jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Also available in Deutsch

On the sidelines of Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier's visit to India, the India office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung organized a dialogue program with Indian Members of Parliament and representatives of the BJP for the only Member of the German parliament accompanying him, Mr. Ralph Brinkhaus, chairman of the German-Indian parliamentary group in the past legislative period, on 23rd March, 2018.

In addition to the Members of Parliament Rahul Kaswan, Harish C. Meena, Harish Dwivedi, Dr. Udit Raj and Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal one of the speakers of the BJP, Nalin S. Kohli, and Sunil Bharala, National Co-Convenor of the BJP, also joined the dialogue.

At the beginning of the dialogue with the Members of Parliament, Mr. Brinkhaus emphasized the increasing importance of India for Germany. This is also reflected in the current, early visit of the Federal President. For a long time, Germany has focused only on China in Asia, but this time is over now. India is now just as important for Germany as China, according to Mr. Brinkhaus. He pointed to the longstanding stable relations between the two countries and called for further expansion. In his opinion, in addition to the regular intergovernmental consultations, the exchange between parliamentarians should be significantly intensified. He said that the way how bilateral relations are shaped depends, to a large extent, on individual persons, which is why this dialogue should be consolidated through regular exchange. Peter Rimmele, Resident Representative of KAS to India, pointed out that KAS would like to support these efforts.

At the request of the Indian Members of Parliament, Mr. Brinkhaus spoke among other topics, about the new federal government and the difficulty of organizing a majority in parliament. He also addressed the current debate on Islam in Germany and answered questions about how Germany handled the refugee crisis. One topic of the discussions was about the investment conditions for German medium-sized enterprises in India. Many German companies are interested in investing in India, but they would like to see the necessary stable eco-system in place. Above all, Brinkhaus identified three problems that made German companies hesitate to invest: excessive bureaucracy, a lack of infrastructure and an unstable energy supply. The Indian Members of Parliament pointed out that special economic zones were created for Japanese and South Korean enterprises with better investment conditions. This is also conceivable for Germany. This would be particularly interesting for medium-sized companies as it would facilitate their entry into the Indian market, according to Ralph Brinkhaus. Nalin S. Kohli, spokesperson for the BJP, also pointed to the "Indo German Association for Legal Cooperation" (IGAL) which, with its legal expertise, is there to support German and Indian entrepreneurs in investing in the other country. At the end of the dialogue, all participants spoke in favor of a more regular exchange between the Members of Parliament from both countries.

Contact

ImagePeter Rimmele
Resident Representative India
Phone +91 11 26113520
Peter.Rimmele(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Auch verfügbar in English

Am Rande des Besuchs von Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Indien organisierte das Indien Büro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für das Delegationsmitglied und Bundestagsabgeordneten Ralph Brinkhaus, Vorsitzender der deutsch-indischen Parlamentariergruppe in der vergangenen Legislaturperiode, am 23. März 2018 ein Dialogprogramm mit indischen Abgeordneten und Vertretern der Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Neben den Parlamentsabgeordneten Rahul Kaswan, Harish C. Meena, Harish Dwivedi, Dr. Udit Raj und Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal waren auch einer der Sprecher BJP, Nalin S. Kohli, sowie Sunil Bharala, Co-Convenor der BJP, anwesend.

Zu Beginn des Dialogs mit den Abgeordneten hob Brinkhaus hervor, dass Indiens Bedeutung in den letzten Jahren kontinuierlich für Deutschland zugenommen hätte. Dies spiegelt sich auch in dem derzeit stattfindenden, frühzeitigen Besuch des Bundespräsidenten wider. Lange Zeit hätte sich Deutschland in Asien einseitig auf China fokussiert, diese Zeit sei jedoch vorbei. Indien ist für Deutschland mittlerweile genauso wichtig wie China, so Brinkhaus. Er wies auf die langjährigen stabilen Beziehungen zwischen beiden Ländern hin und sprach sich für einen weiteren Ausbau aus. Seiner Auffassung nach sollten neben den regelmäßigen Regierungskonsultationen auch der Austausch zwischen den Parlamentariern deutlich intensiviert werden. Letztlich ist die Gestaltung der bilateralen Beziehungen maßgeblich von einzelnen Personen abhängig, weshalb diese Beziehung durch einen regelmäßigen Austausch verfestigt und verstetigt werden müssten. Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Indien Büros der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, wies darauf hin, dass die KAS gerne dazu bereit ist, diese Bemühungen zu unterstützen.

Auf Nachfrage der indischen Abgeordneten berichtete der Bundestagsabgeordnete u.a. über die neue Bundesregierung und die Schwierigkeit eine Mehrheit im Parlament zu organisieren. Außerdem ging er auf die aktuelle Debatte über den Islam in Deutschland ein und beantwortete Fragen zum Umgang mit der Flüchtlingskrise in Deutschland. Eine längere Diskussion widmete sich den Investitionsbedingungen für mittelständische Unternehmen in Indien. Demnach sind viele deutsche Unternehmen an Investitionen in Indien interessiert, aber sie würden die dafür nötigen stabilen Bedingungen vor Ort vermissen. Brinkhaus identifizierte vor allem drei Probleme die deutsche Unternehmen zögern ließen: überbordende Bürokratie, mangelnde Infrastruktur und Energieversorgung. Die indischen Abgeordneten wiesen darauf hin, dass für japanische und südkoreanische spezielle Wirtschaftszonen mit erleichterten Investitionsbedingungen geschaffen wurden. Dies sei auch für Deutschland vorstellbar. Besonders interessant sei dies für mittelständische Unternehmen, da für diese der Einstieg in den indischen Markt erleichtert werden würden, so Ralph Brinkhaus. Nalin S. Kohli, Sprecher der BJP, wies auch auf die „Indo German Association for Legal Cooperation“ (IGAL) die mit rechtlicher Expertise deutsche und indische Unternehmer bei Investitionen im jeweils anderen Land unterstützen soll. Am Ende des Dialogs sprachen sich alle Teilnehmer für einen regelmäßigeren Austausch zwischen den Abgeordneten beider Länder aus.

Kontakt

AbbildungPeter Rimmele
Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Peter.Rimmele(akas.de


zum Anfang springen