Asset Publisher

Event Reports

Germany's geopolitical future: Europe, America, China and Beyond

Dr. Peter Hefele, Head of KAS Shanghai speaks at Hopkins China Forum

The Hopkins China Forum and the Young China Watchers Shanghai invited Dr. Peter Hefele, head of the Shanghai office of the Konrad Andenauer Foundation, to speak on “Germany’s geopolitical future: Europe, America, China and Beyond.”

Asset Publisher

Whether the European debt crisis, the escalating situation in Ukraine or the significance of the transatlantic relationship in the context of major geopolitical shifts: Germany’s foreign policy is constantly in the focus of international observation.

Speaking to a young audience consisting of observers and people interested in interational politics, Dr. Peter Hefele introduced the debate in Germany on what the future German role in international politics should look like. Dr. Hefele underlined that Germany’s understanding of international politics is oriented above all along common European values. In his eyes, this stance reflects also Germany’s and Europe’s long-term interests. Multilateralism and a stable trans-Atlantic alliance are — according to Dr.Hefele — the very foundation of Germany's foreign policy, which does not rule out an increasing international responsibility of Germany. Dr. Hefele pointed towards the pluralistic approach in German foreign policy, which is characterized by the work of different mediating institutes and different communication channels.

Asset Publisher

Contact

Tim Wenniges

Speech Dr. Hefele, Hopkins China Forum KAS Shanghai

comment-portlet

Asset Publisher

Asset Publisher

Veranstaltungsberichte

Deutschlands geopolitische Zukunft: Europa, Amerika, China und darüber hinaus

Vortrag im Rahmen des Hopkins China Forums

Auf Einladung des Hopkins China Forums und der Young China Watchers Shanghai referierte Dr. Peter Hefele, Leiter des Shanghai Büros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, am 30.06. 2014 über „Deutschlands geopolitische Zukunft: Europa, Amerika, China und darüber hinaus“.

Ob bei der Verschuldungskrise in der Europäischen Union; die sich zuspitzende Lage in der Ukraine; oder die Bedeutung der transatlantischen Beziehungen im Kontext geopolitischer Verschiebungen: Deutschlands außenpolitisches Handeln steht im Fokus der globalen Betrachtung.

Vor einem jungen und gemischten Publikum an Beobachtern und Interessenten internationaler Politik, gab Dr. Peter Hefele einen Einblick in die Hintergründe der aktuellen Debatte in Deutschland und die zukünftige Rolle Deutschlands in der internationalen Politik. Dr. Hefele machte Deutschlands außenpolitisches Verständnis deutlich, das sich vor allem in einer gemeinsamen europäischen Werteorientierung manifestiere. Darin würden sich auch die langfristigen Interessen Deutschlands und Europas widerspiegeln. Er unterstrich die Grundfesten deutschen außenpolitischen Handelns, dem Multilateralismus, sowie einem stabilen trans-atlantischen Bündnis, die eine größere internationale Verantwortung Deutschlands nicht ausschließe. Dr. Hefele verwies auch auf den betont pluralistischen Ansatz in Deutschlands außenpolitischem Wirken, der sich anhand der Arbeit verschiedener Mittlerinstitute und Kommunikationskanäle zeige.

Ansprechpartner

Tim Wenniges

Vortrag Dr. Hefele, Hopkins China Forum KAS Shanghai