Forum

Climate Change and Energy

Where stands Nigeria?

Approximately two thirds of Nigeria’s population live in poverty. Ethnic heterogeneity and religious differences already lead to recurring bloody conflicts. In addition, climate changes constitute another threat.

Details

Although the country has not fully stopped its gas flaring, which occurs in the course of oil production, Nigeria does not belong to the internationally recognized “Climate Sinners”. Its CO2 emissions are relatively low.

Yet Nigeria is likely to become a victim of Climate Change: The North faces desertification and the South flooding. Internal migration would apart from ethnical conflicts intensify conflicts about resources and property rights. Pathogens could spread more easily and poverty would most likely further increase.

The consciousness for these possible scenarios barely exists for now. In a 2-days conference we bring together stakeholders from different socio-political areas to work out strategies for Nigeria. Apart from socio-economic, economic and political consequences of Climate Change, Nigeria’s own contribution will be discussed in the three panels. Especially alternative energies could play a substantial role for the further development of the country. Nigeria’s energy supply is completely insufficient. Hence, the missing capacities could be provided in an ecologically sensible manner from the very first beginning.

To do so, the state will also have to intervene with stronger regulations.

The Minister of Environement, H.E. Mrs. Hadiza Ibrahim Mailafia will open the conference. Nnimmo Bassey will give closing remarks. He received in 2010 the “Alternative Nobel Prize” for documenting the environmental consequences of Nigeria’s oil wealth.

This conference constitutes the beginning of a new focus area of KAS in Nigeria, which will be deepened in following events.

Add to the calendar

Venue

Abuja

Contact

Dr. habil. Klaus Paehler

Forum

Klimawandel und Energie

Wo steht Nigeria?

Etwa zwei Drittel der nigerianischen Bevölkerung leben in Armut. Ethnische Heterogenität und religiöse Gegensätze führen schon jetzt immer wieder zu blutigen Konflikten. Klimaveränderungen stellen eine zusätzliche Bedrohung dar.

Details

Nigeria gehört nicht zu den international bedeutendsten "Klimasündern". Seine CO2 Emissionen sind relativ gering. Das Abfackeln von Gas, das bei der Ölförderung anfällt, ist allerdings noch nicht völlig eingestellt.

Nigeria dürfte aber Opfer des Klimawandels werden: Im Norden droht Verwüstung, im Süden Fluten. Binnenmigration würde neben ethnischen Konflikten auch Konflikte um natürliche Ressourcen und Eigentumsrechte verschärfen. Krankheitserreger könnten sich einfacher verbreiten und die Armut würde wohl noch zunehmen.

Ein Bewusstsein für dieses mögliche Szenario ist aber derzeit noch kaum vorhanden. In einer 2-tägigen Klimakonferenz bringen wir daher Stakeholder aus verschiedenen gesellschaftspolitischen Bereichen zusammen, um Strategien für Nigeria auszuarbeiten. In drei Panels soll neben sozio-ökonomischen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Folgen des Klimawandels auch Nigerias eigener Beitrag diskutiert werden. Insbesondere alternative Energien könnten für die zukünftige Entwicklung des Landes eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Nigerias Energieversorgung ist völlig unzureichend. Da bietet es sich an, die fehlenden Kapazitäten in ökologisch sinnvoller Weise zu schaffen.

Auch wird der Staat hier stärker regulierend eingreifen müssen.

Die Ministerin für Umwelt, H.E. Mrs. Hadiza Ibrahim Mailafia eröffnet die Konferenz. Nnimmo Bassey hält die Schlussrede. Er erhielt 2010 den "Alternativen Nobelpreis" für das Aufzeigen der Folgen der Ölforderung.

Diese Konferenz stellt den Beginn eines neuen Themenschwerpunktes der KAS in Nigeria dar, der in späteren Veranstaltungen vertieft werden wird.

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Veranstaltungsort

Sheraton Hotel, Abuja

Kontakt

Dr. habil Klaus Paehler

Bereitgestellt von

Auslandsbüro Nigeria