Study and Information Program

Nigerian Parliamentarians visit Germany and the EU

KAS consults and assists selected State Houses of Assembly

Nigeria’s third “democratic era” started 11 years ago, but especially the Parliaments still require consultation and assistance to perform their legal rights and duties. Eight Nigerian Parliamentarians are now visiting Germany and the EU.

Details

KAS co-operates very successful with selected State Houses of Assembly in Nigeria. Apart from regular retreats, this constitutes already the third trip to Germany with Nigerian Parliamentarians. In 2008, a whole State House of Assembly concluded a two-week programme in Germany at their own expenses. With the delegation this year, consisting of the two Honorable Speakers from the State Houses of Assembly in Plateau and Cross River State, three former Honorable Speakers from these States, of which two have been elected into the House of Representatives recently, and the two Clerks, we want to continue with this success.

With a programme including the European Institutions in Brussels, the Rhine-Main area and Berlin, the Members will not only be theoretically trained, but also practically. The goal is to convey diverse, if possible in principle transferable ideas of democratic institutions as well as of relevant institutions for economic development.

By meeting counterparts and other important discussion partners personally, an exchange of experiences will take place and values of liberal democracy and social market economy will be discussed. In a regime system, which is still corrupt and marked by patron-client relationships, these topics are of special interest.

Part of the programme is the Africa Conference by the KAS Academy in Berlin. One member of the delegation will be on the podium and participate in the discussion “Africa Elects: Political Stability or Democracy?” With an unstable democratic system, which regularly faces the threat of a military coup, this question is of high interest in Nigeria as well. The Head of the KAS office in Nigeria, Dr. Klaus Pähler, provides the moderation of the podium.

Add to the calendar

Venue

Brussel, Wiesbaden, Mainz, Berlin

Contact

Dr. habil. Klaus Paehler

Studien- und Informationsprogramm

Besuch hochrangiger nigerianischer Parlamentarier in Deutschland und der EU

KAS berät und unterstützt ausgewählte Landtage

Nigerias dritte demokratische Ära begann vor 11 Jahren, doch noch immer bedürfen insbesondere die Parlamente der Beratung und Unterstützung, um ihre Rechte und Pflichten ausüben zu können. Acht hochrangige Politiker besuchen Deutschland und die EU.

Details

KAS kooperiert in Nigeria sehr erfolgreich mit ausgewählten Landtagen. Neben regelmäßigen Klausurtagungen ist dies nun bereits die dritte Deutschlandreise nigerianischer Parlamentarier. Im Jahr 2008 absolvierte sogar ein kompletter Landtag auf eigene Kosten ein 2-wöchiges Deutschlandprogramm. Mit der diesjährigen Delegation, bestehend aus den beiden Präsidenten der Landtage von Plateau und Cross River State, drei ehemaligen Präsidenten dieser Staaten, von denen zwei soeben ins nationale Repräsentantenhaus gewählt wurden, und den zwei Landtagsdirektoren, wollen wir an diesen Erfolg anschließen.

Mit einem Programm bei den Europäischen Institutionen in Brüssel, in der Rhein-Main Region und Berlin sollen die Abgeordneten zum einen theoretisch, zum anderen aber auch praktisch weitergebildet werden. Ziel ist es, ihnen vielfältige, möglichst prinzipiell übertragbare Anschauungen sowohl demokratischer Institutionen als auch relevanter Einrichtungen zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung vermitteln.

Durch persönliche Begegnungen mit Amtskollegen und anderen wichtigen Gesprächspartnern soll ein Erfahrungstausch stattfinden und Wertvorstellungen einer freiheitlichen Demokratie und sozialer Marktwirtschaft diskutiert werden. In einem noch immer korrupten, von Klientelbeziehungen geprägten Regierungssystem ist dies von ganz besonderer Bedeutung.

Teil des Programms ist außerdem die Afrikakonferenz der KAS-Akademie in Berlin. Ein Delegationsmitglied wird auf dem Podium an der Diskussion „Afrika vor der Wahl: Politische Stabilität oder Demokratie?“ teilnehmen. Mit einem instabilen demokratischen System, das immer wieder in Gefahr steht, in die Militärdiktatur zurückzufallen, ist diese Frage auch in Nigeria von besonderem Interesse. Der Leiter des Auslandsbüros, Dr. Klaus Pähler, moderiert das Podium.

Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Veranstaltungsort

Brüssel, Wiesbaden, Mainz, Berlin

Kontakt

Dr. habil Klaus Paehler