Expert conference

Legal Aspects of the European Mediterranean Integration

.

Details

On the international conference "Legal Aspects of the European Mediterranean Integration", leading Palestinian lawyers, economists and politicians discussed different aspects of the economic interdependence of the Palestinian Autonomous Territories with the European Union (EU). The conference was conducted by the Institute of Law and Public Administration of the University of Birzeit and the regional program Middle East / Mediterranean of Konrad Adenauer Foundation.

During a short introduction, Dr Ali Jarbawi, the Dean of the Faculty of Law and Public Administration, Farid Jalad, the Palestinian Minister of Justice and Thomas Birringer, the Resident Representative of Konrad Adenauer Foundation to the Autonomous Territories Palestine, stressed the great significance of the relations of the Palestinian territories to the EU.

The economic and legal aspects of the cooperation arranged between the PA and the EU made the subject of the first part of the conference. Dr Saad Bamyeh from the Palestinian Ministry of Economy stressed that the economic cooperation with Europe was not only about financial support, but that the aspect of partnership was the major focus. Dr Azmi Shuabi, head of the NGO "Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN)" and former member of the legislative council, spoke on the establishment of Palestinian institutions in the post-Oslo years. All participants underlined the solid and firm position of Europe in the region, but expressed their regret as to the impairment of numerous institutions created in close cooperation with the EU in consequence of the conflict with Israel.

As the conference continued, experts spoke on the effects of this partnership agreement for the Palestinian economic system. Besides other issues, they discussed aspects of its legal framework such as the PA’s obligations regarding trademark, copyright and the laws of competition and of acquisition. The speakers demanded a full-scale implementation of the laws of competition inside the Autonomous Territories.

"On the Road to Economic Integration with the European Union: Palestine’s Legal Requirements", a new study by Dr Samer Fares, the head of the department of law of the institute of law and public administration, was presented during the conference.

Add to the calendar

Venue

Bir Zeit University

Legal Aspects of the European Mediterranean Integration

Fachkonferenz

Legal Aspects of the European Mediterranean Integration

.

Details

Führende Juristen, Wirtschaftswissenschaftler und Politiker diskutierten auf der internationalen Konferenz „Legal Aspects of the European Mediterranean Integration” verschiedene Aspekte der wirtschaftlichen Verflechtung der Palästinensischen Autonomiegebiete mit der Europäischen Union (EU). Die Konferenz wurde vom Institut für Recht und öffentliche Verwaltung der Universität Birzeit und dem Regionalprogramm Nahost / Mittelmeer der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung veranstaltet.

In einer kurzen Eröffnung durch Dr. Ali Jarbawi, dem Dekan der Fakultät für Recht und öffentliche Verwaltung, Farid Jalad, dem palästinensischen Justizminister und Thomas Birringer, dem Landesbeauftragten der KAS für die Palästinensischen Autonomiegebiete, wurde die große Bedeutung der Beziehungen der palästinensischen Gebiete zur EU betont.

Thema des ersten Teils der Konferenz waren die wirtschaftlichen und rechtlichen Aspekte dieser vereinbarten Zusammenarbeit. Dr. Saad Bamyeh vom palästinensischen Wirtschaftsministerium betonte, dass es bei der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit mit Europa nicht allein um finanzielle Unterstützung ginge, sondern der partnerschaftliche Aspekt im Vordergrund stünde. Dr. Azmi Shuabi, Leiter der Nichtregierungsorganisation „Coalition for Accountability and Integrity (AMAN)“ und ehemaliger Parlamentsabgeordneter, sprach über den Aufbau palästinensischer Institutionen in der Zeit nach Oslo. Alle Teilnehmer lobten die solide und beständige Position Europas in der Region, beklagten jedoch die Beeinträchtigung zahlreicher in enger Zusammenarbeit geschaffener Einrichtungen durch den Konflikt mit Israel.

Im weiteren Verlauf der Konferenz sprachen Experten über die Auswirkungen dieser Partnerschaftsabkommen für das palästinensische Wirtschaftssystem. Unter anderem wurde über rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen, wie zum Beispiel die Verpflichtungen der Palästinensischen Autonomiebehörde bezüglich des Wettbewerbsrechtes, des Beschaffungsrechtes, der Warenzeichen und des Urheberrechtes diskutiert. Die Referenten forderten eine umfassende Implementierung eines Wettbewerbsrechtes innerhalb der Autonomiegebiete.

Im Rahmen der Konferenz wurde die neue Studie „On the Road to Economic Integration with the European Union: Palestine’s Legal Requirements” von Dr. Samer Fares, dem Leiter der rechtswissenschaftlichen Abteilung des Instituts für Recht und öffentliche Verwaltung, präsentiert.

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Veranstaltungsort

Birzeit Universität, Ramallah

Kontakt

Thomas Birringer

Portrait

Stellvertretender Leiter Hauptabteilung Analyse und Beratung

thomas.birringer@kas.de +49 30 26996-3541 +49 30 26996-3563
Legal Aspects of the European Mediterranean Integration