Asset Publisher

Event Reports

Legal Encounter

"Can Constitutionalism help Palestine?"

Better than other Arab countries but failed due to Hamas-Fatah-rivalry – this was the summary of Professor Nathan Brown for Constitutionalism in Palestine. On July 17th 2008 the lecture “Can Constitutionalism help Palestine?” took place in the framework of the lecture series “Legal Encounter” an initiative of the Institute of Law (IoL) at Birzeit University and the Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) in Ramallah. Guest speaker was Nathan Brown, professor of Political Science and International Affairs at Georgetown University.

Asset Publisher

Professor Brown defined constitutions as declarations of fundamental values and as a fundamental legal document. He stated that constitutions work best when they are agreements of equal effective parties. Professor Brown gave a short review over the Palestinian experience with constitutionalism. The Basic Law, a type of interim constitution, was ratified by the Palestinian Legislative Council in 1997 and finally signed by the Palestinian Authority President Yasser Arafat in 2002.

Furthermore Professor Brown argued that the Basic Law was better designed than other constitutions in Arabic countries due to the fact that it was an agreement of different parties like the Fatah, the Presidency and the Palestinian Civil Society-. The opinions of Hamas were not included during the negotiations on the Basic Law due to the fact that they were out of the political picture at that time.

For Professor Brown the Palestinian Constitution broke down completely after the election of the Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC) in 2006 in which Hamas won the majority of votes. He claimed a deep failure of the Palestinian constitution because nowadays there is a government in Gaza with a kind of constitutional legitimacy and a Fatah interim government in the West Bank. The speaker was pessimistic regarding the question “Can Constitutionalism help Palestine”. The current situation, with a Hamas government in the Gaza Strip and a Fatah government in the West Bank, has to be overcome.

The Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung supports the evolution of legal structures and the rule of law in the Palestinian Autonomous Territories in cooperation with the Institute of Law at Birzeit University. The lecture was held as part of the “Legal Encounter” series, which is organized by the Institute of Law and KAS.

Asset Publisher

comment-portlet

Asset Publisher

Veranstaltungsberichte

Legal Encounter

"Can Constituionalism help Palestine?"

Besser als in anderen arabischen Staaten aber aufgrund der Rivalitäten zwischen Hamas und Fatah gescheitert – das war das Fazit von Professor Nathan Brown über Konstitutionalismus in Palästina. Am 17. Juli 2008 fand im Rahmen der Vorlesungsreihe Legal Encounter, einer Initiative des Institute of Law (IoL) der Birzeit Universität und der Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) in Ramallah, ein Vortrag zum Thema „Can Constitutionalism help Palestine?“ statt. Referent der Veranstaltung war Nathan Brown, Professor der Politikwissenschaft und Internationaler Beziehungen an der Georgetown Universität, Washington D.C..

Professor Brown definierte Verfassungen als Erklärungen fundamentaler Werte und als fundamentale legale Dokumente. Er erklärte, dass Verfassungen am besten funktionieren, wenn es Vereinbarungen gleichberechtigter Parteien sind. Professor Brown gab einen kurzen Überblick über die palästinensischen Erfahrungen mit Konstitutionalismus. Das Basic Law, das als eine Art Interimsverfassung verstanden werden kann, wurde vom Palästinensischen Legislativrat 1997 ratifiziert und schließlich vom Präsident der Autonomiebehörde Yasser Arafat 2002 unterzeichnet.

Des Weiteren stellte Professor Brown dar, dass das Basic Law besser ausgestaltet sei als in anderen arabischen Staaten, da es eine Vereinbarung unterschiedlicher Parteien wie der Fatah, der Präsidentschaft und der palästinensischen Zivilgesellschaft sei. Die Ansichten von Hamas wurden während den Verhandlungen über das Basic Law nicht berücksichtigt, da die Hamas zu dieser Zeit nicht auf der politischen Bühne agierte.

Für Professor Brown brach die palästinensische Verfassung nach den Wahlen zum palästinensischen Legislativrat 2006, bei dem die Hamas die Mehrheit der Stimmen gewann, komplett zusammen. Er behauptete, dass es einen schwerwiegenden Fehler in der palästinensischen Verfassung gibt, da es momentan in Gaza ein Regierung mit einer gewissen verfassungsrechtlichen Legitimität gibt und eine Interimsregierung der Fatah in der West Bank. Der Reder war hinsichtliche der Frage, ob Konstitutionalismus Palästina helfen könnte, pessimistisch. Die derzeitige Situation, mit einer Fatah Regierung in der West Bank und einer Hamas Regierung im Gaza-Streifen, müsse überwunden werden.

Das Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung in Ramallah unterstützt den Aufbau eines Rechtsstaates in den Palästinensischen Autonomiegebieten und fördert dies in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institute of Law an der Birzeit Universität im Rahmen der Vorlesungsreihe Legal Encounter.