Event Reports

Media coverage of the „Palestine Papers“ is the main topic of MIFTAH presentation

by Jörg Knocha
On April 13, 2011, the first MIFTAH (Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy) presentation 2011 about „A Critical Reading of Print Media“ took place.

Since 2010 the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Ramallah is supporting the MIFTAH project “Promoting Good Governance through Empowering Media Students: A Critical Reading of Print Media.” Both organisations agreed to start the project by initiating a “Media Monitoring” unit to monitor the media coverage presented by the Palestinian printed media outlets. The aim is to offer media students at Palestinian universities practice-oriented presentations, workshops and training on responsible reporting that will enable the students to become critical recipients of the Palestinian media.

The first of five presentations in 2011 took place on April 13, 2011 at the offices of MIFTAH. Around 25 media students from different Palestinian universities participated. The main topics were the so-called „Palestine Papers“; around 1600 papers, ranging from September 1999 until September 2010, that are covering hundreds of meetings between Palestinians, Israelis and Americans. They were published by the satellite channel al-Jazeera in January 2011. The coverage of the three main Palestinian daily newspapers („al-Quds“, „al-Ayyam“ and „al-Hayat al-Jadida“) within the first three days after publication were analyzed.

The dynamic of the presentation was in part shaped by the attendance of several representatives of the above-mentioned newspapers. They faced a barrage of criticism because all newspapers showed serious deficiencies in their coverage. On the first day the subject was barely mentioned. One guest justified this with the late release of the papers the day before and the availability of only one source (al-Jazeera). But in the following days too the actual content of the “Papers” was hardly a topic. Even worse, the content was replaced by official statements from the Palestinian Authority. Other opinions, for example of Hamas, were to a large extent ignored. Furthermore, al-Jazeera was attacked in an undifferentiated way. Only a few articles dealt with the subject adequately.

At the end, the students agreed that much progress is needed, especially in the field of independent coverage. Even though many journalists are well trained, critical opinions are often oppressed inside the newspapers offices. Therefore, self-censorship is one of the decisive weaknesses of the Palestinian media. The decision-making inside the editorial boards has to be reformed. It is also dubious that certain leading representatives of the newspapers have no journalistic background but instead maintain close contacts with politicians of the highest echelon. This field, the nonpartisan and discriminating work of journalists, is one of the core topics of the cooperation between KAS Ramallah and MIFTAH.

Veranstaltungsberichte

„Palestine Papers“ als bestimmendes Thema der ersten MIFTAH-Präsentation

von Jörg Knocha
Am 13. April 2011 fand die erste diesjährige Präsentation der palästinensischen Initiative zur Förderung von globalem Dialog und Demokratie MIFTAH zum Thema „A Critical Reading of Print Media“ statt.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Ramallah und MIFTAH arbeiten seit 2010 im Bereich der Stärkung der Medien zusammen. Das gemeinsam erarbeitete Projekt „Promoting Good Governance through Empowering Media Students: A Critical Reading of Print Media“ wurde durch die Schaffung einer die Medien beobachtenden Analystengruppe initiiert. Den Journalistikstudenten an den palästinensischen Universitäten werden dazu praxisorientierte Vorträge, Workshops und Schulungen zur verantwortlichen Berichterstattung angeboten. Dies soll die Studenten dazu befähigen, die palästinensische Medienberichterstattung kritisch aufzunehmen.

Die erste von fünf Präsentationen 2011 fand am 13. April in den Räumen von MIFTAH statt. Etwa 25 Medienstudenten verschiedener palästinensischer Universitäten nahmen daran teil. Das große Thema der Veranstaltung waren die sog. „Palestine Papers“. Dabei handelt es sich über 1600 Schriftstücke, die vom September 1999 bis zum September 2010 reichen und die hunderte Treffen zwischen Palästinensern, Israelis und Amerikanern abdecken. Diese wurden vom arabischen Satellitenfernsehsender al-Jazeera Ende Januar 2011 veröffentlicht. Analysiert wurde, wie die drei großen palästinensischen Tageszeitungen („al-Quds“, „al-Ayyam“ und „al-Hayat al-Jadida“) in den ersten drei Tagen nach der Veröffentlichung darüber berichteten.

Die Dynamik der Veranstaltung war vor allem dadurch geprägt, dass mehrere Vertreter der genannten Tageszeitungen anwesend waren. Diese sahen sich vehementer Kritik der Studenten ausgesetzt, da alle drei Zeitungen unisono schwere Mängel bei der Berichterstattung aufwiesen. Am ersten Tag wurde das Thema nahezu ignoriert, was von den Gästen damit gerechtfertigt wurde, dass die Zeit zu knapp gewesen sei und es nur eine einzige Quelle zum Thema (al-Jazeera) gegeben hätte. Aber auch in den nachfolgenden Tagen wurde der Inhalt der „Papers“ kaum besprochen. Stattdessen wurden offizielle Verlautbarungen der Palästinensischen Autonomiebehörde wiedergegeben. Andere Meinungen, wie die der Hamas, wurden weitgehend ignoriert. Außerdem wurde heftige Kritik an al-Jazeera geübt. Nur wenige Artikel setzten sich kritisch mit dem Thema auseinander.

Als Ergebnis wurde festgehalten, dass es im Bereich der unabhängigen Berichterstattung noch viel Nachholbedarf gäbe. Zwar seien viele Journalisten gut ausgebildet, doch würden kritische Meinungen oft intern unterdrückt. Daher sei die Selbstzensur der eigentliche Schwachpunkt der palästinensischen Medien. Interne redaktionelle Entscheidungsprozesse müssten reformiert werden. Auch sei es fragwürdig, dass führende Kräfte in den Zeitungen über keinen journalistischen Hintergrund verfügen bzw. enge private Kontakte zu Spitzenpolitikern pflegen. Genau dieser Punkt, die überparteiliche und kritische Arbeit eines Journalisten, ist ein Kernthema der Zusammenarbeit der KAS Ramallah mit MIFTAH.