Online-Seminar

“China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe”

Presentation of study - Invitation to Online Seminar 16 July 2020

Online Seminar. Language: english

Details

Study Presentation China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe”
Study Presentation China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe”

The discussion of Sino-African relations continues to be dominated by China’s economic activities and aspirations. However, the People's Republic has been working for more than a decade to establish itself as a serious actor in security policy on the African continent and has already made significant progress. All the indications are that China, with its security ambitions, is pursuing a systematic and holistic continent-wide approach, including arms supplies and military diplomacy, as well as deployment in peacekeeping missions and participation in military training.

This development is attracting considerable attention among analysts and policymakers but there remains limited primary data shedding light on this aspect of Sino-African relations. Against this background, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, together with the Mercator Institute for China Studies, is pleased to invite you to the launch of a new joint study, ‘China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe’. Based on extensive fieldwork, the report outlines China’s growing security activities in Africa, their background and objectives, perceptions among West African stakeholders and implications for Europe.

To discuss this increasingly important topic, please join us for an online seminar on Thursday 16 July from 15:00 to 16:15 (CEST). Once you have registered, a detailed programme and further specifics will be provided before the event. Kindly use the provided link below to register.

 

We are looking forward to your participation.

 
https://kas-de.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_swv5Q9EcTgaQbsYpVmMylA


 

Add to the calendar

Online-Seminar

“China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe”

Präsentation der Studie –Einladung zum Online Seminar am 16 Juli 2020

Online-Seminar in englischer Sprache

Details

Study Presentation China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe”
Study Presentation China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe”

Der Diskurs über chinesisch-afrikanische Beziehungen wird nach wie vor v.a. von Chinas wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten und Bestrebungen dominiert. Die Volksrepublik arbeitet jedoch auch seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt daran, sich als ernstzunehmender sicherheitspolitischer Akteur auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent zu etablieren und hat bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt. Alles deutet darauf hin, dass China einen systematischen und ganzheitlichen, kontinentweiten Ansatz verfolgt, der Waffenlieferungen und Militärdiplomatie ebenso einschließt wie die Beteiligung an Friedensmissionen und militärischer Ausbildung.  

Diese Entwicklung wird von Analysten und politischen Entscheidungsträgern mit großer Aufmerksamkeit verfolgt, aber es gibt nach wie vor nur wenige Primärdaten, die diesen spezifischen Aspekt der chinesisch-afrikanischen Beziehungen beleuchten. Vor diesem Hintergrund freut sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Sie gemeinsam mit dem Mercator Institute for China Studies (MERICS) zur Vorstellung der gemeinsamen Studie "China’s growing security role in Africa: Views from West Africa, Implications for Europe" einzuladen. Auf der Grundlage umfangreicher Feldforschung skizziert der Bericht Chinas wachsende Sicherheitsaktivitäten in Afrika, deren Hintergrund und Ziele, die Wahrnehmung westafrikanischer Akteure sowie die Implikationen für Europa. 

Um dieses immer wichtiger werdende Thema gemeinsam zu diskutieren, laden wir Sie zur Teilnahme an unserem Online-Seminar am Donnerstag, dem 16. Juli, von 15:00 bis 16:15 Uhr (MESZ) ein. Die Veranstaltungssprache ist Englisch. Ein detailliertes Programm und weitere Einzelheiten senden wir allen registrierten Teilnehmern vor der Veranstaltung zu. 

Bitte benutzen Sie zur Anmeldung den folgenden Link: 

 
kas-de.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_swv5Q9EcTgaQbsYpVmMylA


(Sollten Sie nicht automatisch auf die Registrierungsseite weitergeleitet werden, kopieren Sie bitte den Link und öffnen Sie ihn in einem anderen Browser.)

Zum Kalender hinzufügen