Online-Seminar

Democracy and Legitimacy: How important is Electoral Monitoring for Brazil in 2022?

Celebrating the International Day of Democracy 2021

Details

M4
In honor of the International Day of Democracy, celebrated officially on September 15th KAS Brazil, in cooperation with the Institute of International Relations of PUC-Rio, is holding this seminar to discuss Election Monitoring taking into consideration the Brazilian national elections in 2022. This seminar will start with the international experience on election monitoring and then focus on the Brazilian case.

 

Introduction

Several intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations - OSCE, OAS, African Union, and the Carter Center - engage in election monitoring. The OSCE`S Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, for example, has developed norms and technologies for this practice that are recognized as a reference worldwide. Although initially missions were deployed mainly in situations of fragility, today they are requested by more than 100 countries. International election monitoring has provided both stability and references for tackling disputes.

 

Since the 2000s elections, Brazil has been considered one of the most efficient democracies in the world and one of the less vulnerable to fraud, in addition to its exemplary experience regarding logistics. More than 100 million voters head to the polls on the same day and just hours after the end of the procedure the result of the elections is issued. Despite this success, there has been an increase in the number of public manifestations expressing distrust of the electronic ballot box. This theme is fundamental to the public debate in the country, especially considering the 2022 national elections. Therefore, the discussion of the electoral process presently is absolutely crucial and an interesting topic to honor the International Day of Democracy.

 

Panels

 

Panel I: The Practice of International Election Monitoring How does an International Election Monitoring mission work and what kind of challenges might appear? How has this practice advanced throughout the years? What are the recommendations for an election monitoring in a Latin American country?

 

​​​​​​​Panel II: The Brazilian Case - keeping an eye on 2022 Despite the success of the electoral process in Brazil, there has been an increase in the number of public manifestations expressing distrust of the electronic ballot box. What should we expect for the 2022 Brazilian national elections? What are the main characteristics of the electoral process in Brazil? What are the benefits and risks of an electronic ballot box?

 

Registrations here

Add to the calendar

Venue

Online Seminar

Contact

Ariane Costa

Ariane Costa

Project Coordinator for Political Education

Contact

Luiz Gustavo Carlos

Brazil

Projektkoordinator für den Bereich Demokratie, Rechtsstaat und Menschenrechte

luiz.carlos@kas.de +55 21 2220 5441 +55 21 2220 5448

Online-Seminar

Internationaler Tag der Demokratie 2021

Feierlichkeiten zum Internationalen Tag der Demokratie 2021

Details

M4

Zu Ehren des Internationalen Tages der Demokratie, der offiziell am 15. September begangen wird, veranstaltet die KAS Brasilien in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Internationale Beziehungen der PUC-Rio dieses Seminar, um die Wahlbeobachtung im Hinblick auf die brasilianischen Präsidentschaftswahlen im Jahr 2022 zu diskutieren. Die Veranstaltung findet am 30. September ab 9 Uhr in einem virtuellen Format statt.


Plattform: Zoom | Simultandolmetschung ENG-PORT


Einführung

Mehrere zwischenstaatliche und nichtstaatliche Organisationen - OSZE, OAS, Afrikanische Union und das Carter Center - sind an der Wahlbeobachtung beteiligt. Das OSZE-Büro für demokratische Institutionen und Menschenrechte hat beispielsweise Standards und Technologien für diese Praxis entwickelt, die weltweit als Referenz anerkannt sind. Obwohl die Missionen ursprünglich vor allem in fragilen Situationen eingesetzt wurden, werden sie heute von mehr als 100 Ländern angefordert. Auf diese Weise hat die internationale Wahlbeobachtung Stabilität und einen Bezugspunkt für den Umgang mit Streitigkeiten geschaffen.

Seit den Wahlen im Jahr 2000 gilt Brasilien als eine der effizientesten Demokratien der Welt und als eine der am wenigsten betrugsanfälligen, und seine Erfahrungen mit der Logistik gelten als beispielhaft. Mehr als 100 Millionen Wählerinnen und Wähler gehen am selben Tag zu den Urnen, und wenige Stunden nach dem Ende des Verfahrens werden die Wahlergebnisse bekannt gegeben. Trotz dieses Erfolges hat die Zahl der öffentlichen Misstrauensbekundungen gegenüber der elektronischen Wahl zugenommen, so dass dieses Thema in der öffentlichen Debatte des Landes eine zentrale Rolle spielt, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Präsidentschaftswahlen 2022. Die Diskussion über den Wahlprozess ist zu diesem Zeitpunkt von grundlegender Bedeutung und ein wichtiges Thema zu Ehren des Internationalen Tages der Demokratie.


Panels:               

Panel I: Internationale Wahlbeobachtung in der Praxis

Wie läuft eine internationale Wahlbeobachtungsmission ab und welche Herausforderungen können auftreten? Wie hat sich diese Praxis im Laufe der Jahre entwickelt? Was sind die Empfehlungen für die Wahlbeobachtung in einem Land wie Brasilien?

 

Panel II: Der brasilianische Fall - Blick auf das Jahr 2022

Trotz des erfolgreichen Wahlprozesses in Brasilien hat die Zahl der öffentlichen Misstrauensbekundungen gegenüber der elektronischen Wahlurne zugenommen. Was können wir für die nationalen Wahlen 2022 erwarten? Was sind die wichtigsten Merkmale des Wahlprozesses in Brasilien? Was sind die Vorteile und Risiken der elektronischen Stimmabgabe?


Zur Anmeldung klicken Sie bitte hier

 

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Veranstaltungsort

Online Seminar

Kontakt

Ariane Costa

Ariane Costa

Projektkoordinatorin für Politische Bildung

ariane.costa@kas.de +55 21 2220 5441 +55 21 2220 5448
Kontakt

Luiz Gustavo Carlos

Brazil

Projektkoordinator für den Bereich Demokratie, Rechtsstaat und Menschenrechte

luiz.carlos@kas.de +55 21 2220 5441 +55 21 2220 5448

Bereitgestellt von

Auslandsbüro Brasilien