Event Reports

Adenauer Lecture: Facebook, Google and Co – The Regulation of Digital Platforms

by Johannes Wolf

On 29th of March, the third Adenauer Lecture by the Media Programme South East Europe of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation took place. As part of this seminar series, leading journalists and media experts from Germany give a presentation once a semester at Sofia University. Dr. Wolfgang Kreißig, Chairman of the Directors' Conference of the State Media Authorities, spoke about the current regulatory mechanisms for digital platforms in Germany.

In her opening address, Prof. Dr. Vesselina Valkanova, Dean of the Faculty of Journalism and Mass Communication at Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski", referred to the well-known author Noam Chomsky: "If we plead for freedom of expression, it means that we must also accept the views that we despise." However, the rise of digital platforms led to the establishment of new channels used for the spread of propaganda and false information – none of which being worthy of protection in terms of civil liberties. Therefore, clear standards regarding where and when corresponding regulations for internet providers are needed, are now even more important.

Hendrik Sittig, Head of the KAS Media Programme South East Europe, subsequently emphasised the value of reliable information, especially in periods of crisis. The more frequently false reports are spread, the more difficult the situation becomes for the audience. Even though disinformation is not a new occurrence at all, it has gained a new impact via social networks. "People only read, hear or see what they are attracted to. Other opinions are no longer assimilated and accepted. This is dangerous for a democracy and destroys our social foundation," said Sittig. However, social media also opened up a multitude of new opportunities as well: "It is therefore a constant process of weighing up the positive and negative aspects, the opportunities and the risks."

This tightrope act was also addressed by Dr. Wolfgang Kreißig in his subsequent presentation, in which he explained the situation in Germany: "Due to a changing behaviour when it comes to media usage and the dynamic digital developments, Germany has decided to take a pioneering role." Through the Interstate Media Treaty, which was enacted in November 2020, large internet platforms were regulated for the first time in Europe under the aspect of ensuring diversity. The two main mechanisms involved were transparency and non-discrimination: on the one hand, platform operators must reveal the criteria they use to suggest new content to users. On the other hand, systematic discrimination against journalistic and editorial content is inadmissible. Because freedom of expression is a value worth protecting, all of this ultimately depends on wise legislation, which cannot rely on bans alone. “That is why I am firmly convinced: Ensuring diversity, reliable information, an open democratic discourse, everything that constitutes democracy – all that requires a conjunction of balanced regulation and a sufficient degree of media literacy among citizens. Only this way we will be able to achieve our media regulation goals in the future,” said Kreißig. The event concluded in a lively discussion moderated by Prof. Dr. Valkanova. Many of the 120 participants contributed with questions.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Adenauer Lecture: Facebook, Google und Co - Regulierung digitaler Plattformen

von Johannes Wolf

Am 29. März fand die dritte Adenauer Lecture des Medienprogramms Südosteuropa der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung statt. Im Rahmen dieser Veranstaltungsreihe halten führende Journalisten und Medienexperten aus Deutschland einmal im Semester eine Vorlesung an der Universität Sofia. Dr. Wolfgang Kreißig, Vorsitzender der Direktorenkonferenz der Landesmedienanstalten, referierte über die aktuellen Regelmechanismen für digitale Plattformen in Deutschland.

In ihrer Begrüßungsrede berief sich Prof. Dr. Veselina Valkanova, Dekanin der Fakultät für Journalismus und Massenkommunikation an der Sofioter Universität „St. Kliment Ohridski“, auf den Autor Noam Chomsky: „Wenn wir für Meinungsfreiheit plädieren, bedeutet das, dass wir auch die Ansichten akzeptieren müssen, die wir verachten.“ Mit dem Aufstieg digitaler Plattformen gingen jedoch neue Möglichkeiten einher, Propaganda und Falschinformationen zu verbreiten, die kein schützenswertes Gut im Sinne der Freiheitsrechte seien. Umso wichtiger seien daher klare Standards, wann entsprechende Reglementierungen für Internet-Anbieter notwendig sind.

Hendrik Sittig, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogrammes Südosteuropa, betonte anschließend den Wert, den verlässliche Informationen gerade in Krisenzeiten haben. Je häufiger Falschmeldungen verbreitet würden, desto schwieriger werde die Lage für die Rezipienten. Auch wenn Desinformationen nichts Neues seien, erhielten sie gerade über Soziale Netzwerke eine neue Durchschlagskraft. „Menschen lesen, hören oder sehen nur noch, was sie interessiert. Andere Meinungen werden nicht mehr konsumiert und akzeptiert. Das ist gefährlich für eine Demokratie und zerstört unsere gesellschaftliche Basis,“ so Sittig. Gleichzeitig eröffne Social Media jedoch auch eine Vielzahl an neuen Möglichkeiten: „Es ist also ein stetiges Abwägen von Positiven und Negativen, von Chancen und Risiken.“

Auf diesen Balanceakt kam auch Dr. Wolfgang Kreißig in seinem anschließenden Vortrag zu sprechen, in dem er die Situation in der Bundesrepublik erklärte: „Aufgrund des veränderten Mediennutzungsverhaltens und dynamischer digitaler Entwicklungen hat man sich in Deutschland dazu entschieden, eine Vorreiterrolle einzunehmen.“ Durch den im November 2020 in Kraft getretenen Medienstaatsvertrag würden erstmals in Europa große Internetplattformen unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Vielfaltssicherung reguliert. Die beiden wesentlichen Wirkungsmechanismen seien Transparenz und Diskriminierungsfreiheit: Zum einen müssen Plattformbetreiber offenlegen, nach welchen Kriterien Nutzerinnen und Nutzern Inhalte vorgeschlagen werden. Zum anderen dürfen journalistisch-redaktionelle Inhalte nicht systematisch diskriminiert werden. Bei all dem käme es angesichts des hohen Schutzguts der Meinungsfreiheit letztlich auf eine kluge Regulierung an, die nicht allein auf Verbote setzen könne: „Deshalb bin ich der festen Überzeugung: Vielfaltssicherung, verlässliche Information, ein offener demokratischer Diskussionsprozess, all das was Demokratie ausmacht, erfordert ein Miteinander von ausgewogener Regulierung und einem hinreichenden Maß an Medienkompetenz bei den Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Nur so werden wir unsere medienrechtlichen Ziele auch in Zukunft erreichen können“, sagte Kreißig. Die Veranstaltung fand ihren Abschluss in einer lebhaften Diskussion, die Frau Prof. Valkanova moderierte. Viele der rund 120 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer brachten sich dabei mit Fragen ein.