Event Reports

5th Annual Conference of Al-Wasatia

With support of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, Al-Wasatia hold it’s fifth annual conference in the Palestinian Red Crescent building in Ramallah. The conference took place under the title “Moderation, Charity, Volunteerism: This is Islam”.

The event was attended by around 120 guests, amongst them religious dignitaries, academics, students and journalists. The word “Wasatia” derives from the Quran and means “moderation” or “balance”. The aim of Al-Wasatia is, through workshops, seminars and conferences, to promote a liberal conception of Islam that is compatible with democratic values.

After a brief opening speech by the founder of Al-Wasatia, Prof. Mohamed Dajani, the attendees were welcomed by Sheikh Yusuf Ideis, chairman of the Shari’a-Courts within the Palestinian Territories, and Sheikh Khamis Abedeh, member of the Department of Palestinian Imams at the Ministry of Religious Affairs. Felix Dane, Resident Representative of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in the Palestinian Territories, mentioned the similarities between Al-Wasatia and the CDU (Christian Democratic Union), a German party whose political concepts also result from religiously motivated moral values. Afterwards he congratulated Al-Wasatia for their official registration.

Thereafter several speakers presented their conference papers on topics like “Wasatia in Political Science”, “Religion and Live”, “Moderation and Tolerance in Islam” and “Wasatia and the Others: Communication and Dialogue”. They spoke about the necessity of recognizing the various political and religious views of different groups and political parties and to try to find some common ground on which to base. Two other important subjects were the “Mother’s Day”, celebrated by Palestinians on the same day, and the “Rights of Woman in Society”. One of the speakers, who talked about this topic, was a representative of the Palestinian Interior Ministry.

Al-Wasatia 5
Al-Wasatia 5

Veranstaltungsberichte

5. Jahreskonferenz von Al-Wasatia in Ramallah

Mit Unterstützung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hat die Al-Wasatia Gruppe am 21. März ihre 5. Jahreskonferenz im Gebäude des palästinensischen roten Halbmonds abgehalten. Die diesjährige Konferenz stand unter dem Motto “Mäßigung, Wohltätigkeit, ehrenamtliche Arbeit; Das ist Islam“.

An der Veranstaltung nahmen rund 120 Gäste teil, darunter religiöse Würdenträger, Akademiker, Studenten und Journalisten aus verschiedenen Altersgruppen.

Al-Wasatia“ – das Wort hat seine Wurzel im Koran und bedeutet „Mäßigung, Balance, Ausgewogenheit“. Ziel von Wasatia ist es, mit Hilfe von Workshops, Seminaren und Publikationen, eine liberale und mit demokratischen Werten im Einklang stehende Ansicht des Islam zu verbreiten.

Nach einer kurzen Eröffnungsrede von Al-Wasatia Gründer Prof. Mohamed Dajani, begrüßten Sheikh Yusuf Ideis, Vorsitzender Richter der Sharia Gerichte in den palästinensischen Gebieten und Sheikh Khamis Abedeh, Hauptabteilung palästinensischer Imame an dem Ministerium für religiöse Angelegenheiten, das Publikum. Felix Dane, Repräsentant der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in den Palästinensischen Gebieten, verwies auf die Parallelen zwischen Al-Wasatia’ und der Christlich-Demokratischen Union, die ihre politischen Konzepte auch auf Grund religiös motivierter Wertevorstellungen entwickelt und gratulierte Al-Wasatia zu der kürzlich erfolgten offiziellen Registrierung.

Im Anschluss präsentierten zahlreiche Gastredner Ihre Konferenzpapiere zu Themen wie „Wasatia in der Politikwissenschaft“, „ Religion und Leben“, „Mäßigung und Toleranz im Islam“ und „Wasatia und die Anderen: Kommunikation und Dialog“. Es wurde die Notwendigkeit angesprochen, die differierenden Ansichten poltisch-religiöser Gruppierungen und Parteien anzuerkennen und sich durch Dialog auf einen gemeinsamen Nenner zu einigen. Zwei weitere wichtige Themen waren zum einen der von den Palästinensern an diesem Tag zelebrierte Muttertag und dazu passend das Thema der Rechte der Frau in der Gesellschaft, worüber unter anderem eine Abgesandte des Innenministeriums sprach.

Al-Wasatia 5
Al-Wasatia 5