Event Reports

German Lawyers visit Ramallah

On 9 March 2011, a delegation of German lawyers visited the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Ramallah

As part of a two-week tour through Israel and the Palestinian Territories, a delegation of 6 lawyers visited Ramallah on 9 March, 2011.

The KAS Resident Representative to the Palestinian Territories, Felix Dane, welcomed the group at his office. He gave an overview about the political situation as well as the work of the KAS within the last years.

Afterwards, the group visited the Institute of Law (IoL) at Birzeit University. In a meeting with Dr. Ghassan Faramand, director, and other employees of the Institute, the participants were able to gain valuable insights into the Palestinian legal system and the problematic issue of overlapping legislation. Furthermore, several contemporary projects were introduced; including the judicial databank “al Muqtafi”, a product of the cooperation between KAS Ramallah and the IoL.

In the afternoon, the delegation paid a visit to the headquarter of the EU Police Mission EUPOL COPPS. In a meeting with the director of the “Rule of Law” section Nicholas Rodson, and the head of public relations Julio De La Guardia, the group was informed about the scope of the EU Mandate to the Palestinian Territories and related security topics.

After a final meeting with Mr. Dane at the KAS office, the group returned to Jerusalem.

Besuch der Deutsch-Israelischen Juristenvereinigung

Veranstaltungsberichte

Besuch einer Delegation deutscher Juristen

Am 9. März 2011 besuchte eine Delegation deutscher Juristen die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Ramallah

Im Rahmen einer zweiwöchigen Bildungsreise in Israel und den Palästinensischen Gebieten besuchte eine 6-köpfige Delegation deutscher Juristen am 9. März 2011 Ramallah.

Im Büro der KAS Ramallah sprach Felix Dane, Landesbeauftragter der KAS in den Palästinensischen Gebieten über die politische Situation vor Ort und erläuterte die Arbeit der Stiftung in den vergangen Jahren.

Anschließend traf die Gruppe im Institute auf Law der Birzeit Universität auf Ghassan Faramand, Direktor, sowie weitere Mitarbeiter des Institutes. Hier erhielten die Teilnehmer einen Einblick in das Rechtssystem in den palästinensischen Gebieten und die aufgrund der Geschichte bestehende Problematik sich überschneidender Verordnungen aus den verschiedenen Mandatszeiten. Daneben wurden einige der aktuellen Projekte des IoL vorgestellt, so auch die in Kooperation mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gegründete juristische Datenbank „al Muqtafi“.

Danach stand ein Besuch in der Zentrale der EU-Polizeimission EUPOL COPPS an. Im Gespräch mit Nicholas Rodson, dem Leiter der „Rule of Law“ Sektion, und Julio De La Guardia, Beauftragter für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, wurde vor allem das Thema Sicherheit angesprochen. Darüber hinaus wurde über die Befugnisse und Grenzen des Einsatzmandats und die derzeitigen Projekte von EUPOL COPPS diskutiert.

Nach einem Abschlussgespräch mit Dane im Büro der KAS fuhr die Gruppe zurück nach Jerusalem.

Besuch der Deutsch-Israelischen Juristenvereinigung