jump to navigation
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Event Reports

Event Reports

Indo-German Security Dialogue

Dialogue Programme for Indian experts and politicians from the field of foreign and security policy

By Philipp HuchelAug. 10, 2018


provided by: India Office


Also available in Deutsch

From June 24th to 30th, 2018, a delegation of Indian experts from the India Foundation and politicians focused on the fields of foreign and security policy visited Brussels and Berlin to have a dialogue on foreign and security related topics.

The delegation consisted of Mr. Swapan Dasgupta, Member of the Indian Parliament (Rajya Sabha), Ms. Meenakashi Lekhi, Member of the Indian Parliament (Lok Sabha), Major General Dhruv C. Katoch, Director of the India Foundation, Vice Admiral (retd.) Shekhar Kumar Sinha, Board of Trustees of the India Foundation and Former Commander-in-Chief of the Western Naval Command of the Indian Navy, Mr. Shakti Sinha, Director of the Nehru Memorial and Museum and Library (NMML), Ms. Vandana Mishra, Assistant Professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru University, and Mr. Apurv Kumar Mishra, Senior Research Fellow, India Foundation.

In Brussels the delegation met German and European politicians, government officials, military officers as well as experts on foreign and security policy. During a meeting with Mr. Gunnar Wiegand, European External Action Service, explained that the European Union is coming out with a strategy document on India-EU relations later this year. However, even under its present EU-Asia strategy, there is a very strong effort to grow the engagement beyond trade to other policy areas like cross-border terrorism, cyber-security and migration. He noted that practical co-operation with India is “still to be discovered” and highlighted the need to understand how we can work together in a third country. India and EU have a common view on navigation and rules-based order for Indian Ocean Region. Both sides should have a high-level dialogue on these issues. With Dr. Wolfgang Klapper, Ambassador and Vice-President of the East West Institute, the members of the delegation discussed about the current situation in Afghanistan and the growing scepticism of the European Union towards the Chinese Belt and Road Initiative. In the meeting with Major General Giovanni Manione, Deputy Director General of the European Union Military Staff, a broad outline of the functioning of the European Union Military Staff was given by him. He stated that while EU was basically a political and economic union, it had been pushed to create military capability which could intervene during a crisis. Mr. Gabor Iklody Director, Crisis Management and Planning, European External Action Service, explained that a closer security and defence cooperation is now being demanded by population of Europe due to security concerns emanating from a threat of terrorism on European soil and of hybrid warfare from Russia in the East. Consequently, military cooperation is no longer unpopular and member states are looking to collaborate and invest more in security. During an roundtable discussion on 26th June, the delegation deliberated on the topic “Geopolitical Trends and Challenges: Implications for India’s Regional Security” with participants from various foreign missions, think-tanks and the political establishment. After the discussion round, the delegation met Elmar Brok, Member of the European Parliament. He highlighted his concerns about the Belt and Road Initiative being one of the most aggressive initiatives by China to get dependence of other countries including in Europe. Member states of EU had finance but need to develop a coherent economic and security strategy. He noted that the cancellation of TPP has created a vacuum in Indo-Pacific and that is of concern to European companies looking for open market access. Mr. Brok however expressed optimism over the long-term future of India, vis-a-vis China since it was a democracy. Besides, the members of the delegation also met General Mikhail Kostarakos, Chairman of the European Union Military Committee. He expressed his hope for greater military exchange with India. EU was interested in keeping sea lanes and lines of communication open and wanted to work together with India on maritime security. He said that the EU has extensive trade with China, and that the trade component with India could increase.

In Berlin the group met among others Mr. Jan Techau, Senior Fellow and Director of the Europe Program of the German Marshall Fund. Mr Techau focused his presentation on the loss of order at three levels: within EU, in transatlantic relations and domestically within member countries. He stated that the rise of China imbalances this fragile system to create the same crisis of order. OBOR is primarily a land-based initiative to circumvent USA’s domination of the seas and its impact is already being felt in the voting behaviour of countries in European Council. Dr. Christian Wagner, Senior Fellow of the German Institute for International and Security Affairs, pointed out that China’s BRI is changing South Asia and the conception of the region. He noted that regionalism in South Asia was weak. India was, accordingly, cooperating with other powers to respond to BRI with initiatives like North-South Transport Corridor and India-Africa Growth Corridor. The delegation visited also the German Parliament where they met Mr. Markus Koob, Member of Parliament and Member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, along with other members of the Indo-German Parliamentary Group. The subject of discussion was Germany’s current international and security challenges and its relations with India. Mr. Koob stated that EU-China relations were ambivalent although at the moment it looked like China was a more reliable partner than the USA. Dr. Guenter Krings, Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Interior, Building and Community focused in his presentation on the threat of radical Islam, especially from foreign returned fighters of ISIS to Germany and on the threat of cyber-attacks. He highlighted the difference in number of security personnel between India and Germany which had a much smaller force. This was further complicated by the fact that due to extreme federalism, Germany had a decentralized security structure with relatively weak police forces. On 28 June 2018, KAS organised a roundtable discussion on “India: Current Security and Foreign Policy Challenges”. The panellists were Mr. Swapan Dasgupta and Major General Dhruv Katoch from the India Foundation delegation along with Brigadier General Rainer Meyer zum Felde, Senior Fellow at the Institute for Security Policy at Kiel University. The discussion was moderated by Dr. Garima Mohan, Research Fellow at the Global Public Policy Institute in Berlin. Mr. Dasgupta gave his views on the upcoming 2019 Indian general elections and the possible outcome scenarios. General Katoch spoke on ‘Geo-Strategic Shift in South Asia’. Brigadier Meyer made several key observations on challenges to EU on the east from Russia and from the south by migration crisis and ISIS. He noted that Germany had outsourced security to western institutions like NATO and EU. While there was some instability due to the present dispensation in the USA, he concluded that US would continue to remain a reliable power for Europe. He also cautioned about the rise of China as an European power and its attempts to gain influence in Eastern Europe using unhealthy lending practices. After the roundtable discussion the delegation met Commodore Axel Deertz, Head of Division 22 at the Federal Chancellery. The subject discussed was “Germany’s current international and security challenges with reference to India in context of Global Governance”. Commodore Deertz highlighted the twin problems of migration crisis and Russian aggression as key security challenges for Europe. The message coming from USA is that EU must do more for its security. He stated that NATO has remained the backbone of collective defence for Europe while the EU military simply complemented it. The last meeting of the delegation was with Mark Hauptmann, Member of German Parliament. He focused his remarks on energy security and trade agreements. He noted that Germany had made substantial investments to shift to renewables energy, including providing subsidy to individual farmers engaged to become energy producers. While talking about a pending FTA agreement with India, he was apprehensive about the end of a US-led international trade regime.

The delegation perceived the exchange of views as insightful. It provided a deep understanding of EU security concerns and highlighted the fact that India, Germany and the EU can cooperate on many issues, both economic and security related.

Contact

ImagePeter Rimmele
Resident Representative India
Phone +91 11 26113520
Peter.Rimmele(akas.de


jump to start

zur Navigation springen
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (Logo)Veranstaltungsberichte

Auch verfügbar in English

Vom 24. bis 30. Juni 2018 absolvierte eine Delegation aus indischen Experten der India Foundation und Politikern aus dem Bereich der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik in Brüssel und Berlin ein Dialogprogramm.

Die Delegation bestand aus Swapan Dasgupta, Mitglied des indischen Parlaments (Rajya Sabha), Meenakashi Lekhi, Mitglied des indischen Parlaments (Lok Sabha), Generalmajor Dhruv C. Katoch, Direktor der India Foundation, Vizeadmiral a.D. Shekhar Kumar Sinha, Mitglied im Vorstand der India Foundation und ehemaliger Commander-in-Chief des Western Naval Command der indischen Marine, Shakti Sinha, Direktor der Nehru Memorial and Museum and Library (NMML), Vandana Mishra, Assistenzprofessorin an der Jawaharlal Nehru Universität, und Apurv Kumar Mishra, Senior Research Fellow der India Foundation.

Die Experten der Delegation trafen sich in Brüssel mit deutschen und europäischen Politikern, Regierungsbeamten, Militärs sowie Experten für Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik. Während eines Treffens mit Gunnar Wiegand, Europäischer Auswärtiger Dienst, erklärte er, dass die Europäische Union im Laufe dieses Jahres ein Strategiepapier über die Beziehungen zwischen Indien und der EU herausgeben werde. Doch selbst im Rahmen der derzeitigen EU-Asien-Strategie wird sehr intensiv versucht, die Kooperation über den Handel hinaus in andere Politikbereiche wie grenzübergreifenden Terrorismus, Cybersicherheit und Migration auszuweiten. Er merkte an, dass die praktische Zusammenarbeit mit Indien "noch nicht wirklich entdeckt wurde", und unterstrich die Notwendigkeit zu verstehen, wie gemeinsam mit Indien in einem Drittland zusammengearbeitet werden könnte. Indien und die EU vertreten die gleiche Position in Bezug auf die Freiheit der Hohen See und die auf Regeln basierende Ordnung für die Region Indischer Ozean. Beide Seiten sollten daher einen hochrangigen Dialog über diese Fragen führen. Mit Dr. Wolfgang Klapper, Botschafter und Vizepräsident des East West Institute, diskutierten die Delegationsmitglieder über die aktuelle Situation in Afghanistan und die wachsende Skepsis der Europäischen Union gegenüber der chinesischen "Belt and Road Initiative" (BRI). Bei einem Treffen mit Generalmajor Giovanni Manione, dem stellvertretenden Generaldirektor des Militärstabs der Europäischen Union, gab dieser einen Überblick über das Funktionieren des Militärstabs der Europäischen Union. Er erklärte, dass die EU zwar im Grunde eine politische und wirtschaftliche Union sei, jedoch auch militärische Fähigkeiten geschaffen habe, um während einer Krise eingreifen zu können. Gabor Iklody, Direktor für Krisenmanagement und Planung des Europäischen Auswärtigen Dienstes, erklärte, dass die Bevölkerung der Europäischen Union eine engere Sicherheits- und Verteidigungszusammenarbeit fordert, da Sicherheitsbedrohungen aufgrund des Terrorismus auf europäischem Boden und der hybriden Kriegsführung Russlands zunehmen. Folglich ist die militärische Zusammenarbeit nicht mehr unbeliebt. Die Mitgliedstaaten wollen daher stärker zusammenarbeiten und mehr in Sicherheit investieren. Während einer Diskussionsrunde am 26. Juni erörterte die Delegation das Thema "Geopolitische Trends und Herausforderungen: Implikationen für die regionale Sicherheit in Indien" mit Teilnehmern verschiedener Botschaften, Denkfabriken und Politikern. Nach der Diskussionsrunde traf die Delegation mit Elmar Brok, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments, zusammen. Er wies auf seine Bedenken hin, dass die "Belt and Road Initiative" eine der aggressivsten Initiativen Chinas sei, um andere Länder, auch in Europa, von China abhängig zu machen. Die Mitgliedstaaten der EU hätten zwar Finanzmittel, müssten jedoch eine kohärente Wirtschafts- und Sicherheitsstrategie entwickeln. Er wies darauf hin, dass die Aufgabe des Handelsabkommens "Transpazifische Partnerschaft" (TPP) im Indo-Pazifik ein Vakuum geschaffen hat und dass europäische Unternehmen, die einen offenen Marktzugang anstreben, Bedenken haben. Brok äußerte sich jedoch optimistisch über die langfristige Zukunft Indiens, da es eine Demokratie ist. Außerdem trafen die Mitglieder der Delegation auch General Michail Kostarakos, Vorsitzender des Militärausschusses der Europäischen Union. Er drückte seine Hoffnung für einen größeren militärischen Austausch mit Indien aus. Die EU ist daran interessiert, die Kommunikationswege auf See offen zu halten und wollte mit Indien im Bereich der maritimen Sicherheit zusammenarbeiten. Er sagte, dass die EU einen ausgedehnten Handel mit China habe und dass die Handelskomponente mit Indien zunehmen könnte.

In Berlin traf sich die Gruppe unter anderem mit Jan Techau, Senior Fellow und Leiter des Europa-Programms des German Marshall Fund of the United States. Techau konzentrierte sich in seinem Vortrag auf drei Ebenen des Verlusts der Ordnung in Europa: innerhalb der EU, in den transatlantischen Beziehungen und im Inland innerhalb der Mitgliedsländer. Er sagte, dass der Aufstieg Chinas dieses fragile System aus dem Gleichgewicht bringt und eine Krise der bestehenden Ordnung herbeiführt. BRI ist in erster Linie eine landgestützte Initiative, um die Vorherrschaft der USA über die Meere zu umgehen und ihre Auswirkungen sind bereits im Wahlverhalten der Länder im Europäischen Rat spürbar. Dr. Christian Wagner, Senior Fellow bei der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), wies darauf hin, dass Chinas "Belt and Road Initiative" Südasien und die Konzeption der Region verändert. Er merkte an, dass der Regionalismus in Südasien schwach sei. Entsprechend kooperiere Indien mit anderen Mächten, um mit Initiativen wie dem Nord-Süd-Verkehrskorridor und dem Indien-Afrika-Wachstumskorridor auf die BRI zu reagieren. Die Delegation besuchte auch den Deutschen Bundestag, wo sie mit Markus Koob, Mitglied des Parlaments und Mitglied des Ausschusses für auswärtige Angelegenheiten, zusammen mit anderen Mitgliedern der Deutsch-Indischen Parlamentariergruppe zusammentrafen. Diskutiert wurden die aktuellen internationalen und sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen Deutschlands und seine Beziehungen zu Indien. Koob erklärte, dass die Beziehungen zwischen der EU und China ambivalent seien, obwohl es zurzeit so aussehe, als sei China ein verlässlicherer Partner als die USA. Dr. Günter Krings, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für Inneres, Bau und Heimat, konzentrierte sich in seinem Vortrag auf die Bedrohung durch den radikalen Islam, vor allem von zurückkehrenden IS-Kämpfern nach Deutschland und auf die Bedrohung durch Cyber-Attacken. Er wies auf den Unterschied in der Anzahl der Sicherheitskräfte zwischen Indien und Deutschland hin, die eine viel geringere Stärke hätten. Erschwerend komme hinzu, dass Deutschland aufgrund des Föderalismus eine dezentrale Sicherheitsstruktur mit relativ schwachen Polizeikräften aufweist. Am 28. Juni 2018 veranstaltete die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Berlin eine Diskussionsrunde zum Thema "Indien: Aktuelle sicherheits- und außenpolitische Herausforderungen". Die Diskussionsteilnehmer waren Swapan Dasgupta und Generalmajor Dhruv Katoch von der India Foundation sowie Brigadegeneral a.D. Rainer Meyer zum Felde, Senior Fellow am Institut für Sicherheitspolitik der Universität Kiel. Moderiert wurde die Diskussion von Dr. Garima Mohan, Research Fellow am Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi) in Berlin. Dasgupta präsentierte seine Ansichten zu den bevorstehenden allgemeinen Wahlen 2019 in Indien und zu den möglichen Ergebnisszenarien. General Katoch referierte zum Thema "Geostrategischer Wandel in Südasien". Brigadegeneral a.D. Meyer zum Felde machte als Herausforderungen für die EU im Osten Russland und im Süden die Migrationskrise und den IS aus. Er wies darauf hin, dass Deutschland die Sicherheit an westliche Institutionen wie die NATO und die EU ausgelagert habe. Während aufgrund der gegenwärtigen Dispensation in den USA eine gewisse Instabilität herrsche, kam er zu dem Schluss, dass die USA weiterhin eine zuverlässige Macht für Europa bleiben würden. Er warnte auch vor dem Aufstieg Chinas zur europäischen Macht und seinen Versuchen, in Osteuropa durch Kreditvergaben an Einfluss zu gewinnen. Nach der Diskussionsrunde traf die Delegation Flottillenadmiral Axel Deertz, Leiter der Abteilung 22 im Bundeskanzleramt. Diskutiert wurde das Thema "Deutschlands aktuelle internationale und sicherheitspolitische Herausforderungen in Bezug auf Indien im Kontext von Global Governance". Deertz hob die Doppelprobleme der Migrationskrise und der russischen Aggression als wichtige Sicherheitsherausforderungen für Europa hervor. Die Botschaft aus den USA sei, dass die EU mehr für ihre Sicherheit tun müsse. Er erklärte, dass die NATO das Rückgrat der kollektiven Verteidigung für Europa geblieben sei, während das EU-Militär diese ergänzt habe. Das letzte Treffen der Delegation fand mit dem Bundestagsabgeordneten Mark Hauptmann statt. Er widmete sich dem Thema Energiesicherheit und Handelsabkommen. Er wies darauf hin, dass Deutschland erhebliche Investitionen getätigt habe, um auf erneuerbare Energien umzusteigen, einschließlich der Bereitstellung von Zuschüssen für einzelne Landwirte, die sich als Energieerzeuger engagieren. Während er über ein bevorstehendes Freihandelsabkommen mit Indien sprach, zeigte er sich besorgt über das Ende eines von den USA geführten internationalen Handelsregimes.

Die Delegation betrachtete den Meinungsaustausch als sehr aufschlussreich. Das Programm vermittelte ein tiefes Verständnis für Sicherheitsbedenken in der EU und unterstrich die Tatsache, dass Indien, Deutschland und die EU in vielen wirtschaftlichen und sicherheitsbezogenen Fragen zusammenarbeiten können.

Kontakt

AbbildungPeter Rimmele
Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Peter.Rimmele(akas.de


zum Anfang springen