy took place in nationally owned concerns, which had arisen through expropriations and forced collectivization, with socialist commodity producers.

The economy consisted not only of productive but also ideological, socialist society-shaping, functions: this meant socialist ownership of means of production instead of initiative promoting, private property. Use of scarce factors of production, not by market mechanisms, free competition and free pricing, but by means of the socialist planned economy under the policy of planning and management on the basis of annual plans and five-year plans.

Plan fulfillment instead of market control

In the State plan, fulfillment of demands and enhancement in living standards are defined as goals. Increase in effectiveness is determined by technical progress and the socialist economic integration in the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance.

Although leading to an evenly spread fulfillment of demands, the non-market based expense budgeting, administrated prices for provisions, rent, power and allocated vacations are often given at poor quality and in shortages.

© Harald Hauswald, Agentur Ostkreuz Berlin
© Harald Hauswald, Agentur Ostkreuz Berlin


Lack of profit incentive and lack of national and international competition cause a suboptimal use of scarce resources, hinder innovation and prevent the use of the global market of existing optimal technology. The goal of educating a socialist personality, the increase of socialist consciousness and the dissociation with the class enemy do the rest. The society and economy follow Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels instead of Adam Smith and Ludwig Erhard, also represented in bookstore displays.

Through systematic propaganda, rhetoric promoting plan fulfillment, public commendation, beautiful images and platitudinous slogans, forged and deceptive statistics and non-market-conform calculations, the regime catapulted up to the seventh place of the richest industrialized nations.

Without the power and commitment of highly educated workers of the “Arbeiter- und Bauernstaat”, generally appointed through professional guidance, the propaganda tainted prosperity, which in comparison to other Socialist countries did actually exist, would not have been present to this extent.

Nevertheless, the collapse could not be stopped. Additionally, the socialist planned economy was in no position to provide equal and fair fulfillment of demand at a desirable standard and create a modern and technically prominent as well as competitively viable economic structure.

While the portal will be expanded gradually, illuminating all facets of everyday life in the GDR is impossible. Instead, we want to encourage discussions on the topic, enhance textbook knowledge, as well as offer those interested quick access to the major topics.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)DDR - Mythos und Wirklichkeit

Wirtschaft

Einführung

Der wirtschaftliche Neubeginn war in der sowjetisch besetzten Zone dreifach schwierig. Zu den Zerstörungen kamen die bereits vor Kriegsende begonnenen gewaltigen Demontagen durch die Sowjets und spätere Reparationszahlungen sowie eine fehlende Unterstützung vergleichbar mit dem Marshallplan.

Dass die DDR vor allem auch wegen des ökonomischen Kollapses in den achtziger Jahren zusammenbrach, hängt eng mit der Idee einer „sozialistischen Volkswirtschaft“ zusammen. Die sozialistische Volkswirtschaft vollzog sich in volkseigenen Betrieben, die nach Enteignungen und Zwangskollektivierung entstanden waren, mit sozialistischen Warenproduzenten.

© Harald Hauswald, Agentur Ostkreuz Berlin

Sie hatte nicht nur produktive sondern auch ideologische, eine sozialistische Gesellschaft gestaltende Funktion: Sozialistisches Eigentum an den Produktionsmitteln statt Initiative förderndes Privateigentum. Einsatz knapper Produktionsfaktoren nicht mittels Marktmechanismen, freiem Wettbewerb und freier Preisbildung, sondern mittels der sozialistischen Planwirtschaft nach dem Grundsatz Planung und Leitung auf der Basis von Jahresplänen und Fünfjahresplänen.

Planerfüllung statt Marktsteuerung

Im Staatsplan sind als Ziele eine planmäßige Bedarfsdeckung und die Erhöhung des Lebensstandards definiert. Effektivitätssteigerung wird durch technischen Fortschritt und die sozialistische ökonomische Integration in den RGW vorgegeben.

Eine nicht marktgerechte Kostenkalkulation, administrierte Preise für Lebensmittel, Mieten, Energie, zugeteilten Urlaubsreisen, führen indes zwar zu einer gleichmäßigen Bedarfsdeckung, aber auf niedrigem Niveau, zu oftmals schlechter Qualität, zu Engpässen und Mangel.

Fehlender Gewinnanreiz, fehlender nationaler wie internationaler Wettbewerb verursachen einen suboptimalen Einsatz knapper Ressourcen, behindern Innovation und verhindern den Einsatz am Weltmarkt vorhandener bestmöglicher Technologie.

Das Ziel der Erziehung zur sozialistischen Persönlichkeit, die Steigerung des sozialistischen Bewusstseins und die Abgrenzung vom Klassenfeind tun ihr übriges. Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft folgen Karl Marx und Friedrich Engels statt Adam Smith und Ludwig Erhard, auch in den Auslagen der Bücherläden.

Mit systematischer Propaganda, stolzer Planerfüllungsrhetorik, öffentlicher Belobigung, schönen Bildern und platten Slogans, mit gefälschten und täuschenden Statistiken und nicht marktgerechten Kursumrechnungen katapultiert sich das Regime bis an die siebte Stelle der reichsten Industrienationen.

Ohne die Leistung und das Engagement der gut ausgebildeten, in aller Regel über berufliche Lenkung eingesetzten Werktätigen im „Arbeiter- und Bauernstaat“ wäre der propagandistisch überzeichnete, aber im Vergleich zu den anderen sozialistischen Ländern durchaus vorhandene Wohlstand nicht zustande gekommen.

Dennoch: Der Zusammenbruch war nicht aufzuhalten. Weder vermochte die sozialistische Volkswirtschaft eine gleiche und gerechte Bedarfsdeckung auf erwünschtem Niveau sicherzustellen noch eine moderne und technisch herausragende und wettbewerbsfähige Wirtschaftsstruktur zu schaffen.

Der Anspruch, umfassend alle Facetten zu beleuchten, besteht nicht. Wir wollen vielmehr zur Auseinandersetzung mit der Thematik anregen, die Materialien in den Schulbüchern ergänzen sowie den Interessierten einen schnellen Zugriff auf die wichtigsten Themenfelder ermöglichen.