Political groups of the EP

С	European Conservative Group (1973-1979, since 1979: ED)
CD	Christian Democratic Group (1953-1979, 1979-1999: EPP, since 1999: EPP-ED)
СОМ	Group of the Communists
DE	European Democratic Union
ED	Group of the European Democrats (1973-1979: C)
EDD	Group for a Europe of Democracies and Diversities
ELDR	Group of the European Liberal, Democrat and Reform Party
EPP	Group of the European People's Party (1979-1999, 1953-1979 CD, since 1999: EPP-ED)
EPP-ED	Group of the European People's Party and European Democrats (1953-1979: CD, 1979-1999 EPP)
ERA	European Radical Alliance
EUL	Group of the European United Left (since 1995: GUE/NGL)
EUL/NGL	Group of the European United Left/Nordic Green Left (1989- 1995: GUE)
Greens	Group of the Greens (1989-1999, since 1999: Greens/EFA)
Greens/EFA	Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance (1989-1999: Greens)
IND	Independent (non-attached)
L	Liberal and Democratic Group (1953-1994, since 1994: ELDR)
PES	Group of the Party of European Socialists (since 1992)
S	Group of the Socialists (1952-1974, 1974-1992: Confederation of Socialist Parties of the European Community, since 1992 PES)

- TDI Group for the technical co-ordination of groups and the defence of independent members
- UEN Union for Europe of the Nations Group