Country Reports

Visit of the Federal Chancellor Dr. Merkel

The visit of the Federal Chancellor in the Palestinian Autonomous Territories went along with great expectations und significant interest. After all she was the first high-ranking representative of a Western country, actually any foreign country at all, who visited the Palestinian Territories after Hamas winning the elections on January 25. The press coverage was accordingly high.
The Federal Chancellor met only with the President of the Palestinian Authority and Chairman of the PLO Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen). A short press conference took place subsequently. There were no meetings with other Palestinians.

Mrs. Merkel highlighted in the talks vis-à-vis the Palestinian side as clearly as she had done in Israel earlier on the three conditions for cooperation with the future Palestinian government whatever its shape may be:

- Acknowledging Israel’s right of existence

- Distancing itself clearly from any resort to violence

- Accepting all progress in the peace process reached so far and

all agreements with Israel

Only on the way of the peace process as laid out by the road map the Palestinians could reach their goal of living in prosperity and security having an own state living in peace with its neighbours. Clarity has to be reached very rapidly if the peace process can continue. With President Abbas she agrees on this topic.

The President thanked Mrs. Merkel for her great support in the past and emphasized that the political line of the Palestinian Authority will not change. In the next two weeks, talks would be held on forming the new government. Abbas highlighted his determination to stay in office, to go through with his legislative period and to carry forward the peace process.

The press conference was broadcasted live on Al-Jazeera and Palestinian television. All three Palestinian daily newspapers reported on the visit on their front page, unmistakably and clearly reproducing the three conditions posed by the Chancellor for future cooperation. On the other hand, the international press interpreted them as a conditioned promise of further assistance: The door remains open and cooperation will continue if the requirements are met.

Thomas Birringer

31st January 2006

Länderberichte

Besuch von Bundeskanzlerin Dr. Merkel

Der Besuch der Bundeskanzlerin wurde in den Palästinensischen Autonomiegebieten mit großen Erwartungen und regem Interesse aufgenommen. Schließlich war sie die erste hochrangige Repräsentantin eines westlichen Landes, ja des Auslandes überhaupt, die nach dem Wahlsieg der Hamas am 25. Januar die palästinensischen Autonomiegebiete besuchte. Auch das Presseecho war entsprechend groß.
Die Bundeskanzlerin hat sich ausschließlich mit dem Präsidenten der Palästinensischen Autonomiebehörde und PLO-Vorsitzenden, Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen), getroffen. Anschließend fand eine kurze Pressekonferenz statt. Weitere Termine mit palästinensischen Gesprächspartnern gab es nicht.

Frau Merkel betonte in den Gesprächen gegenüber der palästinensischen Seite in ebenso klarer Weise wie zuvor in Israel die drei Bedingungen für eine Kooperation mit der künftigen palästinensischen Regierung, wie auch immer diese konkret aussehe:

•Anerkennung des Existenzrechtes Israels,

•klare Distanzierung von jeder Gewaltanwendung,

•Akzeptanz aller bisherigen Schritte im Friedensprozess und

aller Abkommen mit Israel.

Nur auf dem Wege des Friedensprozesses, den die Roadmap vorzeichne, könnten die Palästinenser ihr Ziel, ein Leben in Wohlstand und Sicherheit sowie einen eigenen Staat, der friedlich mit seinen Nachbarn zusammenlebe, erreichen. Es müsse nun sehr schnell Klarheit darüber erreicht werden, ob der Friedensprozess weitergehen könne. Mit Präsident Abbas sei sie sich in dieser Frage einig.

Der Präsident dankte Frau Merkel für die große Unterstützung in der Vergangenheit und betonte, dass sich die politische Linie der Palästinensischen Autonomiebehörde nicht ändern werde. Innerhalb der nächsten zwei Wochen würden Gespräche über eine Regierungsbildung stattfinden. Abbas betonte, im Amt bleiben, seine Wahlperiode zu Ende führen und den Friedensprozess fortsetzen zu wollen.

Die Pressekonferenz wurde live in Al-Jazeera und im palästinensischen Fernsehen übertragen. Alle drei Tageszeitungen in den Autonomiegebieten berichteten über den Besuch auf ihren Titelseiten. Dabei wurden die drei Bedingungen der Kanzlerin für weitere Zusammenarbeit unmissverständlich und deutlich wiedergegeben. Andererseits interpretierte die Presse dies als konditionierte Zusage weiterer Unterstützung: Die Tür bleibe offen und falls man die Bedingungen erfülle, gehe die Kooperation weiter.

Thomas Birringer

31. Januar 2006