Event Reports

Representatives of the „Evangelische Stadtakademie München“ visiting Ramallah

As part of their Middle East tour, a German delegation of the “Evangelische Stadtakademie München” visited the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Ramallah on April 11, 2011.

The KAS Resident Representative to the Palestinian Territories, Felix Dane, welcomed the group at his office. He explained the current political situation as well as the work of KAS Ramallah during the last years.

After a short walk through the centre of Ramallah, passing the Muqata’a, the presidents’ official residence and the grave of Yassir Arafat, they went back to the KAS office. There they talked to Suheil Khalilieh, employee of the ARIJ organisation. Based on a presentation, he explained the political situation within the Palestinian Territories. He focused on the Israeli settlement policy and gave some examples of agricultural and social projects that illustrated the dynamic of the state-building-process.

At the end of their day in Ramallah, the group met Dr. Sumaya Farhat-Naser, former lecturer for botany and ecology at the Birzeit University. She talked about the work during her time as the head of the Palestinian Jerusalem Center for Women, where Israeli and Palestinian women are working together in order to achieve conciliation. Moreover, she mentioned her current activities in the context of peace efforts, including seminars for nonviolent communication, to reach a compromise between Israelis and Palestinian.

After that, the delegation travelled to Bethlehem.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Besuch einer Delegation der Evangelischen Stadtakademie München in Ramallah

Im Rahmen ihrer Reise nach Israel und in die Palästinensischen Gebiete besuchte eine 22-köpfige Delegation der Evangelischen Stadtakademie München am 11. April 2011 die KAS Ramallah.

Im Büro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Ramallah sprach Felix Dane, Landesbeauftragter der KAS in den Palästinensischen Gebieten, über die politische Situation vor Ort und erläuterte die Arbeit der Stiftung in den vergangen Jahren.

Nach einem kurzen Stadtrundgang durch das Zentrum von Ramallah, unter anderem vorbei an der Muqata’a, dem Sitz des palästinensischen Präsidenten, und dem Grab Yassir Arafats, ging es zurück zum Büro der KAS. Dort stand ein Gespräch mit Suheil Khalilieh, Mitarbeiter der Organisation ARIJ, an. Dieser beschrieb anhand einer Präsentation die politische Lage in den Palästinensischen Gebieten mit Fokus auf die israelische Siedlungspolitik und erklärte anhand von Beispielen landwirtschaftlicher bzw. gesellschaftlicher Projekte, die Dynamik des Staatswerdungsprozesses.

Zum Abschluss gab es ein Treffen mit Dr. Sumaya Farhat-Naser, ehemalige Dozentin für Botanik und Ökologie an der Universität Birzeit. Sie berichtete über ihre Zeit als Leiterin des palästinensischen Jerusalem Center for Women, in dem israelische und palästinensische Frauen zusammen für Versöhnung arbeiten. Außerdem sprach sie über ihre derzeitigen Tätigkeiten als Friedensbotschafterin, zu denen Seminare für gewaltfreie Kommunikation, um einen Ausgleich zwischen Israelis und Palästinensern zu erreichen, gehören.

Anschließend setze die Gruppe ihre Reise in Richtung Bethlehem fort.