Event Reports

Visitors group from Thueringen in Ramallah

In the framework of an educational journey to Israel, a visitors group of the centre for political education of the Federal State Thueringen participated in a seminar taking place in East Jerusalem and Ramallah, organized by the KAS Representative Office Ramallah.

Among the group were deputies of the Parliament of the Federal State of Thueringen and teachers who showed a genuine interest in the political situation in general as well as in the Palestinian educational and cultural policy.

During a visit to Schmidt Girls’ College in East Jerusalem, a German school for Muslims and Christians, the participants got acquainted with the particularities of the Palestinian school system and the intercultural and interreligious teaching at Schmidt College.

Afterwards, Mr Jamil Salem, Researcher & Program Manager at the Institute of Law at Birzeit University, gave a lecture on the academic education in Palestine, the Palestinian legal system and projects accomplished in cooperation with the KAS with regard to education and training, legal policies and economic law.

Thomas Birringer, Resident Representative to the Palestinian Autonomous Territories, provided an insight into the current situation in the Westbank and the Gaza strip. Moreover, he gave details about the aims and the work of the KAS Ramallah, especially concerning political education and empowering democracy.

Following Thomas Birringer’s presentation, Phillip Holzapfel, political officer of the German Representative Office Ramallah, elucidated the peace process and its development while paying special attention to the contribution of the German Federal Republic and the European Union to the establishment of democratic structure for a future Palestinian state.

Finally, the participants were briefed by Mrs Muzna Shihabi, Communication Advisor of the Negotiation Support Unit to the PLO, about the Palestinian view on the peace process with Israel and the aims of the PLO in its negotiations with Israel, which subsequently have been discussed critically by the participants.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Besuchergruppe aus Thüringen in Ramallah

Eine Besuchergruppe der Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Thüringen, darunter Landtagsabgeordnete und Lehrer aus dem Freistaat, nahm im Rahmen einer Bildungsreise nach Israel und in die Palästinenesischen Autonomiegebiete an einem Seminartag in Ost Jerusalem und Ramallah teil, welcher vom Länderbüro der KAS in Ramallah koordiniert wurde.

Im Mittelpunkt des Seminartages stand neben der politischen Situation auch die Vermittlung von Informationen über das palästinensische Bildungssystem.

Bei dem Besuch der Schmidt-Schule in Ost-Jerusalem, eines Gymnasiums für muslimische und christliche Mädchen in Trägerschaft des Deutschen Vereins vom Heiligen Land, wurden die Teilnehmer über die Besonderheiten des palästinensischen Schulsystems im Allgemeinen und der interkulturellen und –religiösen Erziehung an der Schmidt-Schule im Besonderen informiert.

Durch einen Vortrag von Jamil Salem, Researcher & Program Manager am Institut für Rechtswissenschaften der Birzeit Universtität, erhielten die Teilnehmer einen fundierten Einblick in das Hochschulwesen in den Palästinensischen Autonomiegebieten. Zudem erläuterte Salem das palästinensische Rechtssystem, sowie die gemeinsamen Projekte der KAS Ramallah mit dem Institut für Rechtswissenschaften in den Bereichen Fortbildung, Rechtspolitik sowie Wirtschaftsrecht.

Thomas Birringer, Leiter des Büros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Ramallah, informierte die Teilnehmer anschliessend über die aktuelle Lage in der West Bank und dem Gazastreifen. Darüberhinaus erläuterte er die Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Ramallah, besonders in den Bereichen politische Bildung und Demokratieförderung.

Im Rahmen eines weiteren Vortrages erläuterte Philip Holzapfel, Politischer Referent des Deutschen Vertretungsbüros in Ramallah, die Entwicklung des Friedensprozesses und informierte über die politische Situation und das Engagement Deutschlands und der Europäischen Union bei der Begleitung des demokratischen Staatswerdungprozess in den palästinensischen Gebieten.

Abschliessend hatten die Teilnehmer Gelegenheit, im Rahmen eines Briefings durch die NSU (Negotiation Support Unit) der PLO, welche für Analyse und Recherche für Verhandlungen mit Israel zuständig ist, die Sicht der palästinensischen Seite auf den Friedensprozess mit Israel kennen zu lernen und kritisch zu diskutieren.