Internship

in the Regional Programme Political Dialogue West Africa

The Regional Programme Political Dialogue West Africa - our focal countries are Côte d’Ivoire, Benin and Togo – offers students the possibility to do an internship that allows them to further their professional knowledge and skills. Working in our office requires a high degree of team orientation, commitment and flexibility. As an intern, you get to know the working procedures of the KAS office in Abidjan, work with our partner organisations and gain an insight into the political situation in West Africa and particularly in Côte d’Ivoire.

Internship requirements are:

  • Studies of political, social, regional, economic sciences or law as well as other disciplines related to (West) Africa
  • Completed 4th semester at the time of the internship
  • Excellent French language skills
  • Good English language skills are an advantage
  • Interest in the political and social development of West Africa
     

Your tasks include:

  • Providing support during the preparation, implementation and follow-up phases of dialogue events (this may also involve working in the evening or occasionally at the weekend). This includes, for example, participation in project meetings with partner organisations, conceptualisation of event programmes but also the practical preparation of the conference room
  • Participating in external events and preparing activity reports
  • Researching and preparing political analyses
  • Providing administrative support (e.g. research of suitable restaurants and preparation of cost reports)
     

An internship usually lasts three months, in individual cases the period can be shortened or extended. A salary cannot be paid, however interns do receive a monthly allowance. We are happy to assist you in finding accommodation.

At the end of the internship, a certificate will be issued.

If you are interested, please contact Katharina Hopp and send your complete application documents (motivation letter, CV, certificates, enrolment certificate and details on the desired internship period) to katharina.hopp@kas.de. The letter of motivation may be written in German or French.

Further information for the planning of the internship, including the current security situation and health preconditions, can be found on the homepage of the German Embassy in Côte d’Ivoire https://abidjan.diplo.de/.

Contact

Katharina Hopp

Katharina Hopp

Trainee

katharina.hopp@kas.de +225 22 48 18 00

Praktikum

Das Regionalprogramm Politischer Dialog Westafrika – unsere Schwerpunktländer sind die Côte d’Ivoire, Benin und Togo – bietet Studierenden Praktikumsplätze an, die dem Erwerb beruflicher Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten dienen. Die Tätigkeit in unserem Büro erfordert ein hohes Maß an Teamorientierung, Engagement und Flexibilität. Als Praktikant(in) lernen Sie die Arbeitsabläufe des KAS-Büros in Abidjan kennen, arbeiten mit unseren Partnerorganisationen zusammen und bekommen einen Einblick in die politische Situation Westafrikas und insbesondere der Côte d’Ivoire.

 

Praktikumsvoraussetzungen sind:

Studium der Politik-, Sozial-, Geistes-, Regional-, Wirtschafts- oder Rechtswissenschaften sowie anderer Studiengänge mit Bezug zu (West-)Afrika

abgeschlossenes 4. Semester zum Zeitpunkt des Praktikums

Sehr gute französische Sprachkenntnisse

Gute englische Sprachkenntnisse sind von Vorteil

Interesse an der politischen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung Westafrikas

 

Zu Ihren Aufgaben gehören:

Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung, Durchführung und Nachbereitung von Dialogveranstaltungen (damit kann auch eine Tätigkeit am Abend bzw. gelegentlich am Wochenende verbunden sein). Dazu gehören z.B. die Teilnahme an Projektbesprechungen mit Partnerorganisationen, Erarbeitung von Veranstaltungsprogrammen aber auch die praktische Vorbereitung des Konferenzsaals

Teilnahme an externen Veranstaltungen und Erstellung von Ergebnisberichten

Recherche und Erstellung von politischen Analysen

Administrative Unterstützung (z.B. Recherche von geeigneten Restaurants und Vorbereitung von Kostenaufstellungen)

 

Ein Praktikum dauert in der Regel drei Monate, in Einzelfällen kann der Zeitraum verkürzt bzw. verlängert werden. Ein Gehalt kann nicht gezahlt werden, jedoch erhalten Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten eine monatliche Vergütung in Höhe von 400 EUR. Gerne assistieren wir bei der Suche nach einer Unterkunft.

Mit dem Ende des Praktikums wird eine Bescheinigung über die Praktikumsdauer sowie ein Praktikumszeugnis ausgehändigt.

Bei Interesse richten Sie sich bitte an Frau Katharina Hopp und schicken Ihre vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen (Motivationsschreiben, Lebenslauf, Zeugnisse, Immatrikulationsbescheinigung und Angabe zu gewünschtem Praktikumszeitraum) an katharina.hopp@kas.de. Das Motivationsschreiben kann auf Deutsch oder Französisch verfasst werden.

Weitere wichtige Informationen zur Vorbereitung – u.a. zur aktuellen Sicherheitslage und zu gesundheitlichen Voraussetzungen – finden Sie auf der Homepage der Deutschen Botschaft in der Côte d‘Ivoire https://abidjan.diplo.de/.

partager

Contact

Katharina Hopp

Katharina Hopp Portraitbild

Représentante adjointe

katharina.hopp@kas.de +225 22 48 18 00