Event Reports

Legal Encounter

The Local Elections: Legal and Administrative Dimensions

On 12 November 2012, the Institute of Law (IoL) at Birzeit University organised in Gaza City a legal encounter on The Local Elections: Legal and Administrative Dimensions. Delivered by Advocate Amjad al Agha, Lecturer at the Islamic University of Gaza, the legal encounter brought together a large number of lawyers, representatives of human rights organisations, members of the legal community, and representatives of interested bodies.

Mrs. Lina at Tounisi, Coordinator of the IoL Gaza Office, welcomed the speaker and audience and made a briefing note about the Birzeit Legal Encounters programme.

Having presented an outline of his presentation, Advocate Agha raised several questions about elections, including definition, significance, goals, importance of the election of councils of local bodies, and legal framework of the local government sector in Palestine.

Advocate Agha explained that the “election of councils of local bodies is a major component of good governance and democratic life. It is a means that enables citizens to safeguard their civil rights and freedoms.” Advocate Agha added that “elections promote public participation in decision-making processes and facilitate transition from bureaucracy, centralisation and appointment procedures to a decentralised, participatory and selective process, ensuring a more effective and efficient leadership through the ballot box. Created by absent democratic innovation, election puts an end to increasing political and social controversy and tension.

Local elections should be held in line with relevant constitutional provisions. They consolidate a binding constitutional and legal obligation which, if violated, gives rise to liability. Local elections further promote the principle of equality and equitable opportunity in terms of nomination, voting and results. “The ballot box does not discriminate between candidates, whether they are coloured, men or women.” Advocate Agha asserted. To meet development aspirations of local communities, citizens will elect candidate lists with the most distinctive programmes.

In addition to regulations issued forth by municipal councils, the legal framework governing the Palestinian local government sector comprises the Law on the Palestinian Local Bodies No. 1 of 1997, Law on the Election of the Councils of Local Bodies No. 10 of 2005, Law on Zoning and Building, etc.

Advocate Agha elaborated on the impact of the recent local elections on the administrative framework in Palestine, stressing that a decentralised system should be recovered and maintained. Finally, Advocate Agha made relevant recommendations regarding the controversial working relationship between the Ministry of Local Government and local government units (LGUs), characteristics of the Palestinian local government sector, problems encountered by LGUs, and reflections of local elections on the development role of municipal councils.

In the ensuing discussion, the audience made significant interventions and raised questions that reflected an utmost interest and interaction with the topic. On behalf of the IoL, Mrs. Tounisi thanked the audience for their active participation in the legal encounter.

The legal encounter was organised in partnership with the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung.

Legal Encounter 12112012

Veranstaltungsberichte

Legal Encounter

Die Kommunalwahlen: Rechtliche und Administrative Dimensionen

Am 12. November 2012 organisierte das Institute of Law (IoL) der Birzeit Universität in Gaza Stadt ein Legal Encounter zum Thema Die Kommunalwahlen: Rechtliche und Administrative Dimensionen. Im Rahmen des Vortrages von Amjad al Agha, Rechtsanwalt und Dozent an der Islamischen Universität in Gaza, kam es zu einem Zusammentreffen vieler Anwälte, Mitglieder der Rechtsgemeinschaft, wie auch Vertreter und Vertreterinnen von Menschenrechtsorganisationen und anderen interessierten Gremien.

Frau Lina at Tounisi, Koordinatorin des IoL Gaza-Büros, hieß den Sprecher und die Hörerschaft willkommen und erzählte kurz über das Programm der Birzeit Legal Encounters.

Nach einer kurzen Einführung ging Agha in seiner Präsentation vertieft auf verschiedene Themenbereiche im Zusammenhang mit den Wahlen ein. Diese umfassten beispielsweise Definition, Bedeutung, Ziele und auch Wichtigkeit von Kommunalwahlen, als auch die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen der Kommunalregierung in den Palästinensischen Gebieten.

Er betonte, dass Wahlen von Kommunalräten eine zentrale Komponente von verantwortungsbewusster Regierungsführung (good governance) und einem demokratischen Leben sind. Wahlen seien ein Mittel, welches Bürger und Bürgerinnen ermöglicht ihre Rechte zu schützen. Agha fügte hinzu, dass Wahlen die öffentliche Teilnahme in Entscheidungsfindungsprozessen fördern würden und den Übergang von Bürokratie, Zentralisierung und Ernennungsverfahren zu einem dezentralisierten, partizipatorischen und selektiven Prozess vereinfachen.

Kommunalwahlen sollten gemäß den relevanten verfassungsrechtlichen Bestimmungen abgehalten werden. Des Weiteren förderten Kommunalwahlen Prinzipien wie Gleichheit und Chancengleichheit hinsichtlich Nominierung, Abstimmung und Resultaten: Die Urne diskriminiere keine Kandidierenden, so Agha; es komme nicht auf Hautfarbe oder Geschlecht an. Vielmehr würden Bürger und Bürgerinnen diejenigen Listen mit den charakteristischsten Programmen auswählen, welche den Entwicklungsbestrebungen der lokalen Bevölkerung gerecht werden.

Zusätzlich zu gemeinderätlichen Bestimmungen enthalten die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen der palästinensischen Kommunalwahlen auch das Gesetz für palästinensische Kommunalbehörden Nr. 1 von 1997, das Gesetz für die Wahlen von Kommunalräten Nr. 10 von 2005, das Raumplanungs- und Baugesetz, etc.

Agha erläuterte die Auswirkungen der jüngsten Kommunalwahlen auf die administrativen Rahmenbedingungen in den Palästinensischen Gebieten und betonte, dass ein dezentralisiertes System wiederhergestellt und erhalten werden sollte.

Zum Abschluss gab Agha noch einige relevante Hinweise zum Thema der kontrovers diskutierten Arbeitsbeziehung zwischen dem Ministerium für Kommunalverwaltung und den Kommunalverwaltungseinheiten (LGUs), als auch bezüglich Charakteristika des palästinensischen Kommunalverwaltungssektors, und reflektierte über die Entwicklungsrolle von Gemeinderäten im Zusammenhang mit den Kommunalwahlen.

In der anschließenden Diskussion erhob die Hörerschaft einige wesentliche Einwände und stellte Fragen welche großes Interesse am Thema ausdrückten. Im Auftrag vom IoL dankte Tounisi der Hörerschaft für ihre aktive Teilnahme am Legal Encounter.

Das Legal Encounter wurde organisiert in Zusammenarbeit mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Ramallah.

Legal Encounter 12112012