Event Reports

A Change of Perspectives

Study and dialogue programme about the relationship between media and politics in Germany

The relationship between the media and political parties in Sub-Saharan Africa is often strained and at worst dysfunctional. This is what motivated KAS Media Africa to generate a dialogue on how this relationship can be professionalised for the benefit of both target groups and the public. In mid-June a group of eleven young journalists and party officials spent a week in the German capital of Berlin undertaking an intensive study and dialogue programme aimed at illuminating the relationship between media and politics in Germany.

The week-long programme included discussions with key politicians, media professionals and Africa-focused industry players as well as visits to media outlets, training academies, government and party buildings and historical memorials and museums. Highlights of the trip were visits to the German public broadcaster ZDF’s TV studio, the governing party CDU’s Headquarters, the Federal Press Office, the Berlin House of Representatives and the Reichstag building. High profile individuals brought in for dialogue sessions included the Deputy Spokesperson of the Federal Government of Germany Mr. Georg Streiter, SHZ news columnist Thomas Habicht, and young Member of Berlin House of Representatives Danny Freymark.

The programme participants made use of the efficient Berlin public transport throughout the week and learned about the fascinating and often painful German history through visits to the House of Wannsee Conference in commemoration of the Jewish holocaust, the stasi-era prison Berlin-Hohenschönhausen and the Berlin Wall memorial. They were able to form a good impression of the work of KAS and attended the annual “Tag der KAS” garden party at the Foundation’s headquarters.

The journalists and young politicians or communicators from political parties represent two key stakeholder groups for the work of the KAS Media Programme. The journalist participants, from South Africa, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Ghana and Liberia are young journalists who are alumni or current students of the KAS Media Africa scholarship programme where they are supported for one academic year to complete a mid-career post-graduate degree at the Journalism Department of Wits University in Johannesburg.

The political officials were drawn from another key KAS Media Africa initiative, the E-lection Bridge Academy, a mix of workshops and e-learning activities aimed at coaching the young party officials in media and communication processes. The political-oriented participants represented Ghana, Tanzania, South Africa, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The combination of enlightening historical perspectives and personal interactions with both the German experts and within the group, ensured a highly informative and rewarding experience for all.

Contact

Christoph Plate

Christoph Plate bild

Director Media Programme Subsahara Africa

christoph.plate@kas.de +27 (11) 214 2900-101 +27 11 214 2913

Veranstaltungsberichte

Zusammenarbeit ohne Kumpanei, Kritik ohne Feindschaft

Studien- und Dialogprogramm zum Verhältnis von Politik und Medien in Deutschland

Die Beziehung zwischen Medien und Politik in Subsahara-Afrika ist oft angespannt und funktioniert im schlimmsten Fall überhaupt nicht. Deshalb ist es ein Ziel des KAS Medienprogramms Afrika, den Dialog zwischen Journalisten und Politikern zu fördern und die Beziehung zu professionalisieren. Mitte Juni trafen sich dafür elf junge Journalisten und Parteipolitiker in Berlin. Sie nahmen an einem einwöchigen Studien- und Dialogprogramm teil, dass die Beziehung zwischen Medien und Politik in Deutschland beleuchtete.

Teil des Programms waren Diskussionen mit Politikern, Medien- und Wirtschaftsvertretern, die sich mit dem afrikanischen Kontinent beschäftigen. Die Gruppe besichtigte zudem Medienhäuser, Regierungs- und Parteigebäude sowie historische Plätze und Museen. Höhepunkte der Woche waren die Besuche im Hauptstadtstudio des ZDF, im Hauptquartier der CDU, im Bundespresseamt, im Berline Abgeordnetenhaus und im Reichstag. Zu den bekannten Persönlichkeiten, die mit den Teilnehmern diskutierten, gehörten der stellvertretende Sprecher der Bundesregierung Georg Streiter, SHZ-Kolumnist Thomas Habicht und Danny Freymark, Mitglied des Berliner Abgeordnetenhauses.

Die Teilnehmer waren mit öffentlichen Transportmitteln in ganz Berlin unterwegs, um sich über die faszinierende, aber auch tragische Geschichte Deutschlands zu informieren. Die Gruppe besuchte die Gedenkstätte zum Holocaust am Wannsee, das Stasi-Gefängnis in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen sowie die Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer. Außerdem lernte sie die Arbeit der KAS näher kennen und feierte auf der Gartenparty beim jährlichen Tag der KAS.

Journalisten und junge Politiker oder Pressereferenten der Parteien sind wichtige Stakeholder des KAS Medienprogramms. Die Teilnehmer aus dem journalistischen Umfeld kamen aus Südafrika, Simbabwe, Uganda, Ghana und Liberia. Alle sind Alumni oder aktuelle Träger des der KAS Media Africa Scholarship. Die KAS ermöglicht jungen Journalisten aus Afrika mit diesem Stipendium, an einem einjährigen Masterprogramm des Journalismus Department der Wits University in Johannesburg teilzunehmen.

Die ausgewählten Politiker sind Teil eines anderen Projekts des Medienprogramms, der E-lection Bridge Academy. Die Akademie soll junge Parteimitglieder durch Workshops und zusätzliche E-learning-Angebote mit Medien und Kommunikationsprozessen vertraut machen. Die Teilnehmer aus diesem Fachbereich stammten aus Ghana, Tansania, Südafrika, Uganda und der Demokratischen Republik Kongo.

Die Veranstaltung ermöglichte der Gruppe, sich über die deutsche Geschichte zu informieren und sich persönliche mit deutschen Experten sowie innerhalb der Gruppe auszutauschen. Dieser Mix machte den Aufenthalt für alle Teilnehmer zu einer informativen und bereichernden Erfahrung.

Kontakt

Christoph Plate

Christoph Plate bild

Leiter des Medienprogramms Subsahara-Afrika

christoph.plate@kas.de +49 30 26996-1012
+27 (11) 214 2900-101
+27 11 214 2913