Event

Barriers Facing Women Participation in Politics – Review of the 2018 Elections

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung & the Committee for Women Political Empowerment are organizing under the auspices of the Ministry of State for Women Affairs & HE Minister Jean Oghassabian a conference about the participation of women in Lebanese politics.

Details

After nine years of delayed parliamentary elections the hopes were high, that with the new election of a Lebanese parliament on the 6th of May 2018 the number of female MPs would significantly increase. The results of the elections however, showed otherwise. Even though the number of women candidates increased from 12 women in 2009 and 44 in 2013 to 113 female candidates in this election, only six were elected MPs.

The conference aims to bring together Lebanese political leaders, independent and parties’ representatives, civil society activists and experts to present lessons learnt from the previous elections and suggest solutions and recommendations that constructively create a new strategy and manifesto to bring efforts together that may lead to a breakthrough in the coming parliamentary elections 2022 by increasing the participation of women.

Add to the calendar

Venue

Mövenpick Hotel & Resort Beirut, General De Gaulle, Beirut

Contact

Dr. Malte Gaier

Dr

Resident Representative Lebanon

malte.gaier@kas.de +961 1 388 095/6

Event

Herausforderungen und Hindernisse für die Beteiligung von Frauen in der Politik – Eine Evaluation der Wahlen von 2018

Die KAS & das Committee for Women Political Empowerment organisieren unter Federführung des Ministeriums für Frauenangelegenheiten & Minister Jean Oghassabian eine Konferenz über die Beteiligung von Frauen in der libanesischen Politik.

Details

Nach neun Jahren verschobener Parlamentswahlen waren die Hoffnungen groß, dass mit der Neuwahl eines libanesischen Parlaments am 6. Mai 2018 die Anzahl der Parlamentarierinnen deutlich steigen würde. Die Ergebnisse der Wahlen zeigten jedoch ein anderes Bild. Obwohl die Zahl der weiblichen Kandidaten von 12 Frauen im Jahr 2009 und 44 im Jahr 2013 auf 113 Frauen stieg, wurden nur sechs Frauen ins libanesische Parlament gewählt.

Ziel der Konferenz ist es, libanesische politische Führer, Vertreter von unabhängigen Organisationen und Parteien, Aktivisten der Zivilgesellschaft und Experten zusammenzubringen, um die Erfahrungen aus den letzten Wahlen vorzustellen und Lösungen und Empfehlungen zu erarbeiten, die eine neue Strategie für einen Durchbruch in der stärken Beteiligung von Frauen bei den kommenden Parlamentswahlen 2022 darstellen.

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Veranstaltungsort

Mövenpick Hotel & Resort Beirut, General De Gaulle, Beirut